Wright-Patterson AFB Bass Lake FamCamp

New
 
3.8 (141)
134601 0 15 1 40

User reviews

51 reviews with 4 stars

141 reviews

 
(41)
 
(52)
 
(31)
 
(15)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
4.1  (141)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.8  (141)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.4  (141)
Value 
 
3.7  (141)
Overall Experience 
 
3.8  (141)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
51 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The previous reply must have a beef with new management or someone. This place has improved tremendously since Larry and Vicki took over managing it. Slowly improving things. New electric posts at sites, not all done yet. New picinic tables at all sites, no more concrete benches and tables. All sites have new posts with boxes that they put the name of Reservation and check in, check out. WIFI has improved greatly from 2 years ago, yes it could be better, but it's better than most campgrounds we have stayed at, might need an extender to pick up the signal better. The price of $25 is still good, Famcamps nationwide have been raising their rates and this one is still better than some of the others that are $30 to $35. Private RV parks are in the $40-50 range now. I don't remember anyone managing this campground in the past, I think some people became self appointed managers and if I remember correct, created some of the problems. Homesteading doesn't appear to be as bad as it was in the past. The grass and campground was in shambles 4 or 5 years ago. It has come along way since. Most sites are level, some will pool water during heavy rains. Electric and bathrooms are good. Also, no all Famcamps have dog runs or playgrounds. This place is great for the Museum and area and price is right. Reservations recommended. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
Feb 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The sites are ok, not the most levelest as water can pundle if u have one of those site and days. The week I stayed Dayton broke its coldest temp, new one is -7. That being said the water did freeze up, if I would have had enough water in my tank i would have been fine. I just used the bath house which was very clean. On my site I never did get water so I ran hose over to the next site, which was working, I believe my water handle was inop, no biggy. Getting on base can be tricky, just use main gate off. 444 and Chidlaw Rd,which enters the base, next look for Mitchell Rd and Riverview Rd, you’ll see the campers from there. Reading directions can be confusing so just find these points and use ur google map.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Aug 14, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is truly a HIDDEN GEM......Once we got to the base, we drove around for an hour looking for family camp. Recommendation.... raise the rates a couple bucks and buy a couple signs to put out on the road to guide people in. The facilities are outstanding...……………………. Once people find you. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 1
July 1, 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
$25 FHU $22 electric and water only – both offer concrete slab, picnic table, WiFi Pros: Easy check in process – names are on reserved sites if arriving after hours Laundry available ($1 wash/.50 dry- fastest/hottest dryer on earth) Temperature controlled bathrooms are very clean WiFi service is pretty good at sites Slabs are level Camphosts were welcoming and helpful Some shade trees throughout park (sites 1-12 have the most shade) Cons: No swimming is allowed in the attached lake We had to shift sites while staying due to reservations already made – apparently it’s a pretty normal experience for those staying at this CG – not a big deal for us but leads to people asking what time you will be leaving as they need to move into your spot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
9 - 12 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A few changes in access gates, Gate 26A is closed. A new gate is being constructed about a mile further on Route 235, not sure when it will open. We entered through gate 12A and followed Spruce Way to Skeel Ave. Skeel follows the flight line so turn toward the right from Spruce Way then take the left at the “Y” in the road. Follow Skeel around the airfield, it will become Loop Rd, after passing the closed gate (Gate 26) take the right at the “Y” intersection. Follow this road until you pass the brown sign on the left. The next left is the FamCamp. If you are in the sites without sewer hook-up you have to drive all the way through the park, past the dump station and back to the entrance road to be able to back into one of the sites. We have a 45 foot coach so I dropped our Jeep and turned around in a wide area past my assigned site. We missed the information about the non-sewer site we were assigned to and it was too late to change when we arrived, all of the full hook-ups were reserved. The cost for the sites without sewer is $22 vs $25 for full hook-up sites. Nice Park with a great camp Host. We did not have to check in at the office, we had pre-paid and had our site assigned. The route through the Base is not well marked. The GPS has led me to closed gates more than once, not totally unexpected. Great area with the best Air Museum I have visited so far. John and Barbara, 45’ Entegra, Aspire with a Jeep Wrangler 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 5
September 2016
(Updated: September 30, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Agree with the below comments. This place has improved. Stopped back in here for a few days. Even noticed improvements since last visit. MWR needs to be reminded that only paid employees are authorized to handle/process credit card info and personal information. Being real polite saying that. Otherwise the place is one heck of an improvement over years ago.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 53 10
