Foster Creek RV Park and Villas

 
4.3 (112)
116875 1 18 0 50

User reviews

112 reviews

 
(69)
 
(26)
 
(6)
 
(8)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.5  (112)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (112)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0  (112)
Value 
 
4.4  (112)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (112)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
112 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6
Ordering
Jun 28-29, 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I made a reservation yesterday and arrived to find many campsites available which is quite different from my last visit. The new camp host has made great strides in removing people from the campground who had no or very suspicious connections to the military. The fellow behind me had no reservation and had no trouble getting a site. This might not have happened a few months ago. Charleston is a great town to visit and the price at $14 a night is reasonable. Free wifi is available through out the park. The park is nicely landscaped and well cared for. Our visit was just too short this time.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
4-11 Jun 08
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
P. B. left this review using the Directory software: Agree with other comments about the park, once we found it (gps put us at the other end of base), very clean, quiet but due to the hot weather, electrical system overloaded creating some black outs and a surge. Good WI-FI reception. I requested to stay longer but ITT office says they don't have the space but the camp host said there is space availabile, who do you believe. We will come back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 20, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.W. left this review using the Directory software: We have been to Campground around same time for last 3 years. We are fulltimers and come back each year for physicals and to visit family. Upon arrival this year was baffled by signs on all entry sites stating that sites were rented, camp host came out and ask of we had a reservation, this was a shock since before this year and according to the mil campground book the campground was first come first serve, we did not have a reservation but the host pointed out a site and said he had it rented and we could stay 3 weeks, after geting on site I told him we wanted to stay a month he then said ok (sort of makes you wonder). He also informed us that they no longer honor the golden age pass for 1/2 price discount.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Oct. '07-present
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We have been at Foster Creek since Oct. '07. Yes there are alot of long term campers at the park. Each camper has there own story as to why they are there so long. Alot are ACTIVE DUTY Military who are having houses built or unfortunately due to the housing market are unable to sell their homes. The family with 9 children that moved in have the most well behaved children I have ever seen. Have you ever tried to keep a house clean to sell with 9 children! They have changed the policy that there are 8 sites for reservations only. If you are looking for a long term site and there are none available the park host does what he can to move people around once a site has opened up. He will be more than happy to take your number and contact you when he knows someone is leaving. It is a very friendly park and close to the Commissary, NEX, Gas Station, Gym, and downtown Charleston is a short drive away.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Febuary 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Have to agree with other reviews, about 8 sites for Retired Military travelers, reservations are a must! Other sites are for Home steaders. The new Camp host makes changes to site reservations and move some people around before telling the main office. Very confusing, you wonder who is running the place. Seems they want more long term home steaders as that brings in more steady money. One family moved in with nine kids for long term stay! The Golden Age park card and Military Club card is no longer given a discount. It is close to everything, in cluding North Charleston. It is 100% better than the Air Force FAM Camp at Charleston AFB.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 28 - March 14 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The location is easy to get to Mt. Pleasant & Charleston downtown. There is diesel on the other side of base and so close to commissary and exchange and services. They only recycle aluminum. Make reservations!!! With only a few reservable sites the rest of the others are active duty and mostly homesteading. Most sites are spacious. Would make reservations again in a heartbeat!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
March 17-24
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I found this to be a great campground. It is well organized and very clean and orderly. The camp host met us immediately and was friendly and helpful. We made reservations last Friday and our site was waiting for us when we arrived. The reservations office was very efficient in handling us. The directions were perfect from this website. The wifi is free and fast. I saw no obvious signs of homesteading. This is a fine military campground.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
OK folks, everything I have read about this campground may be true. However, after several unsuccessful attempts to get a reservation in Foster Creek, I made it point to stop by and pay a visit to see what was taking place.....and here is what I learned: There are only "8" sites being made available to folks like me who like to travel. The other 38 spaces are for folks who are making the campground their full time residence! Now this may not be the time or place to address this issue, but there is something drastically wrong when some retirees continue to get rejected only because others make a "recreational" facility their full time home! I promice....More to come on this! Meanwhile, for others who wish to visit historic Charleston and spend a short stay at Foster Creek - GOOD LUCK GETTING IN!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
