Fourth Cliff Recreation Area

 
4.2 (44)
117361 0 14 0 37

User reviews

44 reviews

 
(24)
 
(13)
 
(4)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.7  (44)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (44)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.6  (44)
Value 
 
4.4  (44)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (44)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
44 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
September 10th through 17th, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.A. left this review using the Directory software: - We made reservations for our stay a few months ahead as we have a 38 foot 5th wheel. We were assigned RV Site #9 which worked out very well. The view was just awesome. We were lucky with great weather the first 3 days of our stay. The wind was not so bad and we could listen to the breakers from our bedroom. Looking out of the living room watching ships in the distance as well as the local fishing boats was a relaxing treat. We were disappointed that we were not allowed to walk on the Atlantic side beach. All utilities worked well but we did have some "over voltage problems", on our 30amp service that was resolved by the maintenance crew in a day or so. This is a good location to see Boston and Plymouth area attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2010
(Updated: February 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
An excellent physical location that is not being utilized to it's full potential. We stayed at an RV site for (7) days. If there are sites available when you arrive if you have made a reservation, go to the sites and visually check them out and pick one out that suits your rig. Although the MWR rep is a nice person, do not rely on her to make your site location decision for you. We were there in May and it was so windy I pulled in my slide as I was concerned about the toppers. No facilities(PX/NEX/Commissary) as the parent command is 1 1/2 hours away. Grass needed cut, concrete repaired and the showers/bathrooms are unheated and dirty. That being said, the location is nice and the price is very good. The facility manager (RV/Cottages/Picnic area) didn't share my security concerns in that this is a remote site where you open and close the gate as you come and go and the sign says close the gate after you enter/exit. The construction personnel working on the cottages were always leaving the gate open. The "manager" said he has told the command about the lack of security and they haven't done anything about it.. It appears locals come and go to walk on the beach etc. I ran non-military in POVs off the base by telling them that as far as I am concerned, they are trespassing and/or terrorists and I am calling military police immediately. I will be discussing this with the base commander via letter shortly. Again this RV area has excellent potential if some MWR dollars were spent to upgrade the RV sites and bathroom/showers as military RV camps are very limited in New England. This could be a big money maker for Hanscom AFB if they got their act together.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 5
8-11 Oct 2010
(Updated: October 11, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place to spend some time and hang your hat up for a few days of RR. We stayed in a two bedroom cottage. We had everything we needed. The only down side was that the bath towels are very old and small in size. The kitchen had everything we need it to cook a full meals. The location is very convenient, we drove to Quincy and visit the USS Salem for a few hours ( a must see for all) then took the ferry to Boston, spend the whole day walking in Boston the took the ferry back. This is a definite return place for us.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
11 & 12 July 2010
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We had pre-paid reservations for 2 nights (Sunday and Monday). I had the impression that the staff were teenagers. I realize that it was the end of the weekend, but the place was a real mess. All trash cans along the road were overflowing and the toilets and showers were in the worst condition I have ever seen. Sand, water, and trash was all over the floors. Trash was in the sinks and one sink in the Ladies was full of sand. The 3 RV sites for smaller rigs (Ours is a 21' Rialta) are very tiny. There was room for our RV, about 4' of free space and then the picnic table. As I sat on the picnic bench for dinner I was almost on top of the sewer line for the adjacent unit. After dinner, my wife and I looked at each other and together said' "Lets not stay two days". We called our next stop, got a day added to our reservation, left the $25 for Monday and departed early in the morning. The next stop, Camden Hill SP in Maine, was a delight and worth leaving the $25 at Fourth Cliff. Needless to say, "Don't expect us back".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
22.-24.April 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were 5 people and stayed in a Chalet, it was very nice. First day it was stormy and the heat with the fireplace worked well, than we had a nice sunny day and the beach was very nice for adults and the kids. A lot of space and a great view to the ocean from the house. We definitely will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
February 27, 2010
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I stayed in one of the chalets and it was very well kept. A very pleasing atmosphere. I live approximately 20 minutes from the area and the view of the beach is beautiful. I would recommend this site to anyone, it's very peaceful. I am going back as many times as I can go.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Sept 25-27, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
If you like the ocean you will love this place. Bring your camera. About an hour south of Boston, a great place to relax and walk. If you arrive at night you need to push the gate out of the way and find your spot. (Close the gate behind you). Its not as bad as it sounds. Each spot is well marked. Laundry available. Enjoy the area and enjoy the nearby restaurants.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
