Fort Harrison RV Park

 
3.8 (26)
55715   0   10   1   22

User reviews

14 reviews with 4 stars

26 reviews

 
(5)
 
(15)
 
(3)
 
(2)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.2  (26)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0  (26)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.1  (26)
Value 
 
3.8  (26)
Overall Experience 
 
3.9  (26)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14
Ordering
August 2018
(Updated: August 12, 2018)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Location is near shopping and groceries. The directions do not indicate how far from I-15 exit to Williams Street; it is about 4 miles. Once you get to Williams, there are clear signs to VA Hospital and Main Gate. The campground was easy to find. It is small but sites look new. There was no sharing of electrical as indicated in earlier information. Site were very well cared for: gravel was even raked. Sites are FHU and pull through; they are close together but level; no shade or wifi. Satellite reception was good. We did not use the bath house but it also appeared fairly new. Overall this is a good value for a place to stay while visiting the area. It is not a destination campground. The 3 rating for Cleanliness and Hospitality is lower because of way the category is combined: while everything was well maintained and a higher rating was deserved, the hospitality needs work. Our reservation was easily made and we received an email prior to arriving with our lock box # and code for late check-in. We arrived prior to that time, but the office was locked so we went ahead and got our key from the lock box. Curiously, I also had a second email for a second lock box. Since we were staying two days, we thought perhaps there was a different code for different days or something, so we opened the second box and found magnetic entry cards as for a hotel room. (During this time, another couple was looking for Billeting as well.) While we were closing the lock box, we saw an employee unlock the office door and enter. No lights were ever cut on, making it appear there was no one in the office. However, we went in and found a staff person; we told her that we were checking in, but did not understand why we had two emails, two lock boxes and the hotel cards. She said that we had two reservations: one BOQ and one campground. We knew we did not, but she insisted we must. After looking at the computer, she asked us who "John Doe" was -- never heard of him. Then she noticed that someone had entered my email into both reservations, so apparently John Doe never got his email because I got it. Anyway, finished checking in and getting maps and went on our way. We noticed the other couple that were looking for Billeting had found a staff member who brought them back to the office -- we had to tell them someone was in there because the lights were still off and you couldn't see if the office was staffed or not. We were there for two days and never saw the host, although we were told which site to go to if we needed him. We had to download the brochure on this site to determine check out time. However, Sun morning about 1040, the host knocked on the door to let us know checkout was 1100...NOT 1200 as in brochure. We also had to ask where to return the key since we were given 2 maps at checkin but no instructions or SOPs for campground. I found it irinic that we had been there Friday through Sun and the first tome we saw the host it was to tell us we had 20 minutes before checkout. The security staff at the gate were very professional and friendly. We did call to determine the correct gate, and the only question asked was whether we had any type of weapon. We declared my husband's handgun (concealed weapons license and law enforcement officer) and they simply placed a lock on it, but he was allowed to keep the weapon in the rig. We were told if we wanted it unlocked when we left base (since he is allowed to carry under Montana law), they would be happy to unlock it when we left, and relock when we returned. We never bothered. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Cozy little park close to Helena, MT was a great place to stop and catch up with repairs/PM on our coach. With only 12 slots it's best to call ahead and get a reservation although the first two weeks of our stay not all spots were taken. As it got closer to Independence Day the park started to fill up. remoandiris did a great in-depth review and I won't rehash their review so just a few highlights. 1. Pedestals aren't all on the street side as you pull in so have extra length of electrical cord and water hose that will go under your RV to the other side. 2. The curbs are way too high so be careful if your RV settles when leveling so you can still have access to your basements AND don't catch your steps. 3. If you have PTSD (one of the short-term campers did) this is probably NOT the place for you as the range is just up the road and you will be serenaded by automatic weapons fire, helicopter training, etc. 4. Keep a camera handy to take photos of the fox family and deer that wander around the garrison. Jesse, the camp host is very friendly and helpful BTW. We enjoyed our stay and will stop in again when we're in the neighborhood. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Once you get on US-12, just stay on it until you see the VA/Ft Harrison sign. If coming from the east, your GPS might want to route you onto Joslyn St and then Country Club Ave. If you have a big coach, Country Club is a bit rough. It is a more direct route to the Truck Gate though. As per the instructions I received from Billeting when I made my reservation, I called the Main Gate as soon as I saw the Fort. A contract security guard just happened to be there and he waited the few minutes for us to arrive. He took my ID, called in my license plate and name, then I had to let him inside my 5er for a quick look. He later admitted he had no idea why they are required to look inside. You have to call them when you leave, too, so they can open the truck gate for you to depart. Next was a quick stop at the Billeting office which is just a block or 2 straight ahead from the truck gate. I parked on the main street in front of the building. I received the key for the electrical box and and water spigot locks. Key