Twilight Dunes

 
2.7 (24)
44727 0 5 1 3

User reviews

7 reviews with 2 stars

24 reviews

5 stars
 
(0)
 
(6)
 
(8)
 
(7)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.3  (24)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.6  (24)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.2  (24)
Value 
 
2.8  (24)
Overall Experience 
 
2.6  (24)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7
Ordering
January 2017
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
As a most current review, it seems nothing has changed here. I could handle not having amenities, but the indifference of the staff at the lodging office and not having campground experience (they run a lodging office) made this stay a very negative experience. The first night it took 3 tries to get a usable sight, then the next evening I get a call and am told I had to move because the site I was at had "bad" electrical. Again, it takes 3 tries to find a usable site - very frustrating in that they don't know what they're doing. I don't recommend this place - pay the extra for a Good Sam/KOA campground.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
February 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Twilight Dunes is not an RV Park, it is a mobile home park converted for long-term RV stays. Large, well-spaced sites include a storage shed, a concrete driveway, and a shaded parking space, but you park your RV on sand (yes, you'll get plenty inside). There are no hosts or any other personnel in/around the "RV Park" (they're in the hotel where you check in and out--required, as if you were staying at a hotel). There are no in-park amenities such as restrooms, showers, laundry, lounge area, snacks/ice, swimming pool, etc.--they are spread across a Marine base or in the hotel. You put your garbage and recycle in cans and put them at the curb once a week, just like you did at home (our recycle bin, which was in the shed, was already full). Internet and TV are by monthly subscription. No campfires (you're not even allowed to possess wood). Compared to other military RV facilities, it is extremely overpriced at $25/night, which is evidenced by the discounted long-term rate of about $13/night. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Feb 5, 2013
(Updated: February 20, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We rolled without reservations 4 pm on Feb 5th and were informed that the facility was full. When we asked about the Overflow for $10, the lady at the counter stated there was no such thing, but we could have a regular site which was unfilled but was without electricity and needed repair. Our willingness to pay $10, was instead met for a demand for $25. We refused the kind offer and instead returned to our rig parked next to the Home Store. We remained there overnight without bother. Free is a very good price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Dec 5, 2012
(Updated: December 25, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I've stayed at my fair share of military RV sights and this is by far the worst of them. If you plan on staying here for any period of time there are no picnic tables, no shade, no BBQ pit, no fires allowed not even the portable fire pits, and nothing can be left outside. All amenities are a drive to get to them commissary, base exchange, and laundry. They have no showers unless you go to the base gym. In my dealings with the staff as well the individual who is over the RV park has no clue what she is doing. I will never stay there again. Not worth it at all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 3,2012
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Other reviewers are right-on, albeit they missed the road noise from the main road into base. It does appear that efforts are being made to make-up for apparent past poor customer relations: the hostess who greeted us was most helpful and friendly as were two staff members who guided us to our site (no numbers - they are being replaced). The paucity of basic things such as rest rooms, showers, etc., makes this a bare-bones place to stay. As others noted, I'd be worried about being here if it rains as sites have no gravel - just sand and dirt. No WiFi. There is a good PX, Commissary, and services station with diesel, albeit $0.20 more expensive than in Indio. It is convenient to Joshua Tree National Park and fills the need for a place to stay over night, especially if you are willing to do full hookups to compensate for lack of facilities. Oh: most sites are taken by long-term visitors.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
November 2011
(Updated: November 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I echo the previous comments, especially concerning the service and attitude of the employees at the check-in building. Because the help had no idea which spots were available, we found our own and called back with the number, only to discover late that night that the electricity was "dirty 110", making it impossible to use the micro-wave or toaster. After complaining to the help did we get a $5 refund. This place is way over-priced for the value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 30 - April 5 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
It is difficult to review this campground without comparing it to Agave Gulch FamCamp at Davis-Monthan in Tucson, AZ. Both are located in a southwest desert setting but the similarities end there. Start with the check-in and registration process. At Agave Gulch, a modern registration office is located at the campground with ample parking for large RVs and is staffed by two camp hosts that provide information about the campground and the local area. They provide brochures, newsletters, pamphlets, and maps and are ready and willing to answer your questions. At Twentynine Palms, registration is done at the desk of the Temporary Lodging facility about 3/4 of a mile from the campground. No RV parking is available. You must use the parking lot of the commissary or the Home Store several hundred yards away. Campground management is a collateral duty for the folks at the registration desk – they are lucky if they can keep track of which sites are occupied and which sites are vacant. Access to the campground is about 1/2 mile off the main road down a dusty gravel road. Or you can try to find your way through the housing area. Campsites are on dirt – not gravel. Thankfully, it doesn’t rain much here or the site would be a muddy mess. But the wind blows a lot and the dust flies. Like an increasing number of military campgrounds, this one has a large population of active duty personnel using it as temporary housing and the campground has the appearance of a trailer park and not a pretty one either. There are no facilities in the campground. The laundromat is 2.5 miles away. There is no bathhouse, no picnic table, no fire rings – this used to be a mobile home park before it was converted to a campground. Other than being near the north entrance to Joshua Tree National Park, there is nothing nearby to attract visitors. One the positive side, most sites have cable TV. Large level sites. Paved interior roads. Most sites have a concrete parking pad, a carport, and a storage shed left over from the days as a mobile home park. The place seems to be popular with the snowbirds. If you have ever been to Agave Gulch, the comparison with this place is like night and day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
7 results - showing 1 - 7