August 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.M. left this reicew using the Directory software: Overall a very nice place to visit. $25 per night. We were there for six days (Sunday to Saturday). Narrow streets can make it difficult to navigate a big rig, especially on busy weekends - but we managed okay. Pam, the person in charge, was easy to work with. Very high water pressure - be sure to use a regulator to avoid possible damage to your rig. We never did rid of a water leak at the connection. 11 RV spaces - ours was site 4 with great views of the ocean. We needed a second sewer hose to make a sewer connection. Good electric voltage. As might be expected (being right on the ocean) the sites were pretty narrow and packed in. We never did our rig exactly leveled. We stopped for a beer at the store - ended up paying a dollar more and bought the whole six pack. There's a gate but one could never know if it would be open or closed after 5 PM - but it was certainly never locked. Several nice local places nearby (by car) to eat. A million kids around so be careful driving. We saw what looked like a nice playground there but we didn't visit it. We didn't use the laundromat but it looked just fine. A perfect place to relax and enjoy the beach. We'd go back in a heartbeat.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
11 JULY - 18 JULY 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Overall a great visit! Very hard to get a reservation here; visited the area two times before and could not get in. This time I was able to change my other plans by a few days when I called in and was told this week was available. Think I have a clue to some of the reservation problem as my neighbor while here informed me that he comes here all the time! Seems he is from this area, now lives in FL, but travels back here for the summer. Was here while I was, left but said he would be back in a week for another 2 weeks in the same site, and would be in and out for the whole summer. Guess it just depends on who you know in the office, which it seems it getting to be very prevalent in the FamCamp business. Anyway, we had Site 10 and had no problems at all; maybe since we only have a 37' RV it made a difference. Pull straight in and have a great view of the Atlantic! Would be nice if they put a WiFi repeater on the tower, then maybe the whole camping area could have a signal! As is is now, down to the office area for each time to use computer, bummer. Did note that the staff (summer hires?) did not have much info on anything it seemed, could not even find me a Channel List for the Cable TV provided, said "It's in your cabin". Hello, I'm in an RV site, where's the list? Maybe a little OJT for summer help would be in order?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 14-18 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed from June 14- June 16, we loved it. This is the 2ond time and can't wait to go again. great place!!! Poor Fred & Diane
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 01, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed until June 07, 2009. Had a great spot overlooking the ocean. Only problem was I requested a 50 amp site and was assigned a 30 amp site. Fortunately the temp was very cool and I could run my rig on 30 amps. I found the camp personnel less than informative. Needed some rv supplies. Their store was useless and they had no idea of the location of any rv dealers. I would stay again since I now know the answer to these questions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 18-22, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Back again! Another wonderful stay at 4th Cliff, except for Mother Nature and high winds (Nor'easter). We stayed in RV9 which is at the top of the cliff. Our trailer was "rockin' & rollin'" during the night. The weather & winds actually "forced" us to leave a day earlier than we had planned. Other than that, we are very pleased with the area and had a wonderful time. I still wish and hope that they will extend the WiFi to cover the RV/cabin areas. I don't think it would take too much effort or expense. The staff is great! We will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Love this place! I enjoy going here better than a regular hotel on the Cape. Great value and great location. We go yearly whenever we can get reservations.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sep 9-12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful, but not a great place for big rigs in sites 9,10 & 11.the front or rear wheels are about 6 inches off the ground. We are in a 40 foot motorhome. We needed lots of blocks and a ladder to get into the rig. We were here Sept 9-12. The 9th was a cloudburst w/wind, 10th sunny w/wind. Today we are going to Cape Cod.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
8 - 10 August 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were welcomed with a detour to start our hunt for the campground but the local badges were at the bridge to steer us right and we were quickly on Bayberry Street and across the other bridge to Central Ave and down to the campground. What a friendly staff. We got to site # 2 and though most of the sites are tight because of parking they are adequate and the views from the sites are nice to super depending on which you are at. Lots of cabins and and just lovely atmosphere. Couple rainy days but only for a few hours and one of those we were on Cape Cod and saw no rain. Lots to see and do. Internet at the office but not on the the end of CG. For the money it is a good deal as it is pricey down town. We want to come back and spend more time as it is very relaxing there. All the reviews are pretty accurate so I need not carry on.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
7-20 Jul 08
