Remington Park RV Campground

 
3.7 (29)
48609   0   2   1   13

User reviews

29 reviews

 
(7)
 
(13)
 
(4)
 
(3)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
4.0  (29)
 
3.4  (29)
 
3.5  (29)
 
3.7  (29)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
29 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2  
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 2017

We were there for the month of july. Except for the rain,which they had no control over. It was great very nice big sites. Everyone was vey nice and helpful. We will be back next year for a longer time.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

July 27, 2017

RV sites are huge! When it rains, some sites under water. $35 is the highest I've ever paid for a Famcamp site! Cabins look nice. Staff was very helpful, Thanks Troy and Eric! 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

August 2016

Campground staff are very knowledgeable and go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Make sure you reserve well in advance for an RV site or Cabin. Call and reserve your site in March for the summer. In the summer the campground is very full. Your receipt for your reserved site will be emailed to you. Don't expect everyone to move out of your way if you arrive without a reservation. If you show up without a reservation you will be in an overflow spot unless you choose to go somewhere else. Very large pull through sites for RVs. Overall a very good campground. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

Aug.10, 2016

We are in overflow - reservations of 2 months ignored. Paying full price without a sewer. No one we have spoken to has any responsibility - each passes the blame up the channel. We cannot even put our kitchen and bedroom slide out because the overflow pad is immediately next to one of the cabins. VERY DIFFICULT SITUATION, AND NO ONE SEEMS TO CARE. If you want to come to Ft. Drum, make sure you have a site # assigned and valid, printed email confirmation. Because we are on the road, and have no printer, they would not accept my email on the phone. This place is new and boy do they need experienced people!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 16

Overall, a nice park in a quiet location on base. It is overpriced at the daily rate, both compared to other famcamps and for the local area, but the weekly rate is not bad if you can stay that long. The sites are very large, with the only negative being there are no trees, so not much privacy. The whole camp is impeccably maintained, and the famcamp staff was outstanding. The outdoor rec staff was friendly and tried to be helpful, but they were not as knowledgeable as the famcamp staff. It was a little inconvenient to have to deal with the two offices, rather than just the famcamp staff. There are fantastic trails over in the Remington park area. No wifi, except for sale (again, daily rate is exorbitant, but weekly rate not bad), but Verizon works good. Signage into the famcamp is a little confusing (says "RV attendant only, no thru way). Also, Pech River Road did not come up on my GPS, it said "Remington Pond Road." There is a tiny sign saying Pech River Road, but you can't see it till you're on top of it. Very nice park, but I probably wouldn't stay here again because of the rates.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 4-7

Some of the information on this website is out of date. There are large drive through RV sites with full hook ups. There are no campers available for rent on the site. The Outdoor Recreation office on Fort Drum will rent you a camper to use in the RV park but they are not at the park. Remington Park has cabins available for rent. There are 21 cabins available. They have TV but no cable or wifi yet. We were told that wifi and cable are being installed in spring of 2016. You can rent a Verizon Jet Pack from the campground office. The campground office is only open Mon - Fri 0800 - 1600. After hours the camp host assists with check in and out. Be sure to call and make arrangements if you are arriving after hours. The park has a beach for swimming and boats for rent as well as great hiking trails and picnic areas for every event. Over all a large well kept up park.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

August 3, 2015

First off, website says $28/night, actual cost is $35/night. Most expensive Military Campground that we have stayed at. Camp Lajuene, which recently raised their rates, is less money with full hookups & cable and a beach. Upon arriving I plugged in to the cable on the pedestal and couldn't get any cable. After making a phone call to the camp host I found out that they have the connection but its not hooked up to anything. There is no wifi unless you want to rent one of their jetpacks for a lot of money, or maybe use your own phone as a hotspot for free. Overall, large sites. Nice area. While walking our two dogs on their leashes, a brown and white dog came prancing along and went on our walk with us. He appeared to belong over in the far corner and no one seemed to miss him.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

July 1, 2015

Overall a very nice Park with huge sites. The Park doesn't have the rental RVs anymore and the daily rate is $35/day with the week $175. Still a reasonable value for the area. Didn't check out the facilities. A very quiet Park. Convenient to the Island area and shopping. We would stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

