Adding markers to the map ...

Lotts Island RV Park

 
3.5 (71)
122465 1 16 0 42

User reviews

23 reviews with 4 stars

71 reviews

 
(20)
 
(23)
 
(14)
 
(4)
 
(10)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.2  (71)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.3  (71)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.6  (71)
Value 
 
3.5  (71)
Overall Experience 
 
3.6  (71)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
5 Feb 19
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice... not really. Practical... yes. Cost effective... yes. Gravel sites, dirt road. LOTS of mud and ruts. Almost impossible with a 40ft rig to make immediate left turn onto road after coming through gate. Camp host, Nathan, very helpful and keeps grounds as nice as he can with what little he has to do it with I'm sure. Full h/u. Sewer sets to rear. We reached it with 2 sections, but 3 would be better. Lots of mud. Old sites, not well maintained as far as amenities go, but tidy thanks to Nathan. Noisy. Lots of traffic near by. Lots of stores, food near by. PX/comm accessible, 20 min from campsite. Typical old run down Army outdoor rec. Easy check in. No bath house. Laundry on post, not on site. Easy access to Local sites. Great for cost effective short stay. Ample cell coverage for ATT.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
July 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Were rather disappointed when arrived as area quite unkempt. We chose our spot and hubby impressed with hookups. Site served our purpose for a short stay. MWR office where you check-in is closed Tuesday and Wednesday as previously noted. Very poorly run as one person trying his hardest to handle it all. We were very saddened to see what could be a great park minimally cared for. This park appeared to be laid out well with good equipment then abandoned. Very sad!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
Jan 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Ok, many of the previous comments are spot on. At one time I suppose Lott’s Island RV Park was something that the base cared and supported—financially and otherwise. Not the case now, but I encourage my fellow RV’ers to not be discouraged. It is many squatters here but it is still room for anyone passing through. We arrived and the MRW office was closed, we simply found an empty space and set up, and encourage others to do so. Called MWR the next day and asked to reserve space, was told that no vacancies existed. 2 hours later stopped by the office and stated that I wanted to pay for RV site X and would be staying for a few more days…no problem, money taken and no questions asked. Signs leading to the CG state you must have reservations or stay in the overflow (it took us until the next day to find overflow). For Overflow, head past CG towards Lott’s Island and you will see "RV Overflow" Signs on the right…very nice and for 6 bucks a night it was tempting for us to move there. Sites offer 30/50, water, sewer, cable (could not get cable to work), and Wi-Fi. Wi-Fi worked better than some 5 star CG’s we have stayed at, may have been our location but worked great. Gravel pads, very narrow, and some are difficult to get into. A lot of negatives (as discussed by earlier posts) but we liked our 4 day stay, It is quiet here, very convenient (Bass Pro Shop and Wal-Mart less than a mile away) to Historic Savannah, golf is great, nice and quiet, and the base is full service. Don’t expect any 5 star treatments but don’t be discouraged from this diamond in the rough.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
December 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for 2 weeks visiting friends and enjoying the Savannah area. This is the third time we have stayed and always find the campground a reasonable value and haven't experienced some of the problems others have described. We have always been able to find a "hole" in the canopy of trees to get signal for the satellite. There are fewer homesteaders than we remember, though there are some units we saw there last year. The lack of a bath house and laundry does not bother us, as we use those in our RV.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
December 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We read all the recent warnings about Lotts Island at Hunter AAF, and decided to take advantage of its location near Savannah for our 2-night stay anyway. We were pleasantly surprised at the campground. It's rustic, yes, with moss-covered trees making the area picturesque. Big rig owners looking for a resort atmosphere may be disappointed, but for us, we liked the natural environment ... and another couple we chatted with agreed. They plan to stay a month. The young lady in the MWR office was friendly. Location: excellent. Cleanliness: no problem. Amenities/Facilities: lacking, but it's a big Army post. Value: weird: Civilians can stay there for $35 (once they get through the gate); Military for $22 a night; AmeriPass (Golden Age Passport) for $18.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 4 - 9, 2013
