Westover ARB FamCamp

 
3.9 (33)
48305 0 13 3 13

User reviews

12 reviews with 5 stars

33 reviews

 
(13)
 
(10)
 
(7)
 
(1)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.2  (33)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (33)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.5  (33)
Value 
 
3.9  (33)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (33)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12
Ordering
Sept 14, 2019
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We arrived on a Sunday in a twenty-eight foot trailer. Office is closed then so we checked in with Flyer's Inn and then the Campground on Monday AM. Sites are large and mostly wooded. There were eight empty sites. All sites have concrete pad and are spacious. We were on #14 which had only 50 amp and 15 amp electricity and water. Sites have no sewage connections but the dump station is convenient and there is a honey wagon service which I never saw operate. I saw two people using their personal sewage toats. I suspect that they are long term campers even though the stay is supposed to be fourteen days. Main gate being used was from Westover Road off Memorial Drive. Entering 2255 Westover Drive into your GPS will get you close to and across the street from the entrance road. Our Verizon cell phones worked for voice but not data. Over the air TV reception was outstanding.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground with nice restrooms, showers and laundry facilities. Spacious sites in a forested area adjacent to the airfield. Friendly staff. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 2011
(Updated: September 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The road to the fam camp was under construction when we were there but still easy to get to fam camp. A really nice clean and fairly quite very large sites. We used the famcamp to do day trip to all the New England states worked perfect for us. I would go back has the elec and water hookup with dump station and honey wagon that comes around once a week.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 27 - 29, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great first time camping experience for my 3-yr and 8-yr old sons. Very nice location for quiet relaxing time around campfire. Location was kept very clean overall. Staff and all on-base personnel were very friendly. Definitely looking forward to a return visit!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 4 - Aug 3, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Traveling this past summer I stopped at Westover Fam Campground. Found the staff to be very friendly. Had to extend my stay for an operation on my knee which kept me there for a couple of months. Club was a great place to eat as you can buy and cook your own steak. Rest rooms were cleaned everyday and campground was very neat with big lots. My 38ft class A was a little big for the pads but it was no problem. I was able to level. Again the staff was excellent and I will return again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 3-5, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time here. Had a wonderful time! The easiest way to get there is to utilize I-90, Mass. Pike as is suggested. Suggest strongly NOT to enter at the northern gate - barriers! Getting to the FamCamp isn't too difficult. I'll try to upload a scanned map to the Webmaster for inclusion. Sites 1-15 are mostly shady. 16-20 are mostly sunny until late afternoon. Westover Club (combined O & E) shown on the map does have wireless (need info to access; ask at the Club) but is difficult to receive at the FamCamp. Best chances would be at Sites 6, 8, 10, & 12. Those same sites appear to have units that have been there an extended time (14 days at a time). Sites 8, 10, 12, & 16-20 would have the best chance for satellite TV reception. Fairly short cement pads, but not a problem for our 25 foot trailer. A bit of noise from C-5s flying approaches or running engines, but they stopped flying at 10 p.m. on the one night they were flying while we were there. Very friendly & helpful staff. Clean bathrooms/showers and laundry. You can rent canoes, tents, RV trailers, and other items at the Services Office at the FamCamp where you check in. Good food at the club - some nights buffet, some nights menu. Good value for what you get. I will definitely stay here again if I get the chance. ---- Additional information: I have uploaded a map of Westover ARB in the Files section of this web site. It might help if you download it, print it out, and have the guard at the gate show you the route to get to the FamCamp. Also, the Gas Station is only usable if it is open. You must have your ID checked before you are allowed to purchase fuel. Arnie Johnson
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 6, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice, convenient location for NE tourist travel, except finding the base was VERY frustrating as there was no address and the site directions were only from one highway which is totally not able to be found. Manager of campground and sentries are all super helpful & pleasant. Spots are sand with lots of high trees and cement pad (at least where I parked). Water and 30 amp service with a common sewer dump. Easy to get into park & site (once directed by the sentry.) There's a Super WalMart within a mile or so. I didn't use any of the base facilities so can't comment.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
29-30 July 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We just got back from an overnight trip (tent camping). We have Season passes to Six Flags New England, and this campground is about 20min away. I decided to try this instead of spending all that money on a hotel when all we do is sleep there. I (31yr old female) took my 2 yr old daughter, 3yr old son, 15 yr old son, and 14 yr old nephew. I was impressed, as this was my first time staying at a military campground. The people were very friendly and accommodating. The facilities were new looking and very clean, great showers, we (myself and the two little ones) used the handicapped shower with the detachable sprayer and it worked great. The sites were nice and level. It was kind of odd that the tent sites didn't have picnic tables. They said we could take a camper site for the same price, since it wasn't very busy and we did, just to have the picnic table. We hadn't brought any chairs and I wanted somewhere for the little ones to sit for breakfast. Laundry area was nice. We'll definitely stay here again. Probably in a few weeks when I go to Six Flags again!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 25 - 26, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Easy to find right off major Hwy. No problem getting in or out with a 43'coach, pads are concrete but not long enough for a big coach so front jacks are on the ground (no problem). We stayed in site 18 with 50 amp service and good and open for Sat. If you were to need 30 or 20 amp service you would have to reduce from 50 amp down, power was good and never noticed any low voltage drops n my meter. Shopping and resturants close by and only 5 miles to large shopping mall.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
October 9, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
For those who had trouble with 30 amp, the 50 amp breaker must be on to supply the 30, then both work! We even came in the back gate (35' with tow) but I don't recommend it for the faint hearted, too many twists around pylons. Excellent service and sites. Definately will use again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
9 Oct - 18 Oct 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were nearest to club over Reservist training weekend but were not bothered by any noise. CG was much quieter than we thought it would be. Great bathhouse facility; outstanding gym; all needs found on base or just outside the gate. Levelest pads we've been on. Fire rings were too high to enjoy while sitting around fire. All 30 amp outlets have under voltage. I think they have 10 50 amp sites but at least one was open every day. Woodsy atmosphere. Received satellite on spot 10. Dump station convenient and easy to use. All in all, a good CG.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Aug 2006
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
30 amp not working, but can use adaptor on 50. Most sites have both. O Club within walking distance. Email retrieved at USO in Fam. Res. Center. Map with phone numbers given when registering. Nice clean bath house and laundry. Info in office about Berkshires. Staff eager to please. Great spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 0
12 results - showing 1 - 12