Corpus Christi RV Park

 
4.2 (143)
141249 1 26 0 77

User reviews

68 reviews with 5 stars

143 reviews

 
(77)
 
(44)
 
(13)
 
(7)
 
(2)
Overall rating 
 
4.2
Location 
 
4.6  (143)
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.2  (143)
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.9  (143)
Value 
 
4.3  (143)
Overall Experience 
 
4.2  (143)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
68 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4
Ordering
Nov 20-25, 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We just got back today! We love the place. Plenty of room, quiet, neighbors were friendly and you can get all of your needs on the base! bathrooms were clean and the staff was very nice! Plenty of places to fish, caught some trout! We will definitely go back! 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 7 0
Feb. 2018
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed in a back-in site that was concrete with a nice size patio/parking area. Our site was at the park entrance so was further way from the water. With the wind and fog I dont know I would want to be any closer to the water. We have a 42’ 5th wheel and had to put our back stabilizers down in the grass, so it would have been nice to have a pad about 10’ longer! Park is very clean and quiet. Plenty of room to walk the dog and ride your bike. Free wi-fi, no cable ( but satellite work great), picnic table, free laundry. Base has a small commissary and exchange. Great location to visit Padre Island and the USS Lexington. Sites and entire park is so spacious….lots of open areas.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 6 0
15 January 2018
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We could not get a reservation here. Tried about a month out, no luck. Tried a day out, no luck. We ended up staying about 1 mile down the road. We did visit the RV Park just to see what we were missing :( The park was nice, spaces were large, and the pads were all concrete. It is nice and close to the water. The Laundry and restroom buildings look nice but I didn't stop and go in them. Looks like a really nice place to stay, I would absolutely try to stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
14- 16 Dec 2017
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Had a short stay to see the Lady Lex and the Texas State Aquarium. Weather was crappy and had to stay one extra night. The staff was very helpful and made it a non issue. I must say the staff this visit was light years better than the staff a few years ago. we had a LONG pull through site, which made it great for our over 65 foot set up. only drawback was the guy next to us was not active duty, a veteran or DOD. He was a civilian and he looked like he had homesteaded. I mentioned this to the staff and he cleaned up his site overall great time was had by all.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 4
January 2017
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We travel extensively and stay in military campground when we can -- I would rate NAS Corpus Christi as the best we have experienced. The price is economical -- $18.00 for 50a service, free laundry room with several washers and dryers, lawn maintenance keeps the grass cut each week and limbs, etc. cleaned up. The MWR personnel are friendly and helpful -- no one bothers you and the RV sites are far enough apart so as to afford some degree of privacy. All in all hard to beat. The salt spray from the bay during high winds, which are frequent, makes constant cleanup of the RV and vehicles a good idea.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 3 1
August 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Before I get started I would like to say the only thing They could do better is offer a monthly rate, like most others do. Just down the road is Kingsville NAS. Its smaller but it is $18 a night but monthly $360, Here it's $18 a night and $540 a month. I read "Meseahunt" and he nailed it on the gate and the gas station. The laundry, showers, and restrooms are the cleanest I have been around. Padre Island is less than 3 miles away and the beaches there are Great. I can see the beach from my RV as I type this. The camp sites are broken down into two places. The first place is all grass spots next to the outdoor rec building. This is the Old grounds and it has one building for laundry (2 washers/dryers) , bathrooms (1 for each), and TV room with small TV and Kitchen chairs to sit in. The other is next to the pier and are all concrete back in spots with good water pressure, 30/50 amp service, and sewer. This side has a laundry mat of 6 washers and dryers (free) and bathroom/showers and a second building which is the community center, with bathrooms( 1 for each), TV, table soccer, kitchen with large refrigerator and range. The park is clean and for the most part Dogs are under control. Love This Park.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
5 July - 11 July 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We almost decided not to camp at NAS-CCAD due to the negative comments posted but glad we decided to check it out for ourselves. The Office Personnel are very sharp and are very willing to make sure your stay is pleasant. I have tremors and experienced a problem with our water heater plug, I was able to remove the plug with no problem but putting a new one back in became very hard to do with the tremors. Jesse (one of the Office personnel) volunteered to put it in for me! THANK YOU VERY MUCH SIR! The negative comments about how the campground looked and how people camping there must have been someone's bad dream. The campground is very well kept and people with pets did clean up after their pets (well 99% of them anyway). A retiree there by the name of Clinton does a fantastic job of mowing/trimming the campground. He also keeps a very close eye on the dumpsters and trash cans in the campground area. Keep up the good work! Only negative thing I could see was the fishing pier is still closed....and has been closed for quite some time. I heard the funds have been approved for the repairs, and now they are waiting for a contract to be signed. All in all, this campground, the people running it and taking care of it, makes it a perfect place to camp. We WILL return! :-)
