Southwinds Marina on Lake Amistad

Featured New
 
3.7 (23)
60508   0   17   1   11

User reviews

10 reviews with 3 stars

23 reviews

 
(7)
 
(6)
 
(9)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
4.1  (23)
 
3.4  (23)
 
4.0  (23)
 
3.7  (23)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 1 - 10  
 
Ordering 
 
Overall rating 
 
2.8
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
5.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
2.0

August 21-23, 2017

We tent camped on an rv site #2. A partial hook up...power water...no sewer. The men's room was not even useable. The urinal was holding a black sludge, the trash overflowing, trash in the stalls on the floor...and it was never cleaned the 3 days we were there. The primitive tent sites had weeds on the pads, were overgrown all around the pads just overall unkept. The "store" was never open the entire time we were there...though the hours were posted to be open. The front sitting area of the store had bird droppings all over the tables, spider webs all over the entire area, totally unkept. Spilled over trash right at the door, the BBQ grill had not been cleaned in a very long time. The "cleaning" supplies were hanging outside over the rail along with other just thrown out items...just a real mess. We never saw any indication of a camp host, other than a vehicle parked by an rv which had an air conditioner running inside. The entire property is unkept. It is a shame because it has great potential. Someone is not doing their job. Or really, a lot of people are not doing their job. Shame on the Air Force for not having more pride in their facilities, and not holding people accountable...and still getting paid for a job not being done.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
1.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Apr 14-17, 2017

Good location for us to visit Amistead National Recreation Area. Weather was surprisingly cool, cloudy, and occasional sprinkles so never took advantage of kayak or boat rental. We were in site 5 with 50 amp and water, no sewer. Okay by us because we would use the dump station on our way out. WRONG! Dump station was worst we have ever seen for a military campground. Approach around back of laundry was broken concrete with large potholes. Dump area was narrow with curbs on both sides. Open pvc drain with no cover and no water. We elected to pull thru an empty site and use the sewer connection there. Checked out the bathrooms and showers. Very dirty. Surprisingly the laundry was very good. New washers and dryers, free, and the room was quite clean. Trash can was full, obviously hadn't been emptied in a while. Homemade trailer still in a site but no sign of occupant. We liked the back-in electric/water only sites better than FHU as we had a nice grassy area and more space between our neighbors. We were here over Easter weekend so there were lots of young families and children. No problems and everyone seemed to have a good time. Very nice playground for children. We would stay here again if in the area.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 26, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
2.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

December 18-25, 2016

Well, some things never change and probably won't. Homemade trailer still there going on 3 years, even with change in long term policy at both marina and Lauglin, told it's 90 days out for 24 hours, then return for another 90 with no waivers. New Force Support Chief has taken over and new manager is supposed to start on Jan 9. Sites 11-20 full hook up are now basically long term and were all occupied, fairly clean around sites, except for one or two. One site is taken by maint man. I would recommend calling for a reservation before driving out, there were electric and water sites available and only 2 full hook ups available during the week of Christmas. Laughlin had 4 sites available over the weekend before Christmas when we drove through, they were the first come first serve sites and had none of the receivables available. Has improved some from last year but still could use some work. Hanna has done a fairly good job for being thrown into the weeds. We stayed for a week then moved into town to Broke Mill which is a lot nicer and has a lot more to offer than the marina or Laughlin, and only $8 more a day more on the daily rate or weekly rate. It was still a peaceful and nice stay, but with price increase I don't think it's worth it since we don't fish.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
2.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

October 4, 2016

As others have stated, it's not very clean or cared for. I don't need the facilities and can't speak to their condition. It's quite warm today and I've counted four dogs either tied out or in kennels outside, three of them in the homemade trailer at the far end of the campsite. Judged on the droppings, some owners are inconsiderate and leave pet waste where it's deposited. Fortunately, this place is not the norm and I only have to stay one night. 

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: April 01, 2012)
Overall rating 
 
3.5
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Mar 27, 2012

A great overnight near Del Rio. The campground itself is pretty desolate, but the pull-through site on cement with 50 amp and full hookups for $10 cannot be beat. Pleasant staff. It would have been helpful if the way to the office had been marked; when you enter the park, turn right, in front of the cottages and continue straight to the beige building near the water. Good ATT aircard signal.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
2.9
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Nov 25 - Dec 9, 2009

This campground is isolated. There is nothing around it unless you drive to Del Rio, about 15 miles. Each site does have a level, concrete pad, a picnic table and grill. Area over table and grill is covered which probably is great in the summer. From looking around and reading, it would be a great place if you were into fishing. It was always windy while I was there. The laundry is free and consists of two washers and two dryers. Both washers leaked all over the floor and the drain did not handle it all that well. Some of the water was running out the door. One of dryers broke down while I was there. A repair man came the last day I was there and said they had to order a part to fix it. I removed clothes from the one working dryer (which is a no-no according to a post).. It had children's clothes in it and I had not seen children in days. I did 5 loads of laundry and still no one came to claim the clothes. Overall, it is not a bad place, but not a great place for an extended visit unless you are just looking for a place to park your rig and be alone. The camp host was there to greet me the first night I pulled in and said I was not on the board with a reservation. After the office opened the next day, I was on the board. Host said he would be back with combo to laundry and showers, I never saw him again.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Apr. 25, 2009

Do not seem to care much for overnighters. You have to be staying for a minimum of three nights or the don't want to give you the door code for the laundry (free) or the showers?????? Concrete pads at each site, metal roofed patios at each site. High up overlooking the reservoir. Like most military campgrounds, it started out looking nice and everything planned for, then with use it starts getting seedy from poor maintenance. If you are a fisherman and want to pursue that, this is the place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

Dec 10-Dec 31 2007

Arrived here on December 10th. Mark and Reggi, the campground hosts helped us get situated in one of the full-hookup sites. After parking and setting up, my wife went down to the office to pay. The manager almost bit her head off when she asked if the park accepted any discounts. We thought that he may have been having a bad day but quickly found out that is his normal demeanor and not to pay attention to him. This park is just OK. There are 5 old FEMA trailers parked in some of the full-hookup sites which are an eye-sore and take up valuable spaces that could be rented to RV'ers. We learned that the trailers had been bought for a song and put here to rent to fisherman. We have been here almost 3 weeks now and have not seen anyone stay in one of them. We also were told that the formaldehyde smell in them is really bad. The wind here is very strong at times. During our stay it blew several days at above 35 MPH and on some days it got to above 50. We had to pull in our slides several times to protect the awnings and to prevent the trailer from bouncing too much. If you are planning a visit, be aware that the wind can come up here anytime and the forecast speeds for Del Rio don't apply to Lake Amistad. The older sites that don't have sewer hookups are somewhat protected but not by much. The laundry is free and very well kept. Restrooms were clean. The full-hookups sites have 50 amp service but the power does surge. Our Verizon wireless was in Extended Network mode so the USB720 air card was roaming and sloooow. Would I stay here again? Maybe, but not for an extended stay. Too windy for our taste.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
3.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 4, 2007

We are staying at Laughlin AFB FAMCAMP and drove over to look at Lake Amistad. It appears that at least some of the sites at Southwinds Marina on Lake Amistad now have 50 AMP service.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Location 
 
3.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
2.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
3.0

March 2006

After spending a week at Laughlin FamCamp, came to the marina campground for a few days. Without the aircraft, it was a quieter location. But it's also on top of an open hill. We had to deal with wind almost all the time. Wild deer were constantly in the campground. Half of the campground is along a public road to a boat ramp, where trucks are constantly speeding. Still, a nice campground we would return to.

Was this review helpful to you? 
10 results - showing 1 - 10