Foster Creek RV Park and Villas

 
4.3 (111)
115882 1 18 0 50

User reviews

111 reviews

 
(68)
 
(26)
 
(6)
 
(8)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.5  (111)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (111)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (111)
Value 
 
4.4  (111)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (111)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
111 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
3 April 19
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This is the poorest excuse for a campground by far the worst I have stayed at. My site along with others turn into a swampy mud hole when it rains. The bathroom / laundry room is virtually a closet with 3 washers & 3 dryers no room for 2 patrons at the same time. The deck out side this area is rotting and falling apart it needs to be condemned. The MWR Park Manager lives in the campground and her residence looks pretty run down as well. Either the manager does not care or is not capable or lacks the backing of MWR Officer. If you are looking for a nice place this is not it. In my opinion MWR is taking the profits from the campground and using them elsewhere it's obvious they are not reinvesting in the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
2 April 19
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This is a poor excuse for a campground to date the worst I have stayed in. When it rains my site turned in to a swamp water and mud everywhere amoung several others. MWR Campground Manager lives in campground her place looks as run down as the rest of the park. Deck to bath room trailer which also contains a literally a closet with 3 washers 3 dryers no room for more than one person at a time back to the entrance this deck should be condemned if is literly falling a part and rotted. This place needs a person with management skills or MWR just doesn't care about maintaining the campground it appears they are using the revenue from the park for other things and not reinvesting it in the park. This place could be a nice campground with proper management!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
January 2019
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I stayed here on several extended stays. It's terrible as an RV park. Run-down, upkeep and cleaning is nearly non existent. It's ok if you're just looking for a place to park when traveling through the area or here for specific purpose such as visiting a loved one who is stationed here. It's not a destination that is close to any attractions. Closest cities, Goose Creek, North Charleston, nothing to see there and unattractive. Most attractions are at least 1/2 hr away depending on traffic, which is horrendous during commuting times. Oddly enough, the Air Force Base campground, 1/2 hr away, managed by the same upper management, is top notch! Go figure. On the plus side, except for major holidays, rarely full.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We had reservations for January 2018. We made these reservations in November 2017 for a 4 day stay. Who could predict that Charleston would be hit by a snow and ice storm during the time we were scheduled to stay at Foster Creek RV Park. We never made it out of Florida as the roads were to dangerous to travel on as well as Hwy 17 in SC being closed. Not to mention all of the accidents due to icey roads. We called Foster Creek to obtain a refund or even reschedule but they insisted on no refunds. There was no way of us knowing 30 days out that a snow storm was approaching. With that type of situation, snow and ice storm, I believe their policy should be changed and allow users to obtain a full refund under those types of circumstances. Sure it was only $88 dollars buy my point is that the reason for the impromptu cancellation was not anything we could control. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
May 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Stay at this facility every year, as it is close to downtown Charleston and very reasonable price. I am writing this review based on my current reservation. I made the reservations well in advance during our 6 month RV adventure and wanted to stop at Foster Creek since it would be our last stop from Florida to our home in Virginia. My sister was recently hospitalized due to serious health issues and what appeared to be a short stint in the hospital followed by Home nursing care, turned out to be a longer than expected hospital stay. This would require us to cancel our reservation and when the day came make a bee line back to Bassett, VA. The facility charges you up front for the total stay and states that there will be no refunds, no situations will be taken. I find it atrocious that this facility has this "No refund for any reason policy" We will be out our money and that is too bad. We have travel in our RV about 6 months/year sin 2013 and cannot recall 1. Any Park (civilian or military) that charges you upfront for your stay, 2. Has a cancellation policy that keeps the total charge. This needs to be reviewed. For a park that is not up to par with other Military Campgrounds, what is going on????? This posting is a warning to those looking forward to making reservation. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Please people give an honest review so those of us that can not visit ahead will have a real idea of where we are going .I have nothing good to say about this park or the manager so I will say nothing at all .
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
April 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
The overall location is good. The park is in dire need of clean-up. The camp host is friendly but his site could use some clean up also. The bathrooms are pretty dirty and laundry facilities are in need of repair and a good cleaning. Wifi works well.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Aug 1,2017
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Location 
 