has to be returned to Billeting upon departure. After dropping the key, that is a perfect time to call security to open the truck gate. There is a drop box outside the office door. I also received a copy of the rules, a base map and a fam camp map. Was an easy drive to the RV park and easy to pull into the site. As mentioned in other reviews, the sewer connection is high. Mine was so high it was virtually useless and there is no dump station. So, when I left, I drove around to the opposite side of my site (site 12), putting me on the loop road and high enough to empty my tanks. Slightly inconvenient, but really no big deal. Whomever the engineer was that designed this or contractor who built it, they really dorked up the sewer connections. You can also see each site's utilities are positioned at slightly different spots. Water closer or further from the driveway, same with the sewer connection or electric box. No fenced in dog run, but there is a walking/jogging trail that goes thru the park. Just make sure to pick up your dog's waste. The pet alone rule stated above under "Pet Information" is no longer true. The rules recommend you take your pets, but they are allowed to be left alone inside. Portable pet fences (such as X-pens) are allowed. There is no grass between the sites, just packed, coarse sand. No laundry facilities or showers at the park, but the fitness center is close for showers and there is a laundry room with free washer and dryers to use in the same building as the Billeting office. No cable or wifi at the park, but sites are wide open for satellite and my mifi worked great. Both FedEx and UPS will deliver to your site. There is a Montana military museum near the main gate. This place is very quiet and has nice mountain views. The park host this year is a USN retiree named Jesse and he is a real nice guy. The only real negative I have is the sewer connection. Other than that, it is a nice place for a short stay. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
1-6 Aug 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Small Army National Guard RV park located west of Helena MT. We were there about a week. No issues making reservations several months in advance. We called the security guards with the number provided as we approached the RV gate (North gate) and they were there quickly. Very pleasant folks. They directed us to the check-in (lodging office) building just down the street on the right, and we parked right on the street with our 4-way flashers on. Enter the building on the south side walk-in door. Check-in was painless and they issue you a key that unlocks the electric box and the water hydrant at the RV site. Note: The street names on post do not completely match Google Maps so be aware. Turn left at the ball field and right at the Navy Reserve building. The RV park is on your left. The RV park was built with very high concrete curbs separating the sites, which can make navigating into and departing from your spot a bit tricky. They also did not install electric boxes for each site, so every other one has to run the power cord from the left side of your rig, under neither to plug in. Water pressure was great and water quality was great. No issues with power (50A). Sewer flow is tricky with the tall concrete curbs and elevated sewer connection. Very small PX and not well marked. It is near the service club and the rear of the building faces the street. The biggest negative is the apparent homesteaders. We understood the rule as 14 days max, but there are many that we heard have been there a long time, such as high ranking officers and contractors working at the VA facility nearby. These places are not meant to be trailer parks for long term residency. We made our reservations early so this did not impact us...this time. If you are unable to get a site, this may be why.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
29-30 June 2012
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Great Camping Location: Full hook ups for Water / Sewer and Electric Follow link to contact base prior if there are any questions. You have to pay for the sites at the BOQ building and the main gate can direct you to it. They also give you a key to unlock the water and power. The guards at the gate are pretty familiar with all of the sites. The sites were extremely clean and well cared for. Not much shade but all of the sites are pull through and easy to get in and out. The only issue with the sites are that the sewer ports are built on the islands and are about 8 inches higher than the pads for the trailers so you have to get a little creative with your sewer lines. There is no wi-fi and no shower but there is a public bathroom that is one of the cleanest I've seen for that type. For any with weapons, the guards at the gate will lock them prior to being allowed on, (Post commander has sign at the gate forbidding personally owned weapons on the post but the guards will just put gun lock on them and give them back to you) and when exiting the base you will need to exit a different (north) gate with a camper higher and wider than 9 feet. If you let the guards know when your leaving they will open the gates for you. The base has 24 hour gym close to site and a small exchange with varied hours during the week. The camp site is cared for in the best manner and is a great place to camp or just stop over.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
July 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed in July 2014, Have a dog and there was no problem, sites are close together and not level 3" out from front to back, some sites have utilities on the correct side and some sites have electric on the wrong side. Staff friendly and helpful, free laundry. Quietest Military base I have ever been on. Would stay again if in MT. Rate is a little high but cheap for Montana has the highest prices of any state I have been to so far.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
