Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

New
 
3.8 (141)
135001 0 15 1 40

User reviews

41 reviews with 5 stars

141 reviews

 
(41)
 
(52)
 
(31)
 
(15)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.1  (141)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (141)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (141)
Value 
 
3.7  (141)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (141)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
41 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
26 May 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We almost did not come here because of some of the earlier negative reviews.  We're glad we came, this is now a great Famcamp.  We reserved and paid over the phone a couple of months in advance, so no additional check-in needed.  The camp host met us at our site as we pulled in and helped us position. She saw our dogs and pointed out the dog bag/waste station locations and showed Cheryl good walking areas. Our pull-through site (16) was level and long enough for our 40' MH and towed car without unhooking.  Electric and sewer fine, water pressure a little low, but acceptable.  The campground and surrounding recreational areas are well-maintained.  We'll definitely return to this Famcamp when visiting the Museum of the Air Force.  There were only two negatives.  1. A few days before our stay, Rec Services called and explained they were re-working site assignments to fit more folks in over Memorial Day weekend.  Asked if we'd be willing to change to a back-in site.  I explained we were there for a one-night stay and had specifically reserved a pull-through so we would not have to unhook our car.  Young man said OK and confirmed we'd be in a pull-through as reserved/paid.  I count this as a negative versus a positive because our stay was before the holiday rush and there were a half-dozen empty pull-through sites the night of our stay.
2. Getting through the base to the campground was a nightmare.  We had to come in the main gate.  The guard was very helpful, providing a map and directions to get to the Famcamp. But, just as we were getting to the right turn to go around the flight line, the SPs put a barricade across the road and took off with no indication of what was going on. We did eventually make it to the Famcamp via a tortuous route with low-hanging trees, etc.  The unannounced road closure screwed up the camp host's drive as well - she thought it was for some kind of festival/event.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 3
July 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here a week. We did make reservations in advance. When we got to the campground we found a green cone with our name on it. Found out that the office at Bass Lake is closed and reservations are handled in building 95. While there, the attendant told my husband that some campers moved cones reserved for others and took their sites. Fortunately, that did not happen to us. The other problem we had was with DirecTV. Their coordinates are wrong. It is not 40 degrees, but more like 45 to 48. It is obvious that there have been cut backs on the base. We saw very few planes. We found the campground to be neat and clean.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
1 Aug - 4 Aug 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We called after hours and left a message; called first thing the next morning and made reservations for a pull-thru 50 amp with sewage. They called back later when they checked their phone messages. Going into Gate 26A worked great; the most direct way to the campground. We went directly to the site and set up; good since no one was at the office. Our GPS took us thru gates to get to the Museum of the AF and to gates that were permanently closed on other trips. The power was good (hot and running two ACs). Campground is clean and the bathhouse is well maintained. We stopped by the office several times and never found anyone there. A good place to stay and would definitely stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 15-22, 2013
(Updated: May 25, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We showed up with no reservation on a Wednesday afternoon. Our surprise was that the office at Bass lake was closed for the winter on last Oct 21. After looking at the map posted on the door, we made our way to building 95, Outdoor Rec, on the main part of the base. The cargo trailer with the "Rent Me!" sign made it easy to locate. The cost was $125 whether it was for 5/6/7 nights. We had only passed through once before years before so we stayed for the week. Since this was the weekend of the ham radio convention that 25,000 people attend in Dayton, we expected only dry camping at the most. We were given a pull through. There were many back-ins available with sewer and more than a dozen w/e overflow available. By looking for antennas we found three other ham couples there to attend the convention. The famcamp was well maintained, and the grass mowed while we were there. We found no wifi at the camp so we located the library in the Kitty Hawk area, the smallest we have found on any installation but it had both computers and wifi, in the area of the BX, Commissary & Gas station. It was a surprise to us to learn that the gate by this area also had a 24hr gate which makes eating at restaurants on Fairborn's Main Street easily accessible. The information book maintained in the famcamp laundry room provides several choices. We enjoyed both the convention and the Air Force Museum. If you are crossing the country on I-70, this is a convenient stopover. We will make it a point to stop here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 20, 2012
(Updated: September 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We were not sure of our arrival time so my wife called the lady in the office who informed us that there would be room and about the gate locations and closing time. We managed to enter through Gate 26A and locate the fam camp quite easily. There is a binder in the laundry room with plenty of information. We did not do laundry because 2 of the three washers were not working. After dinner out in town we found our way back from the 24/7 gate. The bathrooms were clean. In the morning the lady from ODR came through the park on her way to the office. She explained how to get to the kitty hawk area where the gas, BX, Commissary & theater are located. The base is in the process of permanently closing highway 444 and incorporating the kitty hawk area into the base design. I think the signs say it will be complete in December. This was our first visit here and we will be coming back in the spring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 2012
(Updated: September 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Overall excellent. I downgraded the facilities because 2 of 3 washers are inop and experience tells me it will be a while before they are fixed. As stated earlier, the manager was great. I got there an hour before the office opened and he was already there. Great attitude and personality. Many probably think the price is too high but fees are going up at military parks just like the commercial parks.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 22-24, 2012
(Updated: August 23, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our first time at this famcamp and it has been wonderful. I called from the road to inquire about available sites and talked to Eric. He couldn't have been more helpful. When I told him we may not be able to make it that far that night he suggested we opt for overflow which has water/electric - all we really needed. That way he wouldn't have to charge our credit card for one night and we wouldn't lose that money if we couldn't make it in. Refreshing to find someone who wasn't just looking to make some money. We arrived one and half hours AFTER the office closed but Eric was still there and welcomed us like we were long lost friends. Couldn't ask for a better office manager. The sites are very nice, each with a small patio. Restrooms are very clean with soap dispensers in each shower and terrific water pressure. I urge anyone who was put off by the previous manager to come back and experience the difference.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
