Hanscom AFB FamCamp

 
4.0 (56)
80542 0 19 1 32

User reviews

20 reviews with 5 stars

56 reviews

 
(21)
 
(25)
 
(7)
 
(1)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.3  (56)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0  (56)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (56)
Value 
 
4.2  (56)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (56)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
20 results - showing 1 - 20
Ordering
May 20 thru 24, 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Hidden Gem close to Boston and surrounding things to do. Site is actually OFF the base, but you drive through a nice neighborhood to the FamCamp. If you follow the directions on this site it is easy to get to site (be aware that the drive is thru a housing tract and there is a slight left turn where YOU have to stop and allow traffic from the right to turn without stopping. FHU sites with great OTA channels. Was able to camp under the trees. You are next to the runway with Lear jet and personal plane traffic. Little traffic on the base when going there for shopping. Commissary is good and BX is convenient. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 15-25, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice campground close to Boston area. Site is beside the airfield so you will get noise from aircraft. Not really too bad. The airfield shuts down at night so sleeping was not an issue. Other then the airfield noise, it was a very quiet place. We stayed for 10 days while family was in hospital in Boston. Ann-Marie (Camp Host) was very awesome to deal with and she will go out of the way to help you. We had to stay three extra days and that was not an issue with her. The Famcamp is located off the secured area of the base, but that is not an issue. Never seen anyone going through the area that was not staying there. Very dog friendly. Getting onto the base for shopping or anything else is easy. They do have a bunch of rules while staying, but its not a big deal. If your not doing anything stupid then there is no issue. They have sites as you first come in that are hardstand and out in the open with full hookups. There is also wooded sites that are FHU and are 30/50 amp. We stayed in the wooded area. If you need to get into Boston area its real easy. You can drive to Alewife station and take the train in. Parking is $9.00 for all day on weekdays and 3.00 weekends. The parking garage there can be a little tight, but not impossible. I was able to get in with a 1-ton dully CC longbed. The max height for the garage is 7ft 2in. Alewife is about 20 min depending on traffic and simple to get to. There is a VA located about 5 miles from the camp also. Water pressure was good and drinkable. No issues with the power. On site laundry with fairly new machines 1.00 to wash and dry. FHU sites were 26 and W/E were 24.They do not take reservations, but you can call ahead to see what is open. I was told they have never had to turn anyone away due to being full. If you arrive after hours there is a map on the office door showing what sites are open, just find a spot and check in the next morning. You will need current registration for vehicles and current shot records if you have pets. If you bring a firearm, let the Ann-Marie know. She has the forms at the office you will need to fill out. 30 day max stay, but if no one is on the waiting list then you can extend past the 30. Overall we had a very good experience here and will return. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
September 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed overnight on our way to Bar Harbor. Met by Annie (?), the camp administrator as we pulled in - very nice lady. Easy, level pull-thru site. The camp is right next to the runway at Hanscom, so I enjoyed it, but others maybe be bothered by the noise. I especially like the community fire pit, a great place to meet folks and enjoy the comraderie. Bathrooms were clean, full hook-ups for $26 - I would definitely stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
31 Jul-5 Aug 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Located off base across the airstrip from the entry to the base. CG has sites with just power and water $21 and P/W/S for $24. When we arrived all full hookup were taken so we were directed to the partial hookup sites. The partial hookup sites are located among the trees with dirt/grass pads, lots of shade and plenty of room. I'm glad a full hookup site was not available as they are closer to the airstrip, have nothing to block the noise and have no shade. It was fairly obvious that some folks spend the entire summer here and take up the full hookup sites for months at a time. The large bath house in the middle of the CG is well used and kept fairly clean but with the sand being tracked in the floors stay sandy. The bathroom next to the office is less used and stays much cleaner. This CG should take reservations especially during the summer months so that people with limited vacation time can use the facilities and explore Boston. WIFI was OK outside at our picnic table for about 3 hours the first day then nonexistent from that point on. I did read in the CG newsletter that MWR was spending money to work on improving the WIFI and that was going to happen in August sometime. It's about a 20 min drive to the Alewife subway station for the subway into Boston. Parking there about $7 all day, weekends are no problem at any time of day but during the workweek you need to get back and get out of the parking garage before 3:30 or it will take an hour or so just to get out of the garage (learned from experience). Nice Credit Union, Commissary and PX nearby. Not a lot of airfield noise but you know it's there. I would stay here again and would recommend it to anyone wanting to vacation in the Boston area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 17-21 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The camp host were great people to work with. As with previous post reservations can not be made and your at the mercy of a spot being open. We were lucky they had plenty of w/e spots available for us to choose from. Both camp host were great with helping plan our trip into and around Boston and up towards Maine. The Outdoor Rec helped out the tickets and discounts so make sure you stop by there as well. Do not plan on having internet...its not there. When we come east again we will definitely stop by again. Hope the accept reservations by then.