Edwards AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.5 (84)
62551   2   15   0   16

User reviews

16 reviews with 5 stars

84 reviews

 
(16)
 
(31)
 
(21)
 
(8)
 
(8)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
 
3.4  (84)
 
3.2  (84)
 
3.7  (84)
 
3.5  (84)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

5 May - 16 May 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Edwards AFB FamCamp. We stayed in space 21 in our travel trailer. Is was quiet and had a good time here. We and our little dog liked to walk the bike/walking paths around the Base. The Restrooms/Showers are very clean. The Recreation room is clean and has exercise equipment, and a Dish satellite TV. We definitely plan to staying here again in the future.

John Holland.JPG
Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 30 - Oct 1, 2013

We've stayed here before, on our way to Arizona/New Mexico, etc. Pleasant surroundings, quiet. Some interesting things to explore in the area (Borax Mine, 20 Mule Team Museum, etc.) This time, we took a day to drive to NAWS China Lake in Ridgecrest. When I logged on to enter this, I saw the article that China Lake has a FamCamp that opened shortly after we had been there. China Lake has a very nice Naval Museum of Armament and Technology, with impressive displays and history on, among other things, the Sidewinder missile.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 18, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Nov 2012

Spent two nights, host very helpful. Bike trails excellent. Very close to Comm and Exchange. Plan to stop again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 16, 2013

We usually stay here at least one night coming and going to/from Arizona. The park has never looked better; the center area is filled with rock and recently planted trees, and looks great. The Famcamp is easy to get to and is close to the commissary and BX. We like that there are no reservations, and that has never ever been a problem to find a place to park. Site 21 - the sewer is about 4" below the concrete surface so requires a donut to connect - don't remember that issue with other sites. Some sites are not terribly level. But all in all we happily stay here once or twice a year.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

7 Dec 2012

We stayed here one night enroute from Travis to Nellis. The location is perfect right off Hwy 58. Access onto base was easy, just showed ID's and the airman told us how to find the camp. It is a spartan little camp on a spartan little base, as she said as we left "Just be glad you don't have orders to stay here the next 4 years!" Nice clean shower/restroom facilities, a pleasant little day room set up with small library, TV, comfy chairs and a few books and games. The museum on base is a must-see! Great displays of the heyday of aerospace testing at Edwards. Typical static displays outside, but they have an SR71! Always like seeing that bird. The museum is just south of camp and within walking distance - just look for the buff! We also enjoyed seeing Lake Rosamund where it all happened back in the day. The base has a small but very nice BX complex and a commissary. Bowling alley, golf course and outdoor rec all within easy distance of camp. Propane at the gas station just a block from camp. There is also a very nice rest area a few miles east of the gate and I highly recommend venturing into the small town of Boron where you will find a couple more small museums. One on Air & Space and the other all about the 20 Mule Teams and early days of Boron. They are free, but we left a donation to help them keep it that way. The Borax Mine also has a museum, but we did not make it there this time. Definitely will stay there again, Edwards is a desert gem.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb-April, May-June, 2012

J.H. left this review using the Directory software: - Stayed at Edwards for two 90 day periods, separated by two weeks. The 15 dollars a day for retired military is a real bargain. The Camp Host, Andy is a great guy who helped us out several times. When our cat got out and bit and scratched my wife, he and his wife were very helpful by giving us some needed bandages, gauze and ointment. Andy gave us some great advice about RVs and showing me how to properly secure my Harley. Located in a great spot. Within a few blocks to base facilities. Bowling Alley is about a block away. There is a swimming pool right next to the Famcamp. We never used it, but we saw others with kids going over there. They have a good size water slide and with the hot weather, it was getting used alot. Good golf course on the base. I know on Wed. there have a 20 dollar deal--18 holes, cart and lunch. The showers/bathroom were clean. Nice washing machines and dryers in laundry room. They have a day room with ice, microwave, TV and DVD player. A couple of exercise machines and also a small exchange book library. This was the first Famcamp that we have stayed out, so I just hope all of them are as nice as this one.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Jun 16 & 17, 2012

We arrived at the FAMCAMP not really knowing where to park. However, a gentleman who was driving around in a golf cart told us that we could choose any spot and then self-register. He also warned us that due to the extreme heat that they'd been having power problems and asked if we'd only use one air-conditioner. We did use the bowling alley which was very close as well as the BX and commissary. The last morning we stopped at Starbucks to use Wi-Fi. So overall the FAMCAMP was nice except the temps were too high!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

