Parris Island RV Park

 
4.3 (40)
73847   1   16   2   26

User reviews

22 reviews with 5 stars

40 reviews

 
(22)
 
(12)
 
(6)
2 stars
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.3  (40)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.4  (40)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.7  (40)
Value 
 
4.6  (40)
Overall Experience 
 
4.3  (40)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2
Ordering
May 25 to June 8, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here two weeks and enjoyed our stay. All the sites are back-in but we had no problem with a 42' 5th wheel. We had site 9 and the WI-FI was good the cell service was acceptable. The RV park is an easy drive to the commissary and exchange. The golf course is just down the road and in very good condition. The facilities were clean and the amenities consist of restrooms and laundry facility. The only negative is we were here for two weeks and the grass was only mowed one time and that was just before we left. We would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
July 5, 2018-July 10, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Getting here is the trick and the instructions are pretty much on. One item since the original instructions is the gate has been moved to just before the "circle." I found that the if the address is 1018 St. Mihiel Rd. Port Royal, SC., that it will take me right to Bldg 1018 at the park, or pretty darn close by yards. However, my GPS wanted me to turn onto Saigon St. That is the old trailer park (wish they would turn it into an RV Park) and the roads are grown over, but it can be done. Instead, ignore the Saigon instructions and go to St Mihiel Rd just a little pass Saigon St and turn right. The so called RV Park signs are very small and crowded on the sign post with a bunch of other items. One would have to be going extremely slow to be able to read the sign. The key to getting to the RV Park is "Wake Blvd." Whether coming down 3rd Bn Pond road, or Malecon Dr, turn right on Wake Blvd. When you see the Wye bear to the left and proceed to Mihiel Rd. All sites are back-in. There is a slight hump to rise over when backing in so that one can get both sets of jacks on relatively level ground. RV Pad is gravel/crushed rock and there is a cement pad with picnic table and patio area. Patio side has the nice shade from the RV and Awnings during the afternoon. WiFi for me was very good. Anytime the computer goes to sleep one has to log on again, but not much of a problem. Depending on ones RV hooking up to sewer could be a challenge but only if you do not have enough sewer hose. I used a 15' and a 10' with the 10' only extended about 6-7 extra feet. A 5 foot extension would not have worked for me. The rating for location is a 4 only because everything is far away. I could not get the code to work for the bathroom but the general areas were clean and tidy. There are no amenities but it is still a good value for the money. We stayed here in a 43Ft Motorhome. The actual RV Park road runs parallel to the thoroughfare road and is very narrow and one-way. Longer RV's, 40' or more and maybe even 38Ft'ers. Making the turn onto the thoroughfare is very tight. This morning a 40'er without a TOAD connected had to back up to make the turn. My intention is to pull out against the one way and hook up that way. The transition then is much easier. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
3-5 Jun 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What a beautiful little place.  Only 18 sites, but everything was great.  Sites were level crushed rock and two pads.  One with the new table on it and one for a patio.  Power and water pressure checked out good and sewer was right along side the power pole.  Great area to explore history if you travel to the golf course where the Spanish and French Occupation took place in the 1500's.  Showers were large in the bathrooms which were old but very clean.  Laundry was also dated but clean with 2 washer/dryers at $1.00 a load.   This is South Carolina, so bring bug spray for mosquitos and biting flies.  I only marked down hospitality due to no camp host or anyone to represent the Famcamp.  We did not get to the main base, but shopped at the commissary/exchange that was minutes down the road.  There is still a lot to do for our next trip which we will make.  Directions to the famcamp seem strange, but with your co-pilot reading and watching also; no problem.  There is no cable, so bring movies or a satellite for entertainment.  You can also rent movies at the red box at the exchange, just minutes down the road.  My complements to the base.  We took this trip on, not knowing anything about the base or facilities.  It was a great decision and we will return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
1 - 8 Oct 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The weather in the Carolina’s during October and November is usually very pleasant so we planned our autumn trip to the Carolina’s and Virginia for this period. Our first stop was Parris Island. We stayed at the PI RV Park for seven days with the intention of playing tourist in the local area. It rained for the first six days of our stay which put a damper on our tourist plans. However, the weather was absolutely gorgeous on our last day and we took advantage of it by visiting downtown Beaufort – what a wonderful experience. Now about the PI RV Park. As stated in other reviews, the RV Park is located in an isolated area near Elliot’s Beach (which is really not a beach, it is a picnic area and a site for Marine recruit Land Navigation training). The RV Park provides an excellent location for the families that come to attend the three days of family activities associated with recruit graduation. We give the Marine Corps a big kudo for providing such a place for friends and families of our Marines. A visitor should plan for a means-of-transportation to and from