Corpus Christi RV Park

 
4.2 (143)
147224 1 26 0 81

User reviews

7 reviews with 2 stars

143 reviews

 
(77)
 
(44)
 
(13)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.6  (143)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (143)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (143)
Value 
 
4.3  (143)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (143)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
7 results - showing 1 - 7
Ordering
2014 - 2015
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We stayed in this campground from October 2014 to October 2015 and it was the worst camping experience of our lives. First of all there is more than just "some" homesteading, there is a lot of homesteading. Some of them have been there for 3+ years, and won't be leaving anytime soon.  Even though homesteading is against MWR rules, here it's overlooked because cash is king. Another problem is that if some of these homesteaders don't want you staying here, they will go to unimaginable lengths to drive you out, which is what happened to us. One couple days of women filed false police reports against us, to either embarrass us or cause us to want to leave. Either way the phony allegations were a complete waste of time and resources, which didn't appear to bother them. Another thing they did to us was they placed screws under our tires in hopes of causing damage to our property.  That also didn't work. They walked there dog over to my vehicle and allowed it to urinate on my tires.  Enough became enough and we left. Other problems are most definitely the dog feces, anyone who says otherwise either is blind or is part of the problem of not cleaning up after their pet. Drunk drivers speeding thru the park, crashing into things. People racing around on golf carts and almost hitting a little boy in a wheelchair. The beach is gorgeous if you don't mind kicking the trash out of your way. My husband and I spent hours picking up the trash that littered the beach, which was a daily endeavor.  The pier is a complete mess. Laundry facilities are free, if you dare use them. Some homesteaders appear to think it's their personal laundromat and you take the risk of their wrath if you dare use it.  Garbage cans so full they overflow onto the ground. Mold dripping from the air vents in the bathrooms.  Dumpsters that smell so bad they leave you gagging. People like to throw dead fish in them. Complaints definitely fall on deaf ears. There is a very poor manager and he should be replaced by someone who can handle the job. Others only care about the profits, your safety is of no concern. If you're looking for a drama free stay, I suggest another place. We will never ever stay here again.
Report this review Comments (4) | Was this review helpful to you? 42 11
Oct 2015
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We were traveling back home to Houston from Port Aransas and staying at this famcamp was a last minute decision. After reading some of the previous reviews I decided to add my own. Biggest complaint is the dog poo. My kids were always stepping in it. That really annoys us because we clean up after our dogs. Another issue is the lack of a playground for children. There is absolutely no designated place for kids to play. The cars (and golf carts) that drive through here do not obey the posted speed limits and you take your life in your hands as you walk around. Not a very safe place to walk your pets, or your children. Huge potholes make it difficult to drive through the road. The base itself has the worst streets of any base we've ever been to. WiFi wasn't working. Two dryers in the laundry area were broken and we were told it's been that way for over a year. No air conditioning makes doing laundry a very unhealthy, unpleasant chore. Upside is the base is very close to town, the beach was clean of trash and debris. Pier is destroyed. Facilities are clean and well cared for. Management really doesn't seem to care whether or not you've enjoyed your stay. It's really more of a give-us-your-money-and-go-away type of attitude they seem to have. We found the campground in Kingsville to be so much more family friendly. There is a very bad element here at the NAS famcamp that caused us to leave early. Chances are we won't stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 36 11
October 2015
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
The two words I'd use to describe this camp is "never again"!!! We had a horrible time. People not cleaning up after their pets, dogs roaming around with no leash. One woman screaming and swearing at others using the laundry. I could hear her screaming from several yards away. Then she got in a golf cart and went racing past me and almost hit a little boy in a wheel chair. I did report that to the main office because it was very dangerous. I could not believe what I was witnessing. After speaking to a few of the long termers I found this has been an on going problem for the last few months. WiFi is terrible with thieves ready to steal your info. The pier has been destroyed by storms. Mosquitoes are really bad. I think we'll stay somewhere else next time. This camp is having too many problems. Camp here at your own risk.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 42 13
Sept 3, 2015
Overall rating 
 