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 5 5
July 6, 2016
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We use a GPS but always rely on this website's directions for our final approach... we've found them a huge help. In this case, while the existing directions are good, I believe a bit of clarification is needed. There is a "flyover" off of 358 direct to the base, but also a "backup" exit if it's missed - Walton Drive. And our GPS missed the fact that the exit existed. So I'd re-write them as follows: From I-37 take exit 4-A south onto TX-358 east. While on 358 you will see signs for the NAS-CCAD Base. Stay on TX-358 / South Padre Island Drive and watch for the exit for NAS-CCAD , which is just prior to the causeway crossing over to Padre Island. That exit is a flyover across the highway that puts you directly onto NAS Drive and straight on to the Main Gate. In the event you do miss that exit, in 1/4 mile you can take the Walton Drive exit, turn left at the end of it and follow that road a short way until it merges onto NAS Drive and on to the Main Gate. When entering the NAS through the Main Gate, NAS Drive becomes Lexington Blvd. Continue straight on Lexington. At the 2nd stop sign, which is at the ocean, turn right onto Ocean Drive. Follow it almost to the end and you will see a sign for a right turn to take you to the Marina where you check in with Outdoor Rec. As for the campground itself... it's a fine, clean, well maintained campground. We'd definitely stay here again. The negative reviews baffle me - we experienced none of the issues we read in these reviews. There are actually two RV areas here, in close proximity. We were routed to Area B on check in. Area A seems to be used more for longer term stays, personnel on TDY etc. Some additional items there on the sites, but nothing whatsoever out of line, ugly, or disturbing. Area B was great. All sites are Back In, with level concrete pads, with room for longer MH's or Trailers and space to park your vehicle on the pad beside your rig. And LOTS of well kept green space between you and your neighbors. Others have covered things so I'll only say we found the staff pleasant and helpful, the bathrooms clean, the free laundry wonderful, and the free Wifi solid without issues. You will need pet vaccination documentation. The water area is very nice and they are currently re-creating the natural environment on the waterfront. Negatives - we didn't feel they really were, you adapt - were no shade trees and constant, sometime STRONG winds. You are right on the water, you expect that. On occasion noted dog walkers not picking up after their pets. Have you ever been in a campground where there was not at least one jerk? We haven't. But we did not encounter a lot of droppings. As indicated, we'd certainly stay here again.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 1
Jun 24 - Jul 1, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Spent a week with some of the grandkids and we all had so much fun. From the pool to the beach, bowling on base, paddle boarding, and an awesome early Independence Day celebration at sunfish beach with all kinds of food and entertainment. Want to get away and have a peaceful yet entertaining time, this is it. 
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
June 15, 2016
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We just spent three days at Shields Park NAS Recreation Area and enjoyed it very much.  Nice and quiet, great location with access to all the base facilities as well as the City of Corpus Christi and the beach.  Had no problems and the staff was excellent.  Lots of space between sites and the grass was well maintained with no (well, very few) stickers.  Everything was well maintained and very clean. Only very minor criticism is that the 30A sites are small, some are head-in and drive out across the grass.  A few of them have the hookups in awkward places.  Not really a problem, just awkward.  Next time I'll ask for a 50A site and pay the extra $3.  A few sites did appear to be long-term tenants, but were very well kept.  Also, while the big fishing pier is still closed, there is a smaller pier across from the MWR office that is open.  Not unusual for the wind to blow every day - this is the coast - hang on to the door when you open it.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 3
July 31 - August 1, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
On our trip from Wisconsin to Corpus Christy, TX and back, this was one of three military campgrounds we stayed at. It was also the best with Tinker AFB and Lackland AFB being the other two. The facilities were awesome. Free laundry and the cleanest public facilities I have ever seen. The campground is less than 100 yards from the water/beach. The beach makes for some good walking and shell searching but probably not the best for swimming. The nice beaches such as S. Padre Island and Mustang Island are a very short drive away though. North Beach and the USS Lexington are a short drive away as well. There is a fishing pier but they said it was closed due to storm damage earlier in the year. I was expecting this since it was reported in other reviews. I was just hoping they had it fixed by the time we got there. We had no trouble getting a spot without reservations even though we arrived on a Friday afternoon. But our site was not on a clean concrete slab like most of the other sites. But, with a 19' travel trailer, it wasn't a problem. I am used to grass/gravel pads anyway. Full hookups and only $15 dollars a day for 30 amp service. You just cant beat that for what you get. There are virtually no trees or shade so make sure your A/C is in good working order if visiting in the summer. The sites are quite spacious and the grounds are kept immaculate. Just be careful of the gopher holes. Lots of them running around digging holes. Lots of Jack Rabbits as well. Never saw or heard any coyotes as others reported in previous reviews. There were some nasty burs in the grass. You wont want to walk from the campsite to the bathrooms barefoot across the grass.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 15 3
March/April 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