August 31 thru September 18, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We have stayed here several times over the past few years, as this RV park is located close to family. By far, this was the best visit that we have ever had, as overall management has improved dramatically. The RV sites are level and concrete. The access roads are paved, the hookups are good, the grounds are well-maintained, and the WiFi is good. The only two negative comments that I would have are in regards to the reservations system and recycling. There is still a disconnect between the folks who take reservations and the camp hosts. I changed my reservation several days prior to arrival and that change did not get communicated to the camp hosts. When I arrived, my site had almost been given away to someone else (which would not have been good since the FamCamp was filled to capacity). Also, there is no recycling on site. Adding this amenity would be helpful. Regardless, we would definitely stay here again when we are in the area, especially given the management improvements.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 19 2
September 11-14 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Highly recommend arriving during the week as the gate nearest the campground is closed on the week-ends. Also recommend downloading the map as this makes it much easier to find your way around. The campground was very clean and we were greeted by the camp host upon arrival (Sunday) and they even had a pot luck dinner that day of ribs etc. We didn't bring a pass around but there was lots of food there and meeting other campers was very nice. They don't seem to have a lot of scheduled activities, games, etc even though there is a very nice rec hall. Maybe we just didn't stay long enough to get involved. The best part of the trip is the Museum where they just opened up the fourth building this year and it is very much worth the trip. You can go aboard Air Force One (older one) and the Space Shuttle, which is part original and part made up to be full scale. Highly recommend several days to take this all in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 14 5
June 2016
(Updated: August 05, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
MS Phillips good comments. Agree The host is great. When we were there the guy in 5th wheel and guy in Airstream were working hard. Both are campers. Not MWR staff. Between those two and a few others they have done wonders for the place. Only complaint we have is the mowers need to learn to blow AWAY from RVs. EVERY TIME THEY MOW -- BLOW AWAY FROM THE RVs. Other complaint is one or two people brought their dogs into the laundry room. They know who they are and they know better. Yes a system needs to be set up for comments to the command. We were told by one of the campers that ICE comments were ignored by MWR at WP. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 35 2
June 2016
(Updated: July 06, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Do not give MWR ODR any credit for improvements made to the WP FamCamp!!!! The place is cleaned up solely because of the volunteers. Especially the guy in 5th wheel space #12, the host and the little guy in the overflow area. They mowed, cleaned, did flower beds and more. And other volunteers as well have done lots there. If it left up to MWR to get things done at the Fam Camp it will not get done. Office does not answer phone calls. The phone rings at MWR while employees are chatting about nonsense non related work issues. It is an exceptional thing when they do answer the phone or return your phone call. This MWR is the most poorly managed and ran of all MWRs that we have seen. Go out of your way to get a receipt for any transaction done by the office. Check the receipt ODR gives you. The ODR office cannot manage the place. MWR has no idea how to run a Fam Camp. The host is doing a wonderful job. She did so much as a volunteer before getting the job as host. Pray she does not leave. She is a blessing to the place. She is wonderful to deal with. Very very helpful. and a hard worker. Be careful what you wish for about kicking the homesteaders out of Fam Camps. A few of them do a super good job of helping out. They are friendly and helpful. They do not get paid and do not get free rent. Who will do all of this when they leave? No one! We are at McChord now. The homesteads were kicked out here. Something about not following the AFI. Now there is only one lady (Amanda) in the office and Maggie part time. Who we believe is just helping out. The former manager (Ron) was let go over the homesteader issue. 15 homesteaders were booted out. Including Roy. Roy and others did much for the FamCamp at McChord. Now who is going to do it? Roy used to work till 9 or 10 pm working and doing things at the park. Ron went above and beyond his duties and did so much for the place. Now no one will be there to do all the extra work Roy, Ron and volunteers did. So, based upon what we have seen at McChord, if the volunteers and the host leave Wright Pat Fam Camp the place will be in bad shape again. The homesteaders at WP are friendly and helpful. Only complaint we have is the mowers need to exhaust the mower away from RVs. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 31 2
4-7 June, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We called for reservations and paid over the phone. We just parked in our site when we arrived without having to check in with anyone. Stayed 4 nights in overflow which is the first row of back-ins facing the street as you enter the park. Overflow has 50 amps and water. There's a dump station. Restrooms and shower were cleaned regularly. Small laundry room and cheap - $1 to wash, 50 cents to dry. WiFi is pretty weak. Our site was long and level. No shade. Grass was cut regularly. Met the camp host who was super helpful. She was always busy doing something outside, very visible, often escorting new arrivals to their site. Water pressure was very low. All the full hook up sites and pull thrus were taken or reserved while we were there, most for longer than two weeks. The park is on base but not close to much. I'd stay again for a day or two but not worth it to me for any longer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 12
MAY 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
New Camp Host is doing a great job. Outdoor Rec. office personnel have not got a clue.  Phone calls to them go to the answering machine and they don't return your calls.  When you do get a person, they put you get put on hold for a long period of time before they help you.  WIFI is still a problem...very slow to none.  Over all the Park is very nice, and well maintained. 
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 12
May 2016
(Updated: July 13, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Wow what an improvement at the Wright Patterson Fam Camp!  Stopped in there to visit someone who was staying there. Host is doing a great job!  Very helpful.  Few homesteaders help daily cleaning the place up. This place has turned around in the last two years or so. The drop box for paying will soon be moved to the laundry room.  That will save the walk/drive over to the lodge (where the drop box is now located at). Word is they will be upgrading the WIFI.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 6