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12-16 June 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Moutainview's review is spot on. Will comment on a few other things. Wifi has been superb. Sometimes it bogs down in late afternoon but they reset and it is 5x5 for the next 24 hours. The staff is superb - they are a great help on getting around the area. It is an easy 20 min drive to the Alewife subway station. Parking there about $7 all day. Easy ride into the heart of Boston. Great facilities and they keep it nice. Nice Commissary and PX nearby. Airfield noise: yep, its there. The runway is right next to the CG. The good news is that it is 99% civilian aircraft: business jet and light prop. I heard 1 military aircraft (a C130) in the 5 days here. It gets real quiet between 2200-0600. We didn't mind the noise. Some people might. We'll be back. Thanks Famcamp staff for a great visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 30-June 4, 2014
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were very pleased with our stay here, in fact we stayed a couple extra days. We had a nice level pull through site with picnic table. Easy access to Concord, Minuteman National Park and Lexington. Close to base shopping facilities. The staff here is very helpful. They give you maps for getting to local attractions, getting to shopping, etc. Laundry facilities are good and less $ than most. Price much more reasonable than the previous park we were at. We will return when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April - Sep 2013
(Updated: July 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I agree with the previous reviewer that this is not a trailer park as some would want it to be. I have visited many FamCamps in my 10 years on the road and this one is excellent mainly due to ***** and *****. They care about everyone in the park regardless of status. RV's are on wheels so that if you do not like the park or neighbors you can find some other park where you would be happier.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
May - Oct 2013
(Updated: July 03, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Whoever did the previous review has to understand that this is a recreational campground and not a trailer park. There should be a length stay of about 6 months and then you are gone unless you stay for the money as this continues to make money. The Hosts are very nice and helpful. They are not here to babysit etc. We have been coming to this campground for several years and if it is your turn to rotate then so be it whether you are active or not. No favorites are played.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 5
Sept 7-Oct 31
(Updated: November 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We found the location perfect to explore the Boston area. Sharon and Phil do a great job and the facilities were always clean. They are firm but fair with all the rules and apply them to everyone. The previous poster was wrong regarding the washing of vehicles being prohibited. I may have been the one he "saw" washing my vehicle. It is allowed or I would not be doing it. He was right about the dogs. The last few weeks we were there several people were not picking up after their dogs. Bottom line is a well run park in a good location and a nice price for the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
Early June 2012
(Updated: July 09, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We travel to the Boston area to attend doctors appointments. We've been doing this for years. We just this year found out about FAMCAMP. What a find it was. For almost a year now I have been seeing a specialist less then 3 miles from FAMCAMP. Normally we would drive up and back on the same day. That's not bad, but being able to stay at the FAMCAMP makes it so much better. So, our first stay was just last month. It was great. It was quiet, even with the run-way just on the other side of the fence. There weren't many kids, in fact, as far as I can remember, I don't think there were any at all. We slept quite well the entire time we were there, and plan on going back again and again.
Next stop though, 4th Cliff.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
24 Aug 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
M.P. left this review using the Directory software: - Great campground with good size sites. Office staff are very courteous and helpful. Great location for day trips to Boston, Plymouth, Cape Cod and Glouster. Good laundry facilities and showers. Community campfire where quite a few campers gathered at night to tell lies. It is real close to the runway so there is some noise from Gulfstreams and Lear Jets but most are Cessnatype. They allow rig and car washing. The full hook-up sites are in the open with patios so satellite is no problem. Other sites with no sewer are located in trees but the sites are very good. There is a commissary and BX on the other side of the field. We would definitely camp here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
August 11, 2011