16-20 Jul 2014

Spaces were very large and clean. As stated in previous review, there is an office there but it isn't manned. I called and confirmed my reservation the day before we arrived so we had no problems going straight to our site. There was a camp host that greeted us when we arrived and told us that if we have any questions to ask him. He was located in the first site as you drive in. Although I didn't use them, I checked out the shower area and it appeared clean and modern. The laundry facility had a coin changer but there was a sign that it was out of order. Maybe it had just been installed. In regards to wifi, we found out that you could rent a hotspot from the Recreation Area just down the road. It was a bit pricey but we needed to catch up on e-mails and do some internet work. It is just easier to do it from the motorhome instead of going to the library. It was $15 dollars per day or $25 a week. It was cheaper for us to rent for the week. It worked great. Note: It is a very large post. You may want to ask for a base map at the front gate when you arrive. It was a couple of days before we could get one and that came when I talked to the chief of MWR when he was riding through the campground. In regards to noise, we had no complaints. We heard reveille in the morning, retreat in the evening and taps at night. Personally, the "sounds of freedom" such as helicopter noise (although there wasn't any), aircraft noise, etc. just doesn't bother me. It is a military post after all. The only negative I have about our stay is that there were some MWR employees (not the chief) that we dealt with that (in my opinion) were not very professional or customer oriented. Overall, it was a pleasant enough stay and I would stay there again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

29 June - 8 July 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights. We considered this a good location to take in the sights of upstate New York, the Adirondacks and the Thousand Island area. Be warned - the reservation process is a bit of a nightmare. Apparently, the computer system double books or drops reservations. My reserved spot was occupied so I had to park in another spot and move the next day. The "campground office" is not occupied yet even though the building is nice. Showers are clean, laundry facilities include 2 washers and 2 dryers (no dollar bill changer - had to go to the post car wash for quarters. There is still no Wi-Fi and no current plans to put it in. Likewise with cable. I guess we were lucky - the post did not have copters flying the whole time we were there. Diesel fuel has to be purchased off base at $4.299 per gallon. By the way, the MWR is called "parks and recreation" and is located by the Firestone store. Post maps are available at the library (none at the parks office). With some organization on the part of MWR, this could have been a much better experience.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Oct 18-25, 2013

Spent a full week here. The park is much improved from a year ago when we spent about ten days at it, but still has more to come. No cable or internet, but that's coming soon. Very spread out, so you don't have to worry about neighbors noises, dogs, kids, whatever. They've planted trees throughout the CG, but they've a ways to go to be useful. PX and Commissary are large and there's a Walmart just off base. There's no diesel on post and you've got to go to Watertown to get the best price for that. We were in spot #16, where there was a new, level concrete pad, but the sewer hookup must have been put in afterwards as I needed two hoses and a 'slinky ramp' to reach it. Could have pulled our 5er forward and maybe made it with one, but then the landing gear would have been off the pad. Minor inconvenience, but it could have been avoided with a little planning. Never saw anyone in the new office building (with new laundry and showers), but did notice things being finished up. They've a propane ($15 exchange) cage and firewood box, and a lot of brochures, etc. in the new office that no one was ever in. Did catch the host on Sunday morning (think I woke him up!). Maybe next year they'll have someone at the office? Don't know as it's a good deal today at $28 a night, but it's reasonable for $140 a week. If MWR can get everything finished up it could be one of the better CGs for sure.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

June 2013

After the Good Sam rally in Syracuse we went to Fort Drum for 10 days. We checked in on Monday and left 10 days later having never seeing the camp host. The park was little more than scattered pads spread out in a large field. We found this quite satisfying. 30 yards between pads meant no neighbor noises. The Exchange and Commissary were about 10 minutes away. There was a very nice beach area just down the road which was well used by families. We will return the next trip to Up State NY.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: June 12, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

September 2012

First visited last year. Not all amenities available yet but still a decent campground. We're visiting again tomorrow so we'll see what improvements have been made. Some travelers may not appreciate the troops running by in the morning doing their PT but we weren't a bit bothered. And something about hearing Taps at night and Reveille in the morning...awesome!!!

