Holloman AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
3.6 (73)
80927 1 20 0 27

User reviews

15 reviews with 3 stars

73 reviews

 
(20)
 
(28)
 
(14)
 
(5)
 
(6)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.8  (73)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.9  (73)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (73)
Value 
 
3.6  (73)
Overall Experience 
 
3.6  (73)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
15 results - showing 1 - 15
Ordering
September 28, 2019
(Updated: October 07, 2019)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Definitely no frills here. Basic tight camping sites, gravel with concrete pads, and picnic table, fairly level, couple trees here and there, all hook ups. Sewer pipe is too high off the ground, with my class C, hose has to go up hill. Even too high for those hose ramps. Cable totally inop! Get few local stations off the air. Wifi is total JUNK! Had to waist my limited phone data to search for our much needed house. Good thing we aren’t paying a lot, $100/week, because if it was more, I’d be standing on someone’s desk. It is in a bad location. It is right next to the main highway. Very loud and constant, even at night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
September 2019
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Holloman is not a destination location. So with 35 FHU sites you would think there would be no problem getting a spot. Guess again. We were lucky to get one of 2 open spots upon arrival. Of the 35 sites we counted 30 occupied by full time active duty with a few retirees thrown in. We have watched this and many famcamps slowly morph into trailer parks, but this is the worse circumstance we have ever witnessed. No limit on stay. Some have been here "years". All ranks from A1C to LtCol. The camp host is an active duty family. I have no idea what they do other than occupy a spot at likely no cost. The grounds are one big weed patch with most of the trees and shrubs all but dead. There are no enforced standards here. Dogs run loosley and drop their waste with no pickup. Very young children are left unattended to play in the roads. Trailers are in disrepair and many appear as though they have been set up with steps and shade cloth to be a final home. It is a true trailer park with no standards to speak of. If they are going to allow it to be used as a permanent housing area, simply take the famcamp sign down, charge full housing allowance for those living here and drawing Quarters. Unfortunately this is becoming the new famcamp model for services throughout the AF. Shameful and Sad....
Holloman AFB FamCamp
Holloman AFB FamCamp
Holloman AFB FamCamp
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 8. 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Visited the FamCamp on March 8, 2019. It had been quite a few years since we've been here. I was stationed at Holloman AFB back in the late 90's. They had already installed the additional 12 FHU sites, but still needed to add the shelters at each site. They also plan to build a BBQ Pavilion and do some landscaping. The RV Park was about 50% occupied. There is evidence of some long-term campers here, but only a few. This is really a no-frills RV Park, but does meet the basics. Too bad the location isn't away form the highway. Coming in the commercial gate is the easiest way with a large RV, but it's only open weekdays from 0600 - 1800hrs. Large BX and Commissary on base, along many other amenities.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
22 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Stayed last week while traveling through. Two nights. It is as close as you can get to White Sands National Monument about 7-8 miles away. That in itself made the boring camp worthwhile. Wifi was strong when near the laundry facility -very nice amenity to have to catch up with email. The laundry facility was helpful, but could use some work inside with perhaps installation maps and other pamphlets for tourists. The impression is that the camp is very low priority for this installation. If you venture out to the base, they have a really great library, golf course, running areas and base exchange, commissary. I'll stay here again if in the area - enjoyed the view of the mountains with sunrise and the close proximity to highways to travel to my next destination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Well its a place to be and have the essentials - pretty its not, kinda scruffy actually. Interesting as I think the rest of the post has spruced up since our last stay. Definite homesteading presence. But, everything we used worked and I didn't see any out of order signs. I had a great Verizon signal so didn't bother with the wifi or cable. Long term rates have been reduced (!) week is now $100, a month is $400. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
25 April 2018
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Open dry campsites, only amenities are BX, commissary and gas station, no diesel and no propane on base. Base commander should provide funding to cleanup the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
March 8, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Very good location for visiting White Sands National Monument. The sad thing is lack of maintenance support from the Support Squadron. Men's shower did not work for lack of a $10 part and no heat in men's or ladies restroom. The camphost has a golf cart for duties that has a flat and is not operational for use. A few fulltimers with their own extra "storage" scattered around their site. Great value for active and retired military that could be better with a little base support.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Lots of homesteading here. All the cement spots are filled with homesteaders. We had to stay in a gravel site which was very muddy because of recent rains. Dogs running off leash, with dog poop everywhere. In fact there's piles of it. Bathrooms are clean. Laundromat is also clean, but very small. Place seems to be fairly well maintained but they should really address the homesteading issue. Also someone should enforce the dogs on leash rules too.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
