Edwards AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.4 (86)
70681   2   15   0   18

User reviews

10 reviews with 2 stars

86 reviews

 
(16)
 
(31)
 
(21)
 
(9)
 
(9)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
3.3  (86)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.5  (86)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.2  (86)
Value 
 
3.6  (86)
Overall Experience 
 
3.4  (86)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10
Ordering
November 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Edwards is out in the middle of nowhere and as a result, I believe $30/night is too costly. The only reason I came here was to store my RV for the winter and that worked out fine, but in my opinion, the Famcamp is not very good value. There really isn't an office, but one has to find the MWR office, and arrange your stay. Unless one has a specific reason to visit Edwards, I wouldn't visit this Famcamp. All the previous 2018 comments about recent conditions are unchanged and definitely could be improved. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12-14 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
My thoughts was the place was abandoned at first sight. There were very few campers on site. The famcamp needs some attention from the powers in charge. Several of the sites are closed due to inoperable utilities. This famcamp has great potential with the right management and maybe a lower price. The write-up below is accurate. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jan. 12, 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We stayed here twice before about 17 years ago, and it was very nice then. This time it wasn't worth the long drive in from the interstate. We were told there was no electric when calling for a reservation, but cost would be $25, and so long as spaces were open we could not dry camp in overflow. We arrived in the dark, so just pulled into a spot and did not hook up. There was nobody to pay or register with. In the morning I saw how unkempt the place was. Apparently nobody bothers to maintain the place. The cap for the sewer pipe was on the picnic table. Yuk! The bathroom had not seen proper ongoing maintenance since the last time we visited, it appeared. As the other reviewer mentioned, the urinal just flows constantly, a fire alarm chirps constantly, the place needed a good cleanup, paint and repairs. What a disappointment! We left early morning, so the office, wherever it was, would not have been open, so we just left. It would not have been worth $5, so we just left. The base/MWR needs to shake up this place! Gas station had diesel, so that was the only excitement in this visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April and May 2017
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Well, just when you think things can't get any worse! Just go visit Edwards. They fired Andy and Mary who were the only ones that did anything there. You now have to go to outdoor rec to sign in and they have put surveillance cameras around the entire famcamp and in the recroom. The furniture is gone. The 10 new sites are in and are very level, but hard to get in and out depending if someone is next to you. Some are for small units only as they did not cut the trees back or remove the signs that are blocking some sites. No new or updated bathrooms or laundry for 10 more RVs. Out of the 3 new washers that were put in, only one works. The good thing is you don't have to put any money in the one that works. The management only cares about making money with no support.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
As you can see by the photos, this Famcamp is more of a close-quarters RV parking area. This is not a good place. There is nothing special about the individual campsites except they do have FHU and the price is reasonable. The Famcamp will work for an overnight stay although I will avoid it in the future. If you do decide to go for an overnight stay, I would recommend parking in the overflow area. The commissary and exchange are right across the street within easy walking distance, which was the best part of my visit. There is also a gas station/shoppette right there and a car/RV wash area nearby. There is an aviation museum close by which I'm sure is worth a visit. I believe the majority of the "campers" here are semi-permanent residents (homesteaders). The place has the feel of a low-rent trailer park if you catch my drift. I can only think that adequate housing must be difficult for this group. You have to wonder what the folks in the MWR office are thinking.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 14, 2015
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
The Famcamp has been taken over by full timers the base CO changed to maximum stay from two weeks to 90 days with unlimited renewals and extensions, contractors and homesteaders took over the camp. We have stopped there three times in the last year and have been forced to dry camp each time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 27, 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We didn’t stay at Edwards this time due to all the RV spots being taken. However, I feel compelled to write a review anyway. If ever a military famcamp has hit the bottom of the sewer, this one is it. First, there are several long-time “residents” staying there. I counted 11 rigs that appeared to have been there for some time and I spoke to a gentleman who said most of them are DOD contractors who are working on Edwards. I can’t verify that but I can say that there is junk laying all around and under several of those RV’s. Secondly, the circle in the center of the park has weeds grown up to at least two feet high. At one time the area was kept neat and clean but not anymore. When we arrived, I looked on the board where you check in and noticed two sites were not paid for, #10 & #20. Site 10 was being taken so we checked site 20. There was a home-made “occupied” sign in that site. Technically, we could have removed the sign and parked there but we didn’t want to get in a big p&^%%ing contest so we just left. Andy, the camp host is not in the park as he works full-time and is not available to during the times he is needed. I feel that Edwards really needs a “hands on” host who is there during hours that RV’er need assistance. and possibly take care of the park. I plan to write a letter to the Wing Commander about the deplorable conditions at the famcamp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 14 1
October 17, 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
You know those campgrounds where dedicated camp hosts keep things squared away and in good working order? This is not one of those. It is sad to see this park fall into disrepair. Over twelve years we have seen it improve, including a new bathhouse and lounge and upgraded electric. This visit, we arrived at 1:30 PM and found one unoccupied space, #6. The electric box was damaged, the water faucet broken and the site covered in dried toilet paper. When I tried to dump, it started backing up. Perhaps that's how the site got flooded with sewage previously? Weeds several feet high separate the sites. The restroom was littered and dirty with unwashed floors, broken shower-heads (both), dirty sinks (one clogged), dirty shower curtains and walls. The rubber mats hadn't been picked up and cleaned for a long time. There is evidence of neglect everywhere. The payment envelopes were wrinkled, stained and reused many, many times. I lacked the strength to open the rusted dumpster door. No one appears to reproach speeding drivers. There are twenty snug Jack-and-Jill sites and five very spacious ones. In the years we have been staying here, we have never seen one of the big sites available. The good side? It was quiet, dark (good star-gazing) and the voltage was good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Mar 15 - 16, 2011
(Updated: March 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
When we visited the grounds were not in good shape. Weeds high and the whole campground looked unkept. This facility is way out in the desert, and far away from anything. The commissary and exchange is close to the famcamp and within walking distance. It is well stocked. The famcamp is next door to the swimming pool which is indoors. The host is very friendly and helpful. Overall I think they need to come into the famcamp and clean up the weeds.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
09 March 09
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Spent 21 days here last month and was sad to hear that the host, Carol, will be leaving at the end of April. Management still provides no support what so ever and from the way they act it's obvious they have no intention for providing any in the future. Every person they asked to take over as host has refused for that reason. They claim they do not have any money to make improvements or supply the host with even the basic cleaning supplies. Carol has hurt her leg and has severely limited mobility. While I was there I helped out where ever I could because the office wasn't making any effort. If they won't invest anything into the camp grounds I see it as only a matter of time before they close the facility. Oh! They did open up several new tent sites; on the wrong side of the wind brake and shade trees.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
10 results - showing 1 - 10