Westover ARB FamCamp

 
3.9 (31)
46075   0   13   2   13

User reviews

11 reviews with 4 stars

31 reviews

 
(12)
 
(10)
 
(7)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.1  (31)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (31)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (31)
Value 
 
4.0  (31)
Overall Experience 
 
4.0  (31)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11
Ordering
Aug 22, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We came in after hours and didn’t stay more than 12 hours. In that time we checked out the base. It is small. They have a decent size Exchange. That’s about it. The FAMCAMP is heavily wooded. Spaces are large and significant distances from neighbors. They also have a large open field camping area. Overall spots are clean and well maintained. Staff was pleasant and delivered excellent customer service.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
17 Aug 2013 - 3 Sep 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had called the day before to see what the possibility of getting a site would be because reservations are not accepted. We were told to come on in and they'd find us something - even if it was backing up to the building and plugging in to power there. We arrived on a Saturday. The gas station is the first facility you encounter on the way to the FAMCAMP. Made it convenient to fuel up before going to the FAMCAMP. There was no one working at the FAMCAMP when we arrived. Fortunately, there was one space remaining (# 13). My MIFI worked well in this space but we could not get our satellite TV to receive signals because there were so many trees around. The next day, the people in space 20 left and we moved into it. When I parked on the small concrete slab, the TV would still not receive signals but then I moved 6 feet forward off the slab and the signal came in great. However, my MIFI did not work as well. I parked our car out in the open and placed my MIFI in it and then got a good reception. The FAMCAMP host is also the outdoor recreation office manager. This is the best equipped outdoor recreation I have ever seen. That is the good news. The bad news is that the manager is so busy with outdoor recreation sales he had little time to devote to the FAMCAMP. However, he was very receptive to any problems we had. The FAMCAMP is centrally located in the New England area. We made day and overnight trips to Connecticut, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. There is just so much history that you could spend months here and still not see it all. My biggest dislike was with the shower room. The shower was large and had good water pressure. However, the only privacy you had was when you were in the shower. I'm not too good at dressing and undressing just in the shower. When you step out of the shower, you are in a big open room. I did manage to stay clean though. We had a really good time here and would come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
30 Jul 2012
(Updated: August 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Although they were full due to an upcoming air show, the staff was extremely helpful towards my wife and I. I very much recommend this campground!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
13 July - 3 Aug 2012
(Updated: July 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park is small but pretty well maintained. There are a couple of guys who work at the outdoor recreation facility and they are very helpful. None of the spots has sewer so one must drag their campers to the dump site or they will, for a nominal fee ($12), pump your tanks. They do this twice a week, Tuesday and Thursdays, although they will do it if asked and they have two people on hand. There is no WiFi but a trip to Starbucks and friend wife is happy and I get on line. The BX is small and the gas station has some other stuff but not a full service store by any stretch of the imagination. There are large grocery stores very near and some real good restaurants. Masse's is just down the road and has the freshest sea food in the area as they are a distributor and supplier to the other restaurants in the area. The entrance to the base off Westover Road goes right by the RV park. Entering through the gate is no big problem as there are only rubber cones blocking the way if the commercial entrance is closed. Go through the gate and take the first left after the gas station/shoppette and follow the road around, back by the gate you just came through, to the RV park. We were in the area visiting family and very convenient. We would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug. 28-29, 2010
(Updated: October 13, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here for 2 nights in August. Campground is clean with large sites. Had some difficulty getting to the campground after getting onto the base. We found the bath house and laundry room clean. Will definitely come back when up that way.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 13 - Sept 19, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Not much has changed since my last visit. This place is a nice little campground, friendly staff and small concrete pads. I noticed that motor homes had some of there leveling jacks off the pads because they were not long enough. I was in site 19 and must comment on the electric. It states above that the sites are 20/30/50A. Sites 19 and 20 are only 20/30A. This is not a problem for me, but for someone with a big motorhome, it could be. The exchange is well stocked as is the small store at the gas station. To me it is a good stopping off spot when passing through.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
22- 24 August 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice, small FamCamp - as noted, no sewers but OK for a short stay. Previous reviewer Arnie had it right on entry, in fact it appeared to me that all access to base is through the one gate, all other access points seem to be permanently closed. Entry is from I-90, to MA33 (Memorial Dr), North to Right on Westover Road, that's it. WiFi has very particular "Govt" parameters that must be entered exactly as stated to gain access, an type of error will result in no access. However, after getting all just right I did get online from Site 5 which is across road from the even numbered sites. Sites have some low spots so rain, which there's been lots of in New England over this summer, make it a bit messy due to short concrete pads. Only big problem I noted and which I mentioned to office on departure (they already knew!) was "permanent" resident in Site 12 with dog barks all day while he/they are evidently gone to work! Big German Shepard so it is very loud, just open your door and he hears you and starts up, someone walks by or drives by, same thing. Office response was kind of "oh yeah it's a pretty big dog"; so guess there is no intention to act on any such complaints - too bad.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 26, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Spent one night in late Sept. No Sewers. No commissary. BX small but adequate for short stay. Shoppette Ok. No diesel fuel on base. Diesel available about 1.5 miles north. We may stay again on our way from Boston to Wisconsin next spring. Staff very helpful. They do not give discounts for the Air Forces Club Card.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
June 19 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Very nice FamCamp. However only half of the sites can be used as the 30 Amp sites are out of comission. It would also help if they cut the grass every now & then. Overall we enjoyed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Lots of room around each site. Rest rooms and laundry room were very clean and warm. No host or other personnel available for night or weekends. That's not unexpected as this is an Air Reserve Base
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Summer 2005
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice quiet location with a variety of large sites. Excellent location for touring central/western MA. I rated it 4 only because the electrical system need repairs. (Overvoltage)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
11 results - showing 1 - 11