Manatee Cove Campground

Hot
 
4.1 (114)
128184   2   21   1   86

User reviews

38 reviews with 4 stars

114 reviews

 
(54)
 
(38)
 
(13)
 
(8)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
 
4.5  (114)
 
4.2  (114)
 
3.7  (114)
 
4.2  (114)
 
4.1  (114)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
38 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

22 April 2017

We are active duty and were on vacation at NAS Key West (Sigsbee). This was our first time staying here and used Manatee as our half way stop between Key West and Fort Bragg. Arriving on a weekend and be sure to call base security as you need to come through the delivery gate that is not opened on the weekend. Security was great and opened it within 20 minutes of us calling. We arrived at Manatee and met Jim and Laura the camp hosts who were were wonderful, very helpful and answered all of our questions. They were really great. The campground is fairly new and located on the water. The restroom and laundry facilities were brand new, nice and clean. The "dayroom" for us Army folks was open and had WIFI and TV available for guests. Each RV space has a nice new set of comfy chairs and table. They have pull through sites and back in sites. The place is very clean, neat, and tidy. This maybe important for some: We noticed the camp itself is not wired with WIFI. You have to go to the "dayroom" for internet. Shopette and stores are on the other side of the base around the airfield. Everything is within a short drive of the campground. Get your supplies before you arrive at Manatee! The reason for 4 stars on location is because it is tucked away from everything and I mean everything. 4 stars for value was because of the $30 a night stay. Four stars for amenities was for not having WIFI or a drink machine (We forgot our drinks and had to travel all the way over to the shopette.) Overall, this is a great place to stay with great camp hosts. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 25 thru April 13 2017

They are done with the construction and the new pads are nice. They furnish each sight with a table and chairs. The new bath house and laundry is great and kept clean. The office people are helpful. You have the Banana river on one side and the ocean the other. Has a nice commissary and exchange. The Base is not very busy with all the cut backs. The one thing you have to remember is to dig into your mattress or rob the piggy bank. The cost is higher than any where else I have stayed. I will be back though because of the location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

19 Jun 2016

Very nice campground that is very close to both Port Canaveral and Cape Canaveral. Camp host very friendly, helpful for check in and getting to the site. Older sites are gravel, but smooth. Concrete pad with picnic table. It looks as if they are about finished with an addition of about 30-40!more sites (pull through) on concrete pads! Great walking trail along the bay! Our only problem and it, really was very frustrating, is it took almost one hour to get in the truck/commercial gate. The phone number on the gate to call security forces had no area code. When we found the area code for this site the number just rang. Found the base website and a phone number that had an operator (did not think this existed any longer), which then went to a number that you had to go through about 4-5 steps to reach the SF Desk. SF said they would send someone ASAP. 30 minutes later had to go through the same phone process to reach SF Desk, again stating they would have someone there ASAP. This was 5 pm on a Sunday and there was barely any traffic noted on the base. 50 minutes later SF showed up to unlock the gate! This is an awful process to enter the base. Sure, the site was excellent but to wait for this gate to be opened (and according to the host this happens often) is really awful! Love to come back but this process makes us rethink it. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 2016

I checked in on 2 July and was notified of an upcoming rate increase to pay for the expansion. Effective 1 Aug 16,summer rates are 22/day and 595/mth for standard sites, 30/day and 810/mth for waterfront. Winter rates are 24/day and 650/mth for standard, 30/day and 810/mth for waterfront.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 27, 2015

Some updated arrival info and clarification: The GPS showed the Truck/RV entrance as School Rd. vs. Anvil. It appears to change to Anvil just after the gate. Once they allow you to proceed, they will lower the large barricade straight ahead - #3 in our case. You NO LONGER GO TO MWR to check-in. You check-in at the FamCamp Office, so make a left onto Rescue from Atlas. I called twice before arriving and the lady had a high confidence that she would have something. Arrived and had the option of 30 amp (but they didn't want you to use a 50 to 30 adapter) with water and no sewer; or a 50 amp without water or sewer. Lady was friendly and helpful! Stamped our Frequent Camper book and accepted our coupon. Pump out and water are convenient. Verizon cell and data are good. Sat reception was clear in Site #15. The North gate on Jupiter Ave. is the Main Gate and the only one open late at night. Overall, good location near lots of beach stuff, retail and, in our case, Pickleball in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 25-28, 2014

