Corpus Christi RV Park

 
4.2 (143)
141164 1 26 0 77

User reviews

52 reviews with 4 stars

143 reviews

 
(77)
 
(44)
 
(13)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.6  (143)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (143)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (143)
Value 
 
4.3  (143)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (143)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
52 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3
Ordering
12-14 March 2019
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Traveling to South Texas, we made reservations by phone to Corpus Christi RV Park. The rate was $17/night. We paid a total of $34...nothing additional. Arriving to the installation, the roads were fair to poor, signage was not impressive but eventually landed us to the RV sites. Finding the Marina/Check In area was another challenge, but we eventually found it. Walking in to the office, there were several young ladies working the desk. I gave my name and info to one lady, then was passed off to another, and finally the third lady assisted. They highlighted three sites on a park map and asked which one I wanted. I picked site 74. Once we checked in and supplied our Vet health certificate for both dogs, we were headed to our campsite. It was 30 amp, with water and sewer. The only catch...this particular site had hookups on the wrong side. We backed in to the site only to discover the hookups were on the passenger side. Sewer was on the correct side but electric and water were on the passenger side. Fortunately our cord was long enough to reach. The site was fairly level. The park is on the water. There's really no beach area and hurricane damage is still evident. I understand there is a dog park but it was damaged in the storms and has not been rebuilt yet. The grass/sand spurs are prolific. Each trip with the dogs required despurring their legs before entering the RV. During our stay it was very windy. We were not able to raise our antenna due to the wind. But, we were still able to get a few channels. Verizon reception was very good. We will stay here again when in the area. It was very affordable. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
11-14 May 2018
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Nice campground, no shade and very windy (you are on the gulf coast). Campsites are minimal but adequate. 30/50 amp, water and dump. Do not let them fool you. There are no "pull-through" sites. A pull-through requires you to pull straight in and onto landscaped areas. Bring your own BBQ. Nice for a weekend stay but no longer. Easy access to the Exchange and Commissary. No on-site manager after hours. Saw quite a few homesteaders, even one in a home-made rig. WiFi was available but spotty at times, but not a show stopper.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
Apr 22-23, 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We stayed 4 nights with a 22' trailer. We needed only 30amp connection. They have a small number of asphalt, 30amp connections for a good rate of $17. These 30amp sites. with full hook-ups, are the furtherest from the shower house and washeteria. The 50amp sites with larger concrete parking spots are $20. Check-in staff at the marina were very nice and professional. Shower House/Washeteria was always clean -- good daily maintenance. It was very windy every day we were here -- about 15 - 20 mph, plus gusts. No one could put their awnings out, and I didn't see anyone cooking outdoors or lounging outside their RV. There are no trees to shelter you from sun or wind. Temp was okay, mid to upper 70's but still no comfortable outdoor activity. There was still visible damage around from Hurricane Harvey. There used to be a nice fishing pier by the campground that was damaged and now not useable. Various buildings on base had roof damage and some activities have moved or are being repaired. Both the Commissary and NEX are small but adequate. We bought a few items at the Commissary, but the nearby off base HEB, Walmart, etc. are better stocked and and in many cases cheaper by a few cents. More and more it seems like the on base facilities aren't really doing a service to our troops anymore when compared to off-base providers. Campground has a modest recreation room with kitchen, tv, and tables to play games. Couches for TV viewing weren't too comfortable. It did not seem to be used very much. Several residents may be permanent party, homesteaders, etc. Some RVs were parked on sites and never seemed to have any occupants -- like they are stored there. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 2
Oct 31 -Nov 7 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Just checked in at Corpus Christi FamCamp. They told me as of Oct 1 2017 all sites are now $20. I made reservations in May 2017 for $18 and I said I have confirmation for $18 so they gave it to me at $18 instead of $20. The only thing I can tell is so far the wifi is good for emails. Site is concrete and flat. Office staff makes check-in very long and difficult. Friend had 4 people in front of him and it took an hour to check-in. When I checked it I was the only one and it took 15 minutes and the issue was the printer and the computers they have.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
January 5-21, 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
