Sunset on the lake

Lake O'Neill Recreation Park

 
3.7 (30)
87140   0   2   3   20

User reviews

16 reviews with 4 stars

30 reviews

 
(5)
 
(16)
 
(7)
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0  (30)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (30)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.1  (30)
Value 
 
3.7  (30)
Overall Experience 
 
3.7  (30)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
25 May - 30 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Easy check in, on other site of lake from RV sites. sites good size and level, some trees. New laundry room but no washers or dryers, had to go off post to do laundry in Fallbrook, CA . Good T-Mobil cell phone . Camp wifi ok. Gas station on Vandergrift rd. easy in/out. Gas station by Commissary looks hard . did not try. ( gas was .40 cents a gallon cheaper than off post.) No fenced in dog park. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
19 Oct-2 Nov 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a nice campground and convenient to base facilities. Definitely a good bargain for the area. The sites STILL need to be leveled even after many complaints and reviews mentioning the problem for at least 6 or 7 years. Our site, 52, was more level than others. Poor RV, motorhome, in 53 had his front wheels a good 6 inches off of the ground. This site for amenities, states 30 amp. Our site and all in our row, not sure about other sites, had 50 amp, so need to update. Was pleasantly surprised to find the 50 amps.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
15-23 April 2012
(Updated: April 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We always enjoy our stay at Lake O'neill. I do wish they would work more on getting the spaces level. As I have said before, it is quite obvious spaces 52-61 are NOT level. They slope down toward the south. Not too much of a problem for 5th Wheels, but large (35') class A RVs wind up with the front wheels off of the ground. Normally a fairly quiet park, 24/7, except for weekends, dredging of the lake did tend to grind on ones nerves. This is forecast to be completed sometime in July. Really though cannot beat the price for what you get. We will be back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
3 Nov - 16 Nov 2011
(Updated: November 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The campground is very quite except for Marines and Navy personnel utilizing the campground roads for their morning PT runs. The campgrounds are without cable TV and they don't offer a week or monthly rate, so staying for more than a week is really more costly than staying in some of the local campgrounds in the civilian sector, and is one thing I wish they would change to remain competitive. The location is great as you are conveniently located to main side (about 5 min drive) where the main exchange is located as well as the theater, bowling ally etc. The commisary is located just inside the main gate off of the I-5, and is about a 10 min drive from the campgrounds. The majority of sites are electric and water only, with full hookups reserved to only about a dozen sites, but a dump is conveniently located toward the front of the park. As we have a fully loaded 5th wheel we haven't used the shower facilities, but the kids have said they were in need of attention when they used the bathrooms near the playgrounds. Lake O'Neil offers a great walking trail around the lake which is especially beautiful in the evenings; however, beware, there was a mountain lion sighted on the trail on 8/11/11.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
25 August - 26 August 2011
(Updated: August 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This place could be a Premier RV site but it needs a little work. If they would pave all of the RV sites and make them all the same size, make more spots to fish and open up the boat/bait center earlier during the fishing season would make this site worth the money. I stay here often because I like to take the boys fishing early in the morning and we can wake up and walk right down to the lake.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Put our RV here to get it ready to go to the beach. Had a FHU site the first time that was a bit of an experience getting backed into. Overall good experience, nice facilities- didn't check out shower facilities. Employees are really nice and very helpful. It was kind of hot as the lake is in a valley so not much ocean breeze but still a good location. Close to the hospital if you have reason to go there. As for directions, I would disagree with the directions listed from southbound I5. Going all the way through the base takes a long time & they've had a lot on construction on Basilone road between the Basilone Gate & Los Pulgas Gate making driving an RV a true experience. Time wise and ease of travel, would suggest going down to the main gate in Oceanside (same exit as given for Northbound I5) rather than driving through. If you want to go through the base some, use the Las Pulgas Gate & you'll miss the road construction. The construction was supposed to be done by 31 August but it isn't close to being done yet & there are some really narrow areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
30Aug-1Sep08
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have stayed here 4 times now and agree with many of the comments about the shower area and sites. It is also a bit of a walk to get to the shower areas from many of the sites. This was our first time staying in one of the full hook-up sites, they are gravel, mostly level. Also, there are many lakefront sites that are at a very steep angle and difficult to level out on. The mini-golf/picnic area across lake was fun and not used much and the trail around the lake is nice, although isolated in some areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 1-4, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
T.L. left this review using the Directory software: Enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
2-6 July 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I frequent Lake O'Neill occasionally and have to say the lake and the scenery is beautiful. There are a lot of things to do (fishing, boating, hiking, horseback riding etc.) It was a little crowded this last time but still not bad. To piggyback on other reviews the restroom does need a little work, but it is well maintained. It's mostly used by those who are camping in tents so it adds to the joy of "roughing it". The Camp Ground is consistently services. I've noticed the ground keepers driving around checking and changing the trash bags in the trash cans. Most of the staff are friendly and very helpful except one young lady who is fairly new named Shalonda who works at the registration desk. She appears very arrogant and talks to you without making eye contact like she has better things to do. The first time I met her I thought she was having a bad day. But having made several reservations since then I believe that's just her attitude. Besides that I do recommend Lake O'Neill. One more thing! watch out for the mosquitoes.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
July 3-6, 20 08
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
See my review from 2007. I stayed in Section 2 site #5. There is a large tree providing shade to the picnic/fire ring area. There is still only one shower each for men/women and there can be a long wait at times. At least the water is hot. Bathrooms are pretty nasty at the end of the day, but there are lots of porta-potties around that are cleaner. I plan to return later this year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
24-26 May2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our 3rd time staying here and we have always enjoyed each stay. There are several areas that could be improved (upgrade/modern showers or increase number of sewer hook-up sites, several asphalt RV sites quite angled and slanted to one side, more than 1 shower/rest room (a bit of a hike from some of the North side sites or work with the gym to allow patron to shower there)). However, these are mostly minor items and overall this is a great place to stay. We really liked the numerous trails (including the lake loop), numerous porta-potti's (at least during our stay, always clean), great pet walking areas (although some owners need to remember THEY are required to clean up after their pet!!!) and several available "things-to-do" at nearby rec office (Mini-golf, boat rentals, volleyball, baseball, etc.). It is close to the Navy hospital but a bit of a distance from other facilities (if you plan on walking), driving there are 2 exchange/commissary areas within 8 1/2 miles. They also have an available "honey-pot" service since most sites don't include sewage hook-up, but there is a provided dump station on site. We will definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
25-28 May 2007
(Updated: June 01, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed in section 2, site 17. As jpbarnes444 notes, it was crowded, but noise was not much of a factor for me. The site is asphalt with a slight slope side to side. The firepit was located in a grassy area at the rear of the site. An aluminum picnic table is provided and was in good condition. Fishing is available, but signs are posted that it is currently catch and release. The checking process was smooth. Reservations were made by phone, and I confirmed my site at that time. There is not a lot of shade along sites 1-17 in section 2, but site 18 offers partial shade with a larger area to the left of the site for extra parking, etc. The site was $18 per night (water/electric). The bathroom (at least the men's) could use a little maintenance like new paint and at least another shower. There is a mini-golf across the lake from the campground. It appeared to be in better shape than when I stayed there last year. Base security patrols the area frequently. Newspaper stands are replenished daily. EDIT-BTW, keep track of your firewood. Mine was stolen out of the firepit...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
26-28 May 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We tent-camped on a lakeside site. It was Memorial Day weekend, so it was a bit crowded and noise was a factor late at night and early in the morning. The lakeside sites are small and most are not very level. I recommend staying at one of the non-lakeside sites which are significantly larger and more level. There is a well maintained path running around the lake, which also limited the privacy of the lakeside sites. The bathroom was functional, but there was only one male shower and one female shower stall for the entire campground. Also, there was no potable water (other than the bathroom) available to wash dishes. The tent sites were 7 dollars a night, and the base is near all of the sights of San Diego. Very conveniently located in a beautiful spot. Overall, I would stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 17-24, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We first checked in at San Onofre and was so disappointed, but after inquiries we moved up to the lake and had a really nice space overlooking the lake. The spaces which overlook the lake have only water and electric, but that is okay as the view makes it worth it. The fishing was lousy for us, but we did see some others who had landed fish. The full hook up spots are in a shaded meadow and a very short walk to the lake. We really enjoyed ourselves, and definately plan on returning, despite what we believe are excessive charges.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
---
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Some sites are overlooking the lake with great views. Sites vary from gravel with lots of shade to blacktop with grassy area behind rig with some shade. We have stayed in both and enjoy what ever we are in. The lake has a trail around it with lots of wildlife and birdwatching. It is one of our favorite places to camp, especially in the spring. They need to build new shower rooms, the one they have is very old, but well kept, stocked and clean. They are building a new rec center so hopes are for a new shower building.It is close to main exchange area, 25 min to the commissary. There is a large Country Store that has a few groceries and case lot sales. Overall it is quiet and relaxing. Very clean and well kept grounds. Cell phone reception is ify, if you have the right company, you get reception!
LD
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Feb 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Lots of helicopter noise but very convenient to everything.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
16 results - showing 1 - 16