Fort Chaffee RV Park

Fort Chaffee RV Park

Featured
 
4.4 (33)
72285 1 10 0 22

User reviews

16 reviews with 5 stars

33 reviews

 
(16)
 
(16)
 
(1)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.4  (33)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (33)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (33)
Value 
 
4.9  (33)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (33)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
July 29, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was a wonderful surprise. Initially reserved 2 nights, loved the area so much we stayed 5. The RV Park is so relaxing and has wonderful hilltop view of the pond & adjoining golf course. The surrounding area is full of history, from The Civil War to present times. We had no idea this place even exists, but we will make it a regular stop on our travels. Love, Love, Love. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
April 17,2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice small campground. Easy in and out. We were in one of the 2 large pull through sites. Site was up a small hill, level and nice views. No issues with the full hook ups. No WiFi, but for the price we couldn't complain. Very friendly gal in the check in office. Had there been more to do in the area we would have stayed longer than 3 nights. Nice little campground. Only suggestion is to put up a sign at the road leading to the campground. Coming in after dark was tricky.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
24 March 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Definitely worth coming back to. I won't go into detail about what others already wrote. Enter base at the light on Fort Road. Camping check in: Right at first stop sign....building on right. Closed the weekends. Active duty $8.50; others $11.30, a night. Entrance to campground not signed. Main campground entrance is at 35.31624 094.28039; alternately (might be easier for some) 35.29810 094.29362. PX 35.30043 094.29607. Showers and bathrooms only at the gym, next to rv check in. NOT open weekends; make reservation over the phone or ask at the gate. Free laundry across parking lot from rv check in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great place to stay. You can't beat the price, and the scenery was awesome. As in previous reviews the roads were a little rough but passable. I'll definitely be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
25 - 29 July 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great little RV park near Fort Smith. Roads were a little washed out and rough for larger rigs but not impassible. Nearest dumpster is at the Dining Facility. Great bang for the buck. We had no hook up issues as in previous reviews/years ago.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 6, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Haven't seen a review here in a while so I thought I would add the perceptions of my wife and I. We arrived late afternoon and after passing easily through the gates we found our way to the campsite. Our reservation was clearly marked at the site. It appears all sites are easy to get in and out of. After sitting up our camper we went down to his stork Fort Smith to tour the sites owned by the National Park Service. Very interesting plus a very safe place To get him an extra couple thousand steps, got to keep up with the fit bit don't you know. We are using in a frame pop up camper and are lacking a toilet facility in our rig. We do have a honey bucket however. In the morning after breakfast we drove to the gymnasium about 3/4 of a mile down the road to use their showers and other facilities. One plus is the easy access to interstate 40 though it is about 10 miles away. At least you don't have to fight city traffic. We would certainly stay again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
July 30, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great little campground. It's clean and quiet. Talked with the people over the phone they set me up for an over-nite stay. There's no extras. Just plain pull-in full hook-up and stay. It was close to town so I could pick up items I needed. I was in site 7 and it did have a great view. It's a little off the beaten track but as has been said before for $8.50 a night you can't go wrong.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Dec. 8 - 10, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
L.H. left this review using the Directory software: The coordinates entered above are for the main gate. If you are going to the on-base RV park you need to enter through the main gate and go to billeting. The coordinates on the web site are for the RV park off-base. I ended up there first following the web site coordinates. It (the RV pk off-base) is kind of trashy, short on eye appeal, and appears to be mostly long term occupants. The RV Park on-base was WONDERFUL!!! The staff at billeting that checked me in were pleasant, helpful, professional and great to do business with. Price is best value I've ever encountered. (Editors note: the coordinates have been corrected to reflect the main gate).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
20 - 22 October 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The new host is in place and he is a really nice and accommodating gent. He seems to take care of the place like he owns it. The bath house and laundry area are immaculate with the newer type washer and dryers, 2 each, with zero cost to use. Most of the spots seemed to be taken by long term folks but there were several sites available which we were gingerly led to by the camp host. Easy back in with water, sewer and power, 30 amp service. Quiet park with designated quiet hours which are adhered to. The area is close to a number of state parks with ample fishing, hiking and wildlife watching.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I concur with all the other comments, but would like to add that there is a nice lake to fish and new nature center also a great nature trail to walk to help keep the old heart pumping, all this is just down the road from the camp site. Early and late you will see deer and sometimes turkey roaming about. If traveling through or here for a visit, it's the best bargain in town.