Decmber 13, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I have never camped at Foster Creek but while we were camped at another campground nearby I decided to drive over to see if there were any vacancies. The web site advertises that they are never full so proceed to the campground, pick out a spot, and then proceed to the Office, which is located at MWR. When we arrived at the campground it was full so I drove over to the Office. The office personnel were very friendly and were just as suprised as I was that the campground was full. I guess, as a result of this website, and word of mouth, that the word has gotten around that this is a great place to camp. The office personnel informed me that they have, in addition to long term sites, added some reserveable sites. I asked them if, in thier opinion, they thought this was going to be the norm...They said that it was probaly snowbirders spending the Christmas holidays at Foster Creek on the way south and that there would probably be sites available after the first of the year. The folks at the office also informed me that they are going to be a lot of changes made to the campground soon, however, she didn't elaborate on what the changes were going to be. Just to be on the safe side the office personnel recommend giving them a call either to make a reservation or check on the availability of the long term sites. It is a really nice campground and well worth visiting.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
1 - 3 November 2007
(Updated: November 18, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The place is a little hard to find, but worth the effort. They are working hard to have this park meet campers needs. I also wonder who thinks that sewage runs uphill? I find this in a lot of parks. They need to take a trip to Eagle Hammock in GA and see how to set up the sewer inlet. Other than that the park is a pleasure to stay at. The camp host is great. The park is well maintained and the WiFi is very high speed. We did some sight seeing in the area and were able to get around once I got my parring. Nice NEX and Commissary not far from the park. I hope they continue to grow the park. With FHUs it is a great place to stay. We will return when in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Nov. 12, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Foster Creek is a "Work In Progress". It is located off base, inside the off base housing area where there used to be a mobile home park. It is close to gas, commissary, exchange, and other ammenities such as bowling alley, hobby shop, outdoor rec, minimart, etc. Since it's being listed last year on this web site, the attendance has gone from 4 RV's last year to Full this year. Of the 46 spaces right now, one is set aside as un-usable, there is no pad, just soft dirt, they hope to have it repaird in the near future. Also there are 12 more sites that are being developed from a storage area, also completion due in hopefully near future. They are trying to accomodate anyone who arrives, but there is no area for dry camping, they just park you where they can. The camp host "Carl" is bending over backwards to do what he can. Reservations are now being taken for 10 of the available spots, however 2 of these spaces are secured by active duty so there are really onle 8 spots. The CG was very clean and they have a new bath/laundry building and a new wifi building. They have plans for a clubhouse, but these are only a vision at this time. We moved to another CG in the area as we were unsure as to when we would get into hookups, however with their ambitions, this place will continue to blossom. It appears that management is happy with the operation and is doing everything to support its growth. Look for more good things to come from this place.
F
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
6-8 Nov 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I'm really very satisfied with our stay. The problem is the finding an open site, and expecting to stay at the that site. In my case it worked out, I wanted three or four nights. The fourth night was already reserved, no indication at the site (#4)that this was so. I found that out when I finally found the ITT building to check in. I could stay, but would have had to move. There were a lot of big rigs , some of them looked like squatters for the duration. The other problem, though minor, was that the dump access at my sight (and others) was a good six inches above the grade of the driveway. I already have a low sewer outlet on my trailer, so the going up hill had to be overcome with boards and 4 x 4.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Oct. 8-15, 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
R.A. left this review using the Directory software: Excellent RV park. Came in on Holiday, found a empty spot, set up and was visited by the camp Host. Said I could check in with MWR the next day after 11:00AM. He gave me some Tourist info and local maps. Facility is old Mobile Home park and is great with 50amps, water,sewer, picnic table and BBQ pit. Great rest rooms and showers. Very quiet place, but lots to do like visiting Charleston, Fort Sumter and Plantation. Got tickets from MWR where you check in and pay for site.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
5-8 Oct 07
(Updated: October 21, 2007)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our second short-stay (in as many months) at this CG. We agree with other reviewers, this place gets a big thumbs-up. The host was attentative & knowledgeable; the replacement host hadn't taken over yet, but he came by anyway to introduce himself! Was crowded in early October due to snowbirds who were migrating to Florida. You'll drive 20-25 to see Charleston, but it's worth it (caution: full-size pickups MUST avoid the short-term parking lot at the city Visitor's Center). Wal-Mart, Camping World RV, Lowes, etc. are ten minutes away. If you jog: the inside edge of circle drive is 0.24 miles, smooth asphalt, no obstacles, on an easy grade.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Sept 27-Oct 2, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Outstanding park. It is a little far north for touring Charleston but once the Interstate system is figured out it works out okay. Although there is a camp host on premises he cannot register you in. You find an empty site and then have to find the ITT office to register and pay. A bit unhandy. They have free WiFi available, which is good, but it only reaches to the front part of the park. Also, if several campers log on around the same time then the signal gets pretty weak and dumps you off periodically. The camp host is very friendly and makes himself available to answer any questions.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