the main side if they are here for the graduation. We did not lack for any amenities at the RV Park during our stay. All of the 18 sites are back-ins with full hookups. There is plenty of space around the sites which will accommodate the largest of RV’s. The lack of shade on the sites during the “hot and humid” summer months may create an uncomfortable situation. We went for super-enjoyable long walks in between the rain showers. The downside with the walks is you have to walk on the road; there are no sidewalks or hiking trails that we know of. During our stay there was not very much traffic so it didn’t distract from getting out there and enjoying the outdoors. We highly recommend that you wear bright clothing while walking on the road. It is very easy to blend in with the shady landscape and become invisible to the automobile traffic. If we could make one recommendation, it would be: install street lights in the park. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
27 Sep - 11 Oct 14
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed in a 35' coach for two weeks and had a very good time! The RV park is small and kind of out of the way, but it appears to be well-maintained, clean, grounds are maintained and Wi-Fi is accessible. We really enjoyed the area (highly recommend the beach at Hunting Island State Park: nice beach, not ever crowded, just $5 PP admission. We visited this beach 5 days out of the 13 we were here!) Parris Island is well situated for visits to Charleston SC & Savannah, GA - lots to see & do! HIGHLY recommend you attend an MCRD graduation on a Friday - an experience we'll always cherish. John S. USAF retired
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
2 August 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed 30 days. Lovely, spacious site. Amenities previously noted remain. Must have car or one would be stuck at campsite since the RV Park is very far from everything on base. We are beach folks so we had a pleasant 1/2 hr ride to Hunting Beach State Park. Water was heavenly, ocean bottom was pure sand so easy on the feet & minimal undertow. Wave action was more like ripple effect. Able to walk far out. Disliked having dogs & fisherman on beach at same time as myself. Need insect repellent for biting flies, mosquitoes & red ants at both beach & campground. Too hot & humid to sit outside until evening but sky clear. Campground not lighted so be prepared w/lantern & porch light. Cement pads nice but metal picnic table too far from cement slab next to RV to utilize as well as being attached to its own cement pad. Most afternoons had showers w/ thunder & lightening. One day storm appeared so rapidly & had severe gusts of wind & rain that before I was able to remove awning it was ripped off the brackets & flung over top of roof. Brackets holding system to wall of unit ripped out & flung over roof, left hanging on other side. Found excellent mobile RV service called Lowcountry RV. Needed to use a trash removal service to take entire awning system, now on ground, to wherever. No one on base made an issue of this debris on grass for several days until insurance adjustor & mobile RV service arrived. Trash dumpster was rusted & difficult to close the side door. Trash was strewn around the dumpster on ground & animals had been in it so it smelled & was a mess. Inhibited ability to put trash in dumpster & close door. Surprising mess for a Marine Corps base!! Would come here again in a flash for the peace & quiet, nearness to a fabulous beach & amenities. Gail, Retired Navy
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 26-28, 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a quiet campground with clean and spacious restrooms, showers, and laundry facilities. Sites are back-in and generously spaced. There are no shade trees. Be prepared for a delay at the rotary. Upon arrival at PI, our vehicles were fully examined by security and we certainly support these measures. The next two days in and out of that same gate there were not inspections. This is a good place to tour Beufort and other areas of interest. We camped in a 40-foot motorhome with tow car.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
April 30 - May 5, 2013
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This place has all a Veteran could want...Quiet, secluded, (except for Fri and Sat AM early), close enough to plenty of places to eat (even the Golf course has a very reasonable Breakfast and Lunch menu that is very reasonable that closes around 3 PM), purchase seafood, drive to the beach out on the ocean, and see the sights around a beautiful old southern town like Beaufort, SC. I found relatives in the National Cemetery and I'm from Florida. You can walk or ride your bicycle for exercise or walk to your heart's content. There is a very, very nice golf course on the base to the east of the RV Park. There is history past the golf course which is an old small fort from centuries ago. The only drawback is the lack of shade at the RV Park though it is South Carolina and it gets hot and humid. Small problem for me. I'm from FL and used to it. Hilton Head is only 1 1/2 hrs away..There is very reasonable Propane gas available at the Grayco Paint and Hardware Store in the Island Square Shopping Center at the SW corner of Sea Island Parkway and Lady's Island Drive in Port Royal. All and all, one of my favorite out of the way places to camp out..
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 12 - April 13, 2013
