Desert Eagle RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (167)
148556   2   31   1   81

User reviews

41 reviews with 4 stars

167 reviews

 
(116)
 
(38)
 
(8)
 
(2)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.5  (167)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (167)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.4  (167)
Value 
 
4.5  (167)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (167)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
41 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
Oct 28 - Nov 4, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I"m not sure why there are a few negative reviews. We had planned to stay one night, but ended up staying a week. The office staff was nice and pleasant and gave us an information folder with maps. We didn't have any problems extending our stay, other than having to move sites. But this was partly due that we had friends coming in and we wanted to be near each other. The new sites are close together with no shade. We got lucky and ended up in shaded sites. The restrooms and laundry were very clean, but most of them are also new. The commissary and exchange are a good size. Yes, we had lots of the "Sound of Freedom" from the jets, but we actually enjoyed it. The pricing is currently very reasonable for this area - I hope they don't get greedy and raise them too soon. This is a large RV Park and was about 90% full when were here. We enjoyed our visit and would return when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
16 October 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed overnight on the way to AZ ... heads up ... the North entry point on Range Road has cement barriers in place to create an S-shaped entry. The path was so tight I was not willing to try to weave my 38 ft class A with towed vehicle through it and the gate guard agreed. So ... Go to the South entry on Range Road if you have a longer rig ... this is the entry for semi- trucks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
5-9 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice park, one of the better camping areas. Vin and Kathy provided excellent assistance. New sites all paved, In the process of adding WiFi and dog walk area. Best priced for location. Go Air Force, Aim High!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 3, 2018 to April 6, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was only our second FamCamp we have visited, Edwards AFB FamCamp being the other one. This place is very very well kept. The premium pull thrus at the wagon wheel area are by far the best sites to reserve. They are long, roomy, and a good distance away from your neighbors all around. Full hook up pads, cement paved and very level. Desert landscaping is all around. You would have to purposely try in order to impose on your neighbor's site. Facilities are very well kept as well. The staff does a great job in keeping them clean, be it the laundry room or the combination shower/toilets. Speaking of the showers/toilets, they offer a good deal of privacy and very clean. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
25 MAR -1 APR 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed in the new section of the famcamp. Nice and new but much smaller than the old section. Parking next to RV with the slide out and the neighbor's slide out could not open the truck doors fully. There is an electrical issue with the new power pedestals of open grounds on the breakers. They worked on ours and another the same day and said they needed to check the others later. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 1 - June 3 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Had not been here for about 10 years so was interested to see if there had been changes. Happy to report that staff are as friendly and helpful as ever and the famcamp is well maintained and looked as nice as it did 10 years ago. They were in the middle of construction of the new sites in June, but it was still easy to get to our site, especially as they have someone who will guide you to your site. We have pets and there are plenty of area to walk pets, and there is a dog park at the front end of the famcamp. Another plus for this famcamp is that a large VA facility is next door. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jan 4-15, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I asked for a reservation on the 23rd of Dec for Jan 4th - the 15th. Wasn't a problem, got put in one of the new places just finished. They are much closer together than the older spots and all new vegetation, so no adult trees yet. The prices have been raised to $26 for a pull through, and their internet is hit and miss. We had a good time, and will come back. The place is spotless, and I didn't see any homesteaders.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
March 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were only able to stay here for 2 nights as the place seems to stay booked. Lots of people apparently stay here for several months at a time. We got one of the "Wagon Wheel" sites. We have a long toy hauler and could not open our back ramp, because each site has a large boulder or tree at the back of it to prevent you from backing in too far. Our neighbors looked as tho they were "homesteading" here - or maybe getting ready for a yard sale. In other words - pretty unkept sites. The office staff was super nice and very helpful. The laundry was clean. We'll try to stay here again in the future and hopefully we'll be able to get a site. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
April 5-19, 2016
