Grand Forks AFB FamCamp

Featured
 
4.5 (41)
43281 1 17 0 11

User reviews

16 reviews with 4 stars

41 reviews

 
(23)
 
(16)
 
(2)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.3  (41)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.5  (41)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.2  (41)
Value 
 
4.8  (41)
Overall Experience 
 
4.5  (41)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
16 results - showing 1 - 16
Ordering
July 18 - 21, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We enjoyed our 3-day visit to the base and FamCamp. Real relaxing and quiet. This is one extremely quiet base. We hardly saw any activity going on. The Outdoor Rec staff were very nice and welcoming. They stated the FamCamp never gets full. Even if it did, there's plenty of overflow (dry) and tent spaces. The FamCamp is well taken care of, although the restrooms and showers are getting old. Regardless, they were fairly clean. Laundry is available at the FamCamp with 2 washers for $1.50 and 2 dryers for $1. The exchange and commissary on base are smaller, but have a good variety. We went to the movies and was surprised to see the new movie (Lion King) was released that day ($6). We did have problems with our sewer connection, as my 20' hose wouldn't reach. We just dumped when we left. We saw others who had problems with electric hook-ups and had to go purchase a long 30amp extension. Be aware of the placement of the hook-ups when you select your site. Overall, a very nice visit and we will be back. We even told each other that we'd like to stay here for two weeks next time.
Look at your hook-up placement.
Look at your hook-up placement.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
10 May 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Fam Camp located at the north end of I street, drive as far as you can go, then turn left. Watch the trees that overhang the streets - they are not trimmed back. Wide open fam camp area, mostly grass, gravel sites, very quiet, and very nice. The utilities are located BEHIND the parking spots. Water & electrical no problem. You will need a LONG sewer hose. I found only one site where my 15 ft sewer hose was long enough to reach. Price is $20/nite, or $16/nite if you have the National Park Senior Pass. Weather was chilly, rained a little most days (afternoons), quite windy most days. The BX is quite small. The commissary is on the smaller side, but quite nice. Overall a good experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 1-10 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a small, out of the way place. It is quiet and friendly. The base is small too so if you need to go to the commissary or PX, its a short hop. The nearest population center, Grand Forks, is about 15 miles away. There is a Walmart closer. The biggest down side of the RV area is that the hook-ups are placed weird. There are only a few sites where you won't be challenged trying to hook up to everything. For me, the electric pedestal was a little tough. The sewer connections are smooth bore without a threaded end to secure the hose and there aren't any sand bags or even rocks or branches around to help. Overall, it is a nice little park and your choices in this area are few. The Outdoor Rec folks are pleasant and helpful. I didn't try the USPS General Delivery on base but I think that it is do-able. If you have pets, there is a tick problem. There are also mosquitoes when the wind is down. The contract lawn maintenance seems to come through once a week and they start a little early (8'ish). The laundry room and bathrooms are pretty good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice little Famcamp. Very clean. It was pretty deserted while we were here. Checked in at the Outdoor Rec office. Steve is very nice and was very helpful. They were just opening for the season and CE had not turned on the water in the showers and bathhouse but no big deal. Sites are big. Sites on the north have trees for shade. Some sites have the sewer hook-up on the wrong side so be sure and check. Otherwise it was a perfect place to stay and very easy to get to.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 27-31, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
MOSQUITOS!!!! The bugs were brutal - we could hardly be outside and outside was gorgeous! Paths, paved area in the famcamp - kids wanted to roller blade around the large area, park nearby but the BUGS were terrible. The famcamp was NOT sprayed for mosquitos, so we left with dozens of bites. HOWEVER, the location is good (a little far from everything, but doable), good laundry and book swap facility, nice base with all the amenities - good value, but the bugs kept us inside :( The campground itself was nice; agree with some that the setup is a little wonky with the hookups - having longer hoses is ideal. Good shaded areas, the sites along the main road backup to a sunflower field. Plenty of parking for your tow/toad/boat. Grand Forks doesn't offer a good deal of sightseeing, but provides a nice place to stay for a while and relax [if there are NO BUGS]!!!! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 16-18, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
T.L. left this review using the Directory software: - I enjoyed my stay at grand forks. While here they were doing major repairs to Eielson St, so had to maneuver thru detour which made directions hard to follow.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
August 13th 2011
(Updated: August 15, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The Famcamp is in a nice location on base and the facilities were clean. It did not have WiFi. They will accept National Park Access Pass.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
July 31- Aug 7, 2011
(Updated: August 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
