Edwards AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.5 (84)
62551   2   15   0   16

User reviews

31 reviews with 4 stars

84 reviews

 
(16)
 
(31)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(8)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
3.4  (84)
 
3.2  (84)
 
3.7  (84)
 
3.5  (84)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
31 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2017

Things must have changed around here a lot since the previous reviews. We did not see any homesteaders, and the sites are level and graveled. Andy is a gem. When we called from Paso Robles he assured us there were plenty of sites available for a Monday arrival. Our plans changed and we arrived on Sunday instead - no problem. The access to the Bx/Commissary couldn't be better - there is even a walkway in case you choose to use your feet instead of a car. The only reason we are only staying a few days is because of the poor internet signal. This could be a Verizon problem, or due to the high winds a couple of days ago, no way to know. I work from the coach, so internet is vital. Other than that, no complaints.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 18, 2015

Directions from SR58 need updating. Take the Edwards AFB Exit. Use the right hand lane at the gate as originally indicated. From there on, there are signs directing you to FamCamp. The campground is Spartan, but adequate for a couple of days...especially for $17 a night. It definitely could use some sprucing up. After staying at the Davis-Monthan and Nellis FamCamps, this is a letdown, but different commands, different budget priorities. Host was very nice and helpful. I called the day before arrival to check on availability.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 23-29, 2014

The best thing about EAFB's Famcamp is its proximity to the AF Flight Test Museum, where you can learn about the amazing history of this base and its mission. I went there 3 times during my short visit; it's just that fascinating. The second best thing is the pool, which is within walking distance of your RV. The BX and Commissary are also just around the corner. Andy, the site host, is available on weekends and by phone if you need anything, too. He was very friendly and helpful when we met. I think the photos provided on this site are outdated and ought to be replaced. I should have done that myself but didn't think of it, sorry! In any case, half the sites are so close together as to be horrid (I had a guy next door with 2 barking puppies and bad loud music that I had to say something about), while those that are nicely spaced are (it seems) permanently occupied. It was frustrating and one of the reasons I chose to leave a day and a half early. But...I am definitely going back. I really wanted to see more of the test flights (seeing the F22 was just awesome!), but the entire F35 fleet was grounded due to a tail fire on one at Eglin while I was there. I'll be passing through on my way back to Tucson, though, and look forward to a) seeing a JSF sortie, and b) finding a primo spot by sheer miracle! ;o)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 4th-11th, 2014

We stayed here on Feb 4th thru the 11th. If you have a large class A with the sewer hookups behind the back tire you will need a long sewer hose because the elec, water, sewer are in the middle of the space.(space 1 thru 20) The site are close together so if you have a slide and the rig next to you also does they are very close together. The best sites are 21 thru 25 because you have nobody close to you and all the services are in the rear. We stay at a few Famcamps and I noticed the food prices in the commissary and all the fast-food prices are a lot higher than at other famcamps. If you don't mind the wind this a great place to stay for a few days. I think they need more lights at night because if you come in after dark it's very hard to see were to park. Because there are no lights at the RV spots. I went out and helped a couple rigs park. After they drove around a couple of times.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct. 18-20, 2013

Spent a couple nights here and enjoyed our visit. They've made some improvements since our last visit - they've added gravel (rocks), removed most of the weeds, and have planted numerous trees with irrigation. Well done! While the showers/restrooms were mostly clean, they are showing their age and are worn. Even though they recently raised the nightly rates, it's still a good bargain. WiFi worked for us. We enjoyed our visit and will return again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 20 - June 23, 2013

We stayed here for four nights - 20 - 23 June 2013. There are no reservations but checkin is easy and hassle free and the sign in board. The WiFi was down almost every day we were there but my MiFi worked well. We had a well shaded space with full hookups for only $15.00 per night. I walked to the BX, Commissary or Burger King every day. The new gas station next door will be open by mid July. Shower and restroom was fairly clean. I was stationed here in 1983 when they towed the B52D to the nearby museum. It was painted using Sears Weatherbeater paint and mops.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

30 Apr-4 May 2013

We have stayed at Edwards several times and have always enjoyed our visit. This review will provide you with a couple of updates. Verizon Wireless completed the upgrade to 4G LTE service on the base and now our Jetpack MiFI screams. Here in the Famcamp we are getting five bars of solid 4G service. AAFES is building a new gas station directly behind the famcamp and by the looks of the progress, we should see that completed very soon. If you have an Air Force Frequent Camper book, you must go to the Outdoor Recreation Office to get that stamped. On Fitzgerald Ave go past the BX/Commissary complex, turn right at the next street and follow that around until you come to a strip mall on the left. The MWR office is the last office.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

