Hanscom AFB FamCamp

 
4.0 (56)
80776 0 19 1 32

User reviews

25 reviews with 4 stars

56 reviews

 
(21)
 
(25)
 
(7)
 
(1)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.3  (56)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0  (56)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (56)
Value 
 
4.2  (56)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
25 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
Aug 16 thru Sep 30, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
My wife and I enjoy staying on bases for mostly the security features of the military. But as this FamCamp was off base it posed to downside as to feeling insecure. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and made you feel at home. The FC does need some TLC in building maintenance and grounds keeping but does not deter from having a enjoyable time. With family residing in MA the short rides to their homes was not an issue for coming from the west coast traveling among the foliage brought back great childhood memories. The cost is a little high considering it does not match surrounding camping facilities. And yes your right next to the runway, you see and hear the flights obviously but if your going to stay at a military base come on what do you expect? I hope they expand all FC's in the future, well worth the money spent.
IMG_1880
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2018
(Updated: June 13, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice campgrounds! Though they do not take reservations, we had no problems getting a campsite. We stayed in the wooded area which was beautiful if you like trees. Located near everything! We stayed here for a week and the only complaint I have is the women's shower remained dirty the week we were there. There was a sticky pink substance in the shower that had dead bugs stuck on it and there were dead bugs behind the shower curtain. See attached photo. Otherwise, I have no complaints.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sep 2-6, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Please note that the FamCamp is not on the base! When I registered I was given five pages (printed front and back) of rules in addition to the 16 rules printed on the registration form. I was told to sign them and then read them later. We got set up and I assembled the small free standing fence around our door which we have used at every famcamp and civilian campground we have stayed at over the last 3.75 years of full time RVing. Later that night I was informed that I could not erect any dog fencing. I then read the ten pages and was shocked to find out that not only could we not have the fence up, but that we are not allowed to leave our dogs in our RV for more than 2 hours per day. That is crazy! The whole purpose of our visit was to go Boston and there is not way to do that in 2 hours. As stated in other reviews, the runway for the extremely busy airport is very very close to the park. We are on the end of the row closest to the runway and for us it is very annoying. We camped here in a 40' class A and will not stay here again. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 1 - July 5 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I had concerns about space availability with no reservations and heading into a holiday weekend. Ann Marie assured me there wouldn't be an issue and true to her word we had no issues and we were able to get a full hook-up site in the shade. The location is great to visit Boston and the surrounding area. The aircraft traffic although constant wasn't a bother. The bathroom had showers and was very clean. Wi-Fi is very weak unless you are at the office. Ann Marie and her husband Norm were very helpful with site seeing information as were many of the full time residents. The commissary on base had a great variety and has anything you would need. Great location and friendly staff make this a great stay!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 30- August 2, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a great stopover to tour New England! Boston is a short drive but I highly suggest driving to the Alewife Station which is appx 7 miles away. The subway is cheap and easy to negotiate. Driving to Newport Rhode Island is easy and worth the drive to see the fantastic Mansions. We toured Gloucester and Salem plus all the little seaside towns between on the scenic highway. The park takes no reservation but don't worry. Ann Marie the manager told me they never had to turn anyone away. During the time we stayed there were quite a few long term residents. They take up most of the FHU. There are plenty of W/E hook ups and a dump. The bathroom had showers which are older but very clean. Decent laundry tho 2 of the dryers were Not working but that is a common problem in most campsites. I would have given 5 stars all the way but there is some trash on the grounds I really blame campers for that. If you arrive when the office is closed or you call n get nobody as they office is closed don't give up there is a bulletin board that has a list of open sites you can pick from. Then you just pay with envelope if you are leaving before they open the next day or just catch the office help the neck day to register. The commissary on base is one of the best ones I have been to. Clean, well stock great variety. Exchange is just average. You really can't beat the location to see New England! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
