Adding markers to the map ...

Lotts Island RV Park

 
3.5 (71)
122414 1 16 0 42

User reviews

20 reviews with 5 stars

71 reviews

 
(20)
 
(23)
 
(14)
 
(4)
 
(10)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.2  (71)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.3  (71)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.6  (71)
Value 
 
3.5  (71)
Overall Experience 
 
3.6  (71)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
20 results - showing 1 - 20
Ordering
April 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a cozy , setback campground just inside the gate. We enjoyed the quiet and seclusion. HAAF has everything one could need. Campground host Nathan is amazing. He greeted us and shared info about base and local area! He is working hard to keep the grounds nice! The Army could put a few bucks into this park to keep areas from flooding....we enjoyed our stay, super close to all the Savannah highlights! Will come back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
December 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This park was a perfect 2-day stop for us to tour Savannah. The camp site host was very accommodating. The site was clean and the hookups worked great. The park is located within in a 2-minute walking distance from a nice large mall and within a 5-minute walking distance from a Walmart. Considering the location and the extra peace of being in a gated community (on a military base), this is a good value. We would certainly return to this park. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Feb. 22-25, 2013
(Updated: February 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had to enter the base at the Montgomery gate since we don't have a base sticker. It wasn't a big deal. We were almost to Rio Rd and got turned around due to a 'situation' up ahead...that was a minor bummer. But the MP called the Rio gate to advise them we were coming and they were very cordial and helpful when we arrived almost 30 minutes later. We didn't have any problem with low voltage so that must have been a one-time problem. The ladies in the office where we registered were very helpful and friendly. The Rio gate guards went above the call of duty when I had to get a few groceries at the Walmart just around the corner...I asked them if I had to go all the way around to go in the north gate since I don't have a sticker...the guard took my info and when I came back an hour later, the new guard had my info and let me in. I would come back here. The lack of facilities wasn't a problem...most of us have bathrooms in our rv's and showers; since there are full hook-ups, what is the problem?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 2012
(Updated: December 11, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Enjoyed our stay here very much. We were surprised to find out there was a camp host and they were very hospitable and helpful. The location is great for visiting Sanannah and we will return. Will look forward to WiFi being available on our next visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
29 September - 06 October 2012
(Updated: October 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Since last visit this camp has changed like night and day. The new camp hosts have hand raked almost the entire campground. They keep the grounds neatly trimmed and clean of tree debris. They are very courteous and friendly and informative. The price is $22, with a $4 reduction with the Golden Age pass. The MWR office can NO longer issue temp passes for length of stay by order of base Commander. Without DOD sticker it can be really inconvenient and you will need to enter at the Montgomery gate which is on the opposite side of the base from the campground. A shower/laundry house would be nice and the camp hosts stated they are contemplating building one. WiFi was unavailable during our stay but a WiFi antenna has been erected and will be ready in November 2012. Cable TV is available but very limited. This campground is a very good place to stay when visiting the area. Well worth the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Nov 4,5,6, 2011
(Updated: November 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Well we missed the turn at the gate. We went about a mile to the end of the road and looped thru the park there and returned to the campground. There were no directions about how to check in. I found a camper that told me to pick out at site and set up. Then go to the office and check in. The office was a little hard to find and the credit card machine was broke. The staff was real friendly and helpful. The price had gone up to $25 a night without Wi-Fi. We had just left Camp Lejeune that had everything for $15 per night. The site was real nice and the hookups were great. Overall, we will stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 12-15 2011
(Updated: August 20, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a great place! Tree cutting is still going on. We had to move on Monday, but they worked with us since we were leaving that day. The campground is right inside the gate, and the facilities are great. We have a 43 foot tag axle and had no problem turning in after the gate and maneuvering into the campground. We had bad weather while there and they came by and knocked on the door to make sure we knew to button down the hatches. We will definitely be staying there next time we are in Savannah!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 8, 2011
