Foster Creek RV Park and Villas

 
4.3 (111)
114561 1 18 0 48

User reviews

111 reviews

 
(68)
 
(26)
 
(6)
 
(8)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.5  (111)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (111)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (111)
Value 
 
4.4  (111)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (111)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
111 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
July 2-5 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here July 2,3,4,5 of this year 2009. Could be a nice place if they would cut the grass and get rid of all the homesteaders. Only a few spaces for people like myself who only wants to stay a few days. Seems as if you are in the know with the park management, you can stay as long as you wish. Other than that the location is perfect and very easy to get in and out of.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
July 8, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our first stay @ Foster Creek and we have thoroughly enjoyed it. John does run a tight ship, but it makes for a pleasant stay. The campground is clean & quiet thanks to him and his management. Our 12 year old grandson is traveling with us for the summer and he had a ball watching the gators! We found the drive to Charleston nice. The roads are easy to navigate, traffic isn't bad and the view is awesome. Lots of sights to see...Ft. Sumter, Boone Hall Plantation, U.S.S. Yorktown, etc. We will be back every chance we get! Thank you John ;-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The park was great....but the drive into Charleston to go to the Yorktown Naval Museum was less than enjoyable..the road was rough and convoluted.....the on base facilities was spread out and to take our granddaughters to the pool required that we pay....whats up with that? It was 102 the two days we were there.....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Enjoyed our visit and would return AND will call ahead for reservations. It was a pleasure this time to have a campground host visible and working there. John was available for questions/help and monitored the rules. Unlike last year we didn't see the host for 3 days and he was across from us. This time we saw John walking the dog(and setting the example of picking up after) or drive thru or around monitoring area. We had a guest drive thru too fast and he let us know-that is okay cuz I hate to be in parks when people do drive thru so fast and no one stops them! Just finished a review for Ft. Hood that we always have to clean up the site when we go in due to cigarette butts and trash bits and dog poop- these grounds are immaculate! Where else can you have Al the alligator for a neighbor across the bridge! Convenient to all areas of Charleston and much better electric service than the Air Force Base. Thanks
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb till present (May 2009)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have something to say about the last comment. I have been here for several months and I have had no problems at this site. As for John (park host) he is only following the rules that comes along with being a Host! All he asks is that you clean up your cig butts and clean up after your animals, if you don't want to follow the rules then go to a site that is filthy and lets you do these things. This campground has repeat guests and they come back because of John, He is like family to all of us. He only has his daughter and son in law here, and his son in law is retired from the Navy after 22 years and has every right to stay here, family or not. Almost everyone in this park are friendly, unlike some of u that think u are high an mighty who won't even raise a finger to say HI. There are people here active duty from 0-6 officers to enlisted personnel who treat us all like regular people regardless of what you for work, this campground is a very nice campground and for the people that complain just by following a few lil rules then don't come back,,,it is people like you that make the world ugly...we are very happy here and with John and I write for all the people at the Foster Creek Park that are happy here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
May 5, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
My wife and I have tried to make reservations here for 3 years, as much as 3 months in advance and were always told the sites were full. We thought this was a very desirable spot because it was in such demand. However, we finally got reservations for 5 days in early May and found out why this camp ground is so busy. This web site states that there are 46 sites with hook ups. In reality they only have 10 spaces to rent because the rest of the park is filled with homesteaders or people using it for storage while in hook ups. It appears that even the camp host (John) has several family members living here. I believe this site should be updated to show only 10 sites for the true traveler. When we arrived I introduced myself to the host and he said do you smoke? I do not want to be cleaning up after you. Then he said do you have any pets? Make sure you pick up after them. He informs me that nothing can be on the grass. No HI, how are you doing, just the rules that I already had in my hands.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
Drive By - April 2009
(Updated: May 20, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Was suppose to stay here for a month. Got to Charleston early so went to Short Stay then I was going to come here for a month. Like I said I WAS!!! Went by the day before we where to come in and found it to be a old mobile home park in the middle of the housing area. Lots of grass and very clean. My wife had to use the facility's so went over to the bath house / Laundry. That's when I met John the camp host. He introduced himself and I did the same. Then John started... "you got a dog" "you have to clean up after it" "you smoke" "do not throw your buts on the ground" "nothing on the grass" "no grills, no satellite dish nothing" So far all I have said to him was my name. Then he went on "Quite hours are at 22:00 and I mean 22:00" "I close the laundry room at 22:00 so if you have laundry in there you can not get it until morning" "And I will be helping you get in to your site" I felt like I did in the early days of my career standing in front of my CO getting a but chewing. But wait I haven't even done anything! I told him that we have camping for several years and we are very aware of the rules and normally leave the site better than we found it. He walked off. We went back to Short Stay and extended for a month. I lost one days rent but was worth the peace of mind.
PLEASE SEE MY COMMENTS IN THE FORM UNDER FOSTER CREEK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 5 - 9, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Since this was a mobile home park, the sites are quite long with plenty of space to park your towed or tow vehicle. Playground areas for children. Paved roads, concrete tracks to park RV, and a concrete/asphalt driveway. Lots of green grass. Located in the Navy housing area away from major roads – quiet. Affordable - $14 for full hookups. Free Wi-Fi. I was across the street from the Wi-Fi antenna so I had a very strong signal but the download speeds were only half of the speeds I had on my Verizon air card. Exchange about 1 mile away, commissary about 1.6 miles away. Everything is off base so you don't have to go through a security gate. The campground is 20 miles from downtown Charleston and the beaches are even further away. Only 10 sites are available for reservations - the rest are rented to long-term residents.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Mar. 17 - 18, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