(Updated: April 17, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This RV park is a tremendous value. The sites are level and well maintained with great hook ups. The commissary and MCX are only a few miles from the RV park. Watching and hearing the Marine recruits train was quite an awe inspiring experience. Early every Saturday morning, they march past the RV park on the way to Elliot's Beach---very cool. The WiFi service worked well for us, but we were right beside the laundry building (broadcast point), so we may have been fortunate. If you are an AT&T subscriber, you are going to be frustrated, because it was very difficult for us to get any bars while at the RV park. If wanted to make a phone call, we often had to get in the truck and drive down to Elliot's Beach to get reception (no fault of the RV park). There is no trash recycling at the park, but you can recycle some materials at the Commissary (cardboard, paper, plastic bottles, plastic bags--but no cans or glass). We would definitely come back to this RV park in the future if we were in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Feb. 15 to Mar. 1, 2013
(Updated: February 17, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
First time here and the sites are huge so if we fit anyone can fit. Water pressure is good and electricity for a 50AMP RV is great. Do not use laundry and bathhouse but checked them visually and all is neat and clean. Even have a water dispenser you can use for a charge if you need to fill jugs etc. About 75% full for this time of year as most RV'ers go further south. First AM saw all female recruits with full gear marching down to the beach and as you drive around the base these new recruits are looking younger all the time or are we just getting older, hmmmm. Commissary and MEX are larger than expected and fuel price on base is the best we found in the area. There is so much to do and see in this area as we have not been in the area before it will take us two weeks to do it all and that may not be long enough. We certainly would come back here as $15.00 for this fantastic site is about the best price we have paid at any military campground. The only problem I had was the key to access the pedestal for utilities was in a locked box with a combination lock and it would not open after 3 tries. Fortunately someone who visits family assigned to the base was there and had been here many times and opened it for me as it was a tricky procedure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
December 6-8, 2012
(Updated: February 11, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed here for just three nights because that is all they could accommodate us for. We had a nice level site with FHUs. As early risers, we had fun watching newbie Marines march past the campground ... sure they made quite a ruckus, but that was half the fun. We triked all over the base; including to the commissary and base exchange. The small museum on the grounds is worth a stop. It is a bit of drive to get into town. Rated the amenities/facilities as three stars since we did not use them. Would definitely stay there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
28-29 September 2012
(Updated: October 10, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great location for visiting Beaufort. Early risers get a chance to see the new-to-be marines out for their morning jog. Exchange is nice to roam around in. Campground is located so far back from the gate and civilization that you can hear the grass grow....Very Quiet. Didn't partake of the facilities so not sure about the restrooms/showers. Small campground but I would stop here anytime I pass through. If you haven't been here then Give It a TRY!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
May 2012
(Updated: August 03, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Absolutely LOVE this campground. Nice spaces, clean surroundings, bath house is wonderful and clean, secluded, not much traffic, and is always heart touching when the recruits come by early in the morning. There is not one bad thing that I have to say about this campground and I have been to many many campgrounds. In some of the reviews that I read, what I think people should realize is that this amenity to Parris Island is a gift to us. People should stop to think...where is the next nearest campground and how much does it cost you to stay there and to experience the sights and sounds of the men and women who are training and being trained to be the next generation of Marines!! First and foremost this is a Marine Corps Recruiting Depot! Not a campground at Disney World. I personally would like to thank Jeff Odum and his Team for all of their hard work in planning and putting together this wonderful gift for us to be a part of. Semper Fi, Debbie Pannasch
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
20 Feb 2012 to 26 Feb 2012
(Updated: March 04, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A tiny RV park on the Marine Recruit Depot that is utilized primarily for families of graduating recruits. It is a no-host camp, so if you are into social life with fellow campers this is not for you. But we loved it. You can see recruits in maneuvers and watch a graduation on Fridays. BX and Commissary are fine, and Port Royal and Beaufort have everything else you need, including fine restaurants. The remoteness is either a positive or a negative, depending on your preferences. We loved it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
Dec 12 - January 2 2012
(Updated: January 18, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great RV park all around, PX, Commissary, Golf Club all within five minutes. Loved listening to the privates going by in the early mornings on Fridays and Saturdays, and the sound of the rifle ranges throughout the week. Very clean facilities. Had a bit of problem with Verizon WiFi but phone worked real well. The only problem I experienced is the fact that there hardly any food facilities open during the evenings so therefore yo have to go outside the gate. The only place open until 2200 is the Subway at the bowling alley and sometimes they do close early depending on business. Will definitely return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Christmas 2011
