Corpus Christi RV Park

 
4.2 (144)
150525 1 26 0 81

User reviews

144 reviews

 
(77)
 
(45)
 
(13)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.6  (144)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (144)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (144)
Value 
 
4.4  (144)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (144)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
144 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
January 22-28, 2011
(Updated: March 01, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Well run FAMCamp. Beautiful views of the bay. We kayaked just off the point located by the campground. Campground is busy during the winter but has plenty of drycamping sites available. Campground hosted an ice cream social while we were there and a "garage sale". Easy access to Padre Island and Corpus Christi.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Dec. 13, 2010 to Feb. 11, 2011
(Updated: February 19, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The RV park is in a very quiet part of the air station. It is located very close to the salt water resulting in a salt film covering all vehicles. Washing of RVs and cars is allowed and highly suggested during your stay. It is also very windy there and several nights we had to put in the slides to protect the slide covers at the top. 20-30 mph winds are not uncommon and we even had winds in the 40s a couple of times. The RV park is kept very clean and the sites are large. Paradise Cove has RV parking in the grass with small patio pads. Shields has large pads for parking and patio. The 30 amp sites at Shields are close together, utilities are some distance from the RVs, parking is on the grass and patios are small. Stacy, the new manager, is trying very hard to get activities organized. The following activities were scheduled while we were there: Christmas potluck and gift exchange (MWR provided the meat), other potlucks, ice cream social, happy hours, and Super Bowl party. Notification for these were somewhat short notice and those checking in at the park were not told to pick up an event flyer. Mail delivery is very slow and sometimes the staff failed to notify in a timely manner that mail was there. WiFi was not working the first two weeks but they finally got it fixed. Civilians, with back ground checks, are allowed to use the RV park. This also applies to sponsored guest. This prevents those military, retirees, guard, reserve and civil service personnel from getting sites when they are full. I believe they are limited to 2-weeks. I don't understand why they allow this. The Exchange, Commissary and Fitness Center are small but provide almost everything you need. However, the boat dock and boat launch facilities are unsafe. This resulted in not being able to use any of the power or sail boats at the marina. All the big chain stores, restaurants, and other shops are within 10 miles. They do not give any discount for weekly or monthly stays. We enjoyed our stay there, met lots of nice people and would return there again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
Oct 13, 2010 to Dec 3. 2010+
(Updated: December 03, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We are very pleased with Shields, some to the issues with the staff have been addressed, they have brought in a new general manager - Stacy - who know what she is doing and has “bucked-up” the staff. They are making every effort to correct issue of the past. This RV park is well worth the money and it is a great park with a wonderful view. While the WiFi can be an issue, it really is not a big deal since we have our own connectivity. Give it a try you will like the large spaces and the view and there is a lot to do in the area. However, it can be windy when a low comes through the area; however, this is short lived for the most part. Mike
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 1
Oct 12-13, 2010
(Updated: October 21, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
A very nice park with an outstanding location and outstanding amenities. We were very disappointed with the staff on the day we left. 2 young ladies who could have cared less about the work and the customers. We had to leave early and stopped by to let them know and got the impression we were bothering them. 5 days later I get a call from the office and want to know why we left and if we were returning for the remainder of our reserved time. We had told the 2 young girls all this info when we left but they couldn't be bothered with entering it in the computer. We will visit again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Sep 02-16, 2010
(Updated: September 21, 2010)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I stayed at the facility while down from San Antonio on an extended fishing vacation. The local NAS staff were very HELPFUL and COURTEOUS, the value is EXCELLENT, and for the most part the experience was good, but there are a few things that negatively impacted the visit. Here they are: 1. Horrible Internet Service Provider (ISP). I stayed in Paradise Cove, the newer of the two campgrounds, and to say the least, I was not impressed with the ISP. After 4 phone calls to them, using the number provided by the NAS staff, I was still unable to get connected. On the next to last call, I spoke to someone named "Vicky" (sp), and she suggested: Upgrade Windows, get an antenna for your computer, or take the computer and walk around the grounds until you get a signal. After informing her that I am using Windows 7 with latest upgrades, and am connecting wirelessly at all other locations, she basically said "Oh well". On the last call, after speaking with the Master Chief on the base, I reached a tech at the ISP named David, who informed me that Paradise Cove did not even HAVE connectivity yet. Had not been installed...I told him he might want to let "Vicky" know, as she came off looking like an unprofessional fool, not even knowing which park had connectivity. We will see if this gets resolved. I would strongly recommend MWR search out a new service provider. 2. Lack of shower facility in Paradise Cove. Would be nice to have showers, so hope this is on the list for future improvements. 3. Improperly engineered/installed waste disposal pipes. Someone installed the waste disposal connections so that the dump connection pipe is 6 inches ABOVE ground, which makes a gravity dump from an RV very difficult. Impossible for most units to drain uphill. The ones in Shields, the older of the two parks, are at or below ground level, as they should be. If you stay in Paradise Cove, be prepared for this problem. 4. Only 1 dryer worked in the Paradise Cove laundry facility. Over Labor Day weekend, you can imagine the wait to dry clothes. I suspect this may be resolved by now, but an extra dryer or two would be nice. That's it...I will definitely continue to use the park, as it has unequaled value, courtesy and convenience. Give it a try!!! :-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 2
Sep. 03 - Sep. 06, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Could not beat the value. I have few complaints I guess the main one would have been the smell of the water when we first hooked up, but either I got use to it or the lines cleaned themselves out. We ended up on the end further away from the pier and laundromat which made it a quiet stay, especially since it was Labor Day Holiday. A great Freebie was the free Laundry Wash and Drying, appeared to be new washers and dryers. The fishing was just a walk away and everyone was so good and friendly. Met the Hostess and she was also great. We had a real good time.I would recommend it to anyone.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
11 Jul 2010 (drive through)
Overall rating 
 
