Desert Eagle RV Park

Featured
 
4.5 (167)
148556   2   31   1   81

User reviews

110 reviews with 5 stars

167 reviews

 
(116)
 
(38)
 
(8)
 
(2)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.5  (167)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.6  (167)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.4  (167)
Value 
 
4.5  (167)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (167)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
110 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
Nov/Dec 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second visit and need I say, this visit was OUTSTANDING. Our first visit was during one of the hottest times (112 degrees) in our rig. Much nice visit this time of the year. Can not overstate what an great facility and location. Crime on the Strip has spread out well beyond the strip now and it is so nice to have the safety of an armed guard at the front gate. They recently expanded and added a lot of new sites with their sites on more expansion and possibly a new “club house/office space”. You have to live with the hours of training flight, sometimes in the night but overall felt great to be here and we’ll certainly be back. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
20-27 November 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We've stayed here many times and have always been pleased with the consistency of professional service and outstanding facilities. Quick, friendly check-in and escort to our paved and level concrete pad in the old, now "premium" section, our preferred location. Lots of space between sites, some trees and shrubs, and no obstructions to TV satellites. Plenty of OTA TV channels and good Verizon cell/data. The park WiFi would not connect during our stay, not unusual now that everyone seems to streaming video. Plenty of the "sound of freedom" starting early on weekday mornings but relatively quiet on nights and weekends. Outside the base is a deteriorating neighborhood so off-base dining and shopping require a few miles of driving. Overall one of the best Famcamps in the system. We'll stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16-17 Nov 18
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Popped down from Mesquite, NV for the weekend to get the rig ready for an extended trip. First time we've stayed here; will definitely stay again. Very nice and helpful staff. Hundreds of great sites. The older ones likely have more room and some shade but we didn't mind staying in the new area. Very clean showers and restroom facilities. Easy access on/off the highway. Base has great facilities. Very secure. Close to some great national and state parks (Zion, Bryce Canyon, Valley of Fire). Overall a great value. Thank you.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
15 August 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here on our return trip for an overnight. They take reservations and got us a nice pull through so we did not need to unhook. There are two areas. The “premium” ones are actually the older spots. They have shade and trees in most and are in the round “wheel”areas. That is were we stayed. Good utilities. WiFi was pretty good for an RV Park. Hosts were very nice. They escort you to your site, which is always helpful. Be sure and check if there is a NASCAR race if you are staying on a weekend, the traffic might be worse and the Famcamp fills up more. Great place, easy to get to. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug 6, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here one night as just an overnight on our way north. It was Hot on the way up and Hot there. We arrived around 4:30pm to 120 degrees! I say this not to complain, but to set the stage for the great visit we had. We were having roof Air issues on our coach, and the hosts put us in a site that was almost completely shaded. The hosts, Melanie and Victor were super friending and connected us with a great Mobile RV repair service, Tom, who called us back and trouble shot our roof air issue over the phone. We were even offered cold bags of ice. But back to the park. Our site was #63, a back-in, very level, easy to get into with convenient towed vehicle parking. The site was very clean and had some grass and a picnic table. Good electricity. The wifi connected very easy and the internet was speedy and perfect for e-mail and web browsing. We did not try any satellite. We had good version reception. We had ready about cleanliness and bathroom issues but we thought they were very clean and well kept. There is a very nice office with computers, tables and relaxing chairs. We would stay here again in a heartbeat. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec 20, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We visited Nellis in December and really enjoyed the legacy section of the campground. The sites are large with plenty of space on all sides. I don't think we'd have been happy in the newer section for longer than a night or two because they are much shorter and closer together. I think that section would really only be good for smaller campers and RVs. Although the facilities in the legacy section are older, they are clean and the cost of laundry was the cheapest so far. We also liked the location across from the main base. It was easy enough to get over there for the commissary and exchange. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 12-18, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Park is very well maintained and the hosts do a great job. We put the mailing address into our GPS and it brought us almost to the gate. Great Commissary and BX. No Diesel, which is disappointing, because the closet is Pilot and if you know Pilot $$$. I did find Sinclair and a lot less. Clubs have good food and reasonable. The Strip is close but construction on 15 is big and expect delays. Vegas has great deals for active and retired. Free or reduced parking price. Also you can go to ITT on base for tickets at reduced prices. Go to the Paris hotel desk and show ID and they give you a card, good for life for all kinds of deals and free parking. We have a big duelly so it only cost $20 for up front parking. The Park Staff at the RV park will give you all sorts of information and the dog run is very nice. Thank you all
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were in the new section, so no WiFi available. The older section looked very nice with mature trees. Everyone was friendly and helpful. They bring you to your site, so no issue finding where you belong. If they had WiFi it would be a 5* Fam Camp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
28 Mar, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The staff are all great! The overall facility is top notch! My only complaint is, why didn't they make the at least a few of the new sites longer so those of us that are just staying the night would not have to disconnect our TV from the 5er. Of course we will be back!