(Updated: April 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here in our 40' 5th wheel with no issues. The sites are mostly pull thrus off the road with a couple back ins. There is a number of trees around the sites which give the campground it's feel. All the sites had a fire pit and a cement pad with picnic table. If you have a DoD sticker, the gate is just outside, easy in easy out. Savannah has a lot to offer and access is great. The park is a basic FHU park with no other amenities. We had no problem with the voltage, water pressure was good. Their cable channels left a lot to be desired but did have the basics (6 or 7 channels only). We were able to get our satalite but some of the spots whould be hard pressed to get satellite. We would stay here again when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
17 Feb to 26 Feb 2013
(Updated: March 04, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If you do not have a Sticker you will need to enter Hunter at the “Montgomery” Gate to sign in then proceed to the Rio Rd. gate, the campgrounds are located next to the “Rio” Gate. The grounds office personnel are very helpful & friendly the same goes for the gate guards! There is no Laundry, Showers or Toilets… There is full hock-up and our camper has a shower and toilet so no problem but we missed the laundry. We had problems with the camp Wi-Fi, better said it is almost worthless we even stood next to the antenna with our laptops!... However across the street is a Target with a customer Wi-Fi in which works good if you sit outside of your camper, you may have to walk over to the fence or drive over to their parking lot, no code is needed. The campgrounds picks up the city noises thus not quite; however the trees make the surroundings absolutely beautiful! Lot #6 is muddy and under water when it rains (with the exception of the concrete slab)! We were on lot #5 it also has some standing water when it rains but you will be able to get from your car to camper without wading in water & mud; however will not be able to walk a circle around your trailer without boots on. The other lots do not have standing water problems. The fitness center is a dream; the PX & Commissary are adequate. There is a Walmart just around the corner… across the street from Target. Hunter is very close to the touristic/historic parts of Savannah and probably needless to say Savannah is absolutely great! Our word for Savannah is “WOW” ! ;-) My advice… “Go to Savannah and RV at Hunter!!!”
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
3-8 Oct 2012
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Want to upgrade some info listed. There is a camp host on duty, and they have done a lot of work to improve the grounds. Very courteous and friendly. The price is $22, with a $4 reduction with the Federal "geezer" pass. If they would add a small bath house and laundry facility, it would be nice. Signs directing you to the cg would be nice, as well as signs inside advising where the host is and registering procedures. If the host doesn't happen to see you coming in, you're on your own to figure it out. The directions given are spot on, provided you have military post registration stickers on your vehicles. If not, you must go around to the Montgomery gate and show proof on registration and insurance every time you enter. Only installation we've been on recently that does this. It would be nice if they at least issued a temporary pass for the length of your stay, but they don't. Overall, enjoyed our stay and we'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 9-13, 2012
(Updated: June 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
They have lowered rates from $25 down to $22 I believe and give another $4 off for Golden Age Pass. Figures may be off a dollar or so but it is a decent price. Also, I think the mess hall is open to retirees though I haven't eaten there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2012
(Updated: June 05, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for 5 nights . Location is very good, not too far from I-95, very close to Savannah. This campground was upgraded last year. I too think it would be beneficial to have a host in the campground. The campground is in the woods and most of the sites are pull throughs, long and narrow. We have a 40 foot 5th wheel with 4 slides out and had difficulty finding a site that was good for our camper. There are concrete pads and a picnic table which is cemented into the pad. It was challenging to be able to open our slides. Where the hook ups are there was also 3 cement posts, think it's to protect the hook ups. We have 3 slides on that side of our camper. There might have been other sites that would have been easier but the campground didn't have too many sites available. I did notice that some other RV's that came in during our stay had some difficulty too. As others have said if you have the stickers for your vehicle you are all set to get on the base. Overall you can't beat the price and we would probably go back again if we are in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 23-28, 2012
