Adding markers to the map ...

Lotts Island RV Park

 
3.5 (71)
122416 1 16 0 42

User reviews

13 reviews with 3 stars

71 reviews

 
(20)
 
(23)
 
(14)
 
(4)
 
(10)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.2  (71)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.3  (71)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.6  (71)
Value 
 
3.5  (71)
Overall Experience 
 
3.6  (71)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
13 results - showing 1 - 13
Ordering
Feb 2, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
They are still closed due to the damage from Hurricane Mathew. :-( *Disregard ratings since it's a requirement to rate it in order to post a review. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
May 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed here for 2 nights passing through. We had reservations but there's no office or camp host so we had to dis-connect our toad to drive to the other side of the base to outdoor rec, unfortunately the outdoor rec is closed every Tuesday and Wednesday so we left our payment with someone who was working in the same office but doesn't deal with the RV park. They have a very nice fishing pond on base that has very clear water and a lot of fish. Don't get your hopes up though cause you must purchase a Georgia state fishing license and purchase a base fishing license and this is strictly enforced on this base. I didn't want to fish but my kids really wanted to go fishing here but kids of any age are not allowed to fish unless the parent purchases a GA license and base license even if you don't plan to fish and it's only for your child. Also there is a small commisary and exchange but it is on the other end of the base, it's quite far.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
10-15 August 14
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This was not a bad stay and I recommend Lott Island to anyone who does not need/require amenities or any assistance from the MWR management or campground staff. We arrived Sunday afternoon, had a nice stay on the campground, and left Friday afternoon. Not once, during our stay, did we see anyone from MWR management or the campground staff. I'm not saying this is necessarily a bad thing, just very different from any other campground we have ever visited. I did call the MWR office when we were departing to tell them we deposited our payment check in their drop box at the maintenance shed on the campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Oct 30, 2013
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We arrived in our 30 foot motorhome - had a reservation made 2 months out and confirmed the week before arrival. However, we arrived and no sites were available. People pull into an empty site and stay even if they have no reservation. The staff does not make them leave for someone that has a reservation, what they did do was have us park next to a site and share the power (each site has 50amp and 30 amp avail). Everyone we talked to (there were several of the 16 sites) were permanent - people even leaving their RV and driving on a vacation in their car. Would be nice to have a camp host on site to monitor the site assignment. Having said all that--there was cable TV (plenty of stations), internet (you have to ask at the office for the password), nice concrete pads and picnic tables. Location was great for visiting Savannah.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
July 16, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
As other reviewers have stated, this place is a mud hole when in rains! When the sun's out and it drys up some, it's fairly attractive. They have 16 sites. A "few" homesteaders is probably quite and understatement. Also, the fact that it's mostly pull-throughs with a few back-ins is reversed, in my opinion. We came for 4 nights with a reservation. All the nice sites (and pull-throughs) were taken by long-term campers (all but one locals). It had been raining for days and we were stuck with the last back-in that you could walk from the dinghy to the RV. There were 2 other sites left when we parked. The other 13 were mostly locals and looked like they had "set up for the summer." Whatever the site says about a 14-day limit is obviously not enforced. Maybe that means you can come in every 14 days and pay for the next 14 days. One other RV showed up while we were there and took a back-in that was under water when it was raining. Since that was a 42 to 45 foot coach, he wouldn't have had a place to park if we had taken that one. No showers, laundry, WiFi, etc; bare bones camping. Yes, they have cable, and that's great because the trees block satellite; but, I only found 37 channels. With public access and duplicates; maybe 10 to 15. Lest this sound completely negative, I was glad to have a place with full-hookups in Savannah for $22 a night. The electric was good, the water had good pressure, and our Verizon phones and MiFi worked great. I enjoy staying on-post, inside the gate and security checks. I would come here again. Finally, I'm not sure how they manage reservations. We made one, but they've been closed the whole time we've been here. If a "drop in" takes the last site; what about your reservation? I don't know how that works. There's only one site left now and they're still closed. What if a drop in takes it and someone had a reservation? An on-site host would be nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
April 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
L.S. left this review using the Directory software: - Very handy to everything in Savannah. Needs some serious work though. There are several homesteaders. Especially the site with the padded lawn furniture. It is in the woods and muddy when it rains. They did mow the grass, but left all the clippings that blew onto our patio there. They never weed-eated, and the grass around our fire pit was taller than the pit. It could be a lovely park, but someone needs to take care of it!!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 14, 2013