Arriving on a Sunday and failing to read the Directions on here, I entered through the main gate without incident. The route to the Outdoor Recreation office is well marked as is the way to campground. We were put in so-called Overflow - 20/30/50A only. They are the new sites with asphalt pads and concrete patios, a picnic table and grass. They aren't very wide but neither are the ones in the rest of the park. I never intended to stay very long but asked to be on the list for a partial site. I was told I could be on either the Partial or the FHU list but not both. Hunh? When offered one beside the dumpster the next day I opted to stay where I was. It is quieter and dark at night. Staff at Outdoor Rec ranged from incompetent to reasonably competent. My first phone call resulted in an 11 minute hold. I hung up, immediately called again and it was answered with an offer to help me. Check-in went smoothly. One RV check-in person requires you to sign in to be helped. The other doesn't. The big shortcoming is the complete closure of Outdoor Rec on Wednesdays. No one can move on Wednesdays but you can check in, extend or leave. Because I wasn't trying for a FHU site or a long stay, I can't speak to the fairness of the system. If there is homesteading they keep the junk in check. I never saw an empty waterfront site but did see vacant sites in every other area. There are good amenities on base. All five washers and five dryers were working. Unfortunately, the washers are old technology top-loaders, so loads don't always dry completely. No wifi. Communication is poor. I didn't know there was a Community Room or a rocket launch scheduled. There was no construction activity during our stay. It's a friendly park. I'd return only if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 21, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 26. 2013 - Jan 14, 2014

We stayed 18 days in the electric only sites. These sites are pretty small. The FamCamp is slowly making improvements. The old firing range office is being renovated to be the campground office and community room. They also have an area marked out for new RV sites to be added. However, it's slow progress. We were confused when we arrived, as the old famcamp office is being torn down. I forgot to go check-in at Outdoor Rec. Outdoor Rec was very busy with phone calls - I had to wait almost 30 minutes to check in to the campground. While the FamCamp isn't anything real special, we like it here and will probably return again on our next trip to Florida.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 16, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

26 thru 29 Apr 13

We stayed here again the 26-29 Apr 13, again it is a nice park but could be improved. I spoke with one of the MWR reps and he stated the old firing range will eventually turned into RV parking, I just hope they don't put the spots in like the overflow(backwards). There is wifi but you have to be in the clubhouse it's not broadcast across the park. The clubhouse closes @ 2200. Since the opening of the new clubhouse they did move checkin to that building so when you drive to the park the old checkin trailer is there but locked up and like chickenlegs said they moved the hosts close to the new building. While departing the clubhouse you must turn right and loop thru the park to park in the pull thru w/full hookups if you turn left you will hit the guarding posts that are there to protect something????? from getting hit. With all these issues it's still a nice park and they are trying. Yes there are perm. residents there, this visit I saw most of them they do move every 30 days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2013

L.S. left this review using the Directory software:- There were homesteaders at the park. One man bragged that he lived there for a year and a half. Another one said six months. Thought this was against the rules. No wonder we have trouble getting reservations. Something needs to be done about this abuse.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 23, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 2012 - May 2012

Rates have increased effective Jan 2013, check the gopatrickfl website for current rates. This is my 3rd stay at Patrick. It's nice that they added power to the overflow sites but the layout is backwards. You're always backing in from your blind side. On one side the power pedestals are very far forward. One was hit by an RV pulling out of the spot. That pedestal has been tilted 45 degrees for the last 2 months. The camp hosts do a great job. Unfortunately, many of the other base support folks seem to care very little. If I come back to this area for the winter again, I'll look at parks in the civilian community. During my limited research this year, there are places that match Patrick for rates even during high season and you don't have to move every 30 days.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

7 - 21 June 2012

We arrived and was able to get a back in spot right on the water. We are in spot 10, right next to some pine trees and, as I said, backs up to the river. Jimmy took good care of us and got us comfortably tucked in. The place is in a great location, within reasonable driving distance to virtually every good destination in the state. We were stationed here with the 6549th CAMs in the early 70s when this was the Air Force Eastern Test Range. I was surprised how little the base had changed. Yes, some buildings were gone and there were quite a few new ones, but entering the base through the main gate and it looks pretty much the same. I worked on the flight line and my old hanger (750) was still there looking much the same. Unfortunately, our old base housing unit, a Capehart Unit, was long gone, although there were a few units left in private ownership and they look pretty ragged. All in all our stay here has been great, even the liquid sunshine that falls from time to time and here in Florida, when it rains, it doesn't fool around. There is WiFi, it emanates from the laundry building but my lap top picked it up nicely in spot #10. An older computer may not be as sensitive. My wife's Kindle did not. Also, the laundry room itself is hotter than Hades. It really needs some better ventilation than the little window fan and the fan mounted on the wall. Apart from that, the place was great.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