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: May 28, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

May 23rd - 28th, 2013

Parks & Recreation office is now in control of this famcamp. In 2013 the office will open at the campground in the largest building, known as Greer's Palace, with hours 9-9 Mon thru Sunday, closed on federal holidays. We called the 800# and was referred to (315) number. We were assigned spot #8 with credit card information. Went directly to the site. Sites 7-10 are huge. Open fires are permitted. We have never found that on another famcamp. Office has bathrooms, showers & laundry. Price now $28 a night. I wish laundry room had a deep sink between two ($1.50) washers and two ($1) dryers. Dry cycle was quite long. If you are handicapped, the bathroom & showers will be difficult or impossible to use. Seen deer, wild turkeys & geese with their young. No sighting of friendly skunk reported in earlier review. We will return here whenever in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June-September 2012

Stayed in this park all summer. Full hook-up sites accomodated my Class-A completely. Each RV site has a picnic table and fire ring. This campground is brand new and is being rapidly expanded with more RV sites and log cabins with full ammenities. There is no cable TV or internet but I was camping not staying at a hotel. The price of $25 was excellent compared to a commericial/public facility in this region, which averages of $40 to $50 per night. I was told that there is a shower house, restrooms, and huge lodge in the plans and should be fully constructed by the end of summer 2013. Remington Pond, which is actually a lake, is .6 of a mile down the road and hosts a nice beach, docks, boat rentals, bicycle rentals, etc. There are a ton of pavilions for rent for special occasions and smaller pavilions as well. The PX, Commissary, Shoppette, Laundry facility, Burger King, Banks, Class VI Store, etc... are 1.2 miles away from RV Park and are very large. Fort Drum appears to be forever expanding and I believe it has become one of the larger U.S. military installations that I've been to. All of the reservations during my stay were taken care of 24 hrs a day through the Army Lodging Office, however I was told that Army Lodging itself will be privatized on 1 May 2013, and that the Parks & Recreation Office will take over full operations of the RV Park and Campground. Their hours are wierd and seem to more accomodate their employees rather than customers. I am going back for the summer in 2013 so will be sure to post an update.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: January 01, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

Sept 2010

We stayed at this campground and were able to find it rather easily. Loved the quiet nights. Our dog had a ball running around in the grass. We did not use any of the amenities because we were in a class A. Good Dish reception. Excellent dog run, just up the road and looked like everyone picked up. If you like to fish, there is a big lake on post, also a kids and large picnic area. the only problem we had was this is a 20MPH and we got stopped by the MPs for doing 25, ended up with a warning. Turkeys are all over the place, the wife even gave them names, the 3 stooges, etc. Be glad qwhen they finish the expansion.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Sep 26 - Oct 6 2012

Staff at lodge and campground maintenance guy are very friendly and helpful. CG is extremely spacious, quite clean with gravel roads and concrete RV pads, but no wifi or cable and overpriced at $25 per night. There's more than 12 spaces available and they are adding cabins & removing rental trailers. Wild turkeys and deer roam around freely, and the CG is near hiking & bicycling trails. Ft. Drum is very spread out, and there's no PX or Shoppette nearby, but you also are a bit removed from day to day troop movements & etc. (Not a bad thing.) There's a some things to do nearby and a great wine tour out of Watertown as well. We'd only be staying a day or so if we were traveling, but we're spending a 10 days to visit my son, so we've done just about everything there is to do! I've been told the Thousand Islands way to and from Canada is one of the less traveled, so some prefer it over anything east or west. We went to Kingston, ON for a day-trip and spent way less than an hour getting through customs each way. Another note - they told us they close the CG when the weather freezes, not on a set date. This year that may be in January!)

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

Aug 29-Sept 4, 2012

R.F. left this review using the Directory software: - This place has been going crazy. Increasing the price to $ 25.00 & still no facilities. Nothing has changed but, the price goes up.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 06, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

4-6 Aug. 2012

Very clean location and cement pads with full hook up. No real trees as of yet for shade. Close to everything on post and Wal Mart in Watertown about 10 miles. Price is not right its higher.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 28, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0

22 Aug 11

I attempted to make a reservation in August 2011. No sites available. Instead stayed in not so nearby commercial park. When we visited the base noticed there seemed to be several unoccupied rental units in the campground. In fact, 8 of the 12 sites had rental trailers in them. Asked the office if they would move an unoccupied trailer to make room for someone like us calling for a reservation. No. So, at most 4 sites are available for RV owners and info in campground description about moving rentals is incorrect.

Was this review helpful to you? 
29 results - showing 1 - 20  
1 2