(Updated: September 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Park has a mixture of open sites and older shaded sites. We opted for the shade this time. While the Park is well maintained, the Staff make this A+. They organize a variety of activities for the campers. We were there for the (every) Friday AM bike ride and a canoe/kayak trip on the Concord River. Every evening at dusk there is a community camp fire which gave us a chance to meet many fellow campers. We will always stay here when in the area. Note: Although this AFB Famcamp doesn't take reservations (as most don't), they never turn anyone away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
July 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Recently stayed at this FAMCAMP during mid July 2010. Seems everyone else was traveling to the BSTN area and when we arrived there were no more sites available - 50 amp sites that is. BUT there were 30 amp sites and we readily agreed to take one of those. It worked out perfectly for us since were were away at family events during the day. The staff, Sharon & husband, were very friendly and helpful. We understood later that they tried to upgrade us to a 50 amp site but we were not "home" in the park to accept. This is a GREAT park and close to the BSTN highways and tourist sites. They seem to bend over backwards to help you in anyway. Great experience!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2009 - August 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We had to stay at the camp ground for much longer than we expected this past summer waiting for our rental home for our PCS. The folks there are GREAT! They made a difficult situation better with their kindness and concern. Very clean and close to Boston.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 11 - July 11 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Doing the sights in Boston, taking in a Red Sox game, whale watching from Gloucester, eating at Woodsman's in Essex, taking the ferry from Wood's Hole to Martha's Vineyard, AND July 4th with the Boston Pops - you can do it all from this FamCamp! Have been here a few times before in our travels and for this area you cannot find any better! In fact, if you look around, the closest Private Campground to this area is about 25 miles further west from here. Give it a 4 on Value since there is no monthly rate, but I cannot say too many great things for this location and the service that is provided, and they have added WiFi which is a great improvement that ALL FamCamps should impelment. WiFi is better the closer you are to the office but maybe they will put in a repeater sometime to extend better service to the far end of the park. Seniors can ride the "T" for 60cents, just have to get a SR Charlie Card, load $$ in, and remember to not go below $1 before adding more or the card will cancel. We had daughter & granddaughter during July 4th, took the T to Kendall Square, set up on the Cambridge side of river, music from Pops program is right there, and the two fireworks barges are right in front of you -what a great experience! Back at FamCamp before midnight with no problems whatsoever, so don't believe it if you see "horror" stories about attending the 4th celebration. Hanscom AFB and the Hanscom FamCamp folks are 5*****!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 07 thru Sept 07
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The hosts, Davvy and Bernie, are excellent. They always find a way to assist you. They also never turn anyone away and do what ever it takes to accomodate as many guests as possible. The FamCamp should be expanded and additional sites added, but for what it is compared to the civilian parks available it is a great value. We loved the air traffic and spent many happy hours watching the activity, this might not be some folks cup of tea but it definately agrees with my household. There was plenty of local tourist information available in the office and at rec services on the base. All in all it's a 10.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sep '07
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
All previous reviews are valid; however, it should be stressed that this should be a "destination" for at least a week for anyone interested in re-learning the history of the beginning of the U.S. Revolution. Although nothing was evident in the office or elsewhere in the campground we accidently discovered Minuteman Park just around the corner and Walden Pond just beyond that. Throw in Concord and Lexington and you have "stuff" to keep you busy for at least a week. And you haven't even gotten into Boston yet. What a location! I would like to add my voice to those unhappy with the "campground full" situation. Something really should be done to rotate the full hookup sites. Additionally, some pressure needs to be brought to bear on the internet ISP to improve their reliability. The WIFI goes out much too often.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 1, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great location for visiting Boston, New Hampshire, Vermont & Maine. Easy doing day trips from this location. Managers are great with giving out tourist information and helping out wherever needed....Would return to this location many many times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 6, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is one of the best Famcamps we visit in our summer northeast tour. The grounds are very clean, the staff are excellent and do their best to see that you enjoy your stay. Several shaded sites and several open sites for those who use a dish. Cell reception is excellent. Very easy to get to less than a mile off I-95. Nice Commissary and Exchange.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
20 results - showing 1 - 20