16 Jan 2013

D.K. left this review using the Directory software:- Have been here at least 10 times & it keeps getting a little better each time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 12, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

3 - 4 October 2012

Location is very convenient if you are east or westbound on CA-58. We stopped here for two nights as we were leaving central California heading east to I-40. Very good directional signs from the gate lead you right to the campground. There were about eight spots available when we arrived, and we circled around and choose the one we could find that would provide a little afternoon shade. Self registration is very easy, but only cash or checks. Electrical voltage was a little low, just below 110, but adequate to run the AC without damaging it, and that was using the 50 amp outlet. The location is a short walking distance to the BX, Commissary, and Starbucks. Starbucks has very good WiFi. There is none at the campground. There is no cable TV and my antenna would pick up only two channels: one in Chinese, and the other was too stupid to watch. Very clean restrooms and laundry. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29-31 Mar 2012

The weeds are gone! Another very nice stay. This is the first time we have seen this Famcamp completely full. We'll be back. Good power and water pressure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 16, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec. 14-15, 2011 and Dec 26, 2011

The camp has nice, clean facilities. Laundry room with 3 washers/dryers; restroom with 2 showers. Multi-purpose room has books, games, area information. Visited the Air Force Flight Test Center Museum, which is well worth the visit. The Dryden Flight Research Facility only gives tours on certain days and advance reservations are required. Commissary and Exchange had good selection. Previous reviews had complained about weeds in the FamCamp, but we saw no evidence of this. We spent a total of 3 nights, but never encountered a camp host. However, the self-registration system works just fine. The $25 per night fee is a bit steep for the isolated location, but EAB worked well has a stopover point in our travels to/from Yuma, AZ. Nearby is the Rio Tinto Visitor Center (boron mine) and the 20 Mule Team and Aerospace Museum.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2011

Our first visit here. The campground is old but all utilities worked good and the sites are level. Verizon has a good single. All shopping is in walking distance. The museum was great good history and highly recommended and static displays were presented well. The NASA gift shop is also a great visit. Poor Andy has his hands full with the weeds and is a fine host (To bad they won't let him use round up). He's a wealth of information on the base and surrounding area. This is a great stop over for a few days to rest up and shop.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

2-3 May 2011

I fear Andy is loosing the weed battle here. The concept of putting rock in the center area was good in theory but not very practical. The weeds have taken over. Edwards is a great stop-over park where you can relax and get some shopping done at the Commissary and BX. We have been here several times and will return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 23-24, 2011

Upon arrival, Andy the camp host, was busy weed-eating weeds. It looked like a losing battle. We had just pulled into our site when he drive up to greet us. Very nice and dedicated camp host. It appears MWR is providing more support than they did years ago, but still need to put more attention into the FamCamp. Wouldn't it be nice if even 75% if the revenue generated by the FamCamp is put back into the campgrounds? Besides the weeds, the FamCamp is a nice pace to relax and spend some time if in t he area. Large BX and Commissary across the street. The nightly rate and rotation policy is VERY fair. There were about a dozen sites available when we arrived, with 6 of them getting filled by evening. We'll always stay here when in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 13, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 2011

We were fortunate to have one of the three sites that had trees and a lot of room from your neighbors. The host was very informative and friendly. The amenities were fine and in my opinion a very good value for $15. The location is remote however the Boron facility and the Air and Space museum were nice.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

September 11, 2010

J.P. left this review using the Directory software: The BX has undergone a remodeling with a larger electronics and BluRay/DVD selection, but the prices are still high. Nice Food Court. Burger King is getting a major remodel, only drive thru is available. We live in Rosamond and haven't stayed at the FamCamp, I've placed ratings because it's required to submit this, and based my input on others reviews.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 11 - 14, 2009

