Apache Flats RV Resort

FeaturedNew
 
4.6 (86)
131038 1 13 1 76

User reviews

65 reviews with 5 stars

86 reviews

 
(66)
 
(14)
 
(4)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.6  (86)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.8  (86)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.5  (86)
Value 
 
4.6  (86)
Overall Experience 
 
4.6  (86)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
65 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4
Ordering
December 5, 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - I was amazed at the negative comments on this campground. My wife and I considered not visiting this campground after reading it, but have visited the campground before, and decided to give it another try, and judge it for ourselves once again. We are full time RVers, and have been for the last nine years, and have visited all forty nine states in North America, mainly military campgrounds. I could not disagree more with the negative comment on this campground. The manager of the campground is Sharon Blakley, and in my opinion is still one of the best, if not the best campground manager in the system. She has three assistants, Luz Pena, Mac and Hoa McKinzey, along with Vera Norman, and has many volunteers that help. After my military stint, I became part owner, and manager of a company, and consider myself a good judge of people. I wish I had the personal like these people work for me. Such dedication to this campground could not be better or improved, and I say this with nothing to gain, except to give another opinion without any financial gain, or other other gains. If I was asked to rate this campground on a scale of one to ten, I would rate it at a fourteen, Sites are exceptionally well kept, restrooms are spotless, activities are many for any taste, and if you do not want to cook, the dining facility is open to the campers with ID, and is located just a short distance away. If you like to bike or hike, this location can not be better, and the views are just beautiful. I could go on, and suggest anyone who has not been here, make sure you give it a try. You will not be disappointed, and will be more than pleasantly surprised. I am not ashamed to give my name to this comment, and it is James Blawat. Please feel free to use it in this comment, and hope it is published in the comment section.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
August 2011
(Updated: August 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I feel that the weather this year in southern Arizona has caused some problems with some folks about the overall cleanliness of the park itself. Fact is, it's monsoon season here and overnight the weeds and grass seem to grow a foot taller making it a problem to keep up with grass and weed killing. As soon as monsoon season ends things will be back to normal. And please do not overlook that all sites are in working order and well kept. Plus the laundry room and rest rooms are always spotless. The price increase is unfortunate to say the least. We will all feel the pain of the increase but that decision was made by MWR. The price has increased by $120.00 in 13-14 months and it is hard to justify an almost 50 per cent increase in rates. Again that decision was made by MWR because of budget cuts and without regard for our lack of pay increase. This is a beautiful park and we've always enjoyed our stays here. If you can handle the rate increase this is a military park that should not be missed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Dec 2010 - Mar 2011
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory Software: Super great campground. Host and volunteers very professional and helpful. Cool to cold nights, great during the daytime even in winter months. More activities than one could dream of participating in. Super clean wide pull thrus that are concrete and extremely level. Better place for bikes could not be found at any other campground. Close to everything for anyone's desires. Great views of the valley which you overlook towards Sierra Vista, with the Hauchucas in the backyard. Wildlife abounds everywhere. The camp host should be given special recognition by MWR, as I have never meet one that is good as this lady Sharon Blakley. I will come back every winter until I go to the promised land.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
October-December 2010
(Updated: December 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Staying on post for TDY, this is the best deal in the area. Having the convenience of everything on post within a mile makes it a big plus. The park is very well maintained. The sites are level and the hook-ups are reliable. The laundry and restrooms are always spotless. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars all the way down is the lack of wi-fi internet. Using VZW broadband device without issue but would prefer free internet, which seems to be a cable provider issue. Great park that we will use anytime we are in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
05 April 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have been staying at Apache Flats regularly for 5 years as a (working) DoD contractor, and sincerely appreciate the friendliness of the hosts, cleanliness of the park, and the free Gym. I am disappointed that their Internet service provider has let them down and cannot provide service. I paid $17/night which included FHU and 50 channels of cable TV service. I'm afraid my contract at Ft Huachuca is coming to an end but I hope to visit Apache Flats again in the future!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