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Mar 3 - Apr 3, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a crack operation the Air Force has in this gem. The FamCamp recently opened up their new facilities allowing more of us to enjoy this RV park at a time. Cleanliness, friendliness, pet-friendly facilities, this camp has it all. And if you love jet noise you have hit the jackpot!!!!! I did not know this was home-base for the Thunderbirds. So we get treated to practices on a regular basis along with the other aircraft doing their training. Peaceful and quiet (when the aircraft are not airborne) the place is over-run with old retired farts! I'll bet half of them get woke up when taps comes over the base PA :) We stayed in the new section and for those who have been here and stayed in the original camp the new section is quite different. The old section has LARGE spaces with trees offering a modicum of privacy, not so for the new section. While the new section more resembles an RV sales lot with units shoulder to shoulder, when all spaces are occupied, you have enough room to be comfortable. Don't get me wrong, the new section is nice. Just don't compare it to the original spaces which are right beside the new section. All spaces have a nice level pad and the utilities were well placed and spaced apart. While each space has a sapling it will be several years before they begin to offer anything that even remotely provides shade, so summertime might get quite hot. If our travels ever bring us here again we will gladly stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 18, 2017 - Jan 3, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We love this RV park: the RV spots are rather generous, the facilities are clean, the showers are great, laundry area is cramped but doable. Pet owners cleaned up after their dogs. People were mostly friendly. There were two workers in the office who were curt almost to the point of being rude. Maybe because of the holidays. We only gave three stars due to this rudeness. The facility was very clean! Close enough to all the sights. Even took a day trip to Death Valley. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
January 2 through January 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This premier military RV park has gotten even better with the completion of their major expansion and modernization. The near doubling of full hook-up capacity makes getting into the park much more probable for the traveling active duty and retired service member...and the addition of two new bath houses, with laundries, support the added capacity. The prices have increased a few dollars but are in line with other military facilities and, as major benefit to those of us who travel in our RV's, the park now holds a handful of sites available for spontaneously arriving personnel. Randy and his staff do a great job in accommodating the needs of his guests, and the grounds are kept in remarkable shape by a cadre of volunteers. Check it out, is place is amazing!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Dec. 22 2017 to Jan 4 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time here and loved it. Great site lots to do. Only down side is the internet. They have lots of towers in all the right places but the signal is so weak and drops so many times almost not worth using. I used my jet pack more than the camp internet. A little more care for the internet and this place would be perfect. With Vegas so close the internet is important as we were making reservations for shows and the connection dropped multiple times during the transaction. Base easy to get in and out of with my 40 foot Newmar and tow which was nice. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
18-24 Oct 2017
(Updated: October 29, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our 2nd stay at the Desert Eagle RV park at Nellis AFB. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on both occasions. A very well run famcamp. No RV park is perfect, but I think most would agree the "legacy" section of the Desert Eagle RV Park presents one of the better military camping experiences in the country. The legacy section (100+ sites) contains huge, full-hook-up RV spaces that are easily 3000-4000 sq ft. in size. Each site contains a concrete pad, well-trimmed shade trees and borders a landscaped walking path. FWIW, all the partial hookup (electric/water), "wagon wheel" sites will be eliminated once the remaining 79 brand new RV sites are opened for use sometime in late 2017 or early 2018. We got to see a small portion of the new section that was completed during our stay. These new sites contain 44-46 ft. long, pull-thru, full-hookup sites with paved access, concrete pads, picnic table, bordered on each side with desert rock/gravel. There are also going be a number of new support buildings/facilities (2-3?) on site that will contain shower and laundry facilities. Spacing between most sites (except handicapped) is minimal---only a few feet wider than the picnic table. In my estimation, those with larger rigs are going to find parking space for their tow vehicles and toads minimal at best. Don't get me wrong, these brand-new 79 RV sites are going to be a very nice addition to the Desert Eagle RV park, however, they're not going to be the same camping experience one finds in the legacy section.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Sept 23 and Oct 5, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was the first time we have stayed at Nellis and we did so on our way to Montana and then again on our way back. It was eye opening! We have stayed at many Military Fam Camps throughout the US, and this was the best one yet. The staff were friendly, helpful, and notably proud of the facility with good reason. Although we only stayed one night each way, we both agreed that we will return again for a longer stay. Cant wait to see the new section open. We stayed in a 44ft motorhome and even though towing a full size pickup the space we were assigned both times was able to accommodate the full rig without having to unhook the towed. Truly a nice park. The nicest? Well we haven't been to all of them yet so we can't say, but it is certainly the nicest we have stayed at to date.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
27 Sept - 1 Oct 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a wonderful Military camp ground. They are adding another 70 sites which should be open in Nov 2017. The concrete pads are a great sizes. Only issue we had was with the smell of the water.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 14-16, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Desert Eagle RV Park sets a high standard for other facilities. Bill and Diane in the front office greeted us warmly and gave us a thorough brief on the RV park and local recreation. Bill escorted us to our site and made sure that all hookups were adequate. The RV site, bathrooms, and laundry were all very clean and in good working condition. Nellis AFB has a super new fitness complex including an indoor pool, fitness equipment, and exercise classes. At $22.00 per night, this place is a real bargain.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
July 24-29, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
One of the nicest camps with the nicest staff. Well planned with new sites under construction. Three things, they cannot do though is control the weather, provide grills(fire hazard) or do your laundry for you. These folks will even give you a bag of Ice every day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
15-17 April, 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great park! Sites are spacious and level. We had no problem getting in and out in our 45' MH. Convenient to all that Vegas has to offer though we didn't go downtown this time! Good Verizon signal, satellite hooked up at site 27 no problem. People running the park are the best attribute. Friendly, accommodating, and fun to visit with. We had to seek medical attention while we were there....over Easter weekend! USAF Hospital is just a couple of blocks away and the care we received there was quite simply superb. We will definitely stay here over and over.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Oct. 3-6, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great park for traveling. Although we didn't get a pull thru. The Wagon Wheel accommodations were excellent. We had great shade and privacy with the steps facing the inside. It was odd to see RV's with the steps facing the outside of the wheel which made it difficult to use the awnings and sit outside the door. Parking staff and office staff was excellent in courtesy and assistance. SECURITY AT THIS PARK MAKES IT A PLUS IN THIS AREA OF VEGAS.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
110 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6