3.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
When I drive through the park I see trash blowing around. My question is: "Why can't the hosts do a little police work?" The park has a great location and you can't beat the value and the new sites are great. The one thing that I miss are the rickety old cabanas that old-timers used to love to settle on. Read in the paper about the 100 mile and hour winds and the damage done to several rv's but it looked, to me, like all that had been cleaned up. Still can not understand why they let BJ go and why they haven't named Jeff as head of the marina. Hosts are of different likes and some just like to get their site free and do as little as possible and I think that is the case now at Shields.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
Apr 19 - 22, 2010
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This in not the first time we have stayed here so we kinda knew what to expect and we were wrong. The campground has changed slightly, full hookups at all sites. The MWR staff continues to present a friendly and professional manner and that, to me, sets the mood for your stay. I spoke to both Hosts and they were helpful and friendly. The weather cooperated and we enjoyed our stay. Also for $15 per night good value.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Apr 15th - 23rd, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We want to thank Paula (in the registration office) for her outstanding personality and professionalism. We had a great time there relaxing and fishing and will certainly be returning. The only drawback I found was the restroom at the entry point to the fishing pier. Seems some people just don't care to clean up after themselves (flushing inabilities?). Also, watch your pets when walking them, the "sticker-burrs" are starting to take over large areas of the grass, especially around the loop road behind the original dump station. I would like to add that if Mobile Repair is needed, just call 361-854-7884 or 361-444-7472 (Mobile RV Marine Repair Service). Their rates are very reasonable but you may be required to meet them at the entry gate and escort them in and back out (it's worth it). Overall, great place and great value!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
Feb 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed here for 3 weeks in February. We were in the New Paradise Cove section and it was very nice. Large sites with a concrete pad for picnic table and RV parked on grass. Our site was not muddy even after heavy rain, but we saw some sites that were. Laundry room was close, clean and free. It is windy in the winter, but not too bad. Fishing piers within walking distance. Would gladly stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
Feb & March 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The pricing is now $15 for full hookup sites. There are no longer partial hook-up sites or pricing. Shields is the concrete pad section in one area. A block away is the Paradise Cove section with grass pads. The laundry situation is fixed; free laundry, 2 washer and 2 dryers in each park area. The office staff are often new so don't expect great things. They do try, they just don't know much. If you make a reservation, call and check on it a week before, the day before... Arm yourself with a healthy amount of patience and wade through the process until you get what you need. The gym on the base is pretty good, some classes are offered and they have lots of equipment. They want to take care of the RVers here and MWR is more actively involved now. Base and exchange are adequate, not huge or great but there's plenty of megamarts within a very short drive. Mail sent to the Flour Bluff (on Security Drive) post office works fine.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Dec 17, 2009 - Feb. 14, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Compared to last yr (winter09) we were not too impressed. The laundry was bad, broken washer/dryers and then just prior to our departure they installed new ones and eliminated the charge (good idea). But the system of moving folks all over was not eliminated, overall we were not to happy with our stay and probably will not return for another winter. Possibility in the summer?
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Jan. 1-31, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
G.L. left this review using the Directory software: Lots of stickers. The dog would not go on the grass after the first day. Lots of wind, mist, rain and fog. Lots of fishing opportunities but they tell me a Texas fishing license is $65, non-resident, for a year. Marina sites are on the grass and one unit had to be pulled out of the mud while we were there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Jan. 30, 2010
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
They tell you to have your mail sent to General Delivery, Corpus Christi, TX 78418. The post office zip code network does not see this zip code so it will send it to 78469 which is way downtown. I filled out the request with a card and it still went downtown. Maybe if you added the address it might work? Flour Bluff Post Office 10139 Security Dr. Corpus Christi 78418?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Jan 4 - Feb 4, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Great location, close to Padre Island, Corpus Christi and its attractions. Staff was friendly and the sites were level and power was adequate. We stayed on the beach side of the campground - it appeared you needed to be staying more than 30 days to stay near the marina but that was not a problem. The laundry room was not maintained as 3 dryers, vending machines were out of service the month we stayed and although the hosts said someone was going to fix them, they only put out of service signs on them. A couple of things you may want to know - if you walk on the grass you will get those little stickers on you shoes and they mean business, the wind blows and blows here and if it doesn't blow the mosquitoes will keep you from enjoying the outdoors. The upside is almost everyone we met on and off base were very friendly, found some very good restaurants (especially Andy's kitchen for breakfast) in the area and the ITT office has some really good discounts for the local attractions. Overall rating of three is because of the maintenance and wind! The hosts were friendly but I don't know what they do besides ride around on their golf carts and wave. We stayed here in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
