Redstone Arsenal MWR RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (56)
89809 0 17 0 47

User reviews

34 reviews with 5 stars

56 reviews

 
(34)
 
(19)
3 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.7  (56)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (56)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.3  (56)
Value 
 
4.4  (56)
Overall Experience 
 
4.4  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Sep 18-25, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First off I have to say the Camp Host, Phil and Terri were very friendly. We were greeted and given our packet and shown where we were to be parked. Everything was great. One word of caution to campers is that you might need an electrical extension and maybe an extra water hose because for some reason the electrical boxes and water connection were installed too far forward. The concrete pads are great. The cable hasn't been connected but we were able to get around 20 channels over our antenna. The campground was full during our stay and was very quite. Gate 9 is the easiest gate to get in but all gates are large enough for RV's to clear. After clearing Gate 9, you get into the left lane and go about 3/4 of a mile then turn left on Homestead Rd. Then turn left onto Rideout and get into the right lane. Follow the signs to Goss Rd. We ride in a 43" Class A. This was not our first stop here nor will it be our last. So far this is the best Army Campground we have ever stayed at.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
June/July 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I spent two weeks in June/July 2019 at this campground. It was hot! The campground was very nice. It has the largest concrete pads I've ever stayed on in 15 years of RVing. There are no trees in the campground, so it stays hot. The sites are only $20 per night. You can't beat that! You are close to the Rocket Center. The exchange, commissary, and class 6 are all with 2 blocks of the RV Park. I'll stay there again! It's my understanding they are going to expand the campground to add more sites. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
24 Aug - 31 Aug 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground! Most sites are pull-through, full hook-up with large concrete pads. The campground host was great and very helpful. This site has changed our focus, to use more Military Campgrounds when available. Good park for satellite reception. They have cable but we didn’t try it, so no comment. The Campground has everything you need, nothing you don’t. Close to the BX and Commissary, I would say within walking distance, if it wasn’t August and 100 degrees might be something I would do. Huntsville is a great little city, lots to do and this campground is the best in the local area. Definitely use Gate 9, and follow the directions provided. The Goss Road Intersection is currently under construction so look for the detour “cut-over” road or you’ll get to see a lot more of Redstone then you’ll want to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 31, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a very nice rv park. We camped in a 35 MH. All sites have huge 25x65 cement pads. Newer restroom and laundry. Dog run is big and “ clean “. Px and commissary are just a short bike ride or walk away. Space museum is 3 miles away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 9 - 12, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Was crowded but was able to get a spot without a reservation. The camp host meet me as I drove in and that was a nice surprise--In the times I had been there previously never saw the camp host. Forgotten the site number but was pretty much in the middle of the CG, the WIFI was excellent. I can speak to it from the edges of the CG. Going back in Aug for the Huntsville Hamfest, will make reservation well ahead as this appears to becoming a hot location for campers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 9 thru 12, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Arrived mid afternoon and was met by Terri and she gave me directions to the campsite. Everything was great. All are nice pull through sites. Quite and enjoyable. Actually came back on the 19th for two night without a reservation. Even thought there were very near full, they managed to put me in a slot for two nights. They were very helpful. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug 19, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have a site in the newly opened area. The concrete pads are huge, plenty of room for our 43 foot motor home and tow car. Utilities are well placed and water pressure is high. Close to Commissary and PX. The new Gate 9 is very narrow so go slow as you enter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here during the Huntsville Hamfest. It is located close to downtown and the Von Braun Center. Lots of eating places nearby. No office on site, but made reservation on the phone and just came and went as I wanted. They could use some trees to provide some shade again the Summer heat. Could not get a WIFI connection but no big deal for me. Very nice concrete pad for parking the RV and truck. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
January 21-23, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground. All sites are pull-through full hook-up. Big concrete pads and long sides. More than enough room for our 35' motorhome and out toad. Sites are level and utilities are an easy connection. There is no office on site. There is a campground host. Call ahead for a reservation, they will assign you a site and you just drive to it and park. Be sure and follow the directions on this site, and not the brown signs on the base, or you will end up pointed the wrong way. Bathhouse facilities are small but clean. Only on shower each. Nice well equipped laundry site. Plenty of nice place to walk your pet. Even a paved jogging trail through the forrest right near by. We had good reception of all the local major TV stations and good satellite reception. Verizon connected fine. Wifi signal is week but connectable. You have to get information about the WiFi up in the Laundry building. If you are coming to the area, or want an nice short term, this is a great place. Clean, safe, big sites. As we were arriving at Gate 9, they flagged us over to the far right and a wide width gate entrance. It was closed, but they opened it for us. Stayed here in our motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 1
April 25-28, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a great stopping place and the campground is wonderful.  One mishap, however:  we came in thru gate 9 just after 5:00 p.m. And only the left two gates were open.  They are barely wide enough to get thru with an 8 ft wide travel trailer, and the top of my trailer hit an overhead outdoor light about 9 ft high sticking way out into the lane.  I think the gate guard should step out and volunteer to open a right hand gate (wider) when they see a full size travel trailer approaching for entry.  Another camper told me it's a chronic problem and that another person had their awning torn off trying to enter the same gate.  I now have a nice long scratch in the gel coat of my new Keystone Cougar!  Otherwise, we'll be back but next time I will pull in front of the right most gate and wait for someone to open it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