Sep 8-15 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First visit to this Famcamp and it was enjoyable. The park was well kept and clean. Didn't experience any of the "host" problems others have spoken of. There was a gentleman, Nick, that meet us as we arrived and escorted us to our site. Someone was in our assigned site and Nick immediately called Outdoor Rec and got us another site. Nick told us that the former host had died in August of cancer and there was a notice in the laundry room about the death of this individual. Nick was very friendly and was seen daily escorting new arrivals to their sites, doing general cleaning, and weed eating around the utility poles for the grass cutter. As far as the campground itself, it is far away from everything. The Wi-Fi is working now in the park, but is very slow. For no more amenities that the park has, the cost is a little high. If we are ever in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay here.
Report this review Comments (3) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 11
Sep 3rd 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Read previous reviews and didn't find some of the problems that others pointed out. The main problem we had was the directions on this web site. We came in the gate 26A and followed the directions to the brown sign. The sign only had in tiny letters Bass Lake with an arrow pointing to the left and FamCamp with an arrow [pointing straight ahead. The other side of the sign which we didn't see had in large letters "FamCamp Sign-IN" and an arrow pointing to the right which you can only see if coming from the other direction. I followed the tiny sign that said FamCamp straight ahead. Going down that road about a quarter mile I then saw a campground off to the left. The sign in front of the campground said "FamCamp Annex". I thought to myself if this was the "FamCamp Annex" there must be a full campground further down the road, WRONG! After following the road for a mile or two I ran into a security patrol and asked him where the FamCamp was. He said to turn around and follow him. Not a fun thing to do with a 5th wheel. I found an intersection large enough to make a three point turn and followed him back to the FamCamp Annex. So, the FamCamp Annex is not an annex it is really the FamCamp. Someone needs to remove the word Annex from the sign and change the other direction sign adding "FamCamp Sign-IN" with an arrow pointing to the left on the gate 26A side of the sign. Although WiFi is advertised it hasn't worked since we have been here. My wife ran into a technician working on it and he seemed pretty positive that it would be working when he was finished. You can connect to the router but the router is not connecting to the Internet. I agree that they shouldn't allow homesteaders taking the best sites. If they allow homesteading they should have specific sites assigned, not the best ones. I also agree a camp host would be useful since the office is across base.
Report this review Comments (2) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 7
Aug. 25-27, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Adequate. Not being familiar with base we went to "B" side accidentally. We lucked out then with Gate 26A, definitely the closest to Famcamp. The layout of base is all cut up I imagine since they had to fence it after 9/11. Small BX and Commissary. Decent golf. Nice museum, but the Quantico Marine one is still our favorite. No reservations and no problem. Just gave CC over phone. Lots of empty spaces the week before Labor Day. We will stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
August 20, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Spent only one night at the beginning of our western tour. Could see the landscaping and road into the campground needed attention but being so far from main base - well out of sight out of mind. Nice site and clean facilities. Homesteaders are either long term AD or some were certainly full timers using WP as northern home base. Very poor markings to get to campground from main gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Aug 29 - 31, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our first at this campsite. Bathrooms clean and freshly painted. Grass was mowed but no weed eating. The pros are the sites are level and full hookups. It was quite. The gate nearest the camp site is only open on the weekdays. On the weekends it's not a real problem getting across the base but it really is a long way away from anything. The cons are there are no camp host, office is so far away and there are problems reaching them on the phone. We really never did check in. We were told what site we had over the phone the day we made the reservations. As long as the office is across the base the camp will be "out of sight, out of mind". There were several homesteaders but there were plenty of open spaces. Saw AF Security Police patrol each night. Will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
July 9-25, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The facility is adequate. There is very low water pressure. The largest problem is communication. The office is a long distance from the rv park (fam camp). It's located in the Outdoor Rec bldg, bldg 95. It is nearly impossible to reach them by phone, because they are too busy to answer it. It took two days to get a call back. When you do get someone on the phone, the service is great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
JULY 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
STAYED ONE NIGHT WHILE TRAVELING THROUGH THE AREA. RV AREA IS NICE & CLEAN - NO COMPLAINTS. NICE SMALL LAKE NEARBY. ON THE CLEANLINESS SIDE IT GETS A 4 OR 5. ON THE HOSPITALITY SIDE IT GETS A 0 OR 1 BECAUSE NO ONE AROUND TO ASK QUESTIONS, PAY OR ANYTHING. I CALLED AND GOT A RECORDING /LEFT MESSAGE AND GOT A CALL BACK. MADE A RESERVATION ON CALL BACK. I WOULD STAY AGAIN WITHOUT HESITATION BUT OFFICE SHOULD BE MORE ACCESSIBLE. I DIDN'T NOTICE ANY LONG-TERMERS AND EVERYONE STAYING THERE WAS NICE AND FRIENDLY. MILITARY WORKING DOG KENNEL NEXT TO SITES BUT NO BARKING OR PROBLEMS. MILITARY POLICE PATROLLED AT LEAST 2 TIMES PER DAY.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
51 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3