Corpus Christi RV Park

 
4.2 (143)
141164 1 26 0 77

User reviews

14 reviews with 3 stars

143 reviews

 
(77)
 
(44)
 
(13)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.6  (143)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (143)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (143)
Value 
 
4.3  (143)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (143)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
14 results - showing 1 - 14
Ordering
May 2017
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
If you love wet, warm and windy weather, this is the park for you. Superb windsurfing conditions. Reservations recommended; many active duty and retirees living here full time. Length of stay is 90 days. Submit a written request to extend. Spoke to one person who had been here since March of 2017 and was staying until the end of July. Following information from MWR Management: Repair work on the fishing pier has begun and is expected to be completed by the end of June 2017. Future park improvements in the planning stages are: A dog park with large and small designated sections and a run. Children’s play area. RV Park expansion to include cottages. Park Appearance: mowed. Trash picked up routinely. Concrete RV pads old and cracking. Utility boxes old. Women’s Shower/Toilets: Needs cleaning and painting. Laundry free. Large top load commercial Speed Queen washers and dryers in good repair. Commissary small. Meat and produce selection small and poor quality. Highly recommend Moody’s Meat Market. GOWIFI – Connectivity strong. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 0
February 2012
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We had a brand new 5th wheel and we planned on staying only 1 week. We arrived on a Friday and set up. We went to visit some friends in the area on Monday. when we returned to our 5th wheel that afternoon all of a sudden we had brown out the took out our electric fireplace, surround sound system, Blue Ray DVD, micro wave, and central vacuum system. I checked with the neighbors and they hadn't experienced the problem. I caalled the base maintenance people who came out and checked the electric receptacle. I happened to be out riding my bike when they showed up and my wife was watching them. The electrician pulled apart the 50 AMP receptacle and said that it needed replaced because it was corroded. I tried getting the Navy to replace the damaged equipment but they wouldn't do it in part because the electrician claimed the plug was not seated all the way in and that was what caused the problem. I have to add here that a neighbor talked to my wife about it before they got there and he brought over a 30 to 50 AMP converter and tried plugging it in to see if that would make a difference. He may have left thee plug loose so I don't know if the electrician was untruthful. I told him that the problem happened before the neighbor messed with it so it was probably the neighbor who left it loose. He stuck to his story when talking to his supervisor so I had to get my appliances replaced. Since my unit was under warranty the manufactures replaced them. It took a month to get them in. I did purchase a surge protector for my unit. The campground is out in a wide open place that backs up to the bay. We had a lot of strong winds coming off the bay straying our unit with salt water. As soon as they calmed down I completely washed down my unit to prevent corrosion.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 3
Jan 5th through Jan 12th 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We have visited this location at least once a year for well over 7 years and continue to watch it decline in upkeep. Without a full time host it is going downhill. Campers no longer pick up after their pets. Trash around the park. Cars/Trucks park on grass with little regard. Internet is near worthless unless you are in the community room. The location and the price still trumps all the complaints, but this park was 100% better just 5 or 6 years ago (and at less cost). Final note. Time for base security to declare open season on the Coyotes that roam the perimeter in small packs even in the daylight. Small dog owners be warned.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Jan 1-4, 2013
(Updated: January 05, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We arrived on a cold rainy day, after we paid for a 2 night stay, we were told that the electricity was out in the campground but they were working on it. The electricity was down for about 3 hours. the campground was very nice, concrete pads wide enough for our 5th wheel and our truck to park side by side. The bay side sites were very beautiful and right along the beach and pier. Very nicely located near commissary, NEX, and VA Hospital. The laundry facility was free, however only one washer was working and 2 dryers. The washer took an hour to run and several people were wanting to do laundry. The lights kept flickering in the laundry facility and in the womens restroom, which can be disturbing after dark. The wind is very strong there this time of year and the temperature was only in the 40's, and we found it hard to sleep due to the wind rocking our camper. But the campground was very clean and nice, and in an isolated area, but we felt it was overpriced for a military campground. The traffic around Corpus Christi was terrible, we saw several wrecks. We probably won't return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
Oct 12-current
(Updated: December 17, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Grounds maintained but lots of pricklies in grass, clean shower and laundry facilities, but lights in ladies shower, flicker off and on like some horror film. Four washing machines in one facility and only one works, four dryers, two work, but they are free. Nice big spaces, all utilities included, garbage, wifi (when it works), water, electricity. NO trees. They fees are rather high ($540 mo) but i guess they figure you are right on the water, so you pay accordingly? I would think that a military RV spot would be the same no matter where you go. The wind can be almost unbearable at times. So mix the wind and salt=rust! The base is adequate. Decent commissary and exchange. Nice gym. Have looked for other places to stay off base, but winter Texans have taken them all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 2
April 11-14, 2012