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Oct. 1 thru Oct. 31, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Agree with previous post...Nice RV Park. Jim and Barb great camp hosts. Free, new washers and dryers are wonderful. Points of interest and shopping easy to find. Small PX on post has small, but well stock selection. The new "short term" (2 weeks max.stay) park looks nice, but not open yet as they are waiting on new picnic tables and grills. Half the park is occupied by regular Civilians, but it is on city land now. Here's hoping they restrict the new campground to the military..active, NG, reserves, retired, etc. New CG located on the containment area. Hopefully, all new road work will be finished soon, but the signs to the park are great and gets you right there. We'd stay again, if traveling I-40 west in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 9-14, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed at Ft Chaffee RV Park for 5 nights. The park is clean, quite and well maintained. The online directions in this guide are spot on plus Park Host (CSM) Jim Burdick has posted excellent signage along the route to guide you into the park. Jim and his wife, Barbara became Camp Hosts a year ago this month and have really whipped the place into shape. Jim is extremely helpful in ensuring your rig fits into the best spot, he assists with parking your rig, will provide a map of the surrounding area and tips on area attractions. Jim helped us select the best route from the park to Branson. Jim and his wife Barbara surely made our stay enjoyable. Kudos to you both!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 13-20, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Agree with other posts. The campground host, Jim, is a fine host and very helpfull with information. The showers and laundry facilities are top notch. I went to see the new campground under construction and it will have 20/30/50 electric with the sites gravel pads. A few of the sites would only be suitable for small rigs due to dificulity of backing in to the site. If traveling from the west on 22, just as soon as you cross the railroad tracks, take the first right and then the frist right and follow the sighs to the RV Park. If traveling from the east on 22, take the second road to the left which will be just before you get to the railroad tracks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
March 24th, 25th, & 26th 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Agree with other posts. The campground host is to be commended for his work at the campground. The shower/bath facilities also had a free washer and dryer. They were kept in excellent condition. Civilians are allowed, but military has priority. There are quite a few "homesteaders", but plenty of room for drifters like us. Good southern exposure for satellite TV and internet dishes is available. The new, "short term" (no more than two weeks) campground is on the main post right under the red and white checked water tower. It isn't open yet, but when it does, you'll need to go through the main gate to get there. It is within walking distance to the PX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
1-21 February 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Fort Chaffee RV Park is located in an area of Fort Chaffee that has been turned over to the nearby Cities of Fort Smith and Barling, but the campground remains under Fort Chaffee control. The Camp Host, Jim (a retired Army CSM) is very accommodating, willing to help, has the best interest of the campground at heart and keeps it maintained. The bathhouse and laundry is clean and well-kept. This park is a great place to stay while you see the local historic attractions. New signage makes finding the campground much easier. The host tells me a new campground (actually, two new campgrounds) are being built on Ft. Chaffee proper. Visited one of the new campgrounds - construction not completed, but should be soon. It will be nice; level, full hookup, 50 amp, pads, etc. Didn't visit the second campground. Jim should be commended on a job well done. Stop in to have a cup of coffee with him.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 24 thru Sep 30, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This campground surprised me. It is located in an area of Fort Chaffee that has been turned over to the nearby town of Fort Smith, but the campground remains under Ft. Chaffee control. Most of the residents appear to be long term in their RVs. The host, a retired Army CSM, told me anybody can stay, even anybody off the street. Contrary to the "book", some of the sites are 50 amp, and all have sewer. In some cases, water connections are shared with another camper. The park is a great place to be to see the local attractions, and Ft. Smith has a lot of interesting history. Finding the campground is not easy. DON'T go in the main gate; you'll be turned around. If you come in from the east on Hwy 22, go past the main gate and turn onto the "post" at the next street to your left. If coming from the west on Hwy 22 (Rogers Blvd), turn right about 1 mile after you pass the Hwy 255 junction (you'll cross over some RR tracks immediately before turning to the right). Whether you come from the east or west, enter (there's no gate and no street sign, but it's Mahogany Street), take the first right (no street sign there either, but later you'll see that it's Ft. Chaffee Rd). Continue for 1.1 mile, past a long row of warehouse type buildings, and turn right onto Darby Street. Continue straight to the dead end, where the campground is. The host tells me a new campground (actually, two new campgrounds) are being built on Ft. Chaffee proper. The first to open will be about 20 sites intended for short stays, like 2 weeks. It will be nice; level, full hookup, 50 amp, pads, etc. The second campground will be for longer stays.
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
16 results - showing 1 - 16