GFAFB FamCamp is a very good value. For $12/night ($6) if you have a Golden Age Pass, it is very much worth it. We arrived when it was relatively full and had to park in an open area with no shade. We moved to a shaded area after a couple of days and it was very nice. The bug sprayers still drive around once a week. Good note on bringing longer cords an sewer hoses. The shaded areas have full hookups, but they are on the (PS) wrong side. Facilities (laundry and restrooms/showers) are very clean. They get serviced every day. Outdoor Rec staff friendly helpful and responsive. Campsites are level, some have campfire rings, some with and with/out shade. Maintenance on the FamCamp is sketchy. The grass gets cut weekly but 2 campsites have water leaks and the base has corrected it after two attempts. The pavement is needing repair because large trucks go through the area from one side of the base to the other. Road repair doesn't seem likely. Not sure about the future of the base. The air planes left in Dec 2010 and the rumor is the the UAV wing is ramping up to go operational with in the next year. Meanwhile, on base housing is being emptied in the older sections. All in all - it worked fine for us. The base commissary and BX are small but adequate and they have a nice 9 hole golf course. We camped in a 40' motor home and would do it again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
July 9 -13, 2011
(Updated: July 18, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice park and the price is the best value for any military campground. With the Golden Passport or Golden Access Pass the daily rate is reduced from $12.00/night to $6.00 night. Access through the Cargo Gate is tricky on the weekends. The Cargo Gate is closed on Saturday and Sunday and is probably closed after working hours. I had to call the base info, who in turn transferred me to base security. I had to wait 20 minutes for someone to open the cargo gate. And then I went through a canine inspection. I would not recommend trying the main gate with a big rig! Showers are clean, campground is clean, the clerks at Outdoor Recreation are friendly but clueless (did not know who emptied the washers/dryers of quarters). They did not have enough change for $10.00 worth of quarters. Mosquitoes are terrible this time of year but they do spray at least once a week. I would have rated the park higher if it had wi-fi and cable TV. I was able to pick up NBC, ABC, CBS and PBS with an antenna (and digital TV).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
25-28 June 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
G.L. left this review using the Directory software: Lots of ticks and mosquitoes this time of year. C130 sprayed the base one afternoon, how's that for service. Southern Saskatchewan and North Dakota having lots of flood problems. The campground is an old housing area, quiet. Great place to stay. Choice of trees or open area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
24 July 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
For a BRAC listed base Grand Forks has a lot going on. Most of the base facilities appeared to be near new and in excellent condition. The BX and Commissary are top notch. The FamCamp is located in a quiet area with great facilities. Restrooms with showers and a laundry room just for FamCamp residents. Pretty popular as it was near full when we were there. A very good value even without the Golden Age Passport.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
April 9, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
V.W. left this review using the Directory software: Stayed here a couple weeks before it was open for the season, so only had electricity. Sites were a little soggy, but no big problem. Roads in and around are all paved, so little chance of getting stuck. The pads are hard packed gravel, but we didn't haven any problems despite melting snow and an occasional rain shower. Nice little BX and commissary. Friendly people. GFAFB used to be a major SAC base and has lots of relatively new facilities and is well maintained. The base is now in BRAC status and winding down. Rumors of a UAV squadron coming in but may be operated by the Fargo Air Guard. Not sure what the future holds for this base, but it's a nice place to stay while it's still open. Bring long W/E/S connections. It appears this is a converted mobile home park, so power etc is a long way away. We'll be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June - August 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
W.W. left this review using the Directory software: Great deal even without the Golden Age $6 rate. Well kept. No on-site host but rec center is not too far away. Just set up and then go check in at the rec center. The campground is organized into two sections: one is in open area near the bath/laundry bldg, while the other backs up to the perimeter fence and has shade trees interspersed among the sites. Some of these sites can get muddy with rain. It has been said that the connections are "on the wrong side or "far away". This is true for most of the perimeter line sites (but can be overcome on most sites). Connections for the sites in the open main area are nearby and on the correct side.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Aug. 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
W.L. left this review using the Directory software: MWR personnel are very nice and helpful. This is a good base to stay if you want peace and quiet.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
5 Aug - 2 Sep 08
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a nice campground. Looks like it used to be a trailer park, then converted to a FamCamp. Like stated below, make sure you have extension cords, plus 25 - 30 foot sewer hose. This is a quiet Campground, never more than half full at anyone time. There is great laundry facility that is located next to the car wash. Much nicer than the one at the FampCamp, plus cheaper. They have a Greenway downtown, it is a 26 miles bike/walk/roller blade path. We will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
June 22, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just an overnight. nice quiet campground. Gate guard not the friendliest. She told me I had the wrong gate (main gate) and should have used the one off US2. I never saw another gate. Other than that, no problems and staff at MWR very nice.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
16 results - showing 1 - 16