Belton Lake Outdoor Recreation Area

 
3.5 (28)
101576 0 9 0 11

User reviews

8 reviews with 3 stars

28 reviews

 
(4)
 
(13)
 
(7)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.8  (28)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.3  (28)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.3  (28)
Value 
 
3.8  (28)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (28)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
8 results - showing 1 - 8
Ordering
Feb 23 - Mar 15, 2019
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
D.C. left this review using the Directory software: - We were given a campsite that had so many trees, there was no way we could get sat TV, I asked if we could move to another site, I was told by a woman that it was too much of a problem, however two men helped change me to a better place. This is a large place with lots of places to walk your dog. For such a large place they should have more washers and dryers than one each.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
18 Nov- 18 Dec 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Pls read past reviews on BLORA. Not much has changed. I asked about the "newly refurbished' sites, but no one knew about them. Deer Park is still the only open lakeside area. Half the sites are full hook-ups. The other half are w/e only, tent only or closed. Inspect first. Bathhouse was cleaned up, pretty fair. Showers-the same. One washer and dryers in bathhouse. For the first time we stayed "up top" in the "cottage area" closest to BLORA office. All these 16 sites are full hook-ups. Water hookups are on the "wrong side", so have plenty of hose. BLORA is a great value if you're bringing your boat to fish to just get away from the city. For RV'ers looking for a stop-over location or brief stay-not the place to come. But then it wasn't built for that reason either. Some of the "old" staff from West Fort Hood Travel Camp are working here now and that's good news. Monthly rates can't apply America the Beautiful pass. They give you a discounted "daily" rate. We paid $375 for a month.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
30 Oct 2014
Overall rating 
 
2.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0
Stayed at Belton Lake, Deer Park, Fort Hood, TX on 30 October 2014. Our cost with Golden Age $12.75. Pricing on this site may be incorrect. RV Campground is very nice and in the woods. Bathrooms were what made it so bad. They were dirty with worms crawling all over the walls and floors and many other bugs. My wife reported the same in the ladies room. Metal hand rail in shower was rusting; commodes/urinals look as though they had not been cleaned in months, if ever; shower floors were filthy. One stall had dried feces on the floor indicating it had been there for awhile. My wife reported similar results, minus the feces, in ladies room. Overall, so FILTHY that we decided to not use them and to leave the next day. Before leaving, we did take photos of the bathrooms. Reported the above to the Office and were told they would be sending someone to check on the problems. The Famcamp is wonderful with beautiful surroundings, lake; forest and deer. We witnessed several BLORA vehicles just driving around and doing nothing else. Maybe the Admin Office could better use those individuals time a little better and save on fuel!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
17 Nov 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Sitting here at BLORA stables RV sites (really nice place, IMHO the best kept secret on the planet) and I simply MUST remark: I'm on the high side of 50 now, and I never... NEVER... in my life thought I'd see ever the day when going to some considerable effort to not expose people to a horrible flu bug... would be so unappreciated! Gah! Only other comment: mebbe need to update the prices listed here?
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
14 Sept 2010
(Updated: September 16, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We were told by the folks at West Ft. Hood Famcamp that the ONLY way to get to BLORA was thru' Ft. Hood. NOT So. it's lots easier if you come from Belton. I'd follow the directions listed here, and not drive 30 minutes across Ft. Hood. The last review said it all. Sites are hit & miss. 1 is paved with W/E/S the next door site is a poorly sloped, gravel mess w/ nothing (or partial). We finally found a "full hook-up" site. Then after setting up, we discovered that the standard white, PVC pipe that RV parks across the country use for the sewer drain-is NOT the sewer pipe here at BLORA. It's a cutoff for the water. So the "full hookup site" I thought I had, really had no sewer. No matter-there is a dump. Just confusing, but it is a pretty place. The marina/lake layout is identical to Ft. Sam's rec area of Canyon lake. If you have a boat & are a fisherman this looks like a great place to HQ for the winter months. For an overnight-not so great.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
26-30 March 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.4
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful park and lake. Old flood debris not cleaned up on all Beaches. Good new cement pads in Deer and Cedar Creek, but not all are level, but good shade. The full hook up park area is out dated, too short, not level, broken pads and sewer receptacles are too far from the rigs and at the extreme rear of the pads. Nice cookers, fire rings and shaded picnic covers at each site. Must tie down the garbage can covers, Coons visit every night. Finding the park coming from TX Loop 121 was tricky for us as 1st timers. Its over 12 miles from the park to the commissary at the East Gate. Satilite TV is OK if a South exposure site is used due to lots of trees. Did not use Wi-Fi but Verizon Cell Phone is very weak every where except on high ground near the Main Office. We will return. Col Allen (USA Ret)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Nov 1 to Dec 1, 2008
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: Bathroom is terrible, the park in general is clean and well kept, lots of wildlife, raccoons get in garbage, plenty of deer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
November 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
I stayed here in a motorhome, but wouldn't do it again. There are only a dozen or so sites in this CG and only one or two are large enough for a good sized rig mainly due to pad sloping. Most, but not all, sites have ample room between them. It is not actually on the Fort Hood military post, but rather on a MWR recreation area at Lake Belton. User's don't have to go thru a typically military checkpoint gate. I didn't rate it very high in location because it's well off the normal highways and at least 20 minutes drive to any facilities on the military installation. Part of the access road is a bit curvey and you have to cross one cattle guard. That's not a major problem for any size rig, but one needs to drive carefully. Fishing and water rec equipment rental is available. There are some nice picnic areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 1
8 results - showing 1 - 8