Southwinds Marina on Lake Amistad

Featured New
 
3.7 (23)
60508   0   17   1   11

User reviews

5 reviews with 4 stars

23 reviews

 
(7)
 
(6)
 
(9)
2 stars
 
(0)
 
(1)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
 
4.1  (23)
 
3.4  (23)
 
4.0  (23)
 
3.7  (23)
To write a review please register or
Back to Listing
5 results - showing 1 - 5  
 
Ordering 
 
(Updated: January 03, 2016)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

23 Dec 2015 - 6 Jan 2016

There are 15 pull thru FHU RV sites 20/30/50 and 5 back in 20/30/50 and water sites.  Bathrooms could use a good cleaning but not totally bad.  Marina office/store is CLOSED on Mon, Tue, Wed and open 9-3 the other days in winter, it has very small selection of drinks and snacks,plenty of rental equipment available although it was cold while we were here.  Campground Host is on site 6, but you won't see much of him and not sure he knows whats going on. At least two sites are homesteading and trashy looking, one site has a FEMA rental trailer on it.  They do have 4 or 5 park models for rent in seperate area as well as two additional FEMA trailers.  It is apparent that this park has been ignored for a few years and could use some work and clean up.  However it was still a relaxing place to stay and we would return.  I did complain to the staff about the junkie looking trailers and the lack of attention being paid to the restrooms.  Del Rio is 8 miles away and has about everything you would need.  The base is about 15 miles away.  Directions above are good.  Just keep driving til you get to the Border Patrol Entry Station and stay to right (don't enter border crossing) you'll turn right just after and across from Entry Station onto the Marina Rd, 1.8 miles and it ends at the Marina/Campground.  GPS had me turn before crossing RR, DON'T stay on 349 to border station about 2 miles.  I am told the manager has been in the position for about 2 years, the Marina employee has just started working out here recently and is trying to clean things up, and the Wing Commander has taken an interest in the marina and making it better, time will tell. It appears that there is a lack of Management oversight at this place.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.4
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
5.0

6 - 15 April 2015

We stayed here 6-15 April 2015. Overall it was a very nice place to stay. The campground is located high above the now receding water line, but it provides some very nice sunsets. There are a lot of nature trails provided by the National Park Service in the area. The town of Del Rio provided all the supplies we needed, with a few nice restaurants. On the way to visiting the Judge Roy Bean courthouse and home, you will pass over the Pecos River. Stop on the bridge for some magnificent views. Stop by the J&P Bar and Grill in Comstock, TX. We had the best hamburgers ever. We had reservations and arrived on a Monday. The Marina was closed. It is open only on Thursday to Sunday. We found the camp host and he told us what slot to go in. That was about the last time we saw the camp host. We caught up with the Marina personnel when they were open. Watch for the deer when you walk the trails and you may catch a glimpse of an albino deer. Texas offers a free hunting/fishing combination license for disabled veterans. Take your annual letter from the VA to Walmart and they will issue you a license. Also, the National Park Service offers an "Access Pass" to disabled veterans. Use that to access the park, although there were no checkpoints. Over all it was a very relaxing and inexpensive place to stay. We did not use the Marina, Restrooms, or the playground, but they were available.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

December 17, 2009

On a weekday in the winter, the Lake Amistad campground (and the lake itself) is very quiet and peaceful. The campsites are level, with concrete pads. In the lower five back-in sites (where we stayed), the water hookup is on the "wrong" side of the pad, but still close enough for a normal 25 foot hookup hose. The bath house is clean and adequate. The toilet part is open, but the showers are behind a cypher locked door, the combination for which is available at the office or from the camp host when you check in. The laundry has a different combination for its door. As for the laundry, the machines are old and beat-up and leaky. Another reviewer below mentioned the leaks, but a woman in the laundry room (apparently a long-time regular here) said that they've been leaky for years. The whole laundry could use some new equipment and maintenance. There are a few minor snack items and bagged ice for sale at the office, but if you need to do any serious resupply, you'll have to go to Del Rio, Texas about 10 miles down the road. The rental boats are engine-powered only...no canoes or kayaks. The cheapest one is $13.50 per HOUR. Happily for us, the dreaded Texas wind wasn't blowing, so we spent a pleasant afternoon hiking the shoreline, watching and photographing the abundant wildlife, the sunset, and generally enjoying ourselves. With the mild winter weather, this is a great place to spend some time (but then we like the quiet and the critters). For Sprint Broadband card users, we had excellent 3G EVDO signal for internet access.

Was this review helpful to you? 
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
4.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
4.0
Value 
 
4.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

---

Although campsites 1-5 are water and electric only and back-in sites, they are by far the best sites in the park. They all have concrete parking pads and grassy back yards. They are slightly down the hill toward the marina and are out of some of the wind. They are $10.00 per night instead of the normal $12.00 per night for the pull throughs up on top of the hill. The sites on top of the hill have no grass. They are paved but have gravel on both sides.

Was this review helpful to you? 
(Updated: December 17, 2009)
Overall rating 
 
3.9
Location 
 
4.0
Cleanliness/Hospitality 
 
3.0
Amenities/Facilities 
 
3.0
Value 
 
5.0
Overall Experience 
 
4.0

---

Laughlin famcamp was full, so came to Southwind Marina. Great plan B. Better than the base famcamp for pleasant setting and environment. Spent one night on the way to Big Bend National Park. Lots of deer, jackrabbits, birds, and other critters.

Was this review helpful to you? 
5 results - showing 1 - 5