This is a great RV park in that they have nice large sites, big rig friendly, 50 amp service w/full HU, free (clean) laundry on a secure military installation. We could see the water nicely from our site. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Folks seem to stay here a long time and we were lucky to be able to get a reservation and stay for 16 days. (unable to extend). I only downgrade the location and overall experience for the following reasons - You are not on the Gulf per-se, and the piers are unable to be used at all. No "beach". You also get a LOT of salt spray/fog overnight and our bikes are trashed after being out for 16 days (we should have known and taken precautions). I also downgrade because folks seem to have left their RVs there during winter months and only come and go - preventing the sites from being rented by those who would actually like to BE there. I realize they are paying for them, but I don't like the not having to be occupied part. (They can't be left for more than 48 hours during hurricane season). I would recommend this park for anyone wanting a secure location with FHU in the CC area. Can't beat the price. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
July 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Ok here goes; coming towards the main gate is a bit of a challenge because they have the concrete barriers soooo close together you barely have any maneuver room so if you don't pay attention you WILL hit the side/rear of your trailer, so be careful. Next we stopped for diesel at the fuel station which is directly after entering the main gate, lets just say you should not be in any hurry to fuel, it took me 20min to pump 18gal, I finally said it was time to go, for whatever reason the pressure/flow is very slow? Arrived on a Sunday, office is closed but my reservation paperwork was in the outside box and all was in order. Had a back-in site which was easy to access and for the most part the hard dirt/sand was level. Was in between a couple of full-timers and they were very congenial, as were all that we met. Laundry room was very close with two sets and were FREE. Park is quiet at night and most all are away during the day. My only real gripe(which is no fault of the site) is that the entire grass area has huge sharp stickers which your pet WILL get in the paws(as mine did) and they do hurt(both pet & owner). There is a PX and commissary so if you need some supplies they are just down the road :) Even though you are very near the bay there is really no beach area to walk, you have to go off-base to town. If we come back to this area we would stay again, after all who could complain for $18..... 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 2
Dec 2015
(Updated: December 11, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We did not stay here do to the previous comments and didn't want to get drive all the way there in the RV to find that it would not be an enjoyable stay.  However, we drove to the RV park in the car and checked it out.  I also went into the office and had a nice talk with the Manager, Dave.  We didn't go into the bathrooms, but the rest of the park was mowed and clean, can't comment on dog poo. But, having 4 dogs and picking up after each one, I don't like seeing others ignore their duties.  Most sites are double concrete pads and there were a few empty sites.  There does appear to be some homesteading going on, especially in the older Mobile Home park, but most sites looked clean, a few sites were cluttered, but I have seen worse.  The overall appearance looks real good, a lot better than some of the others I have been in.  I really am sorry we didn't come here in the first place.  I believe the previous comments are from a few sour apples and should not be given a whole lot of credit.  The pier is unusable.  Dave was very straight forward with me and seems to care about the park. His staff answered my initial questions with no problems.  I am under the impression that some if not all of the previous problems were taken care of.  I will definitely stay here on our next trip through this area.  It is right on the water and would be well worth the visit.  I also just noticed that the previous 3 reviews were there first time posts. Hmmmm!!! I should have noticed that before now.
Report this review Comments (1) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 24
October 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.1
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0
We've been coming here for the last 10 years. The famcamp is bad, then gets better, then gets bad again. No consistency. While the sites are very large and roomy. Concrete pads with plenty of room to accommodate large units. Laundry area is free and very clean. Didn't use the bathrooms, but I hear they too are clean. Lawns are mowed on a near daily basis and the guys who do the mowing are very friendly and helpful, and greeted me each morning with a wave and good morning. One of them helped me move my picnic table off the lawn and back on the cement pad. The camp hosts are also very friendly and work hard to keep the areas clean. We camp here specifically for the fishing and were quite disappointed to learn the pier was unusable. No one seems to know when it will be up and running again. The homesteading is a real issue with this particular famcamp. There are a lot of contractors who are taking sites away from veterans and their families. That should be addressed by the management. There is a problem person here but I had no run ins with her. We tend to keep to ourselves, but we heard from others that the troublemakers are here and they like to ruin it for others. There's always one no matter where you go. Just ignore her and you'll be fine. Never saw any coyotes but we did hear they are around so keep an eye on your children and smaller pets. WiFi is free but you have to share it with the entire base. Be careful with your passwords. Thieves will take them, we had our Netflix account stolen while we were here. They also need to enforce the picking up after your dog rule. Dog feces is a health hazard to other dogs, not to mention no one wants to step in it. Overall it's an okay place to stay. We would come back, but we hope the pier is fixed by then.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 27 6