July 1 thorugh July 7, 2007
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is not our first time in Charleston but our first time at this campground. We did not have any problem finding the campgrounds. We came in on Sunday, found an empty site and setup. The camp host came by to see if were needed anything and was very helpful. We had to wait until Monday morning at 11:00 am to check in, so we slept in and then went to sign in. The MWR office staff was nice but lacked knowledge about tourist things to do in the area. The campground was quiet most of the time. I was in site 58 and although I could get a wifi signal, I could not connect at all to it. We have Verizon cards so we could still get on the internet with them. Commissary, Exchange, Gas Station, and McDonalds were close and well stocked. This area has a lot to offer in the way of tourist things, and we definitely will be back.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
Apr 3 - Apr 9
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was a very nice stop on our way up the east coast. Converted mobile home park. The site we had was nice and level. The first day there wi-fi was not very good. Saw some one at the small shed coming into the park and mentioned how bad the wi-fi was and he went in the shed and re-booted the server and for the rest of the week the reception was good. Not excellent but good enough to do what I needed. Very convient to downtown and we enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here in the future. Very nice campground and Charleston is a very charming town and a great place to visit.
JS
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
19-25 Apr 07
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Converted Mobile Home Park - conveniently located to downtown Charleston. Parking on two parallel concrete strips with gravel in middle - adequate concrete picnic area with table. Some sites fairly close together. Friendly host- Check-in at ITT office about 2 miles away from RV park. Cable TV and good Satellite reception. Limited wi-fi if parked near camp host site 1. Paved roads throughout- located in Navy housing with no entry gate.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
January and February 2007
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
C.M. left this review using the Directory software: Excellent Campground. There are new restrooms & laundry facilities; a community fire ring, the wood is supplied by the campground and a large playground for the kiddies. The individual sites are the longest we've seen, are back-in only. The NEX & Commissary are convenient. The WIFI is hit and miss, although the manager says they are working on it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
4-10-07 thru 4-17-07
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We came to Foster Creek from Greenville, SC so was on I26 almost all the way. We followed the directions given in U.S. Military Campgrounds. They were very helpful and very precise. We had called in advance and were told to just drive on in, pick a spot, park, set-up and then come on by and sign in. When we got to the Park the MWR grounds manager was there. So we asked him where the Wi-Fi ant was and then made our site selection. We took site 55 and the Wi-Fi is located within 50' of it. After we got all set-up our friends from FL showed up and took site 56. After getting them all set-up we asked the MWR guy how to get to the office. We followed his directions and got there all right. After being there for a week I can now tell you that this is the best route to the office. Drive up to the exit and take a right, drive about 3/4ths of a mile and turn left on Webster St. It will dead end at Redbank (Just before it dead-ends look out into the trees on your right and you will see a very new and large commissary store.) turn left on Redbank and go to the first light and take a left. ITT/MWR sitting right there to your right. While checking-in with the very nice people at the office we were informed that a second Wi-Fi ant has already been added so there are no blind spots in the park anymore. We were also told that there are currently no length of stay restrictions. Everyone was very nice to us. The word is getting out and the park was about one third full while we were there. MWR at the Weapons Station has a work force large enough to keep this place neat and clean at all times. Base security comes through the park on a regular basis and are very helpful with local directions. We stayed a week and it cost us $70.00 for a 50 AMP FHU site and that includes a discount for my Golden Ages pass. They do have overflow and storage sites. - That storage area would be well protected if you were wanting to catch a MAC flight out of the Charleston AFB. - Overall we thought the place was great. Sure it's an old trailer park and will probably always took like it. But the new infrastructure is really great with all hook-ups in the right place. And, the sites are large. The washroom and restrooms are all in the some building and the restrooms are all private with individual shower, toilet, sink, mirror and trash can in each one. Everything you need on a daily basis as very close at hand here. During our stay about half of those we talked to had heard about this web site and were very happy with it. Everyone else said they would check it out. FastEagle
CW
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
112 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6