October 18 -28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
J.C. left this review using the Directory software: - This is our second visit to Holloman and we intend to come back next year. We are a 45 foot RV and we are able to fit in almost any of the spaces, something not always possible in other FamCamps. The previous reviewer who commented on the difficulty of coming in through the main gate is correct, the entry curves are difficult. We unhitched our toad outside the gate, which made it easier. On the plus side, there are things to do in the area, and the price of $90.00 for a week is great. The camp host said that even if you are only staying five nights, pay for a week, which results in a savings of 10.00. We stayed for 10 days and he had us pay for a week and then extend for 3 days. On the minus side, Outdoor Rec does not seem to be putting any money toward upkeep. I got wifi for one day and then nothing. Cable TV is down. There are some long termers, but they are active duty assigned to the base and even with them, the place was still only half full when we arrived. The commissary and exchange are not the largest in the Air Force, but not the smallest either. We were able to find almost everything we needed. If you have pets, plenty of space to walk your animals.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
11 March 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
R.M. left this review using the Directory software: - It's been expanded to 35 hookup spots, the new ones did not have CTV. Not a bad place to stop with a Commissary & Exchange on base. Still a lot of people homesteading from the looks of things. A good laundry rooms, good showers. We spent two nights as we were waiting for tires to come arrive at a shop in Alamogordo (15 miles) and would have no problem coming back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
18-19 April 2012
(Updated: April 20, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The park is small and a bit out of the way to get to. The entrance to the base is being redone and they put in some big concrete blocks either side of each driving lane and they are very close. Close enough to have many scrape marks on each from vehicles bumping into them. The serpentine lanes are narrow and difficult to maneuver. One must go through base housing to get to the park and the roads there are narrow with cars parked on each side of the streets. Apart from that, the BX is acceptable as is the commissary as each is small. The town of Alamogordo is small but has just about everything one would need. The camp host was helpful but didn't really give us much in the way of info about the base or the town. We stayed here two nights passing through, which is our custom. We like to spend two nights each place we stay so we can see what there is to see every place we stop.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 3, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Good Famcamp to use as a base to see the mts and the desert. White Sands is a must see to check off your bucket list. The down side is all the dog poop in the park. In the week we stayed there we never saw anyone carry a bag to pick up the business. The weekly rate is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Apr 23, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Much construction going on in the residential section of the base which is where the campground is located. Old roads no longer exist, new roads have been built, making it hard to find the campground if you come in the West Gate as recommended. The campground was full so I stayed in overflow which is a dirt field next to the campground. When it rains, it would be a mudhole. Six of the 24 sites were occupied by or reserved for active duty military. That is a lot for this small campground and is a common problem at more and more military campgrounds. This makes it difficult, if not impossible, to get a regualar site for someone staying only a day or two. The rest appeared to be mostly homesteaders but it was difficult to determine how many. The water has a lot of minerals which spot anything that comes in contact with it. There is no campground office - only a camp host. No base map, no policy statement concerning rotation from overflow to regular site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
M.D. left this review using the Directory software: Visited last spring. Campground was very nice at time. Has a new campground host now. Back then the host was very rude. We reported bathrooms & laundry room problems (dirty, need to be fixed). Was told "was not here problem or job to fix or report". She ran some others campers out with her rudeness. THERE ONLY FOR THE FREE CAMPING. Campground is going downhill quick.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Mar 13, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Just visited today to check Lat/Longs and find out if we want to make it a destination. Friendly and helpful campground host explained the local attractions. Nice BX and Commissary. We'll make Holloman a future destination.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
15 results - showing 1 - 15