Jan. 8, 2015 - Feb. 4, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We were located in the park close to the fishing pier with concrete pads, picnic tables and quite a bit of space in between sites. Laundry room was clean and is free. Bathrooms are cold but clean. We asked about extending our stay with the girls at the desk and they couldn't find space. Deal with the director Dale Martinets and he will find or extend your stay if at all possible or we went through Navy Lodge 800 phone number and that helped, also. Plan to rinse the salt spray off your RV. Always windy. Cold in January.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 0
Apr-May 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Need new upper mgt. does nothing for the campers. last time there the grass was not cut for more the three weeks we where there. the lights have been out on the fishing pier more then two years, that we know of. hospitality at check in was very good. new personnel each time we go there, but still good.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
June 7th, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I called early in the day to get a reservation for this afternoon. The staff was pretty good, but slooooow. The guy that checked us in, needs a bit of RV speak added to his repertoire. We asked for a pull thru and I had no idea there are NONE. So when we arrived I asked about a site with pull through and was met with the sites have all the connections. He was quite polite. SOOOOO we backed the whole rig into a spot and set about enjoying a very level, large site. cockle burrs abound so be careful with fido. Upon arrival I also looked for garbage and found the rv park to be quiet clean. Lots of jack rabbits and little furry critters, but no coyotes or other large predators. new bath house was clean as well.
P
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
April 23rd to May 5th, 2014
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
First, Larry you need to remove the video for this campground, Those cabanas and the breakfast being served at the marina have been gone for years. As for the campground, it has been deteriorating and little or no action has been taken to improve the campground. For example, the lights on the campground fishing pier have been inoperative for at least a year. Most of the lights in the campground itself are inoperative. There is no camp host. They (MWR) let the person that used to keep the campground mowed and trimmed go. Trash (beer cans, cig. butts, water bottles etc. are around most of the sites. Some patrons that have pets fail to pick up after their pets even though bags are provided by the campground at more than one area. Also, according to one of the personnel in the campground office, someone had reported seeing rattlesnakes in the campground recently. Coyotes have been seen in the campground as well as badgers inside the trash bins at night.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
8/8-8/10/2013
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
I had a good time. It was my first camping experience with my newly purchased 40' Motorhome. The place was clean but there was no hospitality. There are no real service provided at the Campground. You check in and they direct you kind of to an area and then you must find your assigned spot. We were in the old area not close to any amenities. There were no showers available in the area I was assigned which was no big deal because I had a shower on board, but the people in the pop-up had none of this. I was next to a Man who has lived there for 4 years and mows his own yard. The close proximity to Padre Island is nice went there every day loved it. NEX and Commissary are convenient. Didn't look like much else was open on the base, but will return. 18 buck a night is cheap for that area and cant wait to try it again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 2
Feb 27th thru Mar 21st 2013
(Updated: March 21, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Campground has no lighting in much of the area. The fishing pier has been closed past the steps coming up from the beach on the east side of the pier due to storm damage to railings on west side of pier. According to MWR, Security Police, Public Works, repairs may be some time in the future. No Camp Host has yet been assigned but they (office personnel) are asking for one. The map for the campground (above) needs updating. All site numbers have been changed. Office personnel advised me that reservations can now be made by calling 1-877-NAVYBED and to be assigned to a site with a concrete pad, you must ask for a "RV50" site. For those that may not know, there is a "Family Health Clinic and Minor Emergency Room" located at 10102 SPID just outside the main gate on the frontage road and they accept TriCare for Life and Medicare. Special thanks to MWR Personnel Donica, Mary Kay, Robert and Richard. All have done everything they could to make our stay here enjoyable. We plan on returning later on next month.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