We stayed late mid-March to mid-April 2015. It's location close to the water is a big plus. The fishing pier is nice, although I did not catch anything significant. There are a few things to be aware of. First, the girl at the marina who checked us in was not very helpful at all. She could not provide us a map of the post, did not know anything about the post or the area. She didn't know anything about the fishing requirements. However, a couple days later we talked to the girl who handles tickets and travel and she was very helpful. The wind always blew, and it blew pretty hard. Be prepared to tie-down your slide-out covers and they will flap around pretty good. We ended up bringing our slides in a couple nights. Mosquitos are bad at certain times of the day. They like to gang up on you. The wind is pretty salty. They do not allow washing the RV, but they do allow you to rinse it off. Things to do include driving along Mustang Island. You can drive right on the beach. Visit Padre Island Natural Park. Fishing off the pier or at any public areas. Aside from the wind and mosquitoes, it really a nice place.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 9 0
Feb 18 - March 6, 2015
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
After reading some of the reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. The staff was extremely helpful and managed to extend our stay in the site we were first assigned to. The bathrooms are clean and plenty of hot water. Laundry facilities are spotless and FREE, with an ironing board and iron available. The fishing pier is undergoing renovations and lights have been added recently. Great walking areas and easy walk to commissary and exchange.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 4 0
December 28, 2014-January 2, 2015
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Easy to get to base and to park. Check-in was quick, but we too were caught off guard about pet vaccination documentation. We had it so no problem, but had to dig it out and take it back. All sights are back-in, which we knew. Hated that we had to back-in what we consider the 'wrong' way; when your backing in and have the site at your right. Laundry was free. Stayed in 40' fifth-wheel with Jeep towing 8' trailer hauling motorcycle. Everything fit at our site....thank goodness, because when we asked if we could park trailer/motorcycle at parking lot next to park, they said no. The parking lot was empty the entire time. So, it's a great park right on the water. Too bad we there and the weather was horrible; extremely windy, wet and cold. But we'll be back. I'm sure.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
26 Dec 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.6
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0
Checking in now with pets requires you to show vets vaccination records. This wasn't a problem with us since we always have them with us but not son who is also retired military had to have records faxed to the RV park before he could check in. Understand this is a new policy but needs to be published. The reservation clerk never mentioned this and I talked to her three or four times.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 0
May 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first trip to Corpus Christi and we enjoyed it very much. I'd called the Navy central reservation service and was told they had no availability but Outdoor Rec @ Corpus Christi said they did. We arrived with a reservation for a full service site for a few days and dry camping a few days. As it turned out there were cancellations and we were able to spend the entire week on the same site. The woman who manages the office was very helpful providing local information and tickets to local events. The staff in the Outdoor Rec office were friendly and helpful and ensured we were able to have our site for a week. Lots to see and do in Corpus Christi. The winds do blow - warm temperatures but with the wind it stayed cool enough we didn't need the A/C. The dock needs some repairs - quite shabby condition and some rusted, broken tables should be removed but overall the campground was in good condition. Lots of seaweed on the beach - part of Gulf life. We'd return if we were in the area.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
June 9-13, 2014
(Updated: July 27, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
As I’m sitting inside the RV at the RV Park I thought I would right the review. This is my first attempt at RVing. I rented a 30’ class C and thought I would see if this is something my wife and I could do. The answer to that question is yes, but on to the review. 6 months ago I called and reserved a spot through the MWR at Corpus Christi Naval Air Station. The lady was very friendly and helpful. The process was very quick. As the time quickly approached I called a few days before just to confirm my reservation. Again, the lady was helpful. I mentioned that I might arrive after 1700 and she said that wouldn’t be an issue. They would just leave my information, site number, and pass codes to the laundry, men, and women’s bathrooms. A few days before we left I got a confirmation email stating everything was go to go. True to form, we were going to be late I tried to call them the very day I was to arrive. It was on a Monday around 1000 hrs but I kept getting their after hour’s message machine. So I called another number and the person there said they would ensure they knew we were going to be arriving late. I use the GPS coordinates from this site and my TOM TOM took us right to the front gate from San Antonio. Gate guard checked only my ID and let us through which was great. We drove to the park and I left the RV near an empty spot to go find the “host” to get my stuff. I first went to the MWR office which is located in the smaller RV Park about three blocks away. It was locked up tight and there was a clip board hanging by the door but no info on it. So I drove back down to where my RV was. When I got there, there were two there ladies talking with my wife. They said there wasn’t any host because of cut backs and told us to find an empty spot and hook up. So I took the one right next to the RV. Most if not all of the sites are concrete, wide, clean, and with a picnic