Corpus Christi RV Park

 
4.2 (144)
150525 1 26 0 81

User reviews

144 reviews

 
(77)
 
(45)
 
(13)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.6  (144)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (144)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (144)
Value 
 
4.4  (144)
Overall Experience 
 
4.1  (144)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
144 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Ordering
20 Mar-20 April 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is our second stay in Corpus Christi. We arrived on the 20th and stayed in one of the new sites. All are 50 amp with 30 amp available. Your charged for the 50 amp even though you may use 30. They have eliminated the monthly rates and gone to daily rates. Sites are nice and with the completion of the club house should continue to be a good place to stay. Still have the windy days but better than snow. We will return for the winter for sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
Mar. 15 - 29, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
D.W. left this review using the Directory software: We had a very nice stay at NAS Corpus Christie. Nice location for walking along the shore of CC Bay, bike riding (sticker burrs are rough on tires though), fishing pier and friendly camp host's and fellow travelers. As stated before try not to miss Sunday Brunch at the nearby club, Good stuff!! Cheap - $9.95 all inclusive + tip. We had two nice day trips. The first was to the Texas State Aquarium - well kept and entertaining. The second was to the Aircraft Carrier Lexington. We spent over 5 hours touring "The Gray Ghost" Get discount ticket for both at Bldg #39. All in all a very nice two weeks. The wind does blow and very hard at times in excess of 50 mph gusts.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
14-20 March 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Great RV site. We arrived on the 14th of March and left the day they were supposed to open the new sites. I believe there are about 15 or so new full hookup sites with 50 Amp service. They are all brand new level concrete pads with easy access to the utilities. Great staff, very helpful. We will probably stay longer next year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
20 - 22 March 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Several new pads were opened up on 20 March. The landscaping surrounding the pads is incomplete, but the pads are level with very easy access to the utility pedestals. The clean-up following the construction was complete. The staff at the MWR office was polite and the camp host was available, if needed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
14 Jan to Mar 09 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
The Campground has the friendly small town feel to it. Not to big so people feel relaxed about meeting others. The staff go out of their way to make the visitor feel welcome as the flowers in May. Every time we go back there are self help improvements , which show that the staff are not willing to sit on past accomplishments. The city of Corpus Christi has a lot to offer, and with the reduced priced on base tickets, the attractions are more appealing I would recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing setting. Russ Marooney
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
March 3 - April 2, 2009
(Updated: March 08, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Shields opened 28 new sites and a new (small) club house two days ago. Originally mobile home sites, the sites are very large and roomy--our 40' motorhome gets lost in our site! They're located on a circular street near the Marina. The new club house has two washers and dryers and a sitting room with flat screen TV. If the sites had cable and wireless, they'd be some of the best in the military. In addition, 20 additional sites and a larger club house located in the existing park area should open this week. This already great park is getting better by the day! Also, I'd like to offer an alternative view on the Bay Club. Maybe the food isn't always the greatest but the bar, tended by Moe, who has been there 25 years, is excellent. Most importantly, unlike many bases today, the commander has kept the entire club functioning seven days a week despite declining usage. If you visit Shields, please support the club; otherwise, it will be closed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 0
Feb 17 - March 3, 2009
(Updated: July 27, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Shields is in a great location and is very popular. They seem to always be full and folks sometimes need to move to different sites, if they don't have reservations, or aren't able to make reservations for the whole season. We were next to some folks who were on a non-sewer site and have moved 11 times in 2 months. The staff, especially Charles, do a wonderful job of juggling sites and trying to accommodate people. The biggest downside is the wind, which seems to be incessant, we had 3 nice days in 2 weeks. We experienced winds from 20 mph to 45 mph, so strong that folks only went outside to go to another building, get in the car or walk dogs. When (if) the winds subsides, it is fantastic, but we will not be returning due to the wind - it's no fun to be in the south for the winter and unable to sit/eat outside. Bay Club (all ranks) next door was terrible (service and the buffet) for a evening meal, but great for the Sunday brunch. They are adding about 50 more sites which were due to come online Jan 15, but it looks like they could be ready any day - also new "clubhouse".
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 1
February 5-9, 2009
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Beautiful location right on Corpus Christi Bay but extremely windy when we were there. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Nice club close by, within walking distance, and they serve a great Sunday brunch. Good place to walk along the waterfront. We had 30 amp and water but were fortunate to have one of the wood shelters. Very nice. On the down side, two of the dryers were not working, WiFi is too expensive, and the commissary is rather small. I would like to return when it is a little warmer and the wind isn't blowing at 40 mph.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
Feb 3rd thru Feb 9th 2009
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had a great stay at this facility. The office personnel were very friendly and helpful. Charles knows his job very well and is an excellent person to have working in the office. Pier fishing was a lot of fun even though the wind was very strong at times. This campground is undergoing major upgrades, approximately 50 new sites are being added (many of them with concrete slabs with full hook-ups). My wife and I are looking forward to our next visit at Shields Park!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 1
November 2008 thru January 2009
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Nice place for the winter, if you can handle the wind......fishing was iffy, but word was that Ike changed the tides, etc...maybe better at a later date...we enjoyed the convenience of the Club on Base and the shopping....We didn't feel that the commissary and Exchange were small...good side for a small base....I gave only 3 stars for Cleanliness and Hospitality because the laundry and bath/restrooms were not kept up as well as they should have been, until the New Camp Host came aboard a couple weeks before we left.... We did the W/E sites and felt very lucky as for what we gave up in not having sewage, we gained by having one of the wooden shelters to block the wind and gave us some shade....since putting out your awning was not an option. 28 new sites are almost finished. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would stay again in the future....
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