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have just finished a two week stay in site 1 for the rv's. We found it very pleasant and all of the hookups worked well. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We wish they would improve the wi-fi to include a tower on the cliff end so all sites could get on the internet. Bathrooms could be renovated as it had a lot of leaking problems but functioned well enough. We used our own showers. The location is great and close to a lot of things to see and do in Mass. We had a great time there and only one thunderstorm.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 29 & 30, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As was previously mentioned by another reviewer, our start at 4th Cliff was confusing with the Detour. We got a tour of Humarock before deciding that the Detour signs were really meant for us. Follow the Detour signs until they get the primary bridge rebuilt! We stayed in RV spot #5 which had a beautiful view of the harbor/bay and 20/30 amp service, water, sewer, and TV cable. It took a bit of maneuvering to get my 27.5' trailer into the spot due to the parking of vehicles across the road. Even though it was said that we "might" be able to receive the 4th Cliff wireless (WEP) for Internet access, we were not able to at #5. We did receive someone else's open wireless access (from across the bay?) which we were able to use intermittently. 4th Cliff plans to expand their wireless coverage in the future when wiring gets updated to other locations. Great cell phone coverage! We had a great experience, and the staff was very friendly and experienced! We will definitely go back knowing which RV sites we wish to use. We may even just rent one of the cabins available. Everything in the cabins is furnished, and they are clean. Also, I don't know where the $44+ figure came from from MSgtK. The $44 figure sounds like two nights, not one, as is shown by their rates shown previously. Very affordable compared to other campgrounds in the area. Other than being off the beaten track away from other attractions (was a good thing for us), it was a wonderful experience! Plymouth and Plimouth Plantation were great! If you love seafood, you will never run out of good places to eat!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
17 - 19 May 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice place to stay for the view! A little pricy at $44+ a night and the ammenities are only open during the "summer" (Jun-Aug?). Extremly difficult to find because the directions were bad. The bridge was washed out and they did not say anything to me when I made reservations about the "detour". You should stay here at least once. I plan on staying at less expensive places next time :)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
May 21 - 26, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Since Fourth Cliff is such a small CG, we called a few days in advance to see what the Memorial Day weekend booking situation was, and were told that all the hookup sites for that long weekend had been booked for months, but that we could get into overflow. However, when we arrived the Wednesday before the holiday weekend, there were five hookup sites still available until Friday. We took #4 which has water views to the north and west. We noticed that the bath house was completely boarded up, asked why, and were informed that they board it up over the winter, and that it doesn't open until Friday of the Memorial Day weekend. If tenters show up before then, there are a couple of porta-johns set up adjacent to the tent areas, but no showers. They did open the bath house a day early, and we found it clean and functional, if a bit run-down. The laundry house has four new washer/dryer combos and a couple of older models that I assume still work. Friday morning, we unhooked and moved to the grassy overflow area situated on the highest part of the CG for the remainder of the weekend. This area also had a great view of the Atlantic Ocean and a long stretch of the beach directly under the cliffs. You can hear the surf lapping on the shore below and, when the wind is right, you can hear the bell buoy chiming from about a mile off the entrance to the South River inlet. The overflow area isn't level, so expect to do some leveling. The hookup sites include CATV, but even without that, there are 28 local TV channels available if you hook up your antenna. For internet, we use the SPRINT PCS air card and had maximum EVDO signals and great high speed connections. You can see two cellular towers rising above the landscape across the bay to the west. If you like re-enactments like Williamsburg, VA, you can go to Plimouth Plantation, and the CG office has some special passes that are DEEPLY discounted. Not our thing, but what a deal. [And yes, the Plantation is spelled Plimouth, while the town is spelled Plymouth.] Check with the office. This is a family-oriented recreation area with many more cottages than RV campsites. The cottages appear to be very nice and spacious, and most of them have at least some water views. For folks with young children, there is an elaborate playground across from the overflow camping area. This holiday weekend, there were lots of kids using it from sunup to sundown. There's interesting wildlife here too, if you keep your eyes open. Early Friday morning, low tide, we saw a couple of deer frolicking on the west sandbar of the inlet. Then, suddenly, they plunged into the water and swam all the way across to our shoreline and came out right in front of us. The beach and the South River inlet are great walking places. As with Key West, the facilities may be a little run-down, but the location and ambience more than makes up for most shortcomings. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Oct. 21, 28, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed there for one week in site #10 on the cliff. It was a good site and a great view. Didn't use the showers or the BR's. Had a great stay except it rained 5 out of 7 days and the wind blew hard for 5 out of the 7 days. That isn't Fourth cliff's problem though. I would go back there if in the area. There is a great fresh sea food wholsale place right down the road where you can buy fresh lobster and fish pretty fair priced. A lot to see in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
44 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3