28 June -02 Jul 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed two nights. Called ahead months ahead and informed of "no reservations" policy. We were concerned, it being holiday up coming weekend, nothing would be available. Was informed that they had never had to turn anyone down. Arrived around 4:00 PM and was given a list of available sites to check out, found one close to laundry/showers/office. No problems at all. Host fantastic! Lot of permanent guest who have all the sites up front. No problem there, they are in the open and close to the fence. Our site was well shaded and back from the majority of the jet noise. Could use some updating (some going on towards front)Showers need repair, laundry room could be updated. They are building a (coffee room) on the rear of the office to accommodate the permanent crowd's morning get together, good thing, not complaining. Great location to tour Boston from, friendly staff and close to Exchange and commissary. Will definitely stay again when passing thru.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2014
(Updated: October 19, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I have been here a couple weeks already. It is very loud with all the commercial leer jets taking off and landing all day long. Seems like weekends are worse! We are 3 to 400 yards from the runway with no noise barrier. Just a chain link fence. We are close to many attractions. We went to Fenway park to take in a game. Leave at least 4 hours before game time. Traffic sucks. Parking was $40.00. Unreal. We did take a whale sight seeing tour which was great 7 Seas Whale watching out of Gloucester. Prices only $38.00 for 4 hours. Saw several whales and many great photos! The campground could use improvements considering how much money is brought in from the campers! Also the Office staff was great as well as the Camp ground hosts. Potato night was fun. thanks guys. BIll W. site 44
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
6 Aug 14
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice place and would be great to stay and explore Boston. However, it appears all the choice sites are taken by long termers (seasonal seniors). Other sites are available. Even though the policy indicates that you can't stay in one spot for more than 30 days, I'm not sure the policy is applied. Was told by the camp manager that they have some people who have been there for 6 months and one individual who has been there 9 years. In fact, we ran into someone at another park who told us they had just spent 6 weeks there. The park should really consider taking reservations (it is more practical for families who are traveling) and maybe limiting length of stay in the choice sites (especially during the summer months) so others can come in and take advantage of the location to explore Boston. WIFI was nonexistent (and we were right next to the office). However, I read in the MWR newsletter that MWR was spending money to work on improving the WIFI and that was going to happen in August sometime.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 29-July 2, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This camp was very nice. As said in previous reviews...the wifi is not an amenity. We could not log on, even when we went to the office and sat in a chair next to the router. When we commented, the host would pull out his computer and connect...then say, "See, it's working.". We had to go to the base (bowling alley) and log on there. Additionally, they have a 30-day stay policy. I feel that's too long to allow "long-termer's" to use the space, especially during peak summer vacation times. They don't take reservations. They have a waiting list. You check in to a whatever space they have for you, then, if you're staying long enough, when one of the full hookup, pull through's comes open, you can move. It's a good offer, but not practical if you're only staying a few days. Overall, the staff was super helpful in directions and suggestions. Some of the full-timers were also helpful in suggesting activities. Plane noise wasn't an issue, we were gone most of the day and there was no noise at night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Aug 13-16 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Camped here several times times since 2002 (full timers from 2001-2007) and beyond, but had not been here since a month in summer 2009. Not much has changed except for the now non-existant WiFi! They really should not say that WiFi is provided and available as it is not! I camped very near the office complex and was never able to use internet during this entire 3 Day stay. Had read reviews here so was not unexpected, just wish that someone or something could be done to solve the problem. Feel sure that MWR pays someone to provide this service and they are definitely not getting much for their $$ spent.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 4 - 20, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We came here to see the sights of Boston and other historic towns. The office staff was very well versed in all things touring, getting around and good places to eat! We recommend; 2 days to visit Concord, 1 day for Lexington, 1 day for Gloucester, 2-3 days to see Boston using the Old Town Trolley ($28@, tickets avail at office), walk the Battle Road (5 miles) from the visitors center. We are plum worn out!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 13 - 20 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
T.M. left this review using the Directory software: - While all the comments below are correct & this is a nice camp, there seem to be a few homesteaders here. The camp host is strict about no dogs tied up on site, must walk dogs in designated areas, but saw several people who ignored the rules. Was a no washing of vehicles rule but saw at least one camper washing their car. Over all it is a nice camp, close to all historical sites, close to the train, large sites, good laundry, close to the base etc but the campers who ignore the rules make it just a average campground. If you plan on taking Boston trolley tour & need handicap access do not buy Old Town Trolley tickets at famcamp, use City View Trolley, the silver trolley, it is less expensive, all trolleys have a lift and you can go to all the sites, Old Town does not.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
1-16 Oct 2012