1.8
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
The worst part about this park is the homesteading. Even though it's against the rules, the same people are here, in the same spots, some of them for the last two years. The best spots are always filled with the same people. No one else can use the sites by the pier because the same people are always there. How about allowing others a chance to use these sites? Homesteading is against military rules! Another problem is one person rides around on her hopped up golf cart, yelling obscenities at others, and attempting to hit kids on their bicycles. When you complain at the main office, no one's gives a hoot. Trash on the beach is disgusting. If the trash cans need emptying, you have to call and complain. Otherwise no one will change it. The facilities are nice except for the golf cart woman who fights with others using the laundry facilities. The grounds are well maintained, but it's hard to enjoy when you're dodging piles of dog feces. Worst camping experience of my life. Will never stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 140 25
Feb 1, 2012
Overall rating 
 
1.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
P.L. left this review using the Directory software: - I was under the impression that the Military CG ran under the MWR were meant for everyone active duty, retired, etc. Seems this does not apply to CC Shields RV Park. Seems you have to belong to the GOBN and once in, you are in forever. I have seen rigs parked in the park without any activity for weeks, as if it is a weekend retreat from San Antonio or other parts of the state. Those running the desk most of the time have no clue as to what is going on and trying to make a reservation in this century is almost impossible. It appears to be a decent park, but then again who except a select few can find a spot to stay. It does make sense in slow seasons to allow some long termers, but in the peak seasons, give everyone a chance. Take a clue from DM in Tuscon where I have seen two Generals in overflow awaiting their turn.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
April 2011
(Updated: April 30, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
1.6
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
Shields RV park could be jewel; however it isn’t. While the sites are large and the concrete pads are level, the rest of the park is subpar. The office staff, really do not know what they are doing, some of them try very hard; however, management has no clue about running an RV Park. There is no website, there is no monthly calendar (any event notice is done via the night host being asked to distribute a flyer the day before or day of the event - NOT GOOD), The manager and staff do not know how to schedule spaces, it is EXTREMELY common for patrons to be move from site to site, reason giving - the computer says we need to move them for an incoming patron. In one case Patron A moved into Patron B’s site, Patron B moved into Patron C’s site and Patron C moved into Patron A’s site - CRAZY. Retired Military are told the park is full, in reality there are vacant sites. The management does not care about the complaints, they say if the retiree does not come back there will be others. Is this the way to treat retired and disabled patrons - NO. One of the night hosts did not do her job (she is not living in the park full time nor is she a veteran), the other two (veterans and one has a bronze star and both are disabled) did 20 times the work. Sne is moving on and the other who has been a night host at Shields for 2 1/2 years was let go because his services were no longer required, when asked why, people were told there never were any night host during the summer - A LIE. In fact the night host who does a terrible job - still working and the manager wants to put her husband to be a night host - ISN’T THIS NEPOTISM AND A CONFLICT OF INTEREST? Until the base commander and the head of MWR make changes, we will not be back. WE WARNED, there is nothing to do, there isn’t any welcome package, there are no maps, no activities like other military RV parks, they want to make it so CIVILIANS can be given same priority as military and retired military - ISN’T THIS A MILITARY FACILITY.... WHY.......? GO ELSE WHERE.......
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 8
Dec. 1, 2007
Overall rating 
 
2.1
Location 
 
2.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
1.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
1.0
We were excited to be going to Corpus Christi, but when we got there it was nothing we expected. The men checking us in were very nice, but our accommodations were not up to par. For the price, we got water and electric, no other amenities, they run lines, but didn't hook them up. Our site were very run down so called cabanas, if you didn't know your neighbor, you were too close to each other sharing the same cabana. We like meeting new people, but being on top of each other is a little much. Needless to say we left.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 3
7 results - showing 1 - 7