1.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
I never wanted to stay there, but I have been there. It is a horrible place, nothing maintained, nothing kept clean. The small basketball court needs to have all the weeds cleaned out. There is nothing there, how can this place have a high rating? They will not put any money into the place because the host will not keep up the appearance. It was an old mobile home park, and not designed as a campground. Plenty of room, no security, and a lot of long term people who's places look like the ghetto.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
April 10 - 24 , 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed on site 5, outstanding CG. The host does a great job very professional BZ No laundry ,awaiting new machines went outside to new laundry mat great base and location to Charleston .We will return again An excellent experience.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 2017
(Updated: April 24, 2017)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I must say things must have improved since the last review in 2016. We stayed at Foster Creek in a 43ft 5th wheel. There was plenty of room and enough space between sites. Doc the host met us and was a great help. We especially appreciated Doc inviting us to the Friday night dinner at the local Fleet Reserve Association facility. About 20 folks from the park went and it was a great time. At $22 a night, the prices were very reasonable with Charleston being so close. And the Wifi was great. It wasn't overly fast but worked well enough for cruising the web. We didn't use the washrooms or laundry as we have our own. However we heard the washers were not working. The park is very clean but needs to be mowed more often. There's plenty pf space to walk your dogs too. We would definitely stay again next time we're in the area. Thanks Doc!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 25-27, 2016
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed at the Foster Creek Villas with our kids while visiting the Charleston area. The rooms look like old base housing. They were spacious, but pretty run down. There's no housekeeping on a daily basis, but we did get complimentary coffee. There is laundry in the unit. No soaps or shampoos. We were there two nights and never could get Wi-Fi. Drove all over the base, but couldn't get it anywhere. That was frustrating mainly because there isn't any base guide or printouts to tell you what the hours are of things on site, like the comm and NEX. For the sites we visited, I used the data on my phone, but it's not unlimited, so didn't use that much. Be careful about your trash. Critters got into our trash can overnight and we had a mess to clean up. (It wasn't even our trash!) Good rates. We only paid $99 a night for a four bedroom unit. That's great for a big family. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I enjoyed our stay. We found that we did not feel crowded. We have a 39.5 foot 5 slide Montana, being a large unit we could end up in some tight sites. Plenty of room here. Short ride to Charleston. Base facilities were very close. there were reasonable and common campground rules. Camp host (Doc) was easy going nice (Even for an even numbered Chief! Love ya Doc!) and introduced himself personally. Took time to site down with us in our unit, give us info, explain rules and answer questions. We saw him again during the week around the campground and was greeted always with a smile and a wave. We're going back this year for my sons graduation from Nuclear Power School. We're looking forward to our next stay. Eric
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Jan. 25th to Feb. 22. 2016
(Updated: February 10, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Has been 3 years since we were here and it is always fun to come back to this area as it is so convenient to head into Charleston. I am very impressed with the dog owners living in this community as they are the most respectful of any I have seen at all FamCamps we have stayed at. Amenities and Value I gave a 3 since it cost over $600.00 to stay here this long and you have a site and a picnic table. They moved the laundry and bath house and it is in a white trailer now all the way in the back of the campground. There is a trailer near the laundry/bath house that has some type of business activity that appears to be base related and there is a constant flow of traffic on the road in front of us going back and forth to the trailer during the day. We are in site #10 and when it rains the ground on the passenger side of the RV gets flooded and #9 is the same way so avoid them if possible. Be sure you visit the Citadel and on Fridays at 3:45 they have the Review Parade. Summerville is a wonderful town to visit also as shopping and dining places are numerous. As always Doc is top notch and he is key to keeping this a happy place to stay.  New Note 2/10/16  All RV sites are scheduled to be repaved sometime in 2017 and it will be one paved site not the 2 narrow strips for the RV and pad for table as it is now.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
DEC 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Easy access/No Gates. The NEX,commissary, gas station, and ITT are close by and easily accessible. Doc, the camp host was extremely knowledgeable of the area and great to work with. He greeted us when we arrived and answered our questions. Will Stay again! Definitely Recommend. Did not have cable, however was able to pickup several local channels with antenna. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 2015
