Adding markers to the map ...

Lotts Island RV Park

 
3.5 (71)
122377 1 16 0 42

User reviews

5 reviews with 2 stars

71 reviews

 
(20)
 
(23)
 
(14)
 
(4)
 
(10)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.2  (71)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.3  (71)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.6  (71)
Value 
 
3.5  (71)
Overall Experience 
 
3.6  (71)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
5 results - showing 1 - 5
Ordering
Mar 21, 2017
(Updated: March 22, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Stopped at Lotts Island RV Park on 3/21/2017 on our way home from Florida. The office was closed so we picked an empty site and set up. After we were completely set up, a young man in a MWR t-shirt arrived and informed us that we could only stay if we had a reservation and that they were not accepting reservations. He stated this was because workers were supposed to come and address the stumps of trees that were blown down by Hurricane Mathew five months previously. When I inquired as to why other campers were allowed to stay, he stated that they were there "before". Since it was obvious that the other units looked like they had been there awhile, I asked who they were and he replied "contractors". Who are these people and what gives them precedence over retired military? As it was late in the afternoon and we were already set up and had put our check in the drop box, we came to an agreement that we would address the situation the next morning. At 8am the following morning, the camp director, Chase Howell POUNDED on our camper door. He informed us that we could not stay there without a reservation. When asked how to get reservation, he replied we couldn't and threatened to call the MPs if we didn't leave. We elected to speak to the MPs and they agreed that regardless of all the empty sites, we couldn't stay without a reservation. The MWR campground website does not state that the campground is closed or that reservations are required. It even states that civilians are welcome space available. The guards at the entrance gate next to the campground did not say anything either. As another retiree was asked to leave also, this was not just an isolated event. As you can ascertain by the previous reviews, this situation has been on going since at least 2013. We have been traveling the last four years and have stayed in military campgrounds all over this country. We have always been treated fairly and with respect. This place treated a 36 year veteran like a criminal. 
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 11 4
Jul 12 - 15 2013
(Updated: July 18, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
HAAF directions are accurate and easy to follow. When it says to take an immediate left turn just inside the gate, believe it. I was there during the very bad rain mentioned in the previous review. It was very bad. I was in lot 6 and it was so flooded we could not park at the RV and walk to the door. I looked at trying to dig a ditch to drain the water, but it road is graded that way and it is rock. The cable was very limited, in fact I could get more off of the antenna. No internet except for cell phone. No camping ground facilities whatsoever. The post is small, but has good facilities. In general all were friendly and helpful. I do question why they put "homesteaders" in the pull thru slots. I had to work very hard to put my 38 ft 5th wheel into a badly angled back in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
11 July 2011
(Updated: July 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We called twice trying to find out if they had spaces available. Both times the responses we received were "I don't know." The first time the female said that 1/2 the sites are closed for renovation and she didn't know how many campers were in the campground or if any sites were open. She said she'd have to talk to her boss to "find out what was going on" and we could call back. We called back and she knew nothing more than before. She said her boss did not know how many sites were taken or if any sites were available. She was not at all helpful and made no attempt to be helpful. We stayed at Holbrook Pond on Ft Stewart instead. The young woman at Holdbrook told us the sites at Lotts were now all open. On 11 July we drove to Lotts to look it over. None of the sites were marked closed and all appeared to be usable. The campground had that run down look and needed mowing and some upkeep. Some issues to watch for if a person decides to stay at Lotts. When coming in the gate the turn is tight if you have a big rig. Quite a few of the sites would be difficult if not impossible to get into if a person has a big rig. Trees are close to the site so backing into the sites could present a problem particularly if someone is camped across from the site. Other sites are pull thru and would present no problems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
13-24 June 2011
(Updated: June 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I don't know what people on here are smoking. Hershel never helps anyone. He has been promising cable with no results. They even say you will have internet, that's a joke. Grass always needs mowed, and you can never find Hershel when you need him. Maybe he's sleeping in that camper that provides no service. Don't worry about the MWR boss, he will not help either. He probably doesn't even know where the campground is, since he never leaves his desk. Stay at the KOA, at least they offer what your paying for. Hersehel must be leaving all these remarks for himself on here.
J
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
28 Nov 2008
Overall rating 
 
1.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
16 new FHU new sites under construction. Please see Forum for more details. Visited but did NOT stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
5 results - showing 1 - 5