(Updated: August 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Hi Everyone! This is Herschel Schenck the former Campground Manager for Lott's Island R.V. Park. I am now at Ft.Sam Houston, San Antonio, Tx, but I am no longer working in the same type of career. I want to thank all the kind campers who encouraged me and said so many kind words about the services that I provided to them as they stayed with us. Also, I would like to mention that in the past we have had some issues with falling tree branches, but we have called in an expert arborist and tree surgeons to begin a step by step program to restore the health of stressed trees and remove dead ones. Do to clearing the land the trees were shocked, but now a 5 year plan has begun to start the process! Branches may always fall, but we have greatly reduced the incidents to 99%! Thanks again! Herschel Schenck (daisamurai7@yahoo.com)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 10 -14, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.M. left this review using the Directory software: This is a rustic campground with no additional facilities. It has a fantastic camp host BUT HE (Hershel) IS LEAVING. Terrific location just inside the gate and super-convenient to lots of places. We could not get a satellite connection due to the trees but there is a VERY BASIC cable connection.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 June -13 June 2011
(Updated: June 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place to stay in Savannah, What a deal FHU for $12 a night. Cable company is blocking some channels only got about 15 channels, Don't have bathrooms but don't really need one I got an RV. Herschel was a great host with all the info and a great personalty, Recommend reservation there are only a few spaces, stop by and enjoy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 27, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
T.M. left this review using the Directory software: - We stayed at the old RV park several years ago and were very surprised at the new park. Although more updates are still in the planning stage, for self contained units the current set up is GREAT. We had no problems with the 50 amp electrical hookup, water, sewer or cable TV connections. Now that road construction is completed, it is a breeze to wisk from the interstate right to the campground entry point. Added to that is the fact the Rio Road gate is now open 24/7. The resident manager, Herschel Schenck, was super friendly and bubbled with enthusiasm about the campground and its future. He had hand drawn sketch maps to guide us around post and made sure we knew where the base dinning facility was located as it is now open to retirees (we ate a most enjoyable lunch there). Will definitely be returning and much sooner than after our first visit made years ago.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Mar 13-20, 2011
(Updated: March 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Visited during St. Patties day holiday, had a great time. Several Malls out side the gate, retires can eat at the mess hall. $12 a night stay with Golden access card, water sewer, elect, and cable TV, concrete pad with picnic table, hard to top this bargain. No showers, no club house, washer dryer, PX, commissary on base, stone lots. Nick, and Hershel from MWR are there to make your stay enjoyable, and will help in any way they can. 30 day storage for RV $10 top that. $40 for 30 days for undercover storage. 14 day stay, allowed then must be away 30 days . They are on their way to being one of the best kept secrets to stay of Military Camp Grounds. Don't miss, and now they take reservations. Great park, boat dock, picnic area on Lotts Island 1 mile away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
28 Feb thru 2 March 2011
(Updated: March 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Camp host, Hershel was waiting when we arrived. We had a choice of three sites and after making our choice, Hershel was there with brochures of the surrounding area and a map to expedite our trip downtown. Although there is no showers or laundry facilities in the immediate area, the location makes up for any shortfalls that may be there. A really nice mall just across the street, wal-mart just down the road and the exchange and commissary a couple miles across the post. Downtown and the riverwalk area are a straight shot from the campground. We will return!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct. '10
(Updated: January 27, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place to stay. Hint: Use your Google Maps and see the street lay out, cause if'n you don't know where your going, you'll wind up somewhere else. Nice and quiet, laid back, no complaint about anything. We walked to a majorly civilian mall nearby. After unhooking, we had a great time driving around and exploring the area. Will definitely go there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
9 Jan 2011 though 15 Jan 2011
