Foster Creek RV Park and Villas

 
4.3 (111)
113582 1 18 0 48

User reviews

9 reviews with 2 stars

111 reviews

 
(68)
 
(26)
 
(6)
 
(8)
 
(3)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.5  (111)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.3  (111)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (111)
Value 
 
4.4  (111)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (111)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
9 results - showing 1 - 9
Ordering
3 April 19
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This is the poorest excuse for a campground by far the worst I have stayed at. My site along with others turn into a swampy mud hole when it rains. The bathroom / laundry room is virtually a closet with 3 washers & 3 dryers no room for 2 patrons at the same time. The deck out side this area is rotting and falling apart it needs to be condemned. The MWR Park Manager lives in the campground and her residence looks pretty run down as well. Either the manager does not care or is not capable or lacks the backing of MWR Officer. If you are looking for a nice place this is not it. In my opinion MWR is taking the profits from the campground and using them elsewhere it's obvious they are not reinvesting in the park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
2 April 19
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
This is a poor excuse for a campground to date the worst I have stayed in. When it rains my site turned in to a swamp water and mud everywhere amoung several others. MWR Campground Manager lives in campground her place looks as run down as the rest of the park. Deck to bath room trailer which also contains a literally a closet with 3 washers 3 dryers no room for more than one person at a time back to the entrance this deck should be condemned if is literly falling a part and rotted. This place needs a person with management skills or MWR just doesn't care about maintaining the campground it appears they are using the revenue from the park for other things and not reinvesting it in the park. This place could be a nice campground with proper management!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
January 2019
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
I stayed here on several extended stays. It's terrible as an RV park. Run-down, upkeep and cleaning is nearly non existent. It's ok if you're just looking for a place to park when traveling through the area or here for specific purpose such as visiting a loved one who is stationed here. It's not a destination that is close to any attractions. Closest cities, Goose Creek, North Charleston, nothing to see there and unattractive. Most attractions are at least 1/2 hr away depending on traffic, which is horrendous during commuting times. Oddly enough, the Air Force Base campground, 1/2 hr away, managed by the same upper management, is top notch! Go figure. On the plus side, except for major holidays, rarely full.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 2018
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We had reservations for January 2018. We made these reservations in November 2017 for a 4 day stay. Who could predict that Charleston would be hit by a snow and ice storm during the time we were scheduled to stay at Foster Creek RV Park. We never made it out of Florida as the roads were to dangerous to travel on as well as Hwy 17 in SC being closed. Not to mention all of the accidents due to icey roads. We called Foster Creek to obtain a refund or even reschedule but they insisted on no refunds. There was no way of us knowing 30 days out that a snow storm was approaching. With that type of situation, snow and ice storm, I believe their policy should be changed and allow users to obtain a full refund under those types of circumstances. Sure it was only $88 dollars buy my point is that the reason for the impromptu cancellation was not anything we could control. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
October 2015
(Updated: November 16, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We requested a site good for satellite when we made the reservation several months ago. Upon arrival we discovered that the site assigned was not good for satellite and had trees that would scratch our slideouts when deployed. Person in the office moved us to another site-- even less likely for satellite. Manager said that the first she heard of the tree and satellite problems was from me-- and that was because no one had ever complained before. REALLY????   Issues: 1. Many of the transient sites have trees, i.e. no satellite use. 2. Many sites flood during rain- and remain flooded for days following rain. Several long-termers indicated that mosquitoes are menacing during summer because there often is standing water. 3. Fire ant hills are pervasive. Five on our site alone. Again, long-termers stated that they have been a problem for a long time. These pose a potentially deadly risk to anyone who is allergic. Overall, the most poorly maintained military campground we have stayed at in over eight years of full-timing. If we return to Charleston we will stay at a civilian campground instead of fighting the lack of maintenance, insects and water. Hopefully we won't have to wade to our car and dodge fire ants.  RECOMMENDATION: Someone in the chain of command should step up, get the SeaBees or others involved and install french drains at the campsites that flood. The command structure on the base should investigate the overall operation of this campground and take corrective actions as warranted. Our active-duty and retired personnel deserve better.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 3
Oct 24 - Oct 31, 2012
(Updated: November 07, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Good place to park your rig if you're visiting Charleston, otherwise don't bother. This campground used to be a trailer park and now it is again. The majority of the "campers" at Foster Creek have been here for years....some as many as 5 or 6. The "new" policy in effect limits long term stays to one year, but if there's an empty spot in the 10 or so short term sites you only have to move for one day, then it's back in for another year. The only amenities on site are a bath house and laundry, but there are 3 basketball courts!! LOL I was very disappointed with Foster Creek, since I had heard many good things about the campground and the reviews on here seem to be great. One of the couples with us had stayed here many times before and were ready to leave after 2 days. They couldn't believe how bad it had gotten in the 2 years since they had last stayed here.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 2
May 5, 2009
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
My wife and I have tried to make reservations here for 3 years, as much as 3 months in advance and were always told the sites were full. We thought this was a very desirable spot because it was in such demand. However, we finally got reservations for 5 days in early May and found out why this camp ground is so busy. This web site states that there are 46 sites with hook ups. In reality they only have 10 spaces to rent because the rest of the park is filled with homesteaders or people using it for storage while in hook ups. It appears that even the camp host (John) has several family members living here. I believe this site should be updated to show only 10 sites for the true traveler. When we arrived I introduced myself to the host and he said do you smoke? I do not want to be cleaning up after you. Then he said do you have any pets? Make sure you pick up after them. He informs me that nothing can be on the grass. No HI, how are you doing, just the rules that I already had in my hands.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
Drive By - April 2009
(Updated: May 20, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Was suppose to stay here for a month. Got to Charleston early so went to Short Stay then I was going to come here for a month. Like I said I WAS!!! Went by the day before we where to come in and found it to be a old mobile home park in the middle of the housing area. Lots of grass and very clean. My wife had to use the facility's so went over to the bath house / Laundry. That's when I met John the camp host. He introduced himself and I did the same. Then John started... "you got a dog" "you have to clean up after it" "you smoke" "do not throw your buts on the ground" "nothing on the grass" "no grills, no satellite dish nothing" So far all I have said to him was my name. Then he went on "Quite hours are at 22:00 and I mean 22:00" "I close the laundry room at 22:00 so if you have laundry in there you can not get it until morning" "And I will be helping you get in to your site" I felt like I did in the early days of my career standing in front of my CO getting a but chewing. But wait I haven't even done anything! I told him that we have camping for several years and we are very aware of the rules and normally leave the site better than we found it. He walked off. We went back to Short Stay and extended for a month. I lost one days rent but was worth the peace of mind.
PLEASE SEE MY COMMENTS IN THE FORM UNDER FOSTER CREEK
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
OK folks, everything I have read about this campground may be true. However, after several unsuccessful attempts to get a reservation in Foster Creek, I made it point to stop by and pay a visit to see what was taking place.....and here is what I learned: There are only "8" sites being made available to folks like me who like to travel. The other 38 spaces are for folks who are making the campground their full time residence! Now this may not be the time or place to address this issue, but there is something drastically wrong when some retirees continue to get rejected only because others make a "recreational" facility their full time home! I promice....More to come on this! Meanwhile, for others who wish to visit historic Charleston and spend a short stay at Foster Creek - GOOD LUCK GETTING IN!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
9 results - showing 1 - 9