(Updated: October 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Arrived early afternoon on 1 Oct and found a full-hookup, pull-through site, one of five available. While setting up, Sharon, the park manager came by to check on us. She said that we should have checked in at the office before taking a site but we didn't know about that rule. More parks that are first come, first serve just say to take a site and then check-in. Our bad. My wife said she would walk over with her to do that and Sharon told us that the office was closed until 1:30 PM. OK, got that. The park sites are long and fairly well spaced. Water pressure and electric is good. Very nice laundry room; $1 to wash and $1 for dryers. Sharon has plenty of info for you about the local area and places to eat. Make sure you try Cafe Luigi's in Bedford! Amazing Italian food. You can call ahead and have your name put on the waiting list which helps with the long wait times on the weekends. The Park office sells Trolly Tour tickets for $32 which are good for 2 consecutive days and includes a couple of freebies including a harbor cruise. If you are a light sleeper, this is not the place for you. Air traffic starts before 6 AM and continues until 2AM the next morning, most of it corporate jets. Weekends are somewhat lighter but there is still considerable takeoffs and landings. I noticed several piles of dog droppings in different areas of the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
June 2012
(Updated: June 26, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We liked our stay at the FamCamp. We were able to sponsor friends who also had a motor home and it was no problem getting them signed in. We had campsites nearby and it worked out great. The staff are friendly and helpful and hosted a Mexican dish potluck dinner for folks on a Friday night. It was a nice way to meet some people. The location is near the Minuteman Commuter Bike trail and we rode into Lexington a couple of times. Concord and American Revolutionary War sites are all around so we enjoyed that. The T transit/train system is about 20 minutes away and we drove there to catch the train into town to see the sites and go to a Red Sox game. We camped in a motorhome and would do it again there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The full hook-up sites were taken when we arrived, but there plenty of water & elect sites. Famcamp is off base on back side of airfield. Hosts were very helpful and friendly. There are two bathroom building and a one laundry room. Close to Boston and a lot of history sites. Local traffic is busy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2007 through September 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We wintered over at Hanscom FamCamp due to the housing market and not being able to sell our house at our old location. Some of the amenities (Laundry room and office) were closed during the winter but we were able to get assistance from the Outdoor Rec office on base and propane was always available. When the office was open the staff was very helpful. I had a complaint about the laundry room being dirty and it was taken care of right away and was never dirty again. There is so much to do nearby that it was a pleasant place to stay for so long.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 27 - June 1, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: This is now our 4th visit here. Not much has changed except they now keep 2 sites open for those who only want to stay 2 weeks or less. These site numbers are 42 and 45. We are in 45. Many folks want to stay here all season and if you arrive early enough they are available. As of today, 30 May, there are about 6 long term sites available. They have plenty of water and electric sites available but they are in the trees. If they could just add sewer to these sites there would be many more sites taken. Today there is just one RV in the water and electric sites. The airport noise is not too bad; they do not fly much after dark or very early in the morning. The location is great for the base and for the local attractions. The auto traffic is bad, but if you avoid traveling during the morning and afternoon rush hours it is workable.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
11 - 13 August 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I like this campground because it is away from things but close to visit, as usual it is by the airport but I have no issue with that. Staff is friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. 20 miles to Boston driving and subway a shorter distance. This time of year is hard to get sites that you can use satellite but we got sewer and good local reception for TV. Plenty of sites with W & E. We have been here before and plan to return again if in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct. 19-20-2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The fam camp is in a good location and convienent to things to do, but the sand is not so good for the RV. There are a lot of 30 amp. spots but the 50 amp. spots are taken up by the homesteaders. There are at least 20 RV's that are spending the winter here. They even have built skirts on the bottom of the rv's. The campground closes for the winter on Oct. 31, but the homesteaders are allowed to stay. It is next to a civilian airport and the planes take off all day long until about 10:00 PM. They don't seem to bother us though. Overall I think I will come back if in the area. Like said before the host Bernie and Davvy are great people and very helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Aug. 13 - 15, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A.B. left this review using the Directory software: Getting a little noisy from all the non-military general aviation traffic using the airfield. It starts at 0700 every day and lasts to about 2200. Campground is in great condition and a pleasure to stay at. Bernie, the FamCamp Aid, very helpful.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
25 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2