(Updated: January 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Savannah is one of our favorite cities and a regular stop as we travel along the coast on I-95. This was our first stay at Hunter AAF, but we will be sure to check availability and stay here again. Herschel is exceptionally hospitable and friendly, always ready to offer assistance. The campground roads are not paved and neither are the sites, but the electric, water and sewer connections are new and easy to use. They have cable, but we didn't connect to it. We understand there are plans to expand and improve the facilities. It is a great location to visit the Savannah area!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Nov 12 - 20, 2010
(Updated: December 11, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Constant progress being made. Grass being planted, still free firewood and Golden Age Passport accepted. Cable TV included in the price. WiFi planned, as is a campground store and clubhouse plus 16 more FHU sites. $12 a night is a bargain anywhere but close to downtown Savannah is a steal! The Army is getting this one RIGHT!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
11 Oct - 10 Nov 2010
(Updated: November 18, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The discount for Golden Age/Golden Access/America the Beautiful is 50%. One month for $300 ...a great deal. There are no bathrooms or shower facilities as yet. Free CATV with 60 channels was activated during our stay ...a great addition as the heavy tree cover makes satellite reception very iffy or plain impossible. According to the handout received on arrival, "Firearms must be securely stored, unloaded, and out of sight." There is a very small shoppete/gas station apx 2 mi away, golf course apx 3 mi, small PX & Commissary apx 5 mi, large Savannah Mall just outside gate and across the street. There is ZERO signage to find the RV park, but the manager is trying to get that fixed. Each site has a nice patio slab, table, grill, and fire ring. Most sites are pull-throughs, but are VERY tight between the patio and massive steel posts protecting the utilities. The patio location is great for a travel trailer or mid-entry coach, very poor for front entry coach and some 5th wheels, most of which cannot park with the entry door on the patio slab as the very close posts protecting utilities prevent use of slides and/or storage compartment doors. (the park apparently was designed with travel trailers in mind rather than modern motor homes and fifth wheels). We parked with our entry door well beyond the slab, and our bedroom slide extended over the picnic table bench. The camp host and his assistant were extremely helpful, and visible throughout the campground daily. We were told plans are in the works for 16 additional sites ...hopefully they will be a little better designed for modern RVs. We were also told that when those sites are built, the existing roads and sites will be paved ...that will be a great improvement as the roads are quite dusty now. The day before we left I had to clear tons of wet leaves off the slide-out awnings so they would retract properly the next day, but otherwise the trees are very nice. We would love to return for a visit in the future!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 9 - 23, 2010
(Updated: October 25, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first time camping out at Hunter AAF RV Park. We live in Hilton Head Island, SC, and just wanted to "get out of town" for a few days. We were only going to stay 3 days and that turned into 14 days. This RV park has got to be one of the Army's best kept secrets. Even though there are only 15 RV sites, they are virtually new with concrete patio pads, permanent round picnic tables, new electric, sewer, and cable TV stations. The campground manager, Herschel Schenck, and his assistant were most helpful and stopped by several times to ask if we needed anything. According to them, the future expansion includes 12 new sites, WIFI, a new laundry facility, and a new welcome center. They're hoping for paved roads, too. If that happens, this RV park will be second to none. We are planning on returning for a week or so after Halloween and before Thanksgiving.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
May 27-28, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We liked this campground but it was VERY difficult to find. They turned us away from the main gate and made us come in the Montgomery Gate which is FAR away from the RV park. There is absolutely no signage and we got lost several times. It's best by FAR to come in the Rio gate as the RV park is literally right inside the gate. When we finally found it, we were very pleasantly surprised to see that it was only $10 a night w/access pass (ours is for disability but Golden Age works too). We were only passing through so just stayed the one night but this would be a great camping spot to see the sights in Savannah, plus there is a multitude of shopping and eating places, all very close by. The manager of the park just couldn't be nicer-he even used his leaf blower to clean off our patio area, unasked. Each site has a nice new brightly painted round metal table w/benches surrounding it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground for relaxing, kicking back, bicycle riding, touring Savannah. Cable TV will be nice as it is heavily treed. $5.00 discount for Golden Age Pass holders and FREE firewood. We stayed two nights a week ago and will definitely be back for an extended visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
20 results - showing 1 - 20