Parris Island RV Park

 
4.3 (38)
68092   1   16   2   24

User reviews

12 reviews with 4 stars

38 reviews

 
(20)
 
(12)
 
(6)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
 
4.3  (38)
 
3.7  (38)
 
4.6  (38)
 
4.3  (38)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
12 results - showing 1 - 12  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 2017

We were the only site with power during our stay. Our site was the first site right of the restrooms. We had no issues with our stay. Mainly writing this review to see if any others have been there in the past several months and if power has been restored. Hoping to be back in the area and will only stay if there is power.The generator noise all night is to much like a roadside rest stop. Any updates?

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

July 7, 2017

Tried to make reservations today, 7 Jul 17 but also told the campground was without power. The power has been out since September of 2016 because of Hurricane Matthew. The office personnel advised they were expecting repairs to begin in the middle or late July 2017 but if you were in the campground using generator power you would still have to vacate the campground when repairs began and they would give you a refund. They advised they were in limbo and had no exact dates when repairs would begin. Semper Fi

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

June 2017

We tried to make a reservation for a short stay at Parris Island. We were told the electricity is out at the RV Park and the entire electrical system will be replaced during the summer months. We could still stay at the park but would have to use our generator for electricity. Hope this info helps others with their trip planning.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

April 24 through May 1, 2016

As I looked at my previous "star ratings" from our last visit to Parris Island RV Park, from 2013, I guess I have gotten a little bit more critical of RV parks over the past few years!  Nevertheless, this is still a very nice and quiet place to stay at a very good value.  The gravel sites are level, the hookups are very good, WiFi is very good, and the extended concrete patios with quality picnic tables are a nice touch.  The decent size commissary and MCX are just a couple of miles from the RV park.  Given the relatively low volume of traffic on base, it is a good place to take a bicycle ride and watch the Marines train--very awe inspiring.  There is still no recycling available on the RV park grounds, but the base housing manager allowed me to bring my recyclables to their office.  It would be nice if they installed a recycling bin directly on the RV park grounds since recycling is available elsewhere on base.  Verizon cell phone and data reception is OK, but not great at the RV park.  The lockbox/keys arrangement is no longer used at the RV park.  I paid for my eight day stay in advance (over the phone), was given a site number, and simply pulled into my site and hooked up when I arrived.  We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 26, 2013

Located next to an old housing area (everything removed), but near a beach. The location is quiet and away from traffic, but near to the base facilities. We enjoyed our short visit here. No WiFI, but Verizon and AT&T worked fine. Laundry was $1 to wash and $1 to dry. Clean facilities. There were about 9 available sites during our visit. We arrived without a reservation, but called when we arrived and paid over the phone. Easy check-in. The site utilities are "supposed" to be locked. When you check-in, they will give you a combination to a lock box. The lock box rack is outside of the restrooms. Each site has a small mailbox type box with the key to your utilities in it. Although we were given the combination to our lock box, the utilities were not locked (although padlocks were there). We wouldn't hesitate to return here.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

30 Aug - 3 Sep 2013

Wonderful sight IF you have a travel trailer or pull a car behind your RV. Good – the sites are huge, and flat, with good water pressure, a clean bath house with huge showers and very good WiFi service. The bad – (not the Camp Ground’s fault but need consideration) If you envision white sand and getting in the water when you hear Beach, you will be sadly disappointed by Elliot’s beach. It is really a picnic area with no water access (4 feet vertical drop from the land to the water with a rock sea wall, no sand to be seen). There was no AT&T phone service at the campground. IF you have an RV and walk, you will be stuck. It would be about a 30 minute walk to the golf course or MCX. Allow an hour to walk to the Brig and Brew or 90 minutes to walk to Traditions. The remote location and lack of amenities within walking distance is why I gave the site low ratings in these categories.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: August 22, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

14 to 21 August 2012

We were here for a full week , great little camp ground, excellent value, we just loved seeing the troops each day and getting to see some of the training, the exchange and the commissary are just fine, prices in the exchange were not the best we have seen. Now the bad part--- the bathrooms were not cleaned the entire time we were there, there was a large piece of green gum on the floor in the shower stall the entire week. There were thousands of mosquitoes in the restrooms and the grass had not been cut for weeks, I had our sister and brother-in-law with us and we were embarrassed about the lack of maintenance of the bathhouse and grounds, that's why I gave this park a 2 on cleanliness.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: September 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