31 Mar- 6 Apr 2010
(Updated: April 07, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here from 31 Mar-6 Apr 2010. You need to make reservations this place stays full. Really nice and quiet, bathrooms are clean. Close to the commissary and even the grocery stores down town are inexpensive. Lots of museum and other stuff to do here. When coming down Hwy 90 take East gate entrance because of Main gate construction. Will stay here again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 Days in Jan 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
While we only stayed for 3 days and weather not cooperating I must say that this facility should be at the very top of the list, military and civilian RV parks included. Sharon, the host, very, very knowledgeable and has all the attributes a campground host needs to have. Other campground hosts could certainly learn a thing or two from her. Grounds are very well maintained and laid out. Being able to chow down at the mess hall was added treat. Best "bang to the buck" anywhere. Only drawback might be the difficulty obtaining a reservation for a period of a few days since most seem to be long termers. Also noticed that while there may be a reason for it, but ID cards were not checked when registering. Will certainly return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 2-17, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great RV park probably one of best values in the whole system. Sites are well laid out and the post is easy to get into and signs to the Park lead you right to it. Since the addition of six new site those who want to spend a night or two have a lot better chance. There have been from 5 to 9 sites open each day we have been here. Everything you need is close by and the town has about everything anyone would need. The staff is very helpful and easy to work with. The only negative comment is they need to update their recreation building. We will be staying often in the coming years.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
August 20-22, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Beautiful campground! Tastefully landscaped, friendly office personnel, and warm atmosphere. We'll definitely be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
April 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
S.R. left this review using the Directory software: The wonderful lady who checked us in gave us all the information available about services, amenities and more than we could even have digested. She was wonderful and is to be commended for her hospitality. This was our first stay there, but definitely not our last. Keep up the good work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
May 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
BRIEF UPDATE FOR ALLCON: Apache Flats campground has just completed construction on six new sites! All are just like the others. Full hook ups and ready to go. They have been finished for about a week now and so far only ONE camper has used them. I can't believe it. All the complaining folks are doing about not being able to get a site. Probably because it is springtime and snowbirds are leaving again. The new sites are really nice but no landscaping yet. This campground is the one to compare all others to in my opinion. The host Sharon is very gracious, friendly and knowledgeable about all subjects you would be interested in and if she doesn't know then she will find out about it. Best campground I have EVER been in. Period.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
10 Nov 08
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Visited week of 10 Nov 08 and leaving tomorrow 15 Nov 08. One of the better military RV parks I have stayed in. Very friendly staff and professionally run park. Wifi in day room and cable at your site with about 50 channels. $14 per night and you can use the chow hall for your meals if you want. Very good value over all. 18 miles to Tombstone if you take Charleston blvd. Ask the lady in the office for directions. Only down side was the road maintenance being done on some of the base roads. Tough to navigate around the base with the construction and not knowing my way around. I had no reservations and called 2 hours before showing up, i was lucky to get a spot. Will come back for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug. 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
H.B. left this review using the Directory software: best one so far, will be hard to beat. Hope to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 2
May 4, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This campground is the standard by which I rate all other military camp grounds. I'm a very critical person, and I gotta say this place is about perfect. They even have WiFi! If you plan on using the WiFi, just ask for a lot located near the office. If none is available, you can always take your laptop to the office building and use their common work space. How nice! They take reservations and permit long stays. This place is hard to beat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May - June 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.R. left this review using the Directory software: This is a definite 5 star park! And we have the greatest hostess ever! We have more than some parks and ours is spotless, with trees, sidewalks, on and on. There are no rough roads to the park, all smooth blacktop, road well marked, and no narrow roads. Our roads are the same as roads on any post or in any town. Our cats are here due to our assistant host, Vera. She trained them and they are "mousers." They do a geat job as we now never see mice! Also have a recreation room being renovated and it will be very nice when finished. There is a Club on post, TMAC, Thunder Mountain Activity Center. I mention this as someone said we have no club. Lunch is served daily, buffet style and this is where parties, etc. are held. We also have several eating places on post besides the PX and TMAC.