December 16, 2009
(Updated: December 22, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
3.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Just visited and drove through the park. New sites are great and seem to be full. The amount of trash blowing around says that the hosts are not on the ball and the attitude in the marina needs a major adjustment. The marina personnell need to remember that the first word in personal is "PERSON" and that is how people should be treated when they arrive. Served as host on three different occasions and would like to return (not as host) some day but that is unlikely. Bad move letting BJ go and bad move not making Jeff the manager of the marina.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
Aug. 25 - Sep. 1, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice park, right on Corpus Christi bay on Flour Bluff. One bridge east to Padre Island National Seashore, the largest undeveloped barrier island (70 miles of beach) left in the world. To the north is Mustang Island and the towns of Port Aransas and Aransas Pass, popular winter Texan destinations. Corpus Christi offers the USS Lexington Aircraft Carrier Museum and the Texas State Aquarium, both are great attractions for the kids and the grown ups. Check-in at the marina is a little out of the way if you are camping on a site on Shields Park, you have to make a big loop around the marina area and head 1/4 mile over to the campground. Host was great, even took the time to warn me of the impending tornado spotted on Mustang Island (the 50+ mph winds were my first clue that the storm was serious). I retreated to the concrete bath house so as not to be a tornado statistic. Noticed that the bathroom was very clean.
Pad was level, power was never below 117 volts and satellite reception was good, as there are very few trees. There is a fishing pier adjacent to the campground, which I enjoyed on several evenings. The commissary is adequate, as is the BX, and the club is excellent. Overall, a nice august visit, I'd definitely come back again. I camped here in a motor home.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 1
28 June 09 thru 06 July 09
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was the first time to visit to this CG and can compare it to CGs we haved stayed at in FL! First, the wind was not an issue during the late June/early July time frame. It remained a balmy 84 degree (night) to 97 degree (day) during the whole period. It rained once, and very briefly. Check in was great. We were a late arrivals (meaning that we arrived after the marina was closed). This was by design as we were coming from El Paso to Corpus Christi, so we called ahead to let them know and they told us which site we were going to be in. We were also told to see the camp host for after hours check-in, but we actually arrived around mid-night due to problems on the road, so we decided not to bother them (I was thanked for that kind gesture by the host couple the next morning when we checked in at the marina). After our night arrival, I did a hasty set-up and we all climbed into our old 1985 Jayco 28 footer for a well deserved rest. The next morning, the kids, wife and kitty named "Socks" woke up to sun, sand, surf, salt water smells, and the sound of sea gulls. We had arrived! "I had to remind the kids not to feed the gulls any of my Alkaselzer tablets or it will be a crappy situation". A word about camping here during the 4th of July weekend; arrive early and leave late. There were alot of folks who came for the weekend, but the campground was not totally full. While camping at CCNAS, we enjoyed the side trips to the local area beaches, restaurants, museums and Sea World in San Antonio. Make sure to take advantage of the ITR/ITT office located by the BX. We also enjoyed the nearby pool and club/restaurant a few times for breakfast and lunch. Good Eats! When we were on the road, I did have tow vehicle problems, so I went to the auto craft shop and the guys there really helped me out (even called around looking for parts for me!). In short order, the old Chevy K3500 was deemed "mission capable" again and I gave my heart felt gratitude to the folks there. Just remember that there are quite a few resources on base and they are very, very user friendly. OK, the amenities... All is as advertised. We recommend that you take an "Air-Card" for internet. Cable TV...there is none. We had a DVD player for movies and a digital converter box to receive local channels. Otherwise we recommend that you have a Satellite Dish setup. (All this and we still call it "Kamping"?). Phones...you own a cell don't you? Mail...If you stay long enough, you can have your mail forwarded to the marina for pickup. Pets. They were very pet friendly. Ever see a kitty cat with a smile because he is on vacation?!? All in all, a really fun time was had by two grown folks, three kids and one cat. The only problem was that we had to leave.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 1 through May 6, 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is or second time here to Shields RV. The folks are great, the location is terrific. All the convenience of Commissary, Exchange, and McDonalds plus just a short distance through the main gate to Wal-Mart, etc. etc. With all these conveniences at your finger-tips yet there is the atmosphere of remoteness, quiet and peaceful surroundings with deserted beaches to walk and a long fishing pier if you feel lucky as a fisherman. There have been many concrete spaces added and a lovely club-house right in the park. The bathrooms, showers and laundry are spotless and well maintained. If I have one fault in this park it is the WIND. Both times we stayed here the wind was unceasing and gets on your nerves. Perhaps there's a better time of the year to visit, both times we were there in April.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 24 & 25, 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is a great place to camp. The attendants were so friendly and so helpful. The prices were very reasonable. The wind blew hard enough to shake our motor home the whole time we were there, but we still enjoyed our visit. If we ever come back this way, we will stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
144 results - showing 81 - 100
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8