(Updated: May 08, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Easy to locate, no obstructions at the Main Gate. Receptionist at check-in lacked people skills, very unfriendly. Sites are large, and plenty of space between sites. The big negative is the wind! Water heater wouldn't stay lit the last morning there. The free laundry that we were informed about when we called for reservations was a bust - 2 washing machines and only one worked. Good location easy drive to Padre Island National Seashore, also to King's Ranch. Fresh large Gulf shrimp for purchase at the T-heads. Ask the local for directions. Great seafood dinner at Snoopy's (cash only).
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 1
Jan 5 to Mar 1 2011 Approx
(Updated: December 09, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
1.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This review is a bit late. We have visited this RV campground 6 times . Mostly during the winter, but one summer also. As stated many times by others the winter wind will get to you. We love the beach, and made it a point to walk the dogs down there at least twice a day. The people on the base, and in town can not be beaten. There are also about a dozen more positive points. Due to a couple of factors we have decided to stay in Rockport, Tx this year. First point is the base has priced themselves out of competition with the civilian campgrounds. The price for my 30 amp trailer, would be $18 per day,or $580 per month. The campground in Rockport is $320, incld. WiFi, and cable TV. True I will have to pay electric, but that should not run more that $40 per mo. Next point is the lack of organization, at the base. Our last stay was riddled with changes that affected us, and with little or no notice. The poor people in the office had no idea of what was going on. I believe that the powers to be are more interested in making money than servicing the Active and retired military people that it is their mission to do. It is a shame that I have to write this type of review, but in my opinion this facility has been lowering it standards of service for the few years.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
December 2011
(Updated: December 06, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
This is the fourth year we have visited this facility. Increase in prices, decrease in overall experience. In the last two years they added considerable spaces. In the past they had two camp hosts (overkill). Now there is not a camp host, so rules are not enforced. While there a week I experienced loose dogs, barking dogs being tied outside, ladies bathhouse could not be entered by code, cars parked on the grass. No way this is allowed in the past with camp hosts. Hot water in shower and bathroom just warm enough not to be cold. WiFi was frustrating at best unless you go to the community room. I don't know, perhaps all the wind just left me a little cranky this year.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 1
1 Nov - 1 Dec 2011
(Updated: November 26, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Campground is at a great location. Convenient to shopping on base and off. Rated lower for cleanliness and amenities compared to other parks. No camp host at this park. Everything is handled through the office. Great tv reception with antenna. Wind..Wind... and more wind. Great temps but the wind is almost constant. Wifi is hit and miss. Its okay in the community room. Would stay again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Dec 17, 2009 - Feb. 14, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Compared to last yr (winter09) we were not too impressed. The laundry was bad, broken washer/dryers and then just prior to our departure they installed new ones and eliminated the charge (good idea). But the system of moving folks all over was not eliminated, overall we were not to happy with our stay and probably will not return for another winter. Possibility in the summer?
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
Jan. 1-31, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.2
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
G.L. left this review using the Directory software: Lots of stickers. The dog would not go on the grass after the first day. Lots of wind, mist, rain and fog. Lots of fishing opportunities but they tell me a Texas fishing license is $65, non-resident, for a year. Marina sites are on the grass and one unit had to be pulled out of the mud while we were there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Jan 4 - Feb 4, 2010
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Great location, close to Padre Island, Corpus Christi and its attractions. Staff was friendly and the sites were level and power was adequate. We stayed on the beach side of the campground - it appeared you needed to be staying more than 30 days to stay near the marina but that was not a problem. The laundry room was not maintained as 3 dryers, vending machines were out of service the month we stayed and although the hosts said someone was going to fix them, they only put out of service signs on them. A couple of things you may want to know - if you walk on the grass you will get those little stickers on you shoes and they mean business, the wind blows and blows here and if it doesn't blow the mosquitoes will keep you from enjoying the outdoors. The upside is almost everyone we met on and off base were very friendly, found some very good restaurants (especially Andy's kitchen for breakfast) in the area and the ITT office has some really good discounts for the local attractions. Overall rating of three is because of the maintenance and wind! The hosts were friendly but I don't know what they do besides ride around on their golf carts and wave. We stayed here in a motorhome.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
Jan 13, 2007
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
R.L. left this from the Directory software: The commissary is very small, but the HEB supermarkets in town are really great, especially for produce. Watch out for loose dogs - some of the long term "residents" don't abide by the leash rules.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
March 2006
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
Since we didn't have any reservations, we ended up in overflow. Pretty windy while we were there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
14 results - showing 1 - 14