table. The sites have 30 / 50 amp, water, and sewer. I got us setup and we were set. The park is amazing. The sites are very far apart from each other. You can see the Corpus Christi Bay from just about any on them. They have a 400+ yard fishing pier within yards of where we setup. Around 0800 the next morning I went to the MWR office. They were just opening up so that was good timing. I told them who I was and if they had left my pass codes and site anywhere. I was a little shocked when they said no. So I told them which site I was on and finished checking in. The rec room, laundry (free of charge) and the bathrooms were very clean. Get ready to be in the sun. Very few trees and the ones that are here are small. We were lucky enough to position the RV to when the sun is in the west we had plenty of shade. Be prepared for the wind! Make sure you watch opening and closing the doors. If you use a tablecloth, secure it with something. Wi-Fi is free of charge, you don’t need any pass codes, and fairly reliable. I haven’t had any issues from the site I’m on. Out site is #36 if anyone wanted to know. There are lots of seagulls who love to eat anything you give them. Feed one and they’ll be 50 more in a second. There are jackrabbits and ground squirrels that run around the site. In the evenings coyotes will come through so don’t leave anything out they could get into too. The base is very clean, very open, and flat. So anyone who rides a bicycle will love this place. NEX is right next to the commissary. NEX closes at 1900 hrs. The commissary is closed on Mondays and they open up at 1000 on the other days. They do do an early bird starting a 0900 for 15 items or less. We never went until after 1000. The NEX is nice. Just about anything you could want. They aren’t huge but a good place to get ice, beer, some snacks, and your normal items. Everyone we ran into while working was friendly. They have a wide open golf course, a bowling center (with Subway inside). There is a gym and two racquetball courts. Get up early in the morning a go to the water near the pier. You can pick up crab shells (sea shells)! My wife filled a whole bag full of them. Overall this had been a great vacation. I would recommend this place to any retiree. The ocean (other than the bay) is just a few minutes away. The roads are a little confusing or it just might be me! You can get to any of the tourist sites in a few minutes. I will say don’t try an LEAVE the base around 1430 or so. That is when the Army Depot has their shift change and the traffic getting off base is terrible!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 10 2
10-14 March 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
Stayed in the Shields area for our kids' Spring Break. Very nice and right by the water. There are many cement pads, however we were given an asphalt space with gravel surrounding it (30amp site). I noticed three cement pad spaces that were never taken throughout our stay. So I asked, and turns out they were already paid for, meaning the RV'ers left, but were returning to take their space. Next time I will request a 50amp site, which most all come with cable. Anyway, the shower room needs some updating, however everything was clean, worked and there was plenty of water pressure and heat. The laundry room was neat and the machines were FREE! We stayed three nights here and requested a fourth. We were told we'd have to move to the other RV park, just a short drive away. No big deal, we moved. Now we did notice that the day we moved nobody took the space we left...don't get it. Well the base is perfectly situated to visit the attractions in Corpus, and we found an awesome fish market just a couple of miles from the station, called Pauls Seafood (not a restaurant). Go there! The weather wasn't ideal as it was windy and somewhat cold. My daughter and her friend still got in the water. They collected A LOT of seashells! We will definitely return when it's warmer.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 1 0
January 2014
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
CAUTION. We always enjoy our stays here at the Navy base, but THIS time, our Netflix account was hijacked from somebody's phone, presumably while we were streaming videos on the camp's Wifi. I've never felt unsafe using campground Wifi before, but I'll never do it again. We have our own encrypted Verizon Wifi network in the motor home, but used the Gowifi system to save some bandwidth. Just a heads up. Even on base, surrounded by old farts like ourselves, the thieves are out there.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 0 1
Dec 21 - 27, 2013
Overall rating 
 
4.9
Location 
 
5.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
5.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0
This was our first experience using a military campground. Arriving on Station, the guard pulled a cone from the right entry lane to allow us through (thank you Sir!). BTW, we're a Big Rig, 45' and towing and 13' tall... we had no issue proceeding through the right hand covered entrance. When approaching the campground, there is a very small sign telling you to turn right, to the Marina to register... I held my breath and turned right... Don't be concerned... there is a MASSIVE turn around space in the Marina! The staff was very professional, courteous and helpful during the registration process (thanks folks you helped make the stay pleasurable). We selected our site and proceeded to the site and get setup. The sites are very large concrete "back in spaces" that easily accommodate Big Rigs albeit your nose will be at the very front of the site. The connections are via a single pole and very convenient. I'm sorry we didn't use any campground facilities (we're fully equipped) so we can't comment. There is a long fishing pier on the bay and a local gathering of huge jack rabbits on the premises. The Commissary and NEX are very convenient additions to a very nice campground! Two surprises though... First I was surprised at the number of "apparently" fulltime occupants and second, the total lack of regard for the posted speed limit. We will definitely return here, great facility!!
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful to you? 2 0
68 results - showing 1 - 20
1 2 3 4