(Updated: December 25, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Since this campground opened two years ago they have steadily improved the experience for visitors. First, they have resolved the need to drive your RV into the Marine Corps Exchange parking lot to get your keys. You call on the day of your arrival and they give you the combination to a lock box that has your keys in it. They also have a date for WIFI to be put in--Jan. 25, 2012. You see deer and recruits walking through the area all of the time. Early (like 4 a.m.) on some mornings you awaken to the shuffle of hundreds of booted feet as recruits who have completed the 3-day crucible are on their way to a Warrior Breakfast and their Eagle, Globe and Anchor ceremony. Thursday through Sunday this place is packed with friends and relatives of graduating recruits but otherwise it is mostly empty. They need a campground host. These lots are so big you could park a 40 foot rig sideways. Plenty of room between pads. Cell service is a little spotty but 3G for the internet was solid. We got 21 over the air TV stations including NBC, CBS, ABC, PBS and Fox. Great price, super, spotless facilities, It don't get much better than this.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Aug 1st and 2nd 2011
(Updated: October 24, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was my 3rd time to stay at Parris Island. Very little TV...Great golf at Legends of Parris Island...BX and Commissary were very adequate...no diesel on base to purchase...but the sounds of freedom all around...from rifle fire in the AM to forced marches in the PM and some mornings. Each Friday, a new group of recruits graduate. Just saw the same thing at Ft Benning in Aug. Young men and women eager to serve our country....Brings a tear to my eye thinking about it. Brave kids. Bathrooms and showers are always clean...I guess cable all the way out there would be very expensive to do, so we'll just have to make do with movies and golf...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
April 1 through 30, 2011
(Updated: May 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We began our full-time RV living experience by camping out at Parris Island's RV campground on Parris Island, SC. We spent the entire month of April 2011 there; and we had a great time. We especially liked going down to Ellis Beach and watch the sun set. It was beautiful! Another thing we enjoyed was getting up in the morning to the sound of Drill Instructors taking their trainees down the street in front of the RV campground. Those poor young men and women were put through the "ringers" but on graduation day, the proud parents made all of this worth the work. Although, I am retired Army, I was very proud of the Marines! The telephones do not work very well at the campground, especially if you are a T-Mobile customer. And, they do not have cable TV or WiFi. We used our DirecTV satellite and Virgin Mobile MiFi and got good reception for TV and computer internet. All-in-all this was a good camping experience and we will definitely stay there again on our way South off I-95.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec. 28, 2010 - Jan. 3, 2011
(Updated: January 11, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
A great place to stay with appreciated automatic morning reveille at 07:00. Would have liked it better if the Marines would wake me at 05:15 though. Great and very clean base for America's best young folks. Enjoyed the quite surroundings and great sunrises. Friendly check in at the exchange where they issue you a key to unlock the water and power outlet. Wash room was spotless and very warm. Extremely quite area with beautiful drive to the RV area. This is an area that should be much busier with activities although the Holiday season was in full swing. Beautifully new base housing is impressive to see. Enjoyed our stay there very much and was too short.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec. 14-22, 2010
(Updated: December 29, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
What's not to like? Other than check-in of course. Check-in is at the ITT office in the Marine Corps Exchange and the parking lot IS NOT big-rig friendly. Our advice would be to go to the campground and park your rig in your assigned space. You can set up except for water and electric and go to the MCX in the toad or puller to check in and get your keys. I talked to the manager and he said they are trying hard to come up with a better way of doing it. This campground is the old base trailer park and therefore the parking spaces are massive (100' deep and 55' wide). They could be considered handicap access spaces because the gravel all around makes wheelchair movement possible. Each space has an aluminum picnic table, concrete pad, electric, water, sewer hookups (and we understand cable TV is in the works--which is good because TV out of Savannah and Charleston is a bit iffy). Each site has a choice of 50/30/20 amps. Our Verizon cell coverage was minimal and the Internet card gave us a slow but workable access. The community building has new handicap access showers and bathrooms as well as a laundry room (2 washers, 2 dryers at $1 each). If you are up at 4 a.m. most mornings you can see recruits marching by enroute to the Crucible or other field training. Less than a mile from the picnic area called Elliot's Beach where there are tables and pavilions as well as a boat launch and field toilets. Stay away from the Marine Corps Exchange on Thursday and Friday when it is over-run by new Marines and their families. Recruit graduation is almost every Friday at 9 a.m. on the Peatross Parade Ground. The museum is well worth the visit. And if you are a history or naval services nut like us, there are the remains of a wooden dry-dock in the park across from the Commanding General's residence. They are planning to build cabins in the near future and then expand the campground.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
22 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2