Fort Chaffee RV Park

Fort Chaffee RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (33)
72287 1 10 0 22

User reviews

16 reviews with 4 stars

33 reviews

 
(16)
 
(16)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.4  (33)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (33)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (33)
Value 
 
4.9  (33)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (33)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
Sept. 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
DO NOT use GPS cords to the RV gate it is no longer open. You must enter from the main gate. It is a very old base and it shows. But with that being said, the campground is nice and quite. The host came out to meet us when we arrived and was very helpful. There is a nice COE park/campground just a few miles from here if you find this one full. We would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
October 17 - 24, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If you want to stay in the Ft Smith area to see the historic sites or to visit the area casinos, this is a great place to park your unit. There are several "residents" but there are plenty of open sites. Previous reviews spoke of issues with the water source, particularly on site #10. Great news! They updated the water source, brought it above ground, and made it keyless. If using your GPS when leaving the RV park, don't forget there is only one way in and out of Ft Chaffee, all other gates/roads are closed. For the price and the military security, we would certainly stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The weird water connections are the biggest problem at this Famcamp. The office people state that they are working on getting them taken care of. Some leak all the time and some are rusted shut. You still need the key to turn the water on and off. The camp is quiet and clean. There are no shower or laundry facilities. You do get used to the speakers playing taps (at 10:55 PM and 11:00 PM), reveille (at 7:00 AM) and when the flag is lowered (5:00 PM). The speakers are right in the center of the campground. But for $8.50 a night it is a great bargain. The town of Fort Smith is just down the road with all the big stores and restaurants. We stayed in a motorhome and will return when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
July 10, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Like many earlier reviews.....a great value for $8.50.....but I have a real issue with the water connections. The site #10 water box would not turn on with the "key" provided by the billeting office, but the camp host had a 4 way key that worked. He suggested running some water before hooking up my hose, which I do all the time, but.....with the connection below the level of the box top I had to connect my hose to the connection that was under water. Seems like a very serious.....potential....safety hazard of safe water supply. Tried the PX. Great price for ice, but no 2 liter soda and no milk at all. Guess that's what keeps Wal Mart in business. I also strongly agree with the review about going into the park from the north...off of I-40. Take exit 3 off of I-540 and go south on Hy 59 to Hy 22, then left turn for just a mile or so to the main gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Jan. 15-17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Quiet little park. A little more rustic than most military campgrounds. Sites are large but not necessarily level. We drove behind the gym and billeting with the camper and parked beside billeting when signing in. They were very friendly. Very FEW 30 amp sites. I guess you can buy a converter in town for about $25 but have never had a need for one in the last 6 years of camping. The water was at ground level and you need a special tool to turn it on. Luckily our neighbor had purchased one (original purpose was to turn on gas in a fireplace). They may also have one at the office if they are open. No garbage as mentioned before. We found the Elvis Haircut Museum at Fort Chaffee. Small but VERY informative about the history of the place. Enjoyed the free tour of Miss Laura's in Ft. Smith which serves as their visitor's center.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
November 11, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
After hearing so many good things about this RV Park, we made a side trip to spend the night here. As said before, a no frills RV Park in a quiet location. A GREAT value - what a military campground should be. Although there's a few long-term residents, their RV sites were not trashy. There were a few vacant sites available. We arrived without a reservation. If we had the time, we would have been glad to spend a month here. There's a good article on this website about the RV Park and Fort Chaffee. We learned a few things from that article. We didn't know there was "Elvis" history here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
3 - 9 Sep 13