25-28 August 2011

My wife and I camped here last month. There is what appears to be a closed mobile home park on the streets prior to the campground (GPS wanted to take us down one of these streets but we could see the RV's thus went down one more street which was correct. The managers are located at the Marine Air Station (which is another base) not at Parris Island. Therefore, when you make reservations they will give you a combo to a locker in the restroom/laundry facility. There will be keys to unlock the water faucet and the electrical box in the locker. Other than having a little bit of problem getting the lock unlocked (correct number of turns right, left, etc. Ha!) it was no problem. (My DW showed me how.) The sites are in a straight line and most do not have shade so be sure your awning and AC is working. The electric, water and septic worked just fine. The shower/bath area was clean. There is no cable or Wi-Fi but we rented movies at the exchange Redbox. The managers that visited every day are very, very nice and will go out of their way to help you out if you have problems, issues. The exchange and commissary are close and very nice. We enjoyed riding around and seeing the recruits training. Also, just down the road from the campground you'll come to the water and it's a great place to watch the sunset. We enjoyed touring the town and you definitely need to eat at Gilligan's restaurant which is near town. Some of the best seafood we've had in a long, long time. Also, DW enjoyed the shopping experience in town.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: July 17, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

14-16 July 2011

Contacted Arlene for reservations. She went beyond the standard and squeezed us in for 3 days between previous reservations. The park is small but clean and neat. Extremely quiet, just right for relaxing. NO cable but the MCX has REDBOX for movie rental. Cell phone service is iffy. The MCX and commissary facilities are very good. The addition of cable TV would be a great improvement. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: March 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Mar 6 - 13, 2011

This is our second stay at Parris Island. Each stay we have seen more improvements. Weather was great, clean rest rooms, camp ground was 50% full. More improvements with each stay, dog walk, dumpster location marked. Great PX much to see Hunters Island Park, and much more. Will be back many times in the future hope improvement continue to make Parris Island a high ratted camp ground.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: November 01, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 20-25, 2010

I agree with the comments as to definite need for on-site host as the office that oversees this is @ Beaufort air station & folks at ITT--who are great by the way--but they simply give you keys / maps / few instructions. For instance while we were there the sewer backed up / overflowed at one of sites & as the occupants were gone for weekend or more (?) no one there to report / fix--altho we & others did report. There is a phone in shower / laundry building that can be used for emergency / area calls & is 'not' a pay phone--no cell service on ATT unless drive to beach area. Finding the dumpster can be challenging--but it's there--honest--across road from lower number sites. RV park is a away from the main area but that is wonderful as far as we were concerned--the sites are huge--all 50 amps & you do NOT sit on top of your neighbor's sewer line--was once an on base trailer park for enlisted. Was great watching those young recruits run by every morning--set your watch at 7:56am!! My husband did his basic there in 1951--Yep that is 59 years ago. We did go to a graduation--even sat in covered review stand--just like VIP's--certainly was a glorious sight! The young man (sorry not good these days in remembering names) from air station did visit--this is his first experience with having an RV rec area--they do have plans to expand, bring in WiFi, cable, etc--now lack of cell service is not their fault so can't solve that--Now a word of warning--you best get to ITT office 'before' 5:30 pm--even if you do have reservations / know your site #--you see the hook-ups require a key--unless you want to dry camp overnight! Remember you are in the marsh lands of SC so be prepared for visitors--the mosquitoes--and in summer it is hot & these things are 'not' the fault of RV Park management :-) I know this is long but want all to take into consideration that the RV park is new / having growing pains --however we would recommend it--not necessarily for just an overnight--is a tad away from I-95 but for huge sites, great hook-ups, relaxation & a 'walk down memory lane' for all the Marines you will love it, AND ladies watching all those young male recruits running by in the morning is the most 'awesome' way to start your day--tis true while I am old--I am NOT dead :-) !!!!!! Remember for day trips Savannah, GA is just south & Charleston, SC just north of you---

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: October 19, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

Oct 2nd - 15th, 2010

I have to agree with one of the previous comments. This site needs supervision. I think it is quite far from the main campus. When we arrived the people next to us were using the site for boating & shrimping. They were really nice, but since they were cleaning the shrimp, it was really stinky until they got rid of their garbage. We had a horrible time getting cell service (verizon) or internet, using our own wireless card. They need to put some kind of emergency contact equipment out there. If you had a heart attack you'd be dead before you could get help. We didn't use the showers, but I looked in & they looked very nice. No one knows where the trash is, so they should make a point of telling you when you check in, or put up a sign. It was great watching the recruits in training & we even went to a graduation. My husband went thru training there 45 years ago so it brought back a lot of memories for him. We went to the Museum which was very interesting & ate at the Legends restaurant one night. It was very good. The commissary & NEX are very nice & the fitness center & the people running it were great. We were able to get to Savannah in an hour, Hilton Head in 45 minutes, so it's a good location.

Was this review helpful to you? 
12 results - showing 1 - 12