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We requested a site good for satellite when we made the reservation several months ago. Upon arrival we discovered that the site assigned was not good for satellite and had trees that would scratch our slideouts when deployed. Person in the office moved us to another site-- even less likely for satellite. Manager said that the first she heard of the tree and satellite problems was from me-- and that was because no one had ever complained before. REALLY????   Issues: 1. Many of the transient sites have trees, i.e. no satellite use. 2. Many sites flood during rain- and remain flooded for days following rain. Several long-termers indicated that mosquitoes are menacing during summer because there often is standing water. 3. Fire ant hills are pervasive. Five on our site alone. Again, long-termers stated that they have been a problem for a long time. These pose a potentially deadly risk to anyone who is allergic. Overall, the most poorly maintained military campground we have stayed at in over eight years of full-timing. If we return to Charleston we will stay at a civilian campground instead of fighting the lack of maintenance, insects and water. Hopefully we won't have to wade to our car and dodge fire ants.  RECOMMENDATION: Someone in the chain of command should step up, get the SeaBees or others involved and install french drains at the campsites that flood. The command structure on the base should investigate the overall operation of this campground and take corrective actions as warranted. Our active-duty and retired personnel deserve better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 3
21-31 Oct 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had another nice stay here. Doc, the camp host goes above and beyond to make sure your stay is a pleasant one. I believe he is the best camp host that we have ever had the pleasure of meeting in all of the military campgrounds we have stayed in.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 3, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Yes, most of the sites are long term, but getting reservations presented no problem. This is definitely big rig friendly. The sites are long enough to accommodate a 45' Class A with room in front for one or two vehicles. Amenities at the RV Park are minimal, but base exchange, commissary, gas station, pool, and everything else that you would expect to find on base are easily available. You do have to drive to them as they are spread out, but you don't have to go through a gate! Like everyone says, Doc, the camp host is the best. He was there as soon as we pulled in and made himself available for any questions that we might have. Foster Creek is about 20 miles from downtown Charleston, but the roads to I-26 and I-526 make it easy to get there for sightseeing. Go to the Charleston Visitor's Center, park there and take the free trolly transportation all over downtown. As an added benefit, Camping World is not too far away from the RV park, either.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
May 21, 2015
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed a few days the end of May 2015. Doc is a great host. Nice campground. The downside is it's mostly a mobile home park with so many full timers squatters occupying most of the sites. While they claim 46 sites only about 12 are available for travelers. The remaining nearly 3 dozen sites are full time squatters. They don't let a lot of junk accumulate but it's obvious these people are in here for the long term with the stuff outside. For the squatters I give the 3s for facilities and value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 20-26, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed here while visiting Charleston. The location was close, but still a good 25 minute drive to downtown Charleston. The park itself was great. Doc was quick to greet us as we pulled in and offered assistance for anything we needed. The location was very quiet, had plenty of area to walk dogs and very clean. The site was long enough to fit our 35 ft 5th wheel and 2500 truck with ease. The site also had a paved space next to the rv site for extra vehicles, the picnic table and grill. Power, water and wifi were great, no cable, but we picked up all the channels we needed with our antenna. There are A LOT of fire anthills around the park, so watch where you walk your pets and spray around your site if you have issues. The weather was cool and rainy most of our stay, so we had no issues with ants around our site. The park is outside of the Naval Weapons Station gate, so no ID required to enter, but you will need to show it to Doc upon arrival. The laundry was small, only two washers and three dryers, but the NEX does have a laundry facility with $1.00 per wash and $.75 for 30 minutes dry time. It would have been nice to be a little closer to downtown, but all in all a great location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
02-07 October 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
It's all about location, location, location! In 20-30 minutes or less you can see a lot. Doc the camp host very friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hurt for him to clean up the area round his site. The park was a former mobile home park. One section of the park is for long term. Sites are large, place is quiet. Grass was overgrown. Contract crew showed up the morning we left to mow the grass. Beware of fire ants! Visit ITT/MWR office for discount tickets and tourist info. Laundry is very dirty. In my opinion it should be demolished and rebuilt. If in the area would stay here again. The sign for "Deke Giles St" is missing, turn left at the traffic light just past the NEX.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
111 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4 5 6