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Ft Chaffee is an Army National Guard post. Park is WELL WORTH the ~$10 (including tax) per night. Weird setup for water connection...faucet is at ground level. Have a screwdriver handy to lift the sewer lid. Very few pull-thru sites. I had site #2, a back-in site with great shade trees. Nice view of the fishing/duck pond from my garage door patio. Park driveway is one block past the PX. Other reviews said the campground entrance could be a little difficult to turn into, so I pulled into a gravel driveway prior to the "real" driveway and drove thru to the campground. No trash dumpsters in the park, so drop your trash in the dumpsters behind the dining facility. Wifi is available at the gym. There seems to be several fulltimers staying at the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Sept 5-6, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We came in late and checked in with the MP office to see if a site was available. They took our information and told us to take any site that was open. There was several sites free but other campers were parking their extra cars in them. There was one site open. Electric, sewer, and water is all they offer. No bathhouse or restrooms. The water requires a key but the one on our site was warn so we had to purchase one at Lowe's. Good location, nice PX for a small post like this. People were friendly. We stayed two nights. Loved hearing the range, did not hear it in the camper. Good location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
26-26 April 2013
(Updated: April 26, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Came in via main gate (now open again). It is best to call ahead for reservations. Must stop at the billeting office to sign in, they will assign you a spot. Directions to the FamCamp are clear until you get to the entrance. You can see the campground on the left but it is not marked where to turn into it. It is a small driveway next to an unmarked building. Once you do turn into the correct drive be careful, narrow drive, you will see the road up the hill to the sites. There are 37 back-in and 2 pull through sites. Site #7 at the top of the hill, is a pull through was long enough for my 72 foot length (motorhome & trailer). Great view from there overlooking the Post, a small lake and the golf course. At $8.50 it is a great value.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Dec 26/27-2012
(Updated: December 29, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
There are a few things that need to be changed on the website. 1st the main gate was closed, had to use the road just before you come to the main gate. Don't know why. We did not have a reservation and billeting was closed but the gate guard knew who to contact which was the Mil police. That building was just across the intersection. I filled out the paperwork, got the key to turn on the water,and the guard escorted us to our spot. He said we were lucky as there was a spot left. However when we got to the CG there were only 4 campers there, so I'm not sure how that works. The CG has water, electric and SEWER, but no bath house. Northern Ar had a big snowstorm come through the day before we got there and there was snow on the ground and 20 degrees outside. The water was frozen. You can't stop Mother nature. We got 12 channels on the TV, and just settled in for the night. For $8.50 a night you can't beat it. They are planning on building a bath house. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
June 2011
(Updated: July 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed here for a couple of days to take a break from traveling for a PCS. First of all the coordinates are reversed, I actually figured this out on my GPS beforehand--the GPS coordinates are to the GATE and the GATE coordinates are to the actual campground. Second, unless you are using an RV specific GPS you will want to avoid listening to your Garmin. It took me down to Highway 22 off of I-540, exit 8b. DO NOT go this way coming from the north. Take exit 3 to Hwy 59, then left on Hwy 22. You will avoid bad roads, awful traffic and about a dozen stop lights. After you get to the main gate, Hwy 22 and 1st Ave, the rest of the coordinates and directions are good. Now for the review. This place is nothing fancy but if you want quiet and out of the way for a few days this is the place. The kids and I fished the pond and caught several good fish. No one is around except for a couple of homesteaders. I had site 7, a 50 amp pull-thru at the top of the hill with nice shade. Consider going backwards into the site for a better view. Golf course close by if you have a toad. You can also go into town on Hwy 22 for Wal-Mart, Lowe's, food etc... I would not recommend this place for an overnight stop but if you have a few days it is quaint, quiet and relaxing. A great place to recharge after a long drive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
May 12, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
K.H. left this review using the Directory software: Outstanding stopover campground. Beautiful large sites available. Big rigs will have little difficulty as long as you plan ahead for the turn off of 4th Street onto the RV Park pathway.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
