Foster Creek RV Park and Villas

 
4.3 (112)
118113 1 18 0 50

User reviews

112 reviews

 
(69)
 
(26)
 
(6)
 
(8)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.5  (112)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (112)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0  (112)
Value 
 
4.4  (112)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (112)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
112 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
1-4 September 2011
(Updated: September 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our fourth stay at Foster Creek, and it continues to be a great value and a wonderful base for exploring Charleston. The campground was very clean and orderly, and the host couldn't have been more helpful. There are many homesteaders who have pretty permanent setups that seem to violate the campground rules that we received on check-in, but we have not had any difficulty getting reservations as long as we call a couple of weeks in advance. We will continue to stay here whenever we come to Charleston.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Septmber 15-18, 2011
(Updated: September 23, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great place to stay! Foster Creeks convenient location to nearby Charleston and historic sites like Fort Sumpter (where the Civil war began) makes this a perfect place to land. One drawback to this park is the large number of "semi permanent" residents, which causes a long waiting list to get a site here. Reservations must be made well in advance. I would like to see limits placed on these long term RVers so that weekenders and short time campers and travelers can get a site here, and not be squeezed out by the folks who spend months at a time here. Campgrounds were very quiet, and peaceful. Be aware that base security conducts vehicle/ID checks randomly as you enter the MenRiv housing area enroute to the RV Park, so make sure you have proper DOD ID with you at all times, including passengers. Campgrounds were immaculate, grounds were well manicured, facilities clean. Camp host is friendly and helpful for the most part, but isn't prepared to solve any real issues. Campground Manager, however, was spot on helpful to resolve any and all issues anyone had. Roof mounted satellite TV RV's should stay away from sites 1, 2 and possibly 3, as large pine trees will block signals. NEX Gas station prices were the same as those off base, so do not expect and savings there, and be aware that the gas station overhead is very low, just a bit over 12 feet. The personnel at the ITT center are very helpful and there are many deals on tickets available for the Charleston area. Make this one of your "must to go to spots". Navy Exchange is conveniently located as you exit the housing area, and the Commissary is not far down the road. Absolutely no firearms are allowed in the Foster Creek Campground, or anywhere on the base for that matter. We very much enjoyed our 4 day stay at Foster Creek, and will be returning to enjoy this campgrounds again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 14 - 19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.M. left this review using the Directory software: A nice & convenient campground. We didn't use any campground facilities so can't comment on them. Camp host was on site and friendly and got us situated right away. No problem with satellite access. The campground is NOT in a secured area nor are most of the NEX facilities; neither is the commissary. One final note: the NEX gas station has a lower than normal overhang - if your rig is more than 12'2" WATCH OUT.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 14-19, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
P.M. left this review using the Directory software: Nice RV Park, cordial camp host, quiet, neat. NEX laundry was $1.00 for wash and about $1.00 for total drying time. The NEX gas station has an overhang of about 12'4" - we cleared it by maybe 2 " TOPS. BE VERY CAREFUL when re-fueling here. RV Park is NOT in a secured area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
May 1 through May 31, 2011
(Updated: June 03, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Foster Creek during the month of May 2011. As full-time RVers, we consider this RV campground to be excellent. While we were very close to the campers next to us, there was nothing we or campground management could do about that since it was a mobile home park in days gone by. In fact, another visitor, who was staying in the Foster Creek Villas, walked over to our site and told us that when he was in the Navy, he and his family lived on our site in a mobile home a long time ago. We thought that was interesting. We found the other campers very friendly. It would be nice to have more sites available for campers and less for permanent campers. We were very surprised to see so many RVers moving from site to site ... don't really know why. But, all-in-all, we had fun and would recommend it to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 26 2011 - June 1 2011
(Updated: May 29, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We stayed at Fosters Creek over the Memorial Day weekend while visiting our son who is in Navy Nuclear Power School at the Naval Weapons station. The campground is very conveniently located for us when visiting him, and access to the base facilities is great. The campground is very well kept and clean. The Shower/Bath facilities are spotless and very nice. The camp host was very nice. A few of the "Residents" however, are another matter. There is a large majority of "Squatters" at this RV park. There are only 24 spots for transients (let's call them "Campers"), the remaining 22 sites are occupied on a semi permanent or permanent basis. Many of the "Transient" sites have obviously been occupied for quite a long time (not hard to spot). This normally wouldn't bother me as we had no problem getting a reservation for a holiday weekend (we made the reservation 3 months in advance), but on Sunday our neighbor (one of the residents that had obviously been here for some time) complained that he had been "Listening to our entire conversation" and we had kept him up. Granted we were up talking late under our awning and might have been a little animated, but we are experienced campers and it was not out of hand. We come camping to enjoy spending time with family and friends, not watch TV in our camper. I apologized to him and that's about all I'll say about it. I will be writing the base Commander and MWR about the policies that allow so many of the sites to be occupied permanently. It decreases the opportunity for the active duty folks and people who aren't retired to use the facility. They are the ones that the facility is actually for.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
