Belton Lake Outdoor Recreation Area

 
3.5 (27)
96251 0 8 0 11

User reviews

11 reviews with 4 stars

27 reviews

 
(4)
 
(12)
 
(7)
 
(4)
1 star
 
(0)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
3.8  (27)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.4  (27)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.3  (27)
Value 
 
3.8  (27)
Overall Experience 
 
3.5  (27)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
11 results - showing 1 - 11
Ordering
May 20, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
BLORA – Fort Sam Houston $17 a day concrete slab RV site with electric/water/ covered picnic table/grill Pros: The price!! This is by far the cheapest campground we have ever stayed at Full hook ups are only $1 more a day, if available There are 3 RV areas at BLORA Trails near the grounds This place is HUGE! It’s situated on a 12 acre lake perfect for fishing, swimming or just enjoying the view Sites are relatively level Friendly staff (available 24hrs a day) Covered picnic areas by the water Parking everywhere, you can move your RV to be by the water for the day Free waterslide/paddleboats (after June 1st) Cottages, pavilions, picnic areas for rent Dry storage for boats/RV available Horseback riding trails nearby Mountain Bike trails nearby Civilians can come on post for $10/car, DOD pays $3/car – fee waved for your RV stay Cons: No swimming in the lake until after June 1st (lifeguards must be on duty) No WiFi Laundry consists of 1 washer and 2 dryers that are housed outside and are simply nasty Long distance to anything including base (10 mile drive to nearest gate) but that means star filled skies Though there are plenty of them throughout the park the bathhouses were more like a prison restrooms than a Park restrooms with metal toilets! None of them were well cared for, I have never seen such a bug build up in restroom supposedly being maintained by staff. People speed through the park constantly, I’m talking 40/50 MPH which is annoying but even more so very dangerous – we like to walk while in RV parks and doing so at this park was truly not worth the risk of being run over. 2 dump stations in park, both a bit awkward to get into and they are always flooded with well water so you will get your feet wet while dumping tanks +/- As we mentioned there are 3 separate RV areas in this park a little bit about each: Cottage RV park = near rental houses, have full hook ups but the layout is awkward between the water/electric/dump, there is ZERO shade for this area so be ready for the heat in the summer Cedar RV Park = These sites are closest to the lake but they only have 50 amp hook ups and none of the sites are full sites (electric/water only) Deer Park = the most shaded pads of the park, middle between the other two parks, Laundry is located at this park *** = They are adding additional RV spots in a field along the shore line in what they currently call We were told they were working towards upgrading the sites to full hook ups with 30 and 50 amp so be sure to check with them for current information. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
Oct 25 2013 - Nov 3, 2013
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Belton Lake Campground is a great place for people who fish, have boats and jet skis, or children. Nice big free water park type water slide, free paddle boats, beach, etc. But we aren't water people and don't have children. We would have tried to get into the West Ft Hood campground, but I completely forgot about it. We had a nice site overlooking the lake, and was able to use our roof top satellite dish, and our Verizon Mifi. But we would have been more satisfied at the West Ft Hood campground (the NEW section, not the old section). It is much closer to the main base (commy, PX, etc), and town. The rate was good, tho; $10.50 for FHU (30 amp). We were there in a 40 foot Class A.
ST
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Dec 14-16, 2012
(Updated: December 31, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We arrived Dec 14th and stayed for 2 nights. Didn't realize that we were going to have a magnificent Christmas light display! Security office did advise us that if we were leaving the campground that we would have to be prepared for the traffic. So we quickly went to the commissary and did our business before night fall. The next night (Saturday) we sat in our chairs and watched all the traffic- for 5 hours it was bumper to bumper! But there was no noise and we just enjoyed the display :) We did have a difficult time finding the place, but it was worth it!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
November 2012
(Updated: November 28, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This was our first visit to Belton Lake Outdoor Recreation Area (BLORA) and it was very memorable. We were on site 8 on top of the hill when you first enter BLORA. We had very good TV reception using our 5th wheel stock antenna. It is about 8 miles to the base, where there was a very good commissary and exchange. The Christmas light display on BLORA was the best and biggest Christmas light display that I have ever seen. It took us over and hour to drive through it all. If you have the chance to come here the end of November or December, you will not be disappointed in the light show.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 24, 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
T.L. left this review using the Directory software: Very nice campground.Saw deer near our campsite. Only negative no Verizon cell service or broadband on phonecard.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
16-18 Nov 2010
(Updated: November 19, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Only 2 chg's from 2 months ago. This visit Dee asked me if I had an (federal) America the Beautiful Pass. Just having finished our grand western tour -I had the National Parks/Monument pass and it saved me more money right here at BLORA. Only $9 per night w/ the pass!!! Now that's a deal. Thnx Dee. Back in Sept no one told me about it & I didn't know to ask. Second update -BLORA's Christmas light show starts today. It begins at 1730 nightly. This update is significant because BLORA chg's the roads in & thru the RV park. After 1730 each evening you can't get out of the RV park. It's open to the public & I'm told there is a LOT of traffic. So it you're coming in to stay at BLORA for the next month- be sure you know the new times to get in & out of the park each evening.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is a beautiful place to stay and play in the summer and beautiful at Christmas time. Can't say much for the bath houses - cold. The sites are good for smaller rigs but we didn't maneuver too well in our 37'. Our stay was pleasant.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Dec 4 - 10, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I found this stay to be as good or better than my previous one. This time of year is great here. A lot of the local businesses and military units put up Christmas lights. This is a big park and there are lots of lights. Worth staying here just to see them. I found the laundry this time. It is located in the back of the bathrooms in Deer Park. Also, in Deer Park, there are now some sites with full hookups. W/E/S. On another note, if you should happen to have a motor scooter or motorcycle, be aware that in order to ride it on base, you must have proof of a motorcycle safety course, and I didn't because I am not required to have a motorcycle license because I have a 50cc scooter, helmet with face shield, long sleeves, long pants, gloves, and sturdy footwear above the ankles. Seems a little extreme, but that is what they require. I do plan on staying here again if I am in the area. Stayed in the Cottages area. Still only 30 amp.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
April 7-17 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Cedar park is still closed from last year's flooding so we stayed in Deer park. Beautiful and spacious sites (some concrete pads)...very woodsy and would stay there vs the Cottage park for atmosphere even though only full hook-ups only in Cottage park. (big class a's were in deer park). Yes base (it is a city!) is 20 minutes away- diesel and recyling and 2 commissaries there but peace and quiet at lake offsets that. They did not respond while there to notice that we saw three water spigots leaking continuously. And we had to clean 2 bags of dog poop and one bag of toy parts when we pulled into campsite. Some campers drove way to fast and wrong way on one way areas. Those were the only negatives. Would go back and they are building quite a bit of 'shopping' in Killeen.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
Feb 21 to Mar 1, 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here from Feb 21 to Mar 1. Found it to be a nice place to stay. Broadband access and cell phone, both Verizon, worked well. Place was well kept. One of the campgrounds was shut down due to some damage from flooding last year. I stayed at Guest Cottages. 11 or 12 RV sites there with full hookups. Lots were not real level, front to back, but no major problem. I would stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Mar 2006
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Cedar RV Park - 5 stars. Very quite at this time of year with very few lights to obstruct sky or shine in windows at night. Dump station close by. Cottage RV Park - 3 stars. Sites small with steep slope on some. No room for slideouts on some sites. Bright lights but fairly quiet. Rated this campground 3 due mainly to small size of sites. Obviously made for much smaller RVs than typical today
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 8 0
11 results - showing 1 - 11