(Updated: March 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We are in Savannah on a Yankee Tour for the St. Pats Parade and it has been about 12 years since we had seen the campground so decided to check it out. It was about half full and no one around to talk to so used an average rating based on what we could see. The location to all the fun stuff in Savannah is great but it is very treesy so probably would have difficulty getting a signal to watch TV via satellite and did not see any cable being used. The sites are located very close to the roads going through the campground and many you would have to be very careful that your slides did not hit the large metal yellow posts around the electric pedastal. We actually did see a fifth wheel have a slide touching the post but it look like an abandoned unit. The grounds were thick with dead leaves and branches so you would have to walk your pets on the roads I guess but probably come spring time this would be cleaned out. Doubt our Zephyr would be able to maneuver in and out of most sites due to trees and posts but one or two sites might be okay. Since no one around we could not ask about the low voltage someone previously mentioned.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 4-11, 2013
(Updated: February 02, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This was our second visit 11 months apart. Savannah is one of the most beautiful cities in the south so the location is excellent. There was not a camp host last year, and there is no longer one now. The base gas station is within a couple miles; easy in, easy out even with a tow. Other base facilities--commissary, bx,laundromat,hospital etc are 10 or more miles away. BUT there are large shopping centers within a mile out the Rio Gate including WalMart. This is a bare bones famcamp. While there are cement patios with nice power pedestals, the tires rest on hard-packed sand and gravel. Some sites can be muddy. Cable available but did not work at our site (#3). There are no bath house or laundry facilities. Problem both times was low voltage which greatly affected our 1996 Class A motorcoach. Our concern was immediately addressed with base electricians coming out. Their response was, "Anything plus or minus 10% was OK." Not for us. Voltage varied from our site at 114 to our neighbor's at 110. Sadly, because of this adverse affect, we will not be able to return to this fam camp. Joyce, the lady at the MWR office, was very helpful and friendly. Would love to see some MWR funds put into this prime location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
19 June and 27 June 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I stayed here in a 33-foot Class A motorhome on 19 June and again on 27 June. This is a basic, OK campground. The sites are fairly well-developed with water, electricity, and sewers. All sites have cable connections, but on 27 June the cable connection did not function. No amenities at all; no laundry,no showers, no pool, no playground, no dog park, just a place to camp. Decent, metal picnic tables, and all sites have fire rings. The grills at the sites looked pretty rough. No camp host. I made reservations by phone, but did not have a warm fuzzy about having a sure-thing site, since my instructions were to pull in and pick any open site. Payment was by dropping your check into a box nailed to a tree. I dropped it off on 27 June. Today is 15 July, and they have not cashed it yet.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2012
(Updated: March 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
We stayed here before and things have not improved. The cable system is terrible. 8 channels and 4 of them are infomercials. Comcast is the provider and should be ashamed. The sites were good but the tables could stand a good cleaning and the concrete pads should be blown off occasionally. Why not have a volunteer host to stay at site 16 (the 1st one on the left) to accept payments, and do what a host would do? It would mean the loss of one site but would make it so much more convenient for the customer. Still the same on paying except this time I was told they would accept Golden Age Card which made the payment $18 instead of $25. I would hope that the cleanliness of the campground will improve in the future. This can be a beautiful campground with a little help.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
December 2011
(Updated: December 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We were there for five nights. Its location to savanna is the best 20 min. to down town..The staff are not trained or just don't care, the park half of the hook up no cable!! Its a newley redon no camp host,the office is closed tues-wend open mon,thur,friday We were there for x-miss the office closed thurs-reopened on wend.of the next week I counted seven campers came in with no idear of who,what,or ware the staff needs help... With a little help it could be a grate place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct 10, 2011
(Updated: November 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Pros: Absolutely close to everything, Walmart, Target, Library, banks, Savannah. Liked the location from the gate. Cons: When We came in, there was no info as to where to pay. When we did find the MWR we were told that there was no credit cards or checks, cash only. Also there was no receipt given. (Kinda fishy to me) When asked about the Golden Age was told "NOT HERE". So we paid $25.00 per night (IMHO quite expensive as compared to other campgrounds). The Cable TV only offered about 12 stations with 6 of them being educational, weather and selling stuff. I can't imagine what the roads would be in the heavy rains. They really need to be paved. I doubt that we will be back unless we hear on the forums that there is an improvement in the pricing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
29-31 Mar 2010
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Nice little camp, easy to get to from I-95 (don't follow all the directions in the military campgrounds book), it's right inside the Rio gate. Some of the sights were a little tight if you have slideouts on both sides, but there is plenty of room between sites. It didn't feel crowded or busy, there were about 10 rigs while we were there. A mall with Target, Bass Pro Shop, and Dillards is within walking distance out the gate and a nice big local library with a huge computer room is just across the street as well. The new manager was friendly and helpful, although the office to register is several miles away. He said they will be building an office and bath house and making continual improvements. Right now the $25 a night fee is a little steep considering the relative lack of amenities--cable, internet, laundry, etc.--but when/if these are added it will make this camp a good value as well as a convenient location to visit historic Savannah.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
13 results - showing 1 - 13