Edwards AFB is a huge base, but the services and facilities are all fairly close and convenient to the famcamp. Check-in is a self-service thing like you find in many national and state parks, with forms and envelopes in a weather-proof box. First pick out a vacant site, then do the paperwork. Put one copy of the completed form, along with check or cash together in an envelope and deposit it into the locked metal post-box adjacent to the campground sign. You take another copy for your receipt, and the white copy goes into the "occupied sites" slots on the back of the c/g welcome sign. There is a camp host, but he is not involved in check-in or site assignment. All the FHU sites are level, paved pull-throughs. The bath house is clean and heated (it's a chilly winter in the high desert). The laundry room is also clean, and has fairly new machines. The commissary, exchange, and shoppette pretty well cover all your travel/camping supply needs. The base gas station also sells propane. Andy, the camp host, is a peach of a gentleman, and was helpful and caring about the campers. One annoying thing about this campground is that the kids from the base schools use it for their shortcut to/from school. In the process, they cut right through the individual campsites, and several of them went into the clubhouse and bath house, and just generally loitered there. A number of them passed through our campsite between our RV and the picnic table, all the while being generally rowdy and loud as groups of school kids tend to be. Andy said he knew this was a problem and, to illustrate the point, another group came rambling through as we were speaking. He said he's working with the schools to find some equitable solution. He also intercepted the kids and explained the rules to them. There's work in progress to cover the barren ground around the bath house and picnic shelter with a thick layer of crushed desert rock. It will be a significant improvement to the appearance of the area and minimize dust on windy days. Andy says other improvements in the works are: WIFI for the whole camp (the contract has been let and he's expecting installation very soon); A new flat panel TV and cable hookup for the club room (there is no TV now except for a small analog set connected ONLY to a DVD player); A new, fenced dog play area; four shuffleboard courts will be added to the existing tennis courts adjacent to the c/g; and an expanded tent camping area. When all these projects are done, it will be worth the $15/night price. So, contrary to the opinion expressed by the May 2009 reviewer, it appears the services squadron folks care a great deal about the success and appearance of this famcamp and that it'll be here for a long time to come. For Sprint broadband air card users, we had good 3G EVDO signal for our internet connection.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

October 16 - October 19, 2009

We entered through the North gate which was very easy with our 37 foot rig. The sites were all paved and level. Some had trees for shade. It was airshow weekend so the camp was full. The restrooms and laundry were clean and neat. The camphost was very nice and seemed to really care about the park. We will stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 1 to July 21, 2009

When I left, the North Gate, (Hwy 58) was still under construction. Soon it’ll be a year since they started and that means it shouldn’t be more than another six months or so. However, some modifications have been made which should make it easier for larger RV’s to get in and out. A lot has been done at the FAMCAMP and it shows. The water pressure in the showers has improved and each restroom has a mirror raised high enough for an average adult to use without looking like Quasimodo. Plans to paint the restroom floors with the proper paint are in the works along with getting WiFi. The grounds have been cleaned up and they have a bid for rocking the courtyard area. It’s a fair bid and far cheaper than what the CE’s estimated. Now they have to wait for it to go through the committee for approval. The bottom line here is really simple: Management knows this place can become a money maker. They just have to convince the bean counters. The new camp host is just about perfect and should be a welcomed addition. He has the right attitude and is willing to help when he can. He understands campers and their needs and wants. The day room has a new bulletin board with a lot of useful information posted. Pets still must be on a leash and only the outer ring of the campground can be used for walking them. Naturally enough everyone one is expected to pick up after his or hers pet; a concept that seems to elude a few people. And vehicles are strictly forbidden in the courtyard area. My hope is that they reconsider the stay limitations and the amount of time required before you can return. All in all, Edwards is well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 1 to current, 2009

The West and South gates into Edwards are under construction and entering and exiting through those gates can be a problem for even mid-size RV’s. Seems the powers that are, did not take into consideration that vehicles bigger than a car often visit the base. The Security Force has been getting complaints daily and they are doing their best to get this problem resolved quickly. The problem may be fixed very soon. Those of you who have read my previous comments concerning the FAMCAMP and just how bad things had become will be happy to know that the new administration is making positive changes. A serious effort was launched to get Wi-Fi on the grounds. The chances getting it are based upon the cost to install what is needed to bring it in. The grounds are being cleaned up and the base is going with a zero landscape policy. That means we’ll have a minimum of lawn, a lot of rock in the center court and a generally neater and cleaner appearance. A cleaning staff comes in every day to clean the restrooms and paper towel dispensers have been installed so you can clean up the sink when you’re done. A list of nearby attractions, places to eat and available shopping in the immediate area is being made up now and should be ready soon. And people will be surprised when they find out what’s really available around here. The idea of expanding the camp grounds over into the former modular housing area has been dashed by the environmentalist here on base. At least for now. Out of the kindness of their confused thinking they did authorize ten additional tents sites that would be on the wrong side of the wind and sun break. In general, improvements are being made every day. However, you must keep in mind that some things are going to take time thanks to the budget and the seemingly endless paper worker they need to do in order to get anything done. These people are serious about improving the area and they are doing the best they can.

Was this review helpful to you? 
31 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2