Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Grassy Pond Recreation Area

Featured
 
4.1 (83)
135183 0 19 1 33

User reviews

33 reviews with 5 stars

83 reviews

 
(36)
 
(28)
 
(14)
 
(4)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.3  (83)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (83)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (83)
Value 
 
4.2  (83)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (83)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
33 results - showing 21 - 33
1 2
Ordering
March 2011
(Updated: March 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a welcoming place. Staff and hosts, Becky and Jim, are all really, really, fantastic! Talk about a place where people go out of their way to help you. Lots of planned activities too. Loved the grounds and hook-ups, even in overflow. Cant wait to come back here again. Make sure you get over to drink some of Dewayne's coffee every morning... Great coffee and it's free thanks to the management... Speaking of management, new manager, Michael, is over the top in doing a great job.....Thank you ALL for such a wonderful stay..... The only thing that would make it nicer is a bigger club house....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Feb 12 - 21, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.B. left this review using the Directory software: We were pleasantly surprised and found the camp to be a delightful experience. It is about 40 minutes drive from Moody AFB, but Wal-Mart’s and the city of Valdosta is only a 20 minute drive away. There is a Win Dixie just down the street in Lake Park also. The camp host and staffs were wonderful and there were plenty of activities going on from pot luck supper to a Sunday morning breakfast for five dollars. The proceeds are used for the Thursday evening pot luck. The evening fire in the ring located in center of the camp was delightful also. Most of the campers gathered around the fire to socialize and everyone felt quite at home. We will defiantly go back to Grassy Pond. We felt so much at home and welcome we extended a few nights and were actually sort of sad to leave and move on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 16, 2010
(Updated: June 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stopped for a one night stay en-route to Pelican Roost in Mayport Florida. Had made a phone call and was told to just pick a site for the night but was met by the host as I pulled into the camp and directed to an easy access, pull through site near the clubhouse. Was invited to potluck dinner in clubhouse so I walked down to office, checked in for the night and had a wonder dinner with the folks staying at Grassy Pond. The lake is still down due to the dam bursting during the summer. There are some new trailers around for rentals and the camp itself looked well kept. The new Flying J fuel station at Exit 2 may hurt some with their free overnight stays and a new Denny's restaurant there. Overall enjoyed the stay and the hospitality of the host and campers.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 21-22, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
G.M. left this review using the Directory software: Sites are well planned to avoid congestion. They were level, large and far enough apart. The staff were friendly. The grounds were well maintained. The only drawback to the place was that during peak season (whenever that is) the inability to make reservations might make it tough.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec 27 -30 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I don't know why there's been so many complaints about this campground. I stayed 3 nights between Christmas and New Years and had a great and relaxing time. The property is kept clean and neat and the hosts go way above and beyond to keep it so. The 3 mile nature trail walk was gorgeous. Living in SE Georgia I understand why folks don't want to camp here in the summer. The bugs in our area of the country will eat you alive. This will be my October thru March campground get-away. 16 bucks a night for water, electric and sewer? Try getting that at a KOA. The price is the epitome of "bang for your buck".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept. 1 - 30, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed at Grassy Pond for our first time this year. Loved the lillies, critters and wonderful people. We road on the peddle boats, took lots of pictures. The best thing in the whole place was we had electricity in our tent and didn't have to pay RV prices. We will be coming back it was a cool place to put up a tent, put up my feet and stay awhile, full activities in the winter.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept. 3, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
SHELBY, WHO WORKS IN THE OFFICE GOES OUT OF HER WAY TO MAKE SURE YOU HAVE EVERYTHING YOU NEED. TOO MANY TREES FOR SATELLITE AND NO CABLE BUT THE ANTENNA WORKED WELL. WI-FI WORKED AT THE FARTHEST SITE. WILL DEFINITELY COME BACK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
1992 TO 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
WE HAVE BEEN COMING TO GP SINCE 1992 AND SEEN IT GROW AND MAKE IMPROVEMENTS YEARLY. IT IS A SUPER NICE CLEAN SAFE PARK. VERY FRIENDLY ORIENTED. SPACES ARE NICELY LOCATED. THE MANAGER IS EXCELLENT AND DOES HIS BEST TO MAKE YOU COMFORTABLE IN HIS GOOD OLE SOUTHERN STYLE. THE ONLY PROBLEM HE HAS IS FIGHTING THE UPPER MANAGEMENT IN GETTING FUNDING TO COMPLETE THE MANY IMPROVEMENTS HE IS TRYING TO IMPLEMENT IE; ADDITIONAL SITES, UPDATING/ENLARGING ACTIVITY BLDG FOR THE CAMPERS USE. OVERALL HE DOES A TREMENDOUS JOB KEEPING PEOPLE HAPPY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Mar 1-12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We spent 11 nights here and enjoyed every minute of it. The host Steve and Molly are always there with help when needed and serve the campers well. Everyone here this winter was friendly and nice people. There is a campfire burning all of the time 24-7 and all of the firewood is provided by the campground. They have some 30 amp and some 50 amp. service. It is quite and have a least one pot luck a week and some times two. They never turn anyone away without offering them someplace to park for the night. The lakes here have a lot of catfish and bass. I will stay again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
November 14, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great campground, convenient to I-75 that we use quite often when leaving Florida. It has two nice lakes with a 3 mile trail around Grassy Pond Lake and a playground for the kids. The office has a very small store with basic items and they sell annual GA fishing licenses as well as 1 & 7 day licenses. Our verizon air card worked great and we picked up about 5 stations with the crank-up antenna. Overall a great place to stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
May 30, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As previously noted, easy on/off to I-75 for quick overnight stay. Nice park with 50 amp full hookup, level parking, concrete patio area, aluminum picnic table, good satellite, poor Verizon internet (roaming)hilly terrain overlooking the lake. Down-fall, gravel road but maintained. Quite, peaceful park. Little grass, mostly dirt/weeds but mowed. Hostess was very friendly. We will stay again each time we come/go from our home state, Florida. We camped in a 40' motorhome.
JL
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
March 15th and April 5th, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great location and easy to get to and quiet. We used it for a stop in-route to our destination of West Palm Beach, FL both going and returning home. Even though we stayed only one night each trip we took our young boys, 9 and 5, on walks down the trail to see a Eagle's nest and were able to see them in flight while out on the pond in a motor boat. There is also a resident Peacock that roams around office/recreation building down by the pond. The campsite was clean and so were the bathrooms. The boating was a great oppourtuity to have our nine year old learn about boating etiquette and have some fun by stearing the outboard motor. It was a great father/son thing at a low cost. The only thing I missed was having a Wi-Fi connection. We'd stop again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
23 Nov.06 /23 Feb 07
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I Lov it.Tho rustic, it's quite, has no road noise & UR left alone to do what U want. But at the same time the people are great. The Base is almost a straight shot, (5 right hand turn's, to inc. the one out of the campsite's & the one into the base). Also my miles to there were/are 24. Rt out of the C/G to the 2nd stop sign, Rt. for (about) 500 ft, Rt, ontp inter Perimeter Rd. for about 6 lite's Rt. (sign for Moody at lite) for about5 or 6 lites (about 5 mi or so) rt into the base. I WILL return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
33 results - showing 21 - 33
1 2