April 12-16, 2011
(Updated: April 14, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We love this campground. There are 24 sites for transients, the rest are renters by the year, mostly active duty, but some are retired. All you need to do for renting by the year is put your name on the list and as people move out they take the next person on the list. It's a slow process, but a lot of cancellations will make the list go faster. We stayed a week to visit the area of Charleston, SC and surrounding areas. The host was great in telling us the best places to eat and events to attend since it's the 150th year anniversary of the beginning of the civil war. It's a wonderful place to stay, we lucked out in getting a reservation. The laundry is coin operated $1.00 for washers and $.25 for dryers. There are three each. The bathhouse restrooms and showers are very clean. We will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Spring 2011
(Updated: March 08, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really like this RV park and have stayed at it several times (when we've been able to get a reservation). I read some remarks about "homesteaders" and have to admit that I am interested in hearing how the system works because there do seem to be more than several sites occupied by the same people for extended periods of time. I'm guessing some are active duty military, but aside from them, how do other folks get approved to stay for such long periods? If the RV park is monetarily beneficial to the base, maybe some of the land that has been cleared of old housing could be used to enlarge the RV park (and wouldn't an adjoining dog park be wonderful?). With so many baby boomers retiring, those who are RVers and qualified to use base facilities could really enjoy more space availability at Foster Creek. Its such a nice location and winters are mild. My husband and I hope to winter-over at Foster Creek next year if the policy actually allows that. The policy regarding how long RVers can stay needs to be included in the information about Foster Creek on this website to eliminate speculation about nepatism, favoritism, lack of rules, or rules just not being followed. Also, we have interacted with three current/past campground hosts and have found all of them to be friendly and not the least overbearing.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
September 17 - Oct 2nd, 2010
(Updated: October 18, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We found this to be a great location. ITT has plenty of discount tickets for Charleston attractions. The camp host did not greet us, but we found him & asked questions. The grass was very high & when we mentioned it to ITT, we were told it was contracted out & the contractor decided when it needed cutting, but not less than 6" which it was way over in some spots. They did come the next day & cut it. We didn't use the showers but I did look in & they seemed very clean but dated. I did use the dryer for 3 towels. It's 25 cents for 8 minutes & doesn't seem to get all that hot. We did use the laundromat next to the Subway & mini NEX. It was great. Our biggest complaint was that they tend to move you around. We were they 2 weeks & had to move to another spot after a week. Some people had to move after a day or two & they put a large RV on a small site & a small RV on a large site. I really don't think they realize how much trouble it is to move these larger RVs around. Most of the park is used by permanent campers. The commissary & NEX were clean & nice. They have a great fitness center with plenty of equipment.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Sept 24 - Oct. 4, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.O. left this review using the Directory software: As many have stated this is an excellent location to see the sights of Charleston. During my stay the Weapons Station combined with the Air Force base. It has yet to be seen what changes this will bring about. This is a very nice park, the grounds are in excellent condition. The bath house is dated, however, they are in excellent condition and clean. The laundry could use a few more machines as they only have 3 washers and dryers. There is a Coin Laundry available at the exchange mini-store. Would visit again in a heartbeat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Septermber 2010
(Updated: September 16, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Foster Creek, is like coming home to see an old friend. Quit, clean, an friendly neighbors. Big commissary, free movies on the weekends. Close to Charlestown, so much to see and do. And new, 12 more camping spaces, and street lights. The management does read our reviews! Hope to come back many time again. Thank you commander and staff, you should be proud of every one that makes this camp ground a success.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 29, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I agree with some of the other comments about Foster Creek. However, the host had no clue that we were arriving even though we had reservations and a site assignment. The lawn was a foot high in places, and I had to pull the weeds around the sewer opening. The ITT folk told me that they had fired the lawn company, and a new one would be starting "shortly". I hope this is true. Al And Bettie Lee
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
August 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice quiet campground tucked behind base housing. We were met by the camp host who asked about pets and told us to put nothing on the grass, pointed out the bath/laundry house and left us to set up. We are here for 5 nights to see the area and had no trouble getting reservations probably because it is August!! We are surprised at the number of homesteaders vs actual available sites for travelers/tourists. It's a problem at a lot of places but the ratio here seems mighty high. The bath/showers were clean and well cared for! Sites are long and we had no neighbors on the adjacent sites on either side of us, so it was very nice and roomy. Convenient for sightseeing and the usual base facilities (although we haven't found the commissary yet). Would stay again.

Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 17 - Aug 11, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My wife and I had an enjoyable stay while there. The camp is convenient to everything on and off base and only about 30 minutes from the beaches. They do need to review their weapons policy. Weapons are not allowed period. For full time rv,ers this is a real problem. When I asked about hunting and staying at the park I was told that I would have to store weapons off post and could only transport them to the hunting site with no stops on the way. Other than that one complaint our stay there was excellent and we would probably go back again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jul 15, 2010 - Aug 01, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Agree with previous comments about this facility's location and other amenities such as exchange and commissary. This is a "long term" park as the majority of the sites are permanent residents that rent the spots and use this facility as a base to travel and return to. Once you have a "long term" spot it is yours as long as you pay the fees monthly. A word of caution to RV'ers traveling to this site: NO WEAPONS ARE ALLOWED ON THE BASE and the military police have been known to stop and search private vehicles. Even though there is not a gate this is still considered "On Base".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 22nd - 27th, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
While we only stayed for a few days it was great, made reservations over the phone and was given a spot. When we arrived after we got set up the Camp Host stopped by said hello and asked if we had any questions. The spots were long and clean. Every thing was easy to get too, commissary, Nex & ITT. ITT had all the discount tours one could ask for, but check prices sometimes your senior discount is better then the military. Nice laundry and showers. I would stay again but next time longer even in the heat.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
9-13 June, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We really enjoyed our visit to Foster Creek and will return again when it's a little cooler. Although the campground host did not come around to say hi, it was apparent that he has been working to keep this park looking good. The grounds looked well taken care of as did the bathroom facilities. Although the campground is tucked away behind military housing, which is off base, I thought this to be a plus. Secluded behind everything helps keep people from just riding through the campground when they have no business there. Getting to anything in Charleston was a breeze. There are plenty of areas to ride bikes street or mountain as well as good hiking trails. We found everyone we came into contact with to be pleasant and helpful and drivers to be very courteous to bicyclist. ITT has discounted tickets for nearly everything to do in Charleston and is very convenient to the campground. This was a very good value for the price, full hookups and the plus of WIFI. Thanks
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
10 OCT to 17 OCT 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We liked this RV park. Everything seemed to be off base, the RV park, the commissary, the BX, the movie theater, etc but everything is in close proximity. We were not allowed to get a library card at this base. The free movies at the theater was a nice bonus. My husband did NOT have to show his ID, which seemed odd to me, since it's off base. They have a thrift shop, which we visited and I got a massage at the gym complex. We found John to be very nice. He never gave us a long list of rules like previous people have stated. And the grass was mowed. We had no complaints. The laundry room was nice although we didn't use it. The washers were $1 and the dryers were 25 cents per 8 min of drying time. The post office had a sign up saying it was closed due to short staff. VERY odd.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
October 14th to the 17th, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A very nice park. Well maintained concrete padded sites with generous space. The park is outside, but adjacent to, the Base limits so no Gates to deal with.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sept 19th thu 26th 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our second visit, John is a great help. There was a mix up on where we were to be, but John was there to our rescue. Yes, they have sewer, water, elec, washers, dryers, and clean rest room. But no street lights, gets vary dark at night. Paved roads, paved parking spaces, free movies on Thu Fri Sat Sun night. Charleston is only 1/2 hour away, and tickets for most attractions can be bought on base at a great discount. The Air Force base up the road a bit has breakfast and dinner at lower then McDonald prices. I see why so many campers just what to stay. We will be back, and thank you for a great visit.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
112 results - showing 41 - 60
1 2 3 4 5 6