Desert Eagle RV Park

Featured
 
4.6 (155)
136054   1   21   1   78

User reviews

105 reviews with 5 stars

155 reviews

 
(111)
 
(35)
 
(7)
 
(1)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
 
4.6  (155)
 
4.7  (155)
 
4.5  (155)
 
4.6  (155)
 
4.6  (155)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
105 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 20, 2017

We visited Nellis in December and really enjoyed the legacy section of the campground. The sites are large with plenty of space on all sides. I don't think we'd have been happy in the newer section for longer than a night or two because they are much shorter and closer together. I think that section would really only be good for smaller campers and RVs. Although the facilities in the legacy section are older, they are clean and the cost of laundry was the cheapest so far. We also liked the location across from the main base. It was easy enough to get over there for the commissary and exchange. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

May 12-18, 2018

The Park is very well maintained and the hosts do a great job. We put the mailing address into our GPS and it brought us almost to the gate. Great Commissary and BX. No Diesel, which is disappointing, because the closet is Pilot and if you know Pilot $$$. I did find Sinclair and a lot less. Clubs have good food and reasonable. The Strip is close but construction on 15 is big and expect delays. Vegas has great deals for active and retired. Free or reduced parking price. Also you can go to ITT on base for tickets at reduced prices. Go to the Paris hotel desk and show ID and they give you a card, good for life for all kinds of deals and free parking. We have a big duelly so it only cost $20 for up front parking. The Park Staff at the RV park will give you all sorts of information and the dog run is very nice. Thank you all

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

April 2018

We were in the new section, so no WiFi available. The older section looked very nice with mature trees. Everyone was friendly and helpful. They bring you to your site, so no issue finding where you belong. If they had WiFi it would be a 5* Fam Camp.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

28 Mar, 2018

The staff are all great! The overall facility is top notch! My only complaint is, why didn't they make the at least a few of the new sites longer so those of us that are just staying the night would not have to disconnect our TV from the 5er. Of course we will be back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Mar 3 - Apr 3, 2018

What a crack operation the Air Force has in this gem. The FamCamp recently opened up their new facilities allowing more of us to enjoy this RV park at a time. Cleanliness, friendliness, pet-friendly facilities, this camp has it all. And if you love jet noise you have hit the jackpot!!!!! I did not know this was home-base for the Thunderbirds. So we get treated to practices on a regular basis along with the other aircraft doing their training. Peaceful and quiet (when the aircraft are not airborne) the place is over-run with old retired farts! I'll bet half of them get woke up when taps comes over the base PA :) We stayed in the new section and for those who have been here and stayed in the original camp the new section is quite different. The old section has LARGE spaces with trees offering a modicum of privacy, not so for the new section. While the new section more resembles an RV sales lot with units shoulder to shoulder, when all spaces are occupied, you have enough room to be comfortable. Don't get me wrong, the new section is nice. Just don't compare it to the original spaces which are right beside the new section. All spaces have a nice level pad and the utilities were well placed and spaced apart. While each space has a sapling it will be several years before they begin to offer anything that even remotely provides shade, so summertime might get quite hot. If our travels ever bring us here again we will gladly stay.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec 18, 2017 - Jan 3, 2018

We love this RV park: the RV spots are rather generous, the facilities are clean, the showers are great, laundry area is cramped but doable. Pet owners cleaned up after their dogs. People were mostly friendly. There were two workers in the office who were curt almost to the point of being rude. Maybe because of the holidays. We only gave three stars due to this rudeness. The facility was very clean! Close enough to all the sights. Even took a day trip to Death Valley. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

January 2 through January 20, 2018

This premier military RV park has gotten even better with the completion of their major expansion and modernization. The near doubling of full hook-up capacity makes getting into the park much more probable for the traveling active duty and retired service member...and the addition of two new bath houses, with laundries, support the added capacity. The prices have increased a few dollars but are in line with other military facilities and, as major benefit to those of us who travel in our RV's, the park now holds a handful of sites available for spontaneously arriving personnel. Randy and his staff do a great job in accommodating the needs of his guests, and the grounds are kept in remarkable shape by a cadre of volunteers. Check it out, is place is amazing!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Dec. 22 2017 to Jan 4 2018

First time here and loved it. Great site lots to do. Only down side is the internet. They have lots of towers in all the right places but the signal is so weak and drops so many times almost not worth using. I used my jet pack more than the camp internet. A little more care for the internet and this place would be perfect. With Vegas so close the internet is important as we were making reservations for shows and the connection dropped multiple times during the transaction. Base easy to get in and out of with my 40 foot Newmar and tow which was nice. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 29, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

