Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.1 (83)
138752 0 19 1 33

User reviews

29 reviews with 4 stars

83 reviews

 
(36)
 
(28)
 
(14)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.3  (83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (83)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (83)
Value 
 
4.2  (83)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 21 - 29
1 2
Ordering
19 Feb-22 Feb 2009
(Updated: June 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I agree with all the positive comments from the previous reviews. I agree it is a bit far from Moody, but Wal-mart and Sams club about 10 miles away...Ok country miles. FAM Camp needs to put some money into this area. They are spending tens of thousands on FEMA trailers (single wides) for rentals. The campground needs to improve an the roads in the camp ground area. We stayed at the pavilion area over looking the lake ..Beautiful views. Great fishing too.!! The host was superb, met us and helped us to the temp, site. TV reception is good, providing you have a HD/Digital tv antenna..good sat. signal from our area, clear shot at the southern ski, but not all sites and temp area are like that. Wi/fi connected great..Strong signal and no problems. Over-all great place. I would come back.. Moody needs to look at this treasure chest that they have here and just put some new money into the CG and it would go to five star fast. Just a bit more money!!! Something for practical hook up and some road improvements around the sites would do wonders.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 23 - Dec 27, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The "homesteaders" trailers mentioned by an earlier poster are actually MWR rentals scattered throughout the park. In the summer they are all placed on the front row of the main (treed) side of the campground. I was in space #23 and got satellite reception with my automatic dish by turning on the TV and receiver as I entered the park and could still get a picture. I then backed up and moved around a bit on the site until it locked on thru the trees. That process might not work on every site but worth a try. While out in the boonies from Valdosta and far from Moody AFB, still a nice spot that I will use when in the area. Very quiet all the time. No freeway noise from I-75 about a mile away.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 22 - Jan 3, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As previous postings have indicated, this MCG has to be in top 1% of them all. This is the absolutely best campground I have stayed at thus far. Staff is Great, Steve the host was very helpful with local information and also putting us on a great site...The only detraction was the lack of WIFI or high speed internet access and that the lot we were put in, had a huge Mercury Light with no OFF or ON Switch. Made night sleeping a bit difficult. The Christmas day pitch in was terrific as well as the New Year's Eve and Day festivities. This campground is tops in my book and will surely stay there again...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 15, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
There are two CG areas on either side of the main road. We stayed in the smaller of the two. The sites were very clean and level even though they were gravel. The staff was very friendly and helpful with local attractions. The CG is within 5 min. driving distance of Wild Adventures. The lake at the CG is very well maintained with nice docks and a deck overlooking it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
12-13 Mar 07
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a friendly, rural Famcamp. Very quiet, rustic, scenic area. Sites in wooded area may not be level and preclude satellite reception. The sites across the street in open area seem better, but sacrifice the wooded ambiance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Mar 5, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very convenient location to the interstate. Excellent choice for an overnight stop over. We arrived late afternoon and host was very nice and quickly found us a pull through for the night...actually he placed us next to an empty boy scout cabin (w/electric and water) right close to the club house ...with excellent view of the lake and boat ramp. Cost was little to nothing for the night. Nice folks with military families in mind. As a side note: They cook and serve a full hot breakfast buffet at the club house on Sunday morning at 9:00 sharp for $4.00 dollars a head...there were some mighty big sea stories being told passed around at that time too I bet!! Now you can't beat that can you. We will visit again on our next trip.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Jan 26-31, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice place to just stop or spend some time. Though there are not a lot of site, they work to find room for anyone stopping. Some folks stay all winter! There are things to do in the area and a nice 3 mile hike around the lake. As others have noted, the base (Moody AFB) is about 25 miles northeast of the campground.
JS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jul 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The campground is much improved since our last visit. Very clean, well maintained with separate showers for the additional sites across the road. Personnel extremely friendly & courteous. Glad we gave it another chance.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Jun 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a nice treed c/g. There's a pool, boat rentals, big clubhouse. Lots of card playing etc. at night. It's at Exit 5 at Lake Park, which has huge Outlet Mall. Lots of activity at this exit but at the c/g it's quiet, though you're only few minutes from I-75. I'd like to stay a few weeks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
29 results - showing 21 - 29
1 2