12-18 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nicest Guard campground I have seen. Clean and well kept by volunteers, FHU sites plus single latrine, power poles and most water spigots key locked. No other site amenities, assume laundry, WI-FI, etc could be found on post but Housing Management desk knows and volunteers no information except sketch map for driving directions. Initial confusion over weekly rate $120 vs $100 resolved in my favor on checkout. Security wait at the North Gate was 20 min inbound and 45 min outbound, including me and a semi already waiting. Fedex will deliver to site if addressed to Ft Harrison RV Park, Buna Loop Site #. This is a typical sparsely manned, austere NG post but better maintained than many. Adjacent to VA hospital grounds, where the post office is located.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 30 through August 8, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Upon arrival they had us coming in 2 days later than what we reserved. We were told to park in Overflow - "the grassy area for tents". We were given an almost unreadable map of the base. The "overflow" was totally full of knee to thigh high weeds so we parked on the asphalt for 2 nights.
On Day 3 we returned to the office and were told there was no space for us to stay a week as requested originally. We were not "Happy Campers". After some prompting from us, they were able to juggle to find us space. There is literally NO INFORMATION or materials given to you upon arrival about the base or the area. You need to call or visit the office to inquire about Mail Forwarding, WIFI, Laundry, Museum times (only open on Thursdays), no Commissary and limited Exchange times. We were camped for 4 days before someone camped in the park told us about WIFI which is poor at best. The location is ideal for visiting Helena and the surrounding areas. The park is quiet and for the most part, people with dogs clean up (except for the people previously in our site and the folks next to us). The sunsets are gorgeous and watching the deer wander freely is a nice touch. Would we stay again? For sure now that we know what to look forward to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 21-22, 2011
(Updated: July 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Although we did not make it by the 5 p.m. closing time, we were able to find an open site, and use the sewer line. This was our greatest need for the night stay seeing as our tanks were full from the previous night. The next morning we went to pay, and learned that if we had spoken to the gate guards we would have received a key for the other utilities. Not a big deal but good to know for our next visit when we reserve a site. The campground was pretty full for a week day, the base is well kept but pretty empty of personnel when the national guard is not drilling. Very nice little guard base!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
July 15-18, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very important - Bldg #1007 that has keys to locks is only open M-F till 4. This is not stated above in the web page so i will email them and beg them to add this info. We got there after 4 and were shocked to find out we will have no elec till the next day. It was 95 degrees and we had our 4 yr old daughter and two dogs with us. Not happy at all. That being said, while there were some weeds (they recently mowed so they weren't too bad) the location and good nature of the security guards made a huge difference for us. And we met AWESOME other RVers there. The facility is kept spotless, quiet paved roads and sidewalks galore. Being inside the facility made us feel safer. My daughter and I walked to the gym and showers at midnight, something i would never do anywhere else. We were treated so wonderfully. The weather (after having electric for AC) was glorious. Right up the road is Spring Meadows State Park. What a fabulous place, swimming, paddle boats, canoes, etc) Convenient to everywhere in Helena and beyond, and of course the VA hospital. The military base also has a museum (we didn't have time to explore but will be back). Yeah, the RV sites are not fancy by any means, but with all the high points as noted above, it is so worth while. We will definitely be staying here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 26 - 27, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Good place if you want to explore the local area, to far from I-15 for just one night. For the daily rate should get more for you money. Watch out for the winds, do not leave your awnings down and leave your site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
14 - 21 Oct 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I had to do some work at the tng site, which made the RV park very convenient. Ours was the only RV in the park during our stay; perhaps, because the park closes at the end of October. The park is not paved and most of the lanes between power and water pedestals are not all that level. It rained while we were at the park, but the park surface has a lot of gravel and there was no mud as a result of the rain. There are no showers at the park and only a pit toilet. Our toilet failed while we were at the park and we were able to move into nice billets for the last part of our stay. We continued to use the RV during the day and for fixing dinner in the evenings. The rate for the site was only $10 per day, which they offered to waive when we moved into a room, but I opted to pay since we still used their power during the day. Everyone we met at Ft. Harrison was very friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
7 through 9 Sep. 07
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The original Fort is now a V.A center circa 1890s. The newer operational center is a mix from pre 1940s to very new and up to date facilities. The RV park is located in an open fenced area near the entrance to the range on Bruno Loop. The surface is gravel. There is water and sewer available. Power points are installed but not functional as of 8 Sep. 07. This facility is "big rig friendly". Check in is at Bld. 1011 near the north gate. The small PX is open Mon through Fri. and on Guard weekends. Helena is a short drive and provides many attractions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
3-4 August 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The campground is open with no specific lanes. Electric, water and sewer hookups are at each site. Close proximity to Helna, MT. There are 12 sites and easy to get to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
14 results - showing 1 - 14