18-24 Oct 2017

This is our 2nd stay at the Desert Eagle RV park at Nellis AFB. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on both occasions. A very well run famcamp. No RV park is perfect, but I think most would agree the "legacy" section of the Desert Eagle RV Park presents one of the better military camping experiences in the country. The legacy section (100+ sites) contains huge, full-hook-up RV spaces that are easily 3000-4000 sq ft. in size. Each site contains a concrete pad, well-trimmed shade trees and borders a landscaped walking path. FWIW, all the partial hookup (electric/water), "wagon wheel" sites will be eliminated once the remaining 79 brand new RV sites are opened for use sometime in late 2017 or early 2018. We got to see a small portion of the new section that was completed during our stay. These new sites contain 44-46 ft. long, pull-thru, full-hookup sites with paved access, concrete pads, picnic table, bordered on each side with desert rock/gravel. There are also going be a number of new support buildings/facilities (2-3?) on site that will contain shower and laundry facilities. Spacing between most sites (except handicapped) is minimal---only a few feet wider than the picnic table. In my estimation, those with larger rigs are going to find parking space for their tow vehicles and toads minimal at best. Don't get me wrong, these brand-new 79 RV sites are going to be a very nice addition to the Desert Eagle RV park, however, they're not going to be the same camping experience one finds in the legacy section.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 23 and Oct 5, 2017

This was the first time we have stayed at Nellis and we did so on our way to Montana and then again on our way back. It was eye opening! We have stayed at many Military Fam Camps throughout the US, and this was the best one yet. The staff were friendly, helpful, and notably proud of the facility with good reason. Although we only stayed one night each way, we both agreed that we will return again for a longer stay. Cant wait to see the new section open. We stayed in a 44ft motorhome and even though towing a full size pickup the space we were assigned both times was able to accommodate the full rig without having to unhook the towed. Truly a nice park. The nicest? Well we haven't been to all of them yet so we can't say, but it is certainly the nicest we have stayed at to date.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

27 Sept - 1 Oct 2017

What a wonderful Military camp ground. They are adding another 70 sites which should be open in Nov 2017. The concrete pads are a great sizes. Only issue we had was with the smell of the water.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 14-16, 2017

Desert Eagle RV Park sets a high standard for other facilities. Bill and Diane in the front office greeted us warmly and gave us a thorough brief on the RV park and local recreation. Bill escorted us to our site and made sure that all hookups were adequate. The RV site, bathrooms, and laundry were all very clean and in good working condition. Nellis AFB has a super new fitness complex including an indoor pool, fitness equipment, and exercise classes. At $22.00 per night, this place is a real bargain.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 24-29, 2017

One of the nicest camps with the nicest staff. Well planned with new sites under construction. Three things, they cannot do though is control the weather, provide grills(fire hazard) or do your laundry for you. These folks will even give you a bag of Ice every day.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

15-17 April, 2017

This is a great park! Sites are spacious and level. We had no problem getting in and out in our 45' MH. Convenient to all that Vegas has to offer though we didn't go downtown this time! Good Verizon signal, satellite hooked up at site 27 no problem. People running the park are the best attribute. Friendly, accommodating, and fun to visit with. We had to seek medical attention while we were there....over Easter weekend! USAF Hospital is just a couple of blocks away and the care we received there was quite simply superb. We will definitely stay here over and over.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct. 3-6, 2016

Great park for traveling. Although we didn't get a pull thru. The Wagon Wheel accommodations were excellent. We had great shade and privacy with the steps facing the inside. It was odd to see RV's with the steps facing the outside of the wheel which made it difficult to use the awnings and sit outside the door. Parking staff and office staff was excellent in courtesy and assistance. SECURITY AT THIS PARK MAKES IT A PLUS IN THIS AREA OF VEGAS.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

December 2016

I think this is one of the best military campgrounds in the U.S. Park has pull thru and back-in sites. Our back-in site was level, spacious and had no one behind us. Nice walking trail around the park, large GRASSY dog park and excellent staff. A nice commissary and exchange are located across the street in the main base. About 15-20 to the strip and the Las Vegas Speedway is about a mile just down the road. There is a lot of jet noise, but I just consider that the sound of freedom. The efficiency of the staff is great from reservation to check-in and follow up. Everyone abides by the rules here so the park is clean and no junk sitting around the sites. 6 month max time to stay. We look forward to coming back!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct. 22, 2016

Used Vegas as an overnight stop: park is easy to find from freeway, but removed from the main base/commissary. We were able to call and get site same day - stayed at the older wagon wheel site. Make sure you have plenty of hose if you get these sites as water is on the other side of hook-up and sewer ran under our MH. Crew at the office was great, check-in was easy with plenty of area to hook/un-hook. Didn't see much of the park since we were there such a short time, but as always, good famcamp price! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 8 and 14, 2016

The park is in a beautiful setting with ample of space between sites. Everything is very clean and efficient. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. We happened to arrive here when there was a Labor Day celebration and were invited to join for a very nice lunch. Love to come back and stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 8-19, 2016

Our first time stay in the park. My husband and I believe this to be one of the very best RV Parks we have stayed in. Absolutely no complaints. The staff were very helpful, knowledgeable, and accommodating. The sights were huge compared to other RV campgrounds. Very clean park, well taken care of. Will definitely be making a return visit in the future. Thank you Desert Eagle RV Park!! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Aug 16, 2016

Great FamCamp One of the nicest RV parks, bar none. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The restrooms and showers are well taken care of and kept very clean. The RV sites are well taken care of with an enormous amount of room for each site. Good WiFi with no intermittent which most other places have. The FamCamp is just across from the main base which has everything required, Commissary, Exchange, Gym and Rec Center. We will come again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
105 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2 3 4 5 6