January 10 - 19, 2013
(Updated: January 19, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Stayed from January 10th until 19th of 2013. The first day the wind was not bad, but the next 6 days it was terrible. Not sure how how fast the wind was, but the camper moved around all night. The last couple of days the wind was much calmer. The restroom / shower was ok. The laundry room was very clean and all four washers and the four dryers were working. Looks like they must have replaced two of each. Again all was free. There is a new fellow (Joe) working in the office since our last stay and he was excellent. They advertise wifi but I could not get it to work for the entire 9 days. I ask Joe and he said it was hit and miss. I guess mostly miss. We do always enjoy this campground even with the wind (no control over this) and the lack of wifi. We will be back in March.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Dec 28-31, 2012
(Updated: January 14, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
The navy personnel operating the campground were quite courteous. They were unable to accurately send us to an unoccupied site – some problem with their management software. We were initially sent to site 28 which was occupied. I called the office and was sent to site 31 which was occupied. I called in and told them that sites 32 and 33 were unoccupied and we would like site 33 which they approved. Site 33 had the power/water and sewer on the wrong side which was not a big problem. I just drove in, parked the trailer and drove the tow vehicle out over the grass. For some desire to submit to torture, I decided I wanted to watch the Dallas Cowboys sew up their non-playoff status, so I checked out the Direct TV remote and proceeded to bring up satellite TV and our Activity Center. The receiver could not find the satellite, probably because of the 50-MPH winds the night before. I returned the remote to the office and was told I could probably watch the game at the other park Activity Center. The person at the desk said, no, I forgot we just lost the power transformer for the Activity Center. I returned to my trailer and settled for watching the Packers play using my TV USB dongle on my laptop and tuning in the only usable TV channel. This is probably not the staff’s problem since most military facility restrooms are extremely clean. I hiked to the shower on the 31st and showered. There was a turd in the shower obviously deposited by some highly considerate camper.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 2
August 10, 2012
(Updated: August 21, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Our very first ever camping (RV) trip. Access to the base and actual RV site very comfortable. Personnel behavior at check-in, very friendly and much knowledgeable. Cable TV still not operational. Access to facilities, like BX, laundry, fishing area, etc., very convenient. Look forward to return.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
11-19 Dec 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
J.B. left this review using the Directory software: - The Shields RV Park is a wonderful place for a relaxing and restful stay among some great travelers, as well as some who have not yet developed their greatness. Among the latter are those who, during early morning or late evening hours of darkness, let their dogs out the rig doors unsupervised and unleashed to defecate at will wherever. I do not travel with a dog, nor am I an opponent to them traveling with their masters, as long as dogs remain on a leash and doo-doo is clean up by the person at the other end of the leash. Incidentally, the park has no designated dog run area. MWR authorizes dogs in the RV Park, so why no designated dog run area where leashes can be removed?
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 2
1 to 15 November 2011
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
R.B. left this review using the Directory software: - if it weren't for the wind here, we would love this place.the wind can be really bad at times, but since we are right on the gulf i suppose that is the normal. the sites are not crowded on one another, the campground map told us exactly how to get to the site, and most folks seem to even adhere to the dog pickup policy. the neighbors are very friendly, traffic is not a problem,and many friendly walkers. the sites are great, wide and long with good hookup location.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
Jul. 29 - Aug. 02, 2011
(Updated: August 04, 2011)
Overall rating 
 
4.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
We are coming here quiet often and have had our share of many different RV Sites and all have been good. When we came to check in we were greeted by a young lady with a smile and was very polite. She told us about the Tropical Storm and how the weather has been. The rest of the staff I came in contact with were really helpful also. On Saturday I called the office about the laundry room being locked, and was told some one would be there to unlock it. Less than 5 minutes they arrived and had it open ready for use. The Staff needs more than a pat on the back for a job well done. Also Congrats to the Manager Staff like this makes his or her job more easier. Thanks, Michael Starr
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 3
52 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3