(Updated: November 17, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A prime location, only twenty minutes to the strip, $22 a night for full hook up.  We made a reservation and knew only a water and electric site was available and that we would be put on the wait list for a full hook up.  Found out we wouldn't be put on the wait list until after check in despite what we were told when making the reservation. The water and electric sites are around a circle but you are perpendicular to the circle and either have your door to the road or have to run your power and water under the RV when connecting, the worst circular setup I have seen.  Check in was a long process (20 minutes) because the woman at the counter was somewhat new and not sure how to input the stay.  We also were told we had to have exact change when paying cash because they couldn't make change after 4:00 pm (it was 4:05).  We were put on the full hook up waiting list and told only a couple people were ahead of us.  The next day when I went to the office I was told we were actually fifth on the list, the next day I was told I was eighth, and I talked to the same person two days in a row.  No one at the front desk can apparently read the waiting list, so ask for Charlie, he's the retired RMC that makes the reservations.  If you wind up in a partial hook up site, be sure to ask about the dump wagons, we didn't find out they were available until after moving to a full hook up site and the woman at the office stated they sometimes "forget" to tell people.  After five days we were called about moving to a full hook up, which we did right away.  What a night and day difference.  Huge sites, easy to back into with a parking space for your vehicle.  Water and electric were good, WiFi was ok, but we still needed to use our Hotspot at times.  There is considerable jet noise, Reveille goes down at 5:30 and if you are in circle three you will hear the kids on the playground of the child development center by 7:30.  If you can get into a full hook up site, it is definitely worth the $22 a night.  The laundry rooms, two, are $.75 a load but could have more washers and dryers.  Showers work, but need some upkeep.  This is a great place to enjoy Las Vegas from.  You will have to leave the RV park side of base, then enter another gate to visit the exchange and commissary then the same getting back.  Its inconvenient having to keep going through busy gates and sitting at traffic lights for such a short trip.  We plan on returning in the fall.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 7
15 NOV 15 - 29 MAR 16
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have staying at Desert Eagle RV Park for several years. They seem to continue to have a problem with reservations. Even if you reserve 6 months out, there is no guarantee you will get a spot in the regular spots and might end up in the “wagon wheels”. I am sure part of this is because the campground is so popular and some campers making reservations and not showing up. The regular parking spots are spacious, level and concrete. The WiFi, was better this year but I attribute that to us being right besides an antenna. There were still times it wasn't available or would kick you off line. Very aggravating when you are trying to handle communication (ie: bills). Most all of the staff are very personable. There are lots to do at the base, but you have to go across the street to the other side of the base. There is a local RV repair guy and RV wash that IMO does a super job. LP is available every Tuesday. A real complaint of mine is that this year some Command Staff IDIOT decided that anyone on a bicycle needs a helmet. Give me a break. I commend youngsters being required to wear one, but if I want my senile brains scattered on the sidewalk, it should be my decision! That being said, this is a fantastic place to be. Great weather, things to do in town, scenery and aircraft abound. We look forward to returning again. This is our favorite winter hiding place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Have stayed at this famcamp many times and it has improved over the years.  We do like it and keep coming back.  It is easy to get in and out.  Some sites are highly desirable and others are less so, especially the original RV sites (sort of a circle the wagons layout).  The better sites are located where the old mobile home park was located.  WiFi can be spotty depending on your location in the park.  We have been in sites where it works great.  The staff try to be helpful (but sometimes get confused easily).  They do keep the office open late.  In one of our previous visits the staff mentioned there is thought of expanding the park and sounded like some great plans.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
October 6-7, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This RV park has very nice, extra long paved pull thru sites with paved access roads. The hookups were very good and the WiFi connections were also good. There is full recycling facilities within the RV park. There is a nice sized commissary and Px across Las Vegas Blvd (on the other side of Nellis AFB). The staff were very helpful but I found it inappropriate that at least one of the staff wore his political beliefs on his shirt (literally).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 5
June 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Really nice FamCamp and ran professionally. Provided base map, local information, sightseeing info. Escorted to our site and asked if we needed any help setting up. Fenced in dog park with shade and water. Fitness track, minimart, 2 laundry/bath house facilities close by. Some shade trees, level concrete sites, full hook ups, adequate water pressure. Wifi worked well for a FamCamp. Check the weather closely as it was 100+ during our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Nov23, 2014 - Mar 14, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our 2nd year staying at Desert Eagle. We really like the park. It is well kept, and spacious. Most of the staff are very friendly. The WiFi was much better this year. It is somewhat slow and you do get kicked off occasionally BUT it did work. This year we were stuck between two permanent party trailers with children. Adding insult to injury, we were next to the playground. NOT the best location. There ARE some things that could be better, but a LOT that are not. I believe this would be a 5-star campground if they had a pool. It would be nice if they got their proposed expansion completed, but I’m not holding my breath.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
May 2013-31 Mar 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