24 May -30 May, 2012

Very nice CG..this is our 3rd or 4th visit here and our longest...got caught in the 70mph winds last night..took down 4 power poles in Lancaster...NB- believe the high wind advisory and especially when it gets to a warning...we were lucky to get here in one piece...very slow driving! So we are hunkered down till Monday or Tues...it is a ghost town for the holiday...we found the Shoppette mentioned in previous review..from the end of the commissary, with the commissary front entrance to your right, turn right up the winding road..there is the Class VI, Subway, Pizza hut.. post office, and a plethora of little shops...more than in the BX/Commissary complex... We would return without a second thought...the concrete curbs comng in are not a real problem..they are only inches high!! We traveled in a 32 travel trailer. oh be prepared with extra hose lengths in case you are lucky to get a shady spot (we did!! ) --HU's are longer away in this spot as it is on a dead end road (space 1 and 2)... And only reason did not get 5 stars is a tad distant from town (30 miles)..not a real big deal..most folks are 1-2
nighters..again this was most full I have seen it in years... Rich and Stefanie

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 19, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

10-11 May 20012

Spent the night here to get the season started and to warm up (we live on the coast). It was easy to find the RV camp, (watch out for the winding curbs going thu the base gates), no reservations needed, probably 1/2 full, easy pull thrus, FHU, not a lot of shade & little grass, lots of small trees planted that should help with the shade in the coming years, pet friendly. Both the well stocked commissary & exchange were within short walking distance as well as quite a few fast food venders. Note to self: Get Beer before getting set up. Neither the commissary nor the exchange sell beer. I walked a long hot/dry ways looking for the shoppette with its' promise of the cold ones needed to complete my camp out, no luck finding the elusive shoppette. I Finally ventured out again to the base gas station. I knew where it was. Still a bit of a walk but not as far as that unsuccessful shoppette venture. SCORE, and another hot walk back to the RV. The camp host came by for a friendly chat. Seamed be be a pretty nice guy. Was hot in the day and cooled off pretty well in the night. A nice fairly quiet camp out. At $15 a night, I'll certainly go back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 16, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 11, 2011

This is a great spot to spend a few days visiting the base itself. There isn't much else close by in the way of attractions. The host was very helpful and hospitable. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 21, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

October 19, 2010

This is just a great place to camp. The facilities are clean, well laid out, easy to get to and convenient to everything that the area has to offer. Tip of the hat to Andy (host). The weather was becoming very stormy the evening that we were there and he went the extra mile to go around and notify everyone of the impending storm. Awnings and external items were spared because of his efforts. We will be back.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 16, 2010

High desert. Sandy. Rocks added to center open space, but no underlaying weed barrier, so it's a grass / weed area now. The $15 charge is cheap compared to other places we stay. [Pendleton is $30] Camp host made the stay pleasant, and roads are paved. Laundry is cheap at $1 wash & $.25 dry. Clean. A nice stopping place. Walk easily to small commissary & exchange.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 2010

A bit off the beaten path but well worth the stop. Things were a bit quiet and the camp host Andy stopped by for a visit. He took us on a personal tour of the base sharing stories of the history and points of interest. He was very knowledgeable and was happy to share the information. The base is a city of its own so you will not lack for any needed items. Will definitely return again. Agree the check-in was a bit different, but easy to understand. Lot 21 was a nice size for our 37' motorhome.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 23-27, 2009

I don't know what more can be expected of this campsite other than shade trees. It was clean, the commissary, exchange, fast food, gas station, mechanic & bowling alley were all within two blocks (Walking distance). If you like airplanes and/or history this is worth a good 3+ days. Also, with 40+ full hookups and over 40 overflow spaces the chance of not finding a space is slim. The camp host was enthusiastic and helpful. The site is on the honor system which I personally appreciate.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15 Apr 2008

Great location as there is nothing else out here in this part of the desert. The famcamp is right near a lot of facilities and it is easy walking distance to BX/Commissary, Bowling, pool, etc. Nice tent locations and very friendly folks in the park. The shower/laundry facilities are new and kept up very nicely. The wifi at the BX is a great bonus too. Overall very nice park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Feb. 18, 2008

Stopped overnight returning home from Bullhead City AZ. Camp host was super friendly and very helpful. RV sites are roomy, fairly level and very clean. Very quiet and everyone was friendly. Restrooms and laundry were clean. Very nice BX just a short walk away. Lots of fast food restaruants within walking distance. I recommend this FAM camp if you are traveling route 58, take exit 186 and follow the signs. It is only about 8 miles to the FAM camp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
16 results - showing 1 - 16