May 2012
(Updated: June 13, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
WOW!! After reading the last reviews, I am shocked to find out that the camp host is so uncooperative and rude. I must not have had the regular host. I was not aware that the CG had WIFI either, but would have sure been nice to know. Perhaps it is time for MWR to find a New Host!!! We go the Commissary and Exchange 1 or 2 times a month and have not had any trouble that is why I rated 5's all the way. We have not had a bad experience at all. I think it still a good value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 14-15 2012
(Updated: May 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Although this campground is off the beat and path, it was clean and the host was very polite. The exchange is on another section of the base, however, it is still a nice campground. Bass Lake was beautiful and clean. We enjoyed staying there and will go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
August, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great campground with full hookups. Staff was excellent. Though on the far end of the base a gate is close by, but only open from 6am to 6pm Mon-Fri. After hours and weekends you have to drive through the base. Great location when visiting the Dayton area and the Air Force Museum.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 2 - 6, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We called a day before we arrived and were called back within an hour. The assignment of spaces seems a little on the awkward side and we were assigned an occupied space first. This was fixed out quickly and after I connected the water with the help of a neighbor everything went fine. One of the Dryers was not working properly and we were told after we paid for it that you could use it without putting money in it. We spent 4 days in the museum and had a great visit. There are stores near the museum and places to eat. A very enjoyable stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec 16 - 22, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Excellent park. Very nice location with decent size sites. Access in/out is basically one way but easy to deal with. The only draw back is the lack of water pressure. The bath house and laundry room are clean and well maintained. We will be staying at this park again next spring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
3-5 Jun 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This FAMCAMP is way out in the boonies, great location. Although the base is a bit disjointed, had to go through two gates to get to BX and Commissary. The facilities were very nice, grounds were well maintained, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Access to sites was big rig friendly. We stayed in the overflow, no sewer, and found it just as nice as the full hookup sites. We were parked right next to the shower/laundry facilities. Security mad patrols runs through the camp which was comforting. Easy access to the Air Force Museum and Dayton (which we didn't have time to visit). Will definitely be staying here again when we visit Ohio again.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
June 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Have visited this Fam-camp in the past and found if very nice. planning on stopping again so was reading some of the reviews. it seems the biggest complaint is the price. I see the price now is $22. w/water sewer and electric. I have camped all over the midwest and south and can tell you this is cheap. Well i guess it is cheap is you are a WalMart camper. With things the way they are now in this economy lets enjoy the fact that it is only $22.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Oct 15, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Called ahead to make Reservations, not needed plenty of room, very nice FamCamp, attendant was nice and friendly, gave us a pad between two occupied pads, when we got to our pad a vehicle was setting on it, called the office and the attendant came right away in a golf cart to see what was going on, seems the gentlemen on the next pad just parked his truck there because it was empty, moved it right away, no problems.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
11-18 Aug 2008
(Updated: August 23, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Very nice facility on a huge Air Force Base. If arriving during the week, make sure to use the gate off of Rt 235 since it was a hassle coming in gate 12A and driving through this whole section of the base. The gate guard did give us good directions but it is about 5 miles in. Very nice spots, well kept up. Deer came out of the woods across the road and groundhogs were around to watch everyday. If you like to sleep in, reveille (sp) might get you going at 7:30 each weekday. Please remember to stop what you are doing and pay respect at retreat in the afternoon. Surprising how many retired military ignored this. Overall a great value in an area with lots to do.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
June 28-29 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I arrived without reservations on a Saturday. The office clerk fussed and fretted to find a spot I could have for two days. I finally realized she was hesitant to send me to the overflow area (power and water, no sewer). I assured her that was just fine, I could dump on the way out. The sites have good view of the southern sky for satellite acquisition. Verizon air card for my notebook picked up a good signal.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
September 26 - October 1, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We made reservations and had to pay up front (with credit card on phone). We have to get used to doing it this way as more and more campgrounds are asking to get paid at time reservation is made. We have stayed here 8 times and can't complain about too much. It's close to the runway but this is an Air Force base so it's expected that airplanes might be close. The laundry is small with dial up available there. I agree with previous reviewer that they could use part of that large office for a lounge with computer hookups or WiFi. Air Force Museum is great and free! We plan to stay there many more times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Oct. 25-26, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed two nights and found everything very accommodating. We were able to connect to the internet because we have purchased a wireless plan through Verizon that lets us connect wherever we are, independent of any facility's wi-fi access. We limited ourselves on this trip and did not visit the museum but look forward to that on our next stop there. We did visit the TriCare office inside the medical facility and were able to work through some questions we had. Each person with whom we had contact, from the staff at the gates to the campground to the medical facility, was extremely helpful and courteous and friendly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
August 29 and September 4 and 5, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Level, paved sites. The grounds are meticulously manicured. Staff is friendly and professional. We enjoyed our stay and the opportunity to visit the museum. Definitely and destination when in the Dayton area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
41 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3