(Updated: April 24, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Can't beat the location if you want to be near Savannah. The wooded area is nice but it is near a highway that can get noisy. But it was no problem. We have stickers on our motorhome and tow vehicle so it could not have been easier to get on base through the Rio Gate. The gate is open 24 hours. The grounds have been mowed and cleaned up but it is a bit sparse. The large trees were no problem for our satellite dish in site #2. There is no camphost or office nearby and no laundry. The campground has undergone an upgrade to the infrastructure with new concrete pads, new water faucets and electrical 30/50 amp posts. Many sites are pull throughs. We went over to the Outdoor Rec office to pay for our site which cost us $16/nite. We have a National Park pass which they acknowledged. Can't beat the proximity to Savannah. Perfect time of the season to be here. Few campers and no neighbor noise. Bass Pro Shop, Wal Mart, Target and other stores near by. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 15-April 20, 2012
(Updated: April 19, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
After reading the previous reviews, we almost didn't stay here. This is a great location to visit Savannah and the surrounding areas. The sites have plenty of room. Our picnic table was dirty, but with just a little work it was in fine shape. Our satellite wouldn't pick up a signal because of the trees, but the cable service provided many channels. We enjoyed walking and playing golf on base. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and if in the area again, we would stay here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
15-19 April 2012
(Updated: April 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
If you have a sticker on your camper you can enter via rio gate - if not, expect a long drive on the perimeter road and the trees are just the right height to twang your antennae but not low enough to do any damage. The campground is in need of a good cleaning and mowing, agree with former posters that we (the users) need to do our part and leave it cleaner than we arrived. It is very quiet here most of the time, you are near a hospital (off the base) and the occasional siren will break the silence. It is very crowded right now, all but two sites are in use, snow birds going home I suspect. With a big rig, the "pull-thru" option does test your skills on some of the sites. I'm in site 6 which is a back in as are about 5 others. Overall a great option if you're visiting Savannah or traveling North on 95. Don't forget to show your "America the beautiful" or Senior pass to get another $2 off the usual fee.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
1-6 April 2012
(Updated: April 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Park has not changed from last year except lack of active on-site host. Weeds are not cut back. Cable TV was converted to Verizon and it is very basic. Over air TV, we got 9 channels. Office personnel very friendly and helpful. Campground needs attention. Many campers had no idea where office was which could be easily resolved by on-site host. We like this campground for its location. Price was raised from our stay of last year which did not reflect in any improvement in the campground or ammenities. I also agree with comments by sbaker, we need to ensure we clean up after ourselves as a courtesy for the campers that will utilize the facilities behind us. Lets not ruin a good thing. Remember to visit the Exchange/Commissary while here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
6-8 April 2012
(Updated: April 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Tables could be pressure washed and concrete pads blown off. The worst was the fact that the fire pit was full of garbage. I would say this is fault of campers not facility! It's a fire pit people. I see alot of people complaining about cleanliness of the campgrounds but how about taking a little responsibility and clean up after ourselves. OK. Very quiet and peaceful. Nicely wooded. Stayed at site #9. Cable not working. (took $2 per night off) If you don't have DoD sticker on your vehicle, you have to go through Montgomery Rd gate. (can get temp pass here also) Motorcycle riders make sure you have reflective vest (not belt) and ALL of your info. Overall, great stay. 3 stars for cleanliness/hospitality: No host.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 2012
(Updated: March 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed 3 nights. Very convenient to downtown Savannah. Sites have good space between them. Campground was clean with concrete patios and new power pedestals. No restrooms but we use our own facilities. Lots of shade trees. Relatively quiet. Savannah Mall and other shopping right outside Rio gate. Must have DoD decals on your vehicles (including MH) to use Rio gate which is open 24/7. No staff at the RV park. Must check in and pay at MWR Outdoor Rec office. Directions to MWR: Leave campground and turn left on Rio Rd. Turn right on Perimeter Rd. Go 1.2 miles and turn left on Stratofortress Rd (follow signs to skeet shooting range). The office is at the end of Stratofortress Rd.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