As a former host from May,2013 thru Mar,2014, I feel it necessary to clarify some of the comments recently made about the park. Larry, I hope there is someway this information may be saved for future reference. 1. Because reservations may be made 6 mos. in advance and the stay for 6 mos. the park is very popular from September thru May for full-timers. The reservation system is similar to a hotel system in that reservations are booked for a site based on arrival date and length of stay. Additional requests (i.e. pull thru, shade, close to bath house) are accommodated if possible. 2. As the grid fills up, it becomes harder to move people in the park and retain the integrity of the system. A guest making a reservation in April for arrival in September will have priority over a guest making a reservation in June for September. A walk-in with no reservation will have to take whatever is available based on the length of stay. If a full hook-up is available for the entire length of stay, this will be accommodated however, the guest may have to start out in a partial until a full hook-up is available. Guests are told this at check-in and given the option of staying where they are parked or getting on the waiting list for a full hook-up for the rest of their stay. The reverse may also be true. If a guest sees an open site and wants to move, it may be for only a day or two because a guest with a prior reservation has not arrived yet. 3. The much anticipated expansion of the park has been pushed back again by the FSS Squadron due to funding issues. The park manager, Randy Peck, works very hard to keep the Wi-Fi service in good order. Many guests violate the instructions handed out at check-in and stream videos, music, etc. contrary to the wi-fi use rules. On a personal note, I find it very paradoxical that many guests complain about the $22 full hook-up fee while driving $100,000 and up rigs. A hotel stay in the Las Vegas area is $40 or more a night and that's a fleabag place. Parks like Del Mar, Seal Beach, Admiral Baker, etc. are $35 to $50 a night. Desert Eagle is one of the better managed RV parks in the military system. In my opinion, as a former host, the park should change to first come, first serve and quit taking reservations much like Davis-Monthan but that will never happen I'm sure.
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful to you? 16 1
17-30 Nov 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I would take all the positive things from all the other reviews. I couldn’t find much wrong with the area at all, but, I'm sure not a lover of the desert. We called six months in advance to make our reservations. We arrived early in the day and had three coaches ahead of us, both of them much smaller (class B and small A), both of them received large pull thru sites and they stuck our 43’ in a back-in with line pole at one corner and the guide wire there too. I noticed the weeks we were there they seemed to take a lot of the big rigs and put in back-in sites and small rigs in pull thru. I would recommend insisting on a pull thru if you have a big rig towing a vehicle. The rest rooms are clean but getting a bit dated. The washers are .75 and same for the dryers. WiFi was good with a very strong signal for where we were. The staff has been planting more and more trees and each tree has its own sprinkler, turning on every night. The campground is looking for suggestions for improvements for the expansion. Over all it was a good stay and if I had to travel back this way again it would be a solid choice.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
3 DEC 2013 – 22 FEB 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had a great time at Desert Eagle Campground. It is laid out very nicely. Large campsites and great water pressure. The staff is friendly. If you love aviation, this is the place to be. LOTS of jet activity, especially during Red Flag games. Thunderbirds are based here and they love to do fly-bys coming back from training. It is located close to Vegas but still far enough away. I have one HUGE complaint. The Wi-Fi is terrible. I could never get online to do anything. I could connect but it is so slooooow, I could not complete anything. When asked, they always said, they were working on it. There is NO discount for extended stays. We look forward to coming back again this fall, parking closer to a Wi-Fi antenna.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 23, 2012
(Updated: May 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here the last night of our 23-day trip. Plenty of spaces available, we had a nice pull through spot with full hook-ups in a quiet location. Friendly and helpful hosts and staff made sure we found and got properly situated on our site (the park layout can be a bit confusing...). We will definitely stay here again. Traveling in a Motorhome.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 6, 2011
(Updated: September 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our overall experience was great. The host was very helpful and the campgrounds were very well maintained. Lots of space between sites. For the price add cable or at least wifi and this place would be a 5 star place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
November 2010
(Updated: December 12, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I had a similar problem with Dee. I called and made two reservations; one over Thanksgiving and one for over a month in February that extended into March. I told her I wanted a full hook up site for both reservations and was promised I would get one although I might have to move during the second stay due to being full for the NASCAR races going on. I was promised a e-mail confirmation that I never got. The address on file was wrong and I gave Dee my new address. When I arrived I was told there were no full hook up sites and when I asked about my reservation in February it was only for 7 nights even though the intake card had the extended stay days written on it. Additionally, Dee never changed my address information because when my receipt was printed it still had the old address information on it. Although the first visit was the middle of November, the welcome packet I received was full of October happenings. It appears they are too content with the money they are making to take care of the customers who provide for their jobs. I gave the Cleanliness/Hospitality a one for the simple reason for the way my reservations were mishandled. I talked to the individual who registered ahead of me and they had the same problems with their reservations - not getting what they were promised.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
41 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3