Dobbins Lakeside Campground

 
2.8 (23)
65437 0 12 0 13

User reviews

6 reviews with 2 stars

23 reviews

 
(2)
 
(4)
 
(10)
 
(5)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
3.9  (23)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.7  (23)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.3  (23)
Value 
 
3.0  (23)
Overall Experience 
 
2.6  (23)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
6 results - showing 1 - 6
Ordering
April 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I stayed one night on our way to Nashville. They now accept reservations. I agree with earlier posts that it could be a really nice CG if some funding was put towards improvements! Seems most sites were taken by homesteaders and it needed general cleaning. Cindy was very helpful in helping me find an open site. When I arrived on a Sunday there was a motor home in my assigned site which had obviously been there a long time so I just took a nearby empty one and called her number to let MWR know. Base Security was great about meeting us at the back gate for entry and even escorted us to FAMCAMP . I would return for a another overnight stay on my way somewhere else.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 27, 2016
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We drove our car to Dobbins AFB and decided to checkout the famcamp.  As I read the reviews about the famcamp, I can't help but wonder what kind of camping facilities these people consider nice. The only one I agreed with was the 2015 review.  With a little sprucing up, the campground could definitely be a place you'd want to return.  Most of the RVs, if not all, had been there long term.  One of them had plastic bins stacked as high as possible and on the ground half covered with a tarp.  If the base is going to let people live long term (which shouldn't be allowed), there should be rules established to keep the famcamp looking good.  RVs should be washed on a regular basis and residents should get a storage unit rather than stacking their belongings around the RV.  We stopped at an RV Park in California in 2014 that had both long and short termers.  All the long termers were around the outside perimeter and everything around the RV was well maintained, other than being told the outside perimeter was for long term, you would never have guessed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
September 21, 2012
(Updated: September 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We arrived today after a long drive and hoped we would find a spot that would work for our 30 ft travel trailer. We knew we might have trouble based on the no reservation system. Directions through gate 2 were good and the guard sent us directly to the famcamp. The sign said to find a spot, set up camp and then go to the recreation office to pay for our stay. We drove through the campground and were so thankful we found one good spot. So we parked our rig, set it up - fighting with the misquitos - and then proceded to the office to pay for our stay. The young man behind the desk was pleasant and started taking our information and payment when a woman came from a back office and asked which spot we were in. When we told her, she said, "Oh, I am sorry but that spot is taken!" We couldn't believe it! This was supposed to be a first come, first served campground. It seems someone had already paid for that particular spot. She told us there were cones in that spot... and there were not. She also said the neighbors would have told us it was taken - in fact they told us it was open. In our opinion, this woman allowed someone to "reserve" a spot. We were so upset with this treatment that we packed up and left - although - we believe we had the right to stay. I intend to file a complaint with the Dobbins ARB services office concerning this incident.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Mar 24, 2007
(Updated: April 23, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Has the appearance of a permanent, run down RV migrant campground. Many RV's haven't been moved in years and some are covered in mold. No sewer hookups. Many permanent rig's are surrounded by junk. Campground is for permanent party or Reservist's on active duty. No sites are available for transient RV'ers or visitors to the area. Don't waste your time.
DR
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 2
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Nice CG but available only to active duty and Reservists on Active Duty. No sites available.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Apr 2006
Overall rating 
 
2.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Over the few years, Dobbins MWR has effectively turned the Dobbins Fam Camp into a long term extended stay campground dedicated for long term TDY personnel. Some sites have been occupied by the same RV for many months at a time with the RV's having never been moved. There are no sewer hookups so you can imagine where all the black and grey water has been going. You may, on occasion, find 1 or 2 open sites for transient RV'ers however, be sure to call ahead to confirm a site is open before traveling to the campground and get the name of the person you spoke with as you'll probably need it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
6 results - showing 1 - 6