7-13 July 2011
(Updated: July 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Hershel goes beyond his job description. I contacted him as I was leaving I95 and he waited at the gate for me. He came by every day to ensure we didn't have any problems. Due to some tree trimming the park was partially closed but he squeezed us in. The hookups are new and clean. The spaces are hard dirt. Cable available channels are garbage unless you like shopping. Location of stores and restaurants is excellent. Lack of showers/restrooms not a big deal we used our motorhome facilities. Early morning walks to park/marina are refreshing but do use bug repellent. I plan on staying there on my return trip to Florida. Nice little campground and great location for exploring Savannah.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 2011
(Updated: May 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a new RV Park. Savannah has come a long way from the old RV park. No Facilities yet, but in the making. If you don't have reservations you will have to go to the outdoor Rec, they are closed Wednesday and Thursday. There is a host during the day, but not at night. Great place to stay for retirees. Cannot beat the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 27 to 1 Jan 2011
(Updated: July 30, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As of Dec 2010 MWR does TAKE RESERVATIONS. PROs: Great location for Savannah and the large adjacent TWO story Mall. Wonderful and helpful Camphost Herschel Schenck (albeit he's a contender for becoming new Chief of Outdoor Rec so may move on soon...). Modern Pedestal Hookups with Cable. Short walking trail in the woods around the campground. Traffic noise is not great (but always present) and air traffic is infrequent (at least in Dec). Reasonable price (I paid $15/night). Has a recycling Dumpster. CONS: Sites are not paved or level. My site was not level in any direction and for the first time ever the Front of my Fiver was so high I did not have to duck my head under the bedroom/around the hitch! Road is more dirt than gravel. INFO: Small Campground with single loop. Most sites are pull-through but right on the road with just the Pedestal and short distance between, so all campground traffic is very close. A few sites are back-in inside the loop. If you know how far your Driver's side Slide(s) extend you can position better. My door/steps missed the nice concrete patio by a few feet because I wanted my rear slide to clear the pedestal and bollards from behind, but I could have put my slide next to them as it was would have cleared them when extended. The prior week a car and a RV were damaged by falling limbs in a windstorm (not all sites have trees above). If you don't have Vehicle Stickers (as USAF has done way with) you must use the Montgomery Street Gate on the North end of this large Hunter Army Airfield. Herschel or MWR will provide a pass to use the adjacent RIO Street Gate after arrival, but you still must show ID cards. To get to Montgomery Street Gate: From I-16 take Exit 164A to I-516 (South/Lynes Parkway), stay on right and turn RIGHT on Montgomery Street. Its a few blocks to the gate. To get to the Lotts Island Campground, take the first left at the Base AAFES Service Station (Leonard St, then Neal St), going straight through a 4-Way Stop, the at 1 Way Stop for Lightning Road, turn LEFT and follow Lighting Rd to Perimeter Rd, turning right on Perimeter Rd. After a long ways keep a look out for turning LEFT onto Rio Rd. Follow Rio Rd to the Rio Gate/Lotts Island Rd. The campground is on the right "behind" the gate and you turn left on the road to enter the campground (a traffic cone helped locate it when we were there). Parkways provide speedy access to Historic District. Take lots of quarters for on street parking meters (range from 10-30 minutes, or 2-10 hours depending on location) or parking lots have ticket dispensers that take charge cards. Free parking after 5PM. We enjoyed two Walking tours, great dining, Tybee Island, etc.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Nov 18 to Dec 31, 2010
(Updated: December 31, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
What a great famcamp they are making here at Lotts Island. Lots of new construction since here 8 months ago. Hospitality is fantastic. Herschel and Nick really go out of their way to help out and make things comfortable for you. Would be nice to have someone on site all the time, no camp host. They both were on the ball checking people in and meeting all their needs when here. It will be nice when laundry and showers and office/clubhouse are on site. The island is a great place to picnic and walk to and Savannah is really close with lots to do. Commissary and PX were acceptable. New Shoppette nearby. Love being close to a very nice mall right outside gate. Will definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
23 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2