March 15 - April 16 2012

We will definitely be back. Learned that after April 1 you can sponsor another RV. We did that and our friends who are non-military were able to stay there too while we had a campsite. You can not sponsor more than one RV though regardless of how empty the place is because, "the regulation states...." . I will leave it at that. Our sites on the Banana River was excellent! Lots of dolphins, fish jumping, birds etc. The firing range will move to their new location out of the middle of the Famcamp by next season so that will be nice. Nice bike trail nearby. We also made frequent use of the fitness center, golf course and library. Place is hard to beat.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

3 apr - 7 apr 12

Nice campground located close to ocean and banana river. No cable but antenna reception is good for all the local channels. No wifi unless you go to laundry facility and hook up. Nice laundry and showers. Rates are different than posted here. No weekly rates. Monthly is 470 for full hookup, 440 for partial. 18 a day for full, 17 for partial, 15 for overflow w/electric. Will definitely return.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

29 Mar - 1 Apr 2012

First time here - what a great location, and a very helpful and friendly staff! Arrived without a reservation, and went straight to partial hook-up. Dump station has two blue totes to check out, so no worries about maxing out tanks. Relatively close to Orlando, water on both sides, fishing right at the campground, no jet noise, wonderful sunrises/sunsets. Only complaint is men's bathroom - someone needs to take the cleaning a bit more serious - the whole place smells of old urine. Overall - a great value!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

January 1 - 30th 2012

This Fam camp is very nice. The Air Force could do a so much better job at maintaining this campground. The facilities are not enough for the amount of campers paying to stay in dry camp and parking lot. The firing range in the middle of the Fam Camp is a bit scary. The location is exceptional and the view is breath taking. The hosts are very friendly and helpful. I totally enjoyed my month of winter in Manatee Cove.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 21, 2011

W.R. left this review using the Directory software: - We visited at Spring break. The new dining hall policy has more retired in the facility than active duty. A VERY upscale experience for us in military dining. The park is relatively full with almost all the full hookups taken. Lots of families here who appear to have been here a good while. The rabies policy is DEFINITELY excessive and requires a new level of documentation to be presented at check in. Our statement that we had them was not sufficient, they had to be "presented". And this was for "indoor cats. The park is "rig wash friendly" which we are in bad need of. The Camp is clean, well run, and has a lot of kids. Power, water, and sewer are excellent. Laundry is 75 cent for both washing and drying cycles. reasonable BX and Commissary. WIFI doesn't work for us (space 24) and the small arms range can be really ANNOYING and STARTLING when firing happens without notice. The Patrick Dining Hall is excellent in quality, reasonable in price, and open all meals to retirees.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 16, 2011

G.P. left this review using the Directory software: WiFi not working properly...will remain unchanged this season..nice campground....too many dogs...

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: February 07, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Feb 2011

Relatively small CG, but great location for the Atlantic coast and the Space coast. Dry camp area is easy to access, and close to the dump station. Hookup sites are a bit tight, especially some with trees on the corner. Bathhouse is old, but clean and functional. Camp Host Jim is excellent, and takes the job seriously. FamCamp staffer Ken is great. Dining hall is superb, as others have reported.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 9 thru 15, 2010

This is the first time I have camped on Patrick. Scott was very helpful and the site and hookups were outstanding. I was only woken up once with range firing at 0645. By the way, once you get off the Pineda causeway onto A1A it is only .9 miles to the truck gate. (But you can do a u-turn at the main gate).

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Dec 19, 2009 - Jan 12, 2010

We spent one night in dry camping, then got a partial hook-up (W/E) site. A week later, we got a FHU site and stayed there for a few weeks (30 days max). The campground is nice with lots to do in the area. You just need to get used to the small arms firing range in the middle of the campground. We liked our FHU site located on the Banana River. We think their rotation method from dry to partial to FHU, then back to dry is very fair. Active Duty get priority and can make reservations for FHU. Otherwise, its first-come with a 30 day limit in any type of site. During our stay, we saw people rotating everyday. Nobody stayed in a FHU site longer than 30 days, except for the 2 camp hosts (who were great and keep everything running smooth). We'll be back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
38 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2