G.R. left this review using the Directory software: We consider Foster Creek an excellent campground in a great location. Camp Host was there to greet us and assist in backing in. We liked the campground so well that we made return reservations for my ship's reunion in June.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
March 14, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Good value at $14.00/night. No cable but wifi was free. No community space, pay laundry, unlike Kings Bay and Mayport. Only 10 sites available for reservations with all other sites for long term (no limit) and the reserved sites are used for a waiting area for the long term sites. Met one fellow who planned to live there as the cost was so low. No surprise that it is hard to get in! Thought that these campgrounds were for vacationing/recreation and not for cheap living. Met one other fellow who was helpful but he wasn't the host. Why is there no consistency on length of stay across the MWR campgrounds?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
9-10 Feb 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great . What a place. Agree with all the good stuff. John met us as we came in, real nice. Told the rules right away it makes to be a great stay!!! Everyone real nice. CLEAN...Did I mention its real CLEAN. Would recommend it to anyone...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 26-29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
My first stay at a military campground and I am sure I could not have picked a better place. I called in advance for reservations and was assigned a site over he phone, I never met any of the MWR staff and only had a couple of friendly words with the camp host. All the facilities were fabulous. I plan to return again because there is just so much to do and see I did not accomplish everything I wanted to do. I look forward to using this facility again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec. 28th thru Jan. 3rd, 2009 Happy New Year
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Our second stay here and we will be back. As many have said the host John is what we expect all hosts to be. The 10 sites for reservations are about half full and John hopes to set up a few more. The staff in ITT/Outdoor Rec are also personable and helpful. All utilities are excellent and my value would have been a 5 if a social hall was available. The PX here is actually more organized and has a better selection than Charleston AFB, quite surprised. Just a reminder for you Big Riggers out there, make sure you tell them the length of your RV when you call as a couple of the reserve sites cannot accommodate them and some are narrow for four slide outs (this was John speaking) and he knows of what he speaks!
L
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Dec 16, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our first stay here, but it won't be our last. It's a great base for visiting the Charleston area. And you don't even have to go through Base Security to get there! The campground is clean and well maintained. We were at site #8, and we got great Wi-Fi reception. John, the host, was very friendly and helpful. Be careful driving up Pulaski Street through the housing area. It's a 20 mph zone, and the police frequently have radar patrols keeping tabs on traffic.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec 3, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice CG which is very clean and the host is very helpful. There are 3 washers/dryers and 10 LARGE sites for reservations. Commissary and Exchange are close to the CG. The ITT building is about 1/2 mile from the Exchange.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Sep 19-22, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This our second time staying at this campground. We checked in at MWR office and setup on site 1. Never did see the host but thats OK we knew our way around. Seems like a lot of building going on. We asked for site 1 since it was accross from the RV park office to get a better WiFi signal but the WiFi was so poor that we could not get a resonable signal. Other than this we really enjobed our stay.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Aug. 28 to Sept. 24
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I agree that this is the one of the nicest military campground that we have stayed in. The campground host, John, is a true gem and to very helpful. He has just lost his wife two weeks ago and still was so outgoing and helpful. The ladies in the office are of the mind "well we can't help you" or "we only have one space and you will have to move". Then, of course, when you arrive and the campground host is contacted - presto - John says we will get you set and lots of space and we can help you! I don't think the office staff has ever been to the campground! And according to them, there are never cancellations - but we were told that we would have to move, etc. and when we got there there were 6 sites empty and we had our choice! But, the campground is beautiful - lots of trees along the outside and lots of green grass that is kept cut. Great playground for the kids. You can wash your RV and your car! The bathhouse is well maintained and the laundry (2 washers and 2 dryers) is very clean. The base PX and Commissary as well as theater, post office, pool, barber shop and McDonalds are within 1 mile and an easy bike ride. Charleston is about 20 miles south and is easy to get to if you are touring.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
July 5 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is the nicest military campground I visited in a long time it was pouring down rain when we got here and the host came out in the rain to help us park he is the nicest host I have ever met you can call on him any time day or night and he will be their to help he is always walking around the park to check on you and see if ever thing is fine he keeps this camp ground clean his name is john he is a very good person and I hope when I visit again he will be there . Thanks alot.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
August 4-12, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second visit to this campground. Everything was just great. John is the host and could not be more helpful. I made reservations for a couple of nights and we decided to stay a few more nights the ITT could not be more helpful, we did have to move sites (site 3 to site 5) but no big deal. John was right there to help. The camp WiFi worked great and the camp was well maintained. Charleston has a lot to offer and the NEX is almost right on site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jun 28-29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I made a reservation yesterday and arrived to find many campsites available which is quite different from my last visit. The new camp host has made great strides in removing people from the campground who had no or very suspicious connections to the military. The fellow behind me had no reservation and had no trouble getting a site. This might not have happened a few months ago. Charleston is a great town to visit and the price at $14 a night is reasonable. Free wifi is available through out the park. The park is nicely landscaped and well cared for. Our visit was just too short this time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
111 results - showing 61 - 80
1 2 3 4 5 6