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is an outstanding campground. Sharon, the host, is a very friendly person. We throughly enjoyed our stay at this FAMCAMP. All of the sites are equipped with nice level cement slabs, cable TV, electric and sewer. Also their is a Burger King close by. It also has a nice BX, Commissary, Extra Large Bowling Alley, and Movie Theater. Another nice thing is you are welcome to eat in the mess hall. Wow! I surely recommend this one.
AA
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Jun 1, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the very best Famcamp I have visted. All of the sites are slabs and the price includes cable tv. It is very close to the BX, Commissary, Burger King, Library, Theater, Bowling Alley, banks and you can eat in the mess hall. I can't understand why this one is not an all 5, because it should be. Also the staff are very friendly people. The rate is only $300 per month and you do not have to rotate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
May 2007 - September 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is an excellent campground. While it does stay busy most of the time with active duty students and steady flow of visitors, it's a fairly sized campground. It is located in the back side of Fort Huachuca, and does take a minute to get to from the 3 gates for post. All of the sites are pull through, and while it's tucked in the back of post, I'm a beginner RV'er with a 39' RV and had no problems whatsoever getting to it. 50A/30A available at most every site I believe. It is very quiet and has a nice view of the Huachuca Mountains from your back window. Being along Apache Flats means you have quick access to Buffalo Corral (Horse Back Riding), several of the trails into Huachuca Canyon, and about 10 minutes from Garden Canyon. Sharon, the hostess, is the nicest you'll encounter. She'll help with any problem you encounter that she can assist with. The showers and restrooms are very clean, and all of the campsites are well kept and policed to keep from looking too transient. You have a picnic bench and a little area for it to sit on your level concrete pad. The park is well lit at night, which can be annoying if you have windows into your bedroom depending on where you're parked. The dump station is pull through as well. A reservation is a must unless you want to fall into the overflow area. The local cats are cute, and the pink flamingo is a humorous touch. Wi-Fi is available for sites near the central office, cable is available; however, if you tune in HD channels with a tuner, be aware southern Arizona doesn't broadcast HD OTA - that's only near Tucson and Phoenix. There are a lot of activities in Cochise County, you simply have to be willing to get out and ask around and drive around 30-45 minutes to visit the differing sites.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
7 Sept 07
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is very nice campground. We are staying for one month and the monthly rate is now 300. The daily rate is $14. Coming in the main gate the directions to the camp are very well marked and it is a good thing since you drive all the way through post to get there. The base has a good PX /Commisary. If you like to walk as we do there are plenty of places to do that. WIFI is available in the office area as well as hard hookup. The one complaint I have is no washing of RV. Don't know how they expect you to keep them clean. Do not come in here without a reservation since park is full most of the time. A lot of the reason this time of year is active duty in school. The weather here not bad most of the time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
May 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the finest Famcamps we've visited in our years of full timing; check-in with the friendly and helpful hostess began an outstanding two-week stay. The concrete sites were level and had large patios with picnic tables. Hookups were convenient and included free cable. We travel with an internet satellite so wireless wasn't an issue but we noticed that there are stations set up in the office for modem use. The office is spotless and has large washers, unusual for a Famcamp and handy for the bedspreads. The landscaping throughout the park is wonderful; we had two large mesquite trees and most sites have some shade. A mini-gym has treadmills and stair-climbers (and they actually work). There are chairs and tables under the trees with lots of bird feeders for entertainment. There are nature trails and plenty of room to let the dogs roam. It's easy to see why this park is in such high demand. An interesting twist was the family of friendly cats that roamed the park. All are neutered/spayed and up to date on shots. They keep the rodents away, which keeps the snakes away - great idea! Kudos to the Army on this one!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 13 0
65 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4