December 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a works-in-progress campground right now. They are working very quickly to add many more sites. If you visit, ensure you explain what full hook-up means because one of the newer office personnel thought that only meant water and electric. This will be a great campground in a few months from now after they add the new sites. View of the bay is outstanding, but as stated in other comments, it can become very windy in a matter of minutes. Try not to park to close to the water, or you will be scrubbing salt water paste from your rig and vehicle more often than you want. Very nice long fishing pier, and trips to Mustang Island and South Padre Island are absolutely wonderful! We will definitely revisit in the future.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
Sep 16 - Oct 6 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The Wi-Fi has finally been fixed and is well worth it if you value having access to the internet. Charles has been extremely helpful and the Camp Host BJ is pleasant and always available if you ever need assistance or just have a question. The only negative thing I experienced while there is one family who doesn't seem to think they need to keep their 3 dogs tied up. And since they are stationed at Corpus Christi, I doubt they will be gone when you arrive.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
April 2007 to September 5, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
It is a beautiful park, a place where you can relax in comfort and security. Sunrises and sunsets are out of this world and the people throughout the park are just wonderful. Yes, I know the wifi sucks but MWR has nothing to do with it. Everyone in the office, and the hosts, respond quickly to your needs and will go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. My only complaint is the manager. He doesn't know how to manage and his method of taking care of problems is to ignore it and hope that it will go away. It took more than three months to get a dryer repaired; speeders still pose a danger to all the children in the park; one person dumps his gray water on the ground and repeated efforts to get the manager to deal with it go unanswered; girlfriends get special deals on the rental trailers. Will I return? No. It's a beautiful place but . . . .
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 5 1
June 9 to July 7th 2008
(Updated: September 08, 2008)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This is our third and to date longest visit yet. The base is small and personable. The active duty members are more than willing to accept and include us old retirees. The exchange /commissary is smaller than what we are use to but what little we could not find was available about a mile outside the gate. Security made it almost painless getting out stickers. We took advantage of some of the boating classes offered at the waterfront rec area. Not only were they informative but fun. Got a lot for a very few bucks. After the sailing class we felt confident enough to buy a 19 ft sailboat which we are using once or twice a week on our local lakes. This winter we plan to take advantage of the free fitness center. For $10 a month you can join any/all of their classes. The overall attitude of both the military and civilian personal goes way above the expected or required. We have decided to make this our annual escape destination.We have been to other bases where this was not the case. Not only things to do on base but a lot going on in Corpus Christi. Plus you can't beat the FRESH sea food. Only real negative was the for hire WiFi service. Don't waste your money on it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
25 July-1 Aug 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
L.J. left this review using the Directory software: Park personnel were great. Navy does not accept AF base decals I found this out after going in and out for 4 days. Wi-Fi in the Park is terrible could not download, or much else kept losing the Wi-Fi at the campground. I did at home on wi-fi in 10mins what I tried to do for 4 days there. Not worth the price.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
July 5-9, 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The park is lovely, but a little too windy at times. Our stay was enjoyable, but the host reaked of alcohol and seemed to be a little impatient when he was registering us -- like maybe we were an inconvenience? The nearby pool was well used by our kids and all the campers nearby were very friendly and helpful. NEX and commisary a little small, but so is the base. We plan on returning very soon!!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
July 25 -1 Aug 2008
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Park personnel are great the only two gripes I have are the Showers, but what the Heck thats why I got an RV so I don't have to use them. The biggest gripe is the overpriced and lousy wi-fi in the park, NO GOOD, couldn't much not reliable. I've had Free wi-fi a hundred percent better. We really are enjoying our stay. After 4 days the gate guard told me I had to get a Navy decal or temp pass the one I have Randolph AFB, is not good because the Air Force Stopped using them (it was the same Navy Gate guard that let me 3 of 4 days. So go figure.)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
27-28 July 2008
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
For those of you that want the RV experience without the hassle they have several (8 I think) 29ft RV's for rent. The one we stayed in was in excellent condition and had microwave, stereo, TV antenna (no tv or antenna cable), fridge/freezer, bathroom/shower and picnic table, easily slept the 5 of us with room for more. It was very clean and both check in and check out inspections are done. Only a 3 Min walk to the on base beach and laundry facilities. The staff and the host family were both excellent. Oh, the cost was $40 a night...
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 0 0
1 May 2008 - Long Term
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
I do not have any other park's in Texas to compare, but I would imagine this is one of the nicest. The family and I are long-terming it here and there isn't a better place. The facility is tip-top, only thing is the wind, so be cautious with your awning. The host's are nice people and on top of their jobs. Park is in close proximity to all of base features (bike ride). The views are nice. The Corpus Christi sky line is something to see at sundown. If coming this way check out the park, you will not be disappointed.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 4 0
03-07 April 2008
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The first 2 days was extremely windy then the next 2 days were beautiful. We stayed on one of the large concrete sites with full hookups. Most sites were spaced far apart except for those that shared a cabana. Interior roads are paved and the grassy areas were mowed. The bathhouse was clean. Only 2 showers but most camping units were self-contained so this was not a problem. The camp host was friendly and came around to welcome us and invite us to a pot luck dinner. The place is crawling with sea gulls that seem to be expecting handouts. Don't leave food unattended on your picnic table. Nice view of Corpus Christi Bay. No much in the way of amenities. We had our grandkids with us and there was little for them to do. No pool, no playground. A pool is located near the club about 0.5 miles away and is open from Memorial Day until Labor Day. Padre Island is 10 miles to the east and plenty of shopping centers and other stores off highway 358 going toward Corpus Christi but the area outside the base is pretty shabby. Full hookus for $15 is a pretty good value but the top military campgrounds are beginning to include free wi-fi and a small clubhouse. Some of the residents have accumulated too much junk underneath their RVs and their sites look real trashy.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 6 0
144 results - showing 101 - 120
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8