Hanscom AFB FamCamp

 
4.1 (54)
76094   0   19   1   32

User reviews

7 reviews with 3 stars

54 reviews

 
(21)
 
(25)
 
(6)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.4  (54)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.1  (54)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.8  (54)
Value 
 
4.2  (54)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (54)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7
Ordering
21/22 Sep 2018
(Updated: October 11, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The park is easy to access off the interstate. It is not on base but just a short distance away. The full hook-up sites are very nice and look like very easy to get into and out of. They were full so I had to stay in a 30 amp W/E only site (19). I was allowed to pick my own site. Had good water and electric and was able to pull in stations using my antenna. We used and were favorably impressed with the laundry facility. As others stated the centrally used fire pit is nice and you will meet some excellent folks there. Although my site was easy access, in my opinion most of these W/E sites can be difficult to maneuver into because of trees. Other campers advised me there are a lot of trees dropping acorns onto their RV, but only a few dropped on mine in the site I picked. When I arrived I was advised I could check daily to see if anyone was vacating a full-hook up site and I would be number one on the wait list. I was told that there were three of these sites that were scheduled to be vacated the next day but the occupants had until 1130 to let the office know if they wanted to stay and she was expecting at least two of them to extend their stay. Apparently, they are staying there for the season and the manager lets them renew on their last day to stay longer even though the receipt I was given states if there is a waiting list they have to move to another site (common requirement). All three decided to stay. My biggest concern was the central dump site. First, it's location will not allow you to dump as you leave the park because it's on the left side of the road as you to pull into the park. You have to pull back in front of the office through the entrance. Instead of having a "clean-out" pipe sticking up it is a large opening (larger than a toilet bowl) that you stick your hose in to dump and the waste was close to the top and almost full. It has a thin medal lid covering it that is supposed to be bolted down but the bolts are missing. Thus, you slide it out of the way to dump and then slide it back. This setup is very dangerous and a child/pet/adult could fall into the hole. There were some empty sites and dump pipes around the area that could be used but one of the ladies that works in the office was adamant I didn't use those but use the central dump. Don't know why. Again, overall this park is a good place to stay overnight and longer if you can get one of the full hook-up sites or easy access W/E only sites. The base has an excellent commissary and BX as well as other amenities that are impressive. The nearby town of Lexington has a lot of history and really nice shops/restaurants along main street. Diesel fuel in Lexington is way cheaper than nearer the base. Notified wing safety of sewer issue. They advised me later that they visited the site and DR created a work order to fix the dump site to meet required specs for a dumpsite. Future users should hopefully see an improvement soon.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Oct. 9th - Oct. 29th, 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Scheduled one week stay here then added an additional 1 1/2 week stay. We left a day earlier due to the park closing in order to work on the roads and sites for a couple of days. Great Famcamp and Annie (Sorry if mispelled) was a great host and had funny jokes to tell me. Seeing and hearing the planes coming in and going out, never bothered me. Nice open pull through sites with great electric, water and sewer sites. Not far from the Commissary for getting groceries. I found every thing I needed. Oh, and last but not least, only 2 miles away from Starbucks!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 28 - Sept 8 2016
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
The location is great. Over the years this facility has gone down hill. It used to be OK but no maintenance is being performed. Grass is not mowed, WI-FI terrible. Electric pedestals falling apart. The Commissary and Exchange are OK. The only reason we stay here is to visit family in the area. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 22-23, 2015
(Updated: January 09, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
While the campground is a quick train ride to Boston, there is not much to rave about.  The biggest issue I have is the lack of organization in the office.  We knew before calling they don't take reservations, so we called 4 out of 5 days to see what availability there was and if any openings would be coming.  We were looking for a full hookup site and were told each time calling there was nothing open and to call again tomorrow.  We finally had to make reservations at another campground but stopped at Hanscom for two nights since we still needed a place to stay.  I called two hours before we were set to arrive and again was told no full hookup sites were available.  Fine, we could deal without sewer for two days.  When we arrived, we were given the three sites that were open, all water and electric only, and walked over to pick the best one.  When we picked a spot and started walking back with the manager, we found that three full hookup sites were open.  When we asked the manager, he said they must have left and not checked out with the office.  Considering everyone checks in and gives the dates they plan on staying, we could have easily received more information than we did.  Now for the plane noise; its not as bad as say NAS Oceana or any other fighter base, but the air traffic is constant.  Even starting at 7:00 am on Sunday morning.  No matter where in the campground you are, you will hear it and, in some cases, feel it.  Be prepared.  We also had a group of people out at 1:00 am talking three sites down.  I would expect this at any commercial campground and certainly have never experienced this at any military campground, but was shocked when the drunken talking moved further down and continued for about 45 minutes.  We also had people driving by at all hours with thumping stereos.  We expected better behavior from an older crowd.  It does give the impression that the regular seasonal's feel inconvenienced by anyone else showing up at the campground and really don't care how they act. On the plus side, the water, electric and sewer were solid.  Aside from that, we have no reason to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
August 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Average in most respects. Internet reception is sketchy at best. For three days in a row I had to wander down to the office and ask them to reset the router. They insisted in made no difference but doing so reestablished internet reception. Seems like they could have learned from my experience rather than assume it was just over used.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2013
(Updated: October 13, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Well, I agree with the comment from the active duty family that has been prejudiced against. I don't think hanscom famcamp runs beautifully because of ***** and ******, absolutely not! The camp after you check in is pretty much do it yourself, thank you. I don't see any of the retired people playing move your RV. If you want to play by the rules, that goes for all. Let us start with ***** renting out his extra trailer in the past seasons and of course had it set to rent again this year for $300 plus $600 for spot, I am pretty sure that is against Air Force rules as in regulations. ***** and ***** aren't babysitting anyone especially the stalker that was peeping daily at woman sunbathing. So, I am telling everyone beware of strange man white truck parked in the 50s spot, for more info ask *****, ***** or recent new retired personnel in office, watch your family! Everyone has equal rights ! The park is not just for retired. I have no intention of using my wheels to leave, don't have to, have right to be here. Place is great except fr rude unprofessional help. (Editors note: names removed).
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 2
July 3-10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The location is so very close for doing things around Boston, but it's a bit of a drive out of the park to get onto the base proper to the commissary. Although there is no playground, there are woods nearby and concrete roads (and bikes provided by the CG) so the kids mostly had fun. Many sites are strangely arranged, and many with 50 AMP are in direct, all-day-long, sun. The laundry room is clean and not too pricey, and the staff are friendly. There were plenty of W/E sites when we visited, but they were in the back area where the layout is whacky. Compared to other military parks with newer, more planned-out facilities, it seemed a bit over-priced.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
7 results - showing 1 - 7