March 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed on site #4 for 5 nights.  Site was wide, long and level.  Water pressure was very good.  Access to the campground was easy and directions found here are accurate.  There is no cable for short term stays.  Facilities are clean and well maintained.  Enclosed dog run is a nice benefit particularly for dogs who like to explore off the leash but must use them at most campgrounds.  Camp host was friendly and helpful.  Never met or interacted with any of the MWR staff.  Commissary and Exchange are a short walk away and sufficiently stocked to meet your needs on the road.  Only negative observation is that there appears to be a lot of long term campers in the park.  Every day we witnessed some of them shuffling their rigs to new sites in the park when their 60 day stay limit was up.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
November 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very good facility. Easy to get in and out. Good amenities. Clean. Manager at the commissary was very helpful. Manager at camp ground was very friendly and helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
5-8 Dec 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Perfect for our use! Big, level concrete spaces with super easy access. We arrived 10:30 at night and found a late arrival was very easy and uncomplicated. All facilities were very clean and well kept, with the only exception being a few low-lifes who don't pick up after their dogs! We travel with 4 dogs, so not a hater, just don't appreciate others not picking up! Base facilities are very close and the gas station is big rig friendly too. Dog park is a nice addition to give our dogs a little running room! Very quiet and secure with base police driving through periodically.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 11-15, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Changes at Gate 9 make it easier to get to campground (see Note below). We stayed in space 15 directly across from laundry and bath house. Made our reservations via phone and just pulled in. They have name/dates of your stay and your receipt in a Lucite letterbox on your site. Couldn't have been easier. This is a well kept facility. Pads level and large. We did not use bath house but did do laundry and everything was clean and convenient. We found the information about Wi-Fi access in the laundry building. They apparently change access codes frequently and it is written on the white board inside of the laundry room. Flyers are also available to help you get on the first time -- you will then set up a courtesy account via MWR Lodging. There is no longer cable available for short term stays. Those staying longer have to make arrangements with local provider. Information can be found on the information boards at bath house. We didn't really see anyone our entire stay, but it rained almost continuously and part of the time was a weekend. However, we did get a note on our door while we were gone one day, letting us know that weather alerts had been issued and that the bathhouse was the emergency shelter. We would definitely return and would highly recommend this campground to others for convenience, cleanliness, and accessibility to local area. NOTE: One slight change in directions. When you enter Gate 9, they have put in new roads and you no longer have to make the U-turn noted in directions above. You go to the first red light and turn left onto Goss Road and follow that until you see the campground sign. If you get to the Express (Shoppette) you have gone to far, BUT you can turn right at the shoppette, turn right again on Jupiter (Commissary and PX would be left turn), and follow Jupiter as per directions above.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 5 to 8, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great FamCamp. Stayed here 3 nights. Very large concrete pads, great laundry facilities. Very close to PX and Exchange. Car wash was great also. Watch diesel prices in town. Range from $3.74 to $3.62 per gallon. Gas Buddy helped a lot. Will stop here again if we are ever in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
...just call and get the reservation and then go to your site # on the afternoon of the date of your arrival... ...no checkin... ...the folks at Outdoor Recreation are great to work with...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 25 - Oct 7, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If you are looking for a quiet place, you've found it. There was very little noise and the campground has almost no traffic. Sites are long and concrete, electricity is great, cable is clear and Wi-Fi was very strong. You are close to gates and Huntsville has lots to offer. Be sure to check out the small historic area downtown in their Constitution Village. Many of the buildings remind you of Williamsburg. Remember to call ahead for your campground reservation.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 23-30, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
You just have to love the Huntsville, AL area. They are respectful of all veterans, and the space program. There are literally hundreds of things to do in the area. Plenty of eating establishments, plenty of parks and nice golf courses in the area. The 36 holes on Post are fine and fun to play, though a little expensive to play at $37 for a green fee and cart. The commissary and BX are great. Having to stop at the shoppette to buy ice after leaving the commissary is a bit of a pain but it's not far. I did find propane at Costco... $10 for a 30 lb bottle. Cheap... I will be back....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 5, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We overnighted in Redstone. I called (Jordan?) to make reservations, was charged and was given our site number right over the phone. How sweet that was. We followed the directions given, drove slow through the campground and went right to our site. The concrete slab was the biggest I've ever seen. Since we needed a few things for the galley, we walked a short two blocks to the commissary and back. This FamCamp was just what we needed for an overnight stay. Thank you Redstone MWR.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
27&28 Feb 2013
(Updated: March 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Do Not Follow GPS to Gate...went to a closed gate and wound up backing a 30' RV much further than I cared. After a lot of roaming around locating an open gate and eventually the RV Park the rest was great. Given site 3 for two nights. As others have already mentioned, sites are huge and level, concrete. All inner roads are gravel. Acceptable WiFi. On Air TV reception is good, several channels. BX/Commissary within walking distance. A very good walking (paved) trail behind the campground with miles of walking or biking trail. Excellent bath facilities, very clean and warm, which was very nice since the morning temps were in the 20s. Laundry ($1.00 per load) in same building. Close to Huntsville business activities, auto dealership, WalMart, etc...Enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
34 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2