24-26 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 26, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Thnx to JohnJay. We stayed at the "new RV park" on post. Mil ID card required for entry. This is NOT the old one that's been turned over to the county. The gate guard at the Main Gate on Ark Hwy 22 will give you instructions to check in. If it's after hrs or on wk ends the MP's do it but both places are easy to find. The turn off to the RV park is on the right, 3 white blgs past the PX. (8:00-1630 Mon -Fri, 9:00-1300 Sundays) It's an unmarked gravel road immediately after white bldg 1599, but billeting will help w/ directions. Larry, I forgot to take pics believe it or not. They have 20 sites. The park is a circle with a road down the middle. This wk end the back-in sites in the middle row, did not have any water. Three large pull thru sites are on the upper level (left hand road as you enter). All others are back -ins. All are 50 amp w/ w/s, but only about 10 have a 30 amp plug in also. No bath/shower house. No dumpster yet and the new lights that are installed don't come on yet at night. They're working on all that, in addition to picnic tables for each site are on order. Only opened since April. The RV park wasn't officially ready but they decided to open early for Ark Nat Guard Annual training back in Apr. according to the billeting mgr. Yes, they take reservations. I'll email you that number Larry. They were MOST interested in getting the info out about this new RV park. They get many to show up, not knowing that the old one is not the only option now.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
25-26 April 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had not stayed here before so this was a new experience. As long as you follow the directions, you will find the camp - new signs on some of the internal roads help. Once there at about 4:30PM we found the Camp Host gone, but two other men immediately came over to assist, one being an Army E-6. Both suggested taking an open site and just filling out a registration in the bathhouse/office, or seeing the host when he got back around 6. I said I'd like a treeless site so our rooftop satellite dish would work, and immediately the guy helping suggested a site that fit the bill perfectly. Roads in the camp are narrow and there is an open drainage ditch alongside the main road, making backing in to the sites along the road somewhat tricky, but it can be done. Overall we found the camp to be old and a little rundown, but really nice folks; an old, but clean bathhouse, newer shower enclosures, and plenty of hot water from good showerheads. Excellent local TV reception from several channels with an antenna. No wi-fi, but Verizon G3 network card worked great. The east portion of Fort Chaffee has been turned over to the local county/city (Barling, AR), and the streets have been upgraded, repaved, and the old WWII barracks now house many small businesses. Even though the campground is now on civilian land, Fort Chaffee still controls and oversees the park itself. Preference is given military, but civilians are allowed to use the park as well. Several fulltimers are in residence, but it appeared there was a set aside of a certain number of sites for military personnel. Since it was a Sunday when we checked in, the PX and Commissary were closed, and both were located on the 'Main Base' which required an ID to enter. LOTS of open land, very quiet, and a great place to run/walk if you're into exercise. The town of Barling is a 3-4 mile drive, and there is a good grocery store, CV's. Going west from Barling about 4 miles brings you to Ft. Smith with a big Wal-Mart, reasonably priced Shell gas & diesel, fast foods of all kinds, etc. I would stay here again. VERY quiet and peaceful at night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
23 JUL to 6 AUG 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Jim and Barb no longer host here. There is an interim host by the name of Harry but he is leaving soon. Really nice guy. At $8.50 a night this place is a real bargain, but VERY quiet. Seemed like a lot of empty trailers as we rarely saw anyone else. Two washers/dryers and they're FREE. A nice little clubhouse with a book/magazine/puzzle exchange and a microwave to use. The little px on post is ok but money-wise it's best to go a little farther to the nearby Walmart. They have a theater on post but we were told that they never show any movies there. This RV park takes civilians and is not on post but the area was an army post that was bought by the National Guard and many of the old post buildings are now occupied by commercial businesses. The new RV parks on post are not open yet. Something about the water tower being the holdup. There is a small post museum nearby that was interesting which even includes a barber shop where Elvis had a haircut when he was stationed here when he first enlisted. There is no cable but you can get a few stations with an antenna. My verizon aircard worked pretty well most of the time. We had a 50 amp site. You can't get USPS mail forwarded to you here-you have to go to the nearby Barling Post office and get mail sent to you General Delivery.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
31 Oct-2 Nov 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Easy to find, and hosts were very friendly and helpful. RVs are parked at all kinds of angles due to there being no effort to create level sites. We had great difficulty getting leveled on our site as it was much higher in the rear. After several attempts (and totally destroying a jack pad in very soft ground) we finally got parked at a sharp enough angle to get leveled using several planks I carry, but we had to be careful entering and exiting the motorhome as even with our highest booster step the entry door was uncomfortably high off the ground -- tolerable for only a few nights. We would stay again, hopefully in a different site! :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
16 results - showing 1 - 16