Corpus Christi RV Park

 
4.2 (144)
150525 1 26 0 81

User reviews

53 reviews with 4 stars

144 reviews

 
(77)
 
(45)
 
(13)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.6  (144)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (144)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (144)
Value 
 
4.4  (144)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (144)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
53 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3
Ordering
Jul. 29 - Aug. 02, 2011
(Updated: August 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We are coming here quiet often and have had our share of many different RV Sites and all have been good. When we came to check in we were greeted by a young lady with a smile and was very polite. She told us about the Tropical Storm and how the weather has been. The rest of the staff I came in contact with were really helpful also. On Saturday I called the office about the laundry room being locked, and was told some one would be there to unlock it. Less than 5 minutes they arrived and had it open ready for use. The Staff needs more than a pat on the back for a job well done. Also Congrats to the Manager Staff like this makes his or her job more easier. Thanks, Michael Starr
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 3
Jul 1 to Jul 7 2011
(Updated: July 12, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We are getting to love this place. The Manager is apparently training the young staff on customer service. They are very professional and hospitable. Amazingly they are keeping the facilities almost spotless although the burrs and wind remain to be annoying. Watching the fireworks across the Bay, on the island and Corpus while fishing were certainly a highlite. Management should offer more recreational activities for the kids and allow them to be more occupied while giving the parents a break during the day.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 27 through May30 2011
(Updated: June 05, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We had a really good time, the area was extremely windy and it was not far from the fishing area even though only Eels, Hardheads, and Gaftops were mostly biting. We were on one of the older pads that was built with the Water and Electricity on one side and Sewer on the other. We had really good Internet Connection at the site. The Staff was really good, polite and had a welcoming smile each time we saw them.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
10-13 May 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stay here for 3 nights. Made reservation 2 days prior to arrival and had no problems getting site once we arrived. Checkin was at the marina, make sure you take pet rabies proof in with you when checking in, we did. Our site was a back in with plenty of of space on the large concrete pad, enough room for the fifth wheel and truck parked beside. The base has a nice exchange and commissary as well as a quick shop and gas station which has deisel. Lots of area to walk or bike ride next to the water/seawall. There is a long concrete pier that you can fish off of right next to the camping area. Bathrooms and showers were OK, nothing great but more than acceptable. There is a really nice community building with full kitchen and comfortable chairs with cable TV. Sites have water, sewer, power 30/50 amp, and spotty cable, about 50% of the sites didn't have working cable. The wind here gets strong rather quickly so it's not a good idea to leave your awning out if you aren't there to watch it. Getting to the base was easy and with a DOD sticker and ID card easy to get in. We took a trip over to Mustang Island State Park and Padrea Island National Seashore, this is a nice area to visit if you come here. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay here and would recommend it to anyone, and will hopefully return in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 2
Dec. 13, 2010 to Feb. 11, 2011
(Updated: February 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The RV park is in a very quiet part of the air station. It is located very close to the salt water resulting in a salt film covering all vehicles. Washing of RVs and cars is allowed and highly suggested during your stay. It is also very windy there and several nights we had to put in the slides to protect the slide covers at the top. 20-30 mph winds are not uncommon and we even had winds in the 40s a couple of times. The RV park is kept very clean and the sites are large. Paradise Cove has RV parking in the grass with small patio pads. Shields has large pads for parking and patio. The 30 amp sites at Shields are close together, utilities are some distance from the RVs, parking is on the grass and patios are small. Stacy, the new manager, is trying very hard to get activities organized. The following activities were scheduled while we were there: Christmas potluck and gift exchange (MWR provided the meat), other potlucks, ice cream social, happy hours, and Super Bowl party. Notification for these were somewhat short notice and those checking in at the park were not told to pick up an event flyer. Mail delivery is very slow and sometimes the staff failed to notify in a timely manner that mail was there. WiFi was not working the first two weeks but they finally got it fixed. Civilians, with back ground checks, are allowed to use the RV park. This also applies to sponsored guest. This prevents those military, retirees, guard, reserve and civil service personnel from getting sites when they are full. I believe they are limited to 2-weeks. I don't understand why they allow this. The Exchange, Commissary and Fitness Center are small but provide almost everything you need. However, the boat dock and boat launch facilities are unsafe. This resulted in not being able to use any of the power or sail boats at the marina. All the big chain stores, restaurants, and other shops are within 10 miles. They do not give any discount for weekly or monthly stays. We enjoyed our stay there, met lots of nice people and would return there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 12-13, 2010
(Updated: October 21, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A very nice park with an outstanding location and outstanding amenities. We were very disappointed with the staff on the day we left. 2 young ladies who could have cared less about the work and the customers. We had to leave early and stopped by to let them know and got the impression we were bothering them. 5 days later I get a call from the office and want to know why we left and if we were returning for the remainder of our reserved time. We had told the 2 young girls all this info when we left but they couldn't be bothered with entering it in the computer. We will visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Sep 02-16, 2010
(Updated: September 21, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I stayed at the facility while down from San Antonio on an extended fishing vacation. The local NAS staff were very HELPFUL and COURTEOUS, the value is EXCELLENT, and for the most part the experience was good, but there are a few things that negatively impacted the visit. Here they are: 1. Horrible Internet Service Provider (ISP). I stayed in Paradise Cove, the newer of the two campgrounds, and to say the least, I was not impressed with the ISP. After 4 phone calls to them, using the number provided by the NAS staff, I was still unable to get connected. On the next to last call, I spoke to someone named "Vicky" (sp), and she suggested: Upgrade Windows, get an antenna for your computer, or take the computer and walk around the grounds until you get a signal. After informing her that I am using Windows 7 with latest upgrades, and am connecting wirelessly at all other locations, she basically said "Oh well". On the last call, after speaking with the Master Chief on the base, I reached a tech at the ISP named David, who informed me that Paradise Cove did not even HAVE connectivity yet. Had not been installed...I told him he might want to let "Vicky" know, as she came off looking like an unprofessional fool, not even knowing which park had connectivity. We will see if this gets resolved. I would strongly recommend MWR search out a new service provider. 2. Lack of shower facility in Paradise Cove. Would be nice to have showers, so hope this is on the list for future improvements. 3. Improperly engineered/installed waste disposal pipes. Someone installed the waste disposal connections so that the dump connection pipe is 6 inches ABOVE ground, which makes a gravity dump from an RV very difficult. Impossible for most units to drain uphill. The ones in Shields, the older of the two parks, are at or below ground level, as they should be. If you stay in Paradise Cove, be prepared for this problem. 4. Only 1 dryer worked in the Paradise Cove laundry facility. Over Labor Day weekend, you can imagine the wait to dry clothes. I suspect this may be resolved by now, but an extra dryer or two would be nice. That's it...I will definitely continue to use the park, as it has unequaled value, courtesy and convenience. Give it a try!!! :-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
11 Jul 2010 (drive through)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
When I drive through the park I see trash blowing around. My question is: "Why can't the hosts do a little police work?" The park has a great location and you can't beat the value and the new sites are great. The one thing that I miss are the rickety old cabanas that old-timers used to love to settle on. Read in the paper about the 100 mile and hour winds and the damage done to several rv's but it looked, to me, like all that had been cleaned up. Still can not understand why they let BJ go and why they haven't named Jeff as head of the marina. Hosts are of different likes and some just like to get their site free and do as little as possible and I think that is the case now at Shields.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Feb 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here for 3 weeks in February. We were in the New Paradise Cove section and it was very nice. Large sites with a concrete pad for picnic table and RV parked on grass. Our site was not muddy even after heavy rain, but we saw some sites that were. Laundry room was close, clean and free. It is windy in the winter, but not too bad. Fishing piers within walking distance. Would gladly stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Feb & March 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The pricing is now $15 for full hookup sites. There are no longer partial hook-up sites or pricing. Shields is the concrete pad section in one area. A block away is the Paradise Cove section with grass pads. The laundry situation is fixed; free laundry, 2 washer and 2 dryers in each park area. The office staff are often new so don't expect great things. They do try, they just don't know much. If you make a reservation, call and check on it a week before, the day before... Arm yourself with a healthy amount of patience and wade through the process until you get what you need. The gym on the base is pretty good, some classes are offered and they have lots of equipment. They want to take care of the RVers here and MWR is more actively involved now. Base and exchange are adequate, not huge or great but there's plenty of megamarts within a very short drive. Mail sent to the Flour Bluff (on Security Drive) post office works fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan. 30, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
They tell you to have your mail sent to General Delivery, Corpus Christi, TX 78418. The post office zip code network does not see this zip code so it will send it to 78469 which is way downtown. I filled out the request with a card and it still went downtown. Maybe if you added the address it might work? Flour Bluff Post Office 10139 Security Dr. Corpus Christi 78418?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
December 16, 2009
(Updated: December 22, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Just visited and drove through the park. New sites are great and seem to be full. The amount of trash blowing around says that the hosts are not on the ball and the attitude in the marina needs a major adjustment. The marina personnell need to remember that the first word in personal is "PERSON" and that is how people should be treated when they arrive. Served as host on three different occasions and would like to return (not as host) some day but that is unlikely. Bad move letting BJ go and bad move not making Jeff the manager of the marina.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
20 Mar-20 April 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second stay in Corpus Christi. We arrived on the 20th and stayed in one of the new sites. All are 50 amp with 30 amp available. Your charged for the 50 amp even though you may use 30. They have eliminated the monthly rates and gone to daily rates. Sites are nice and with the completion of the club house should continue to be a good place to stay. Still have the windy days but better than snow. We will return for the winter for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Mar. 15 - 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.W. left this review using the Directory software: We had a very nice stay at NAS Corpus Christie. Nice location for walking along the shore of CC Bay, bike riding (sticker burrs are rough on tires though), fishing pier and friendly camp host's and fellow travelers. As stated before try not to miss Sunday Brunch at the nearby club, Good stuff!! Cheap - $9.95 all inclusive + tip. We had two nice day trips. The first was to the Texas State Aquarium - well kept and entertaining. The second was to the Aircraft Carrier Lexington. We spent over 5 hours touring "The Gray Ghost" Get discount ticket for both at Bldg #39. All in all a very nice two weeks. The wind does blow and very hard at times in excess of 50 mph gusts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Feb 17 - March 3, 2009
(Updated: July 27, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Shields is in a great location and is very popular. They seem to always be full and folks sometimes need to move to different sites, if they don't have reservations, or aren't able to make reservations for the whole season. We were next to some folks who were on a non-sewer site and have moved 11 times in 2 months. The staff, especially Charles, do a wonderful job of juggling sites and trying to accommodate people. The biggest downside is the wind, which seems to be incessant, we had 3 nice days in 2 weeks. We experienced winds from 20 mph to 45 mph, so strong that folks only went outside to go to another building, get in the car or walk dogs. When (if) the winds subsides, it is fantastic, but we will not be returning due to the wind - it's no fun to be in the south for the winter and unable to sit/eat outside. Bay Club (all ranks) next door was terrible (service and the buffet) for a evening meal, but great for the Sunday brunch. They are adding about 50 more sites which were due to come online Jan 15, but it looks like they could be ready any day - also new "clubhouse".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
February 5-9, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful location right on Corpus Christi Bay but extremely windy when we were there. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Nice club close by, within walking distance, and they serve a great Sunday brunch. Good place to walk along the waterfront. We had 30 amp and water but were fortunate to have one of the wood shelters. Very nice. On the down side, two of the dryers were not working, WiFi is too expensive, and the commissary is rather small. I would like to return when it is a little warmer and the wind isn't blowing at 40 mph.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
December 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a works-in-progress campground right now. They are working very quickly to add many more sites. If you visit, ensure you explain what full hook-up means because one of the newer office personnel thought that only meant water and electric. This will be a great campground in a few months from now after they add the new sites. View of the bay is outstanding, but as stated in other comments, it can become very windy in a matter of minutes. Try not to park to close to the water, or you will be scrubbing salt water paste from your rig and vehicle more often than you want. Very nice long fishing pier, and trips to Mustang Island and South Padre Island are absolutely wonderful! We will definitely revisit in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 16 - Oct 6 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The Wi-Fi has finally been fixed and is well worth it if you value having access to the internet. Charles has been extremely helpful and the Camp Host BJ is pleasant and always available if you ever need assistance or just have a question. The only negative thing I experienced while there is one family who doesn't seem to think they need to keep their 3 dogs tied up. And since they are stationed at Corpus Christi, I doubt they will be gone when you arrive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 2007 to September 5, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
It is a beautiful park, a place where you can relax in comfort and security. Sunrises and sunsets are out of this world and the people throughout the park are just wonderful. Yes, I know the wifi sucks but MWR has nothing to do with it. Everyone in the office, and the hosts, respond quickly to your needs and will go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. My only complaint is the manager. He doesn't know how to manage and his method of taking care of problems is to ignore it and hope that it will go away. It took more than three months to get a dryer repaired; speeders still pose a danger to all the children in the park; one person dumps his gray water on the ground and repeated efforts to get the manager to deal with it go unanswered; girlfriends get special deals on the rental trailers. Will I return? No. It's a beautiful place but . . . .
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
25 July-1 Aug 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
L.J. left this review using the Directory software: Park personnel were great. Navy does not accept AF base decals I found this out after going in and out for 4 days. Wi-Fi in the Park is terrible could not download, or much else kept losing the Wi-Fi at the campground. I did at home on wi-fi in 10mins what I tried to do for 4 days there. Not worth the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
53 results - showing 21 - 40
1 2 3