Point Mugu Recreation Facilities

Featured
 
3.9 (78)
132981   1   19   1   50

User reviews

12 reviews with 3 stars

78 reviews

 
(28)
 
(32)
 
(12)
 
(4)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.4  (78)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (78)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (78)
Value 
 
3.9  (78)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (78)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
August 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I have stayed at Pt Mugu several times in the past and generally love the park. This time was a little different, and it does seem to be going downhill. On the positive side, the location is above par and the views can't be beat. The area is great and the overall experience is worth it. All employee interactions were great and nothing negative to say about their work ethic. On the negative side, I think the price for a full-hook up site is pretty high at $40 per night, but for a short term stay is is OK. The 50 amp back-in sites (there are no pull-throughs), which is what I reserved through the Navy Getaways website, are adequate for size and accessibility, however upon arrival to the park I learned that many of the 50 amp sites have the sewer shut down due to maintenance issues and won't be available until sometime in 2019. They still charge $40 a night, and several of the sites that were supposedly affected had rigs in there with the sewer hooked up, so it is either a "who you know" situation or there is some other reason that some people can have sewer and others can't, but it sure creates an impression of favoritism. I was put into another area (near the tenting area) that did have 50 amp and sewer, however it is just an asphalt parking lot with stripes and hookups near the end of the parking lot. I did get the services I reserved (50 amp, back in, full hookup) however I literally had another trailer less that 1' from my living room window on the last night we stayed. They were interested in drinking and raising a ruckus until about 3 AM, with their windows open, so while they were technically inside and not in the common areas, it was a disturbance for part of the stay. On a previous visit I elected to stay in a smaller 30amp site, however due to the backlog of maintenance on the power service the circuit breakers kept tripping under light load. That required a move to another site so that was a pain. The WiFi was nowhere near reliable, and in Navy parks the system is pretty wonky, so I usually don't rely on it. MWR does have a brand new building at the park, and it seems the employees have a nice place to work--I believe that is an indicator of the attitude toward the park itself. I think the patron experience should take priority as they are paying the bills, so the improvement funds should have gone into the camping facilities rather that the MWR employee area. This park has the potential to become a great place to stay, but I think they're trading location for service to the customer and figuring the customer will put up with less in exchange for the views. I don't think I'll return, at least until the utilities situation is resolved.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sep 14, 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Most of the other reviews have covered the issues but must add 2 specific items. Check-in didn't go so well. Where to register wasn't marked well. After 2 laps around the park, stopped and asked a current resident. It is in the hotel office. After getting to the desk, I selected a spot that looks to be right next to the hotel. NOT - about 1/2 a mile away. Please: update your map to reflect this is a real distance from check-in, not adjacent to the other spaces. Also, no switch/breaker on the 50 amp supply. NOT GOOD. Power plugs straight into the receptacle. I have a surge suppressor but it always is a red flag for us. Got to say, as always, our fellow RVers were great to talk with and get info from. LOCATION,LOCATION, LOCATION. Cannot say if I'd stay here again, this FamCamp needs some updating.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
8-9 August 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
If you like the beach, this is the place for you. If mosquitoes like the taste of your blood STAY AWAY. We spent two nights here and the first was uneventful because the wind was pretty stout which I assume kept the mosquitoes at bay. The whole experience was tainted the next day. Virtually no wind and the mosquitoes were brutal. Very welcoming staff. Good level sites. 30 amp sites have the best access to the beach. We would return if the mosquito activity decreases in the winter months. We did not notice the aircraft noise.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
June 27, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Gorgeous beach, saw people catching fish. Spots are tight and map on site is outdated. There is also a lagoon for tenters. Only problem was we had to go through main gate because we arrived after 6 pm and despite base sticker, civilian at gate was very rude and disrespectful when asked simple questions and responded, I kid you not, by saying things like "you are blocking traffic" (nobody was behind me) and "you got it?" Small exchange and beach motel check-in were quite friendly however. Excellent wi fi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
8 June - 11 June 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Right on the Beach great view, but the park is basically a parking lot and the rates are now $30.00 a night. Could be a truly great place with some upgrade work.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
June 2nd and 3rd, 2009
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
What a beach!! Unfortunately it goes down hill from there. Difficult and small parking sites, the good ones occupied by long termers, a couple of them were actually growing veggies at their sites! Other amenities are virtually nonexistent. I think with some, well maybe alot, of TLC the USN could turn this into an outstanding facility. As is I would only return for the beach.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 8-11, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed here 3 nights. Wanted to stay at Port Hueneme, but couldn't. The sites are wide and had blacktop. Right on the beach. Didn't have a problem with noise at all. As far as being clean, I did not use the showers or restroom...hint. A lot of sand and not the cleanest. Of course, the sand is expected, but clean is a necessity. Not much on this base, so went to Port Hueneme. Good commissary with fresh fruit from the local fields. Good selection of produce, too. Nice, small exchange. We would have stayed longer at Mugu, but the spaces were reserved for the weekend. Suggest making reservations. If you have pets, expect sand and dirt in the RV, for there is no grass. The employees at the registration were nice. Don't understand the attitude about keeping up the campgrounds. I know this is a benefit that we don't necessarily need, but if the campground is there, you'd think that it would be kept up and clean. Probably would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
April 14, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
While the beach front views are spectacular, that is about it. There are very few rules enforced and camp host does very little or nothing. Camp ground has fire rings that have not been clean in years and the sites/spaces have not been cleaned of sand or swept off. Fire rings are too close to neighboring sites and cause smoke problems. This place could be the gem of RV camps, but the money this place makes (well over 1 Million a year) goes for something else. MWR management should be replaced and the RV park should be run be some one the knows the RV life style. The shower rooms are forever dirty and full of sand. Internet, some sites don't work and up and down like a yoyo. There is a lot of full timeres, mostly military whom could be better served, by allowing them to stay longer then 30 days. Also if your in the click, with current RV management, then you dont have to move every 30 days.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Feb 23 - Mar 1, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Nice RV Park without many frills. We didn't check all of the shower houses, but the one next to us was VERY clean and new. We had a nice relaxing time, just wished it wasn't so windy. Reservations went very smooth, but wasn't needed since there were plenty of available sites. However, sites vary on size and there were only a few available large enough for us. I'm sure this is one popular location in the summer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
---
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Have stayed here previously and will likely return just for the location. Beautiful ocean view and lots of wildlife. New manager onboard now. Appears that a new camp host is in the offing as well. Campground still needs upgrades to utilities but the phonelines to the sites have been repaired after nearly 2 years of no service. WiFi is now available in the Beach Motel lobby at no charge. While the phone lines have been repaired be aware that the old phone connection boxes were not removed when the new ones were added. Took me a couple of hours to figure out I had my phone line plugged into the old box. I'm much smarter now. Still a great location for the view and a great jumping off place to visit Santa Barbara and other areas. The computerized reservation system is still down. All done on paper spreadsheets now and seems to be only as good as the clerk on duty.
RR
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sep 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The beach is beautiful that the camp is on, and the best thing is that the beach is never crowded. The campground, on the other hand, needs some work. It has so much potential to look beautiful with the beach in the background, but I think that laziness is the reason why nothing has been done. The showers are roomy, but hardly look like they are cleaned, with mildew stains on the lower portions of the walls. Nonetheless the camp hosts were friendly, and the beach contributed to the peaceful atmosphere.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
May/Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Add to the sight and sound of the beach, the wonderful wildlife of Seals, Pelicans, Dolphins, and sea birds in the ocean and estuary near the camp. Wish the management put more heart into RV sites and organization. Newer section is paved and has 30/50 amps. Poorly arranged for fifth wheel views. Shame, such wonderful nearby ocean views are the highlight of this place. Trips to other nearby beaches, like Malibu, and to Santa